Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “My American Nightmare - Women in Horror Anthology” as Want to Read:
My American Nightmare - Women in Horror Anthology
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

My American Nightmare - Women in Horror Anthology

by
4.33  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  7 reviews
For Fans of American Horror Story, Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Danielle Vega.

America, land of the free, land of the brave, land of nightmares? A group of female authors come together in this collection of creepy tales and psychological horror stories to bring you chills and disturbing images that won't leave you long after you're done reading. From zombies to rural small t
...more
Kindle Edition, 250 pages
Published October 31st 2017 by Twisted Wing Productions
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about My American Nightmare - Women in Horror Anthology, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about My American Nightmare - Women in Horror Anthology

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
4.33  · 
Rating details
 ·  9 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Sarika Patkotwar
Oct 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
This review was initally published on The Readdicts Book Blog. For more reviews, go here.

When author Azzurra Nox contacted me about My American Nightmare, I could not say no to reading it because I loved her Doll Parts and was waiting for something more ever since. One of the points that intrigued me is the fact that My American Nightmare is a collection of nineteen horror stories written by female writers, which is so cool and exciting. Now I tend to be a chicken when it comes to horror stories
...more
Lucy Dosch
Nov 01, 2017 rated it liked it
This is a creepy collection of short stories written by female authors.

This anthology is written entirely by talented female horror authors.

This collection of short stories reminds me of the old Twilight Zone stories. The best part of horror shorts is that they give you the creepiest part of the story. It is just enough to grab your attention and the best ones leave you to continue using your own imagination as to what will happen next.

This collection gives us plagues, disturbing dolls, vampires
...more
Cheryl Whitty
Reviewed on behalf of Book Addict.live,
For the purpose of this review I am reviewing the book in one go. There are multiples of small different stories, which cover most of the legends and genre. The one thing that made easy reading was all the stories are bite size chunks. The different authors appear to get right into our physic, and play on all the legends and fears we keep to ourselves.
The warning I will give is if you are looking for happy endings you don’t get many, in a few you may just s
...more
Stephanie
Nov 01, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: horror-thriller
Ghosts, zombies, slashers, abductions, creepy dolls, and of course witches are included in this selection of creepy short stories. All written by women My American Nightmare contains everything from macabre to disturbing, perfect for Halloween time reading. With all stories set in the United States of America, some stories are historically set, some are current, the stories range from new horror to familiar retellings. With all short story collections I enjoyed some stories more than others, how ...more
Teresa
Oct 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is a perfect for book to read this time of year. With Halloween Coming quickly. I had a blast scaring myself. This is an Anthology. it has 19 stories in the book. Each story is written by a different author. The stories run the range of every ghoul and goblin in the Halloween line up. From Ghost to zombies. These are short stories, but the creep factor grabs you quickly. There are several stories in this book I would love to read a whole book on.

Picking a favorite story would be impossible
...more
Jennifer
Oct 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
My American Nightmare is a fantastically creepy anthology. It showcases women in the horror genre. It is a great introduction to each of the author's works. I enjoyed each of the stories in this anthology. Each has it's own level of scary and twisted. I am excited to read these author's other works after reading these stories!
**received an advanced copy for an honest review**
Novels at Night
Nov 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
This book of short stories was an excellent pick for me. I must say that I usually do not like to read a book that has a bunch of short stories in them. I would rather read a whole book, that way I don't get frustrated about not finishing the story. I have to say there were some stories in here I was like I really would love to have this as a whole book to read.

Some of the stories were sick and twisted (Whatever Happened to Peyton Rose? and The Eye) but I loved it! Some left me turning the pages
...more
Andretta Schellinger
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2017
Angela Penland
rated it it was amazing
Nov 20, 2017
Jonathan Martin
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2017
Rachel Bolton
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2017
Danielle O'Malley
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2017
Ben Clayton
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2017
Megan Burek
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2017
Sheri Breault Breault
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2017
Mary Ellen
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2017
Tawnua Tenley
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2017
Jonathan Eves
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2017
Alanna
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2017
Lorrie Loughney
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2017
E.F.
added it
Jul 25, 2017
Margo Azzarelli
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2017
Ryan Sean O'Reilly
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2017
Carmen
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2017
Claudia Parker
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2017
Amelia Kibbie
marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2017
Anne
marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2017
Emily
marked it as to-read
Oct 26, 2017
Kirti Rukari
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2017
Becky Richardson
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2017
Kate Sarsfield
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2017
Kasia Burlakoff
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2017
Linda Buzard-Moffitt
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2017
Carl R.
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2017
SD
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2017
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2017
Eric Moffitt
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2017
Sara
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2017
Will Griesmer
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
134 followers
Born in Catania, Sicily, she has led a nomadic life since birth. She has lived in various European cities and Cuba, and currently resides in the Los Angeles area. Always an avid reader and writer from a young age, she loved entertaining her friends with ghost stories. She loves horror movies, cats, and a good rock show. She dislikes Mondays and chick-flicks. CUT HERE, her debut paranormal urban fa ...more