Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Martin's Mice” as Want to Read:
Martin's Mice
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Martin's Mice

4.01  ·  Rating details ·  927 ratings  ·  75 reviews
*King-Smith has written another engaging animal fantasy with plenty of humorous insight into the human condition. Martin, a kitten, is branded 'wimp' by his siblings and 'stupid' by other farm animals for his friendly interest in mice. When he captures the pregnant mouse Drusilla, he makes her and her eventual brood his pets. He loves caring for them and can't understand t ...more
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published March 10th 1998 by Turtleback Books (first published May 12th 1988)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Martin's Mice, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
ATrueBookworm "Wet behind the ears" means to be inexperienced or immature. ( I got this information from a website. ) Hope this helped!
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.01  · 
Rating details
 ·  927 ratings  ·  75 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Martin's Mice
Cheryl
Apr 02, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another winner from this author of Babe: The Gallant Pig. I loved it, and judging by the condition my library's copy is in, children do, too. The animals' voices seem so authentic... if the could talk, King-Smith knows exactly how they would! There's lots of different kinds of humor, from word-play to satire to slapstick, and adventure, and even a few bits where some of us might need to reach for a tissue.

My only complaint? Too short!
...more
Josiah
Apr 04, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
In one of his more thoughtful novels, Dick King-Smith looks at the fine line between friendship and possessiveness...and how we react to learning uncomfortable truths about ourselves. Cats are found on almost any farm, but not cats like Martin. Unlike his brother Robin and sister Lark, Martin hates harming mice, those dear, pretty creatures. His mother, Dulcie Maude, strictly insists he eat the mice she catches for Martin and his siblings, but swallowing the flesh of dead mice sickens him and br ...more
Friend of Pixie (F.O.P.)
Of all the King-Smith books we've read so far (and we're on a roll with those), this is by far Logan's favorite. A barn cat named Martin thinks mice are cute and doesn't want to kill them. When he sees that the farm girl keeps rabbits as pets, he decides he's going to keep a mouse. He finds one, but from the beginning, it's not as simple as Martin imagined. To begin with, Drusilla the mouse isn't that keen on the idea. Then, when he convinces her and gets her all set up in an old bathtub in a ha ...more
Sophie
Jul 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites, childrens
When I read this book I was in the 4th/5th grade. To be honest, no I haven't re-read this since. And the main reason why I wouldn't is because it might ruin my childhood impression and my experience. I'm afraid to ruin that childhood memory by re-reading this with a judgmental adult mind. So this review will have to be from my memory of how I liked it way back then.

I'm rating this 5/5, and that's because to me it was a 5/5 back then. This was the book that changed my life. Crazy, but true. I ha
...more
Nurhayati Ramlan

I was squealing silently on my desk when I finish this. I love it!!

Martin's Mice is a story about an adorable and kind kitten who doesn't like to eat mouse. No, he would rather keep them as a pet because he was so fond of them. He kept a mice in an abandoned bathtub in the farm, but rather than seeing it as an owner-pet relationship, Martin and Drusilla are more like friends to me.

Martin might not be like the ordinary cats that like to hunt and eat mouse, he can be a bit slow and naive, but all
...more
Kailey (BooksforMKs)
Jan 29, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: owned-books
This adorable story follows Martin, a farmyard cat who doesn't want to eat mice. Instead, Martin begins keeping a pet mouse confined in a bathtub, until he learns just how awful it is to imprisoned as a pet.

I loved the delightful writing style with all the humor and silly situations that Martin goes through. Poor Martin is quite clueless when it comes to the workings of a farm, and forgets the proper place of each animal. This leads to a lot of ridiculously funny dialogue with various farm anima
...more
Romina
Jul 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read this when I was 8. This was one of the first books I ever read and actually liked reading. I'm a little older now but I still absolutely think the characters are adorable. The plot is fresh and rather simple, it is meant to be enjoyed by children but it is also a great escape from the usual hours long historical fiction/sci-fi books I like to read nowadays. It is very memorable. I don't get to read about cats who own mice very often.

I highly recommend it! :D
Natalie
Feb 09, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Re-read it to my son, and he loved it as much as I always did (as did our cat, who always comes in for story time too!)
regan
Jul 11, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A very loving book! It is an easy read though. I had read this in third grade and loved it!
Crystal Falconer
Jan 29, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: early-readers
This is one of my childhood favorites! Read it again as an adult and I really think I may add it to my collection permanently! So warm and sweet and humorous:)
Niamh
Martins Mice
Who ever heard of a cat that doesn’t like mice?! Martin is a kitten of Dulcie Maude a farm cat, Martin is part of a litter of three. He has a brother and sister Robin and Lark. Martin is a kind hearted and endearing character. He likes mice, but he doesn’t like eating or killing them unlike his siblings. He likes to talk to the mice and he likes to be their friend much to the disgust of his mother. Martin is set free by his mother to go and fend for himself! The first day he is left
...more
Books Kids Like
Oct 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: king-smith-dick
Martin, the cat, throws up the first time his mother forces him to eat a mouse. He can never bring himself to actually kill one. In fact, when he does finally catch a mouse he turns it into a pet and names it, Drusilla. Soon, Drusilla has nine pups. Martin provides them with food and wades in the farm's pond to provide them with water (much to the delight of his brother and sister who always thought Martin was a little strange). When the young mice beg for freedom, Martin lets them go with a hea ...more
Gillian James
Jul 19, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
I always loved this book as a child and I am really pleased my daughter enjoyed it just as much. It is a book that appeals to young children as it is about farm animals and pets but it contains plenty of humour for the adult reader. Although the animals are anthropomorphised they maintain enough animal characteristics to make the story convincing. For example the relationship between Martin's parents is not the conventional cosy marriage found in children's stories and Martin's mother is rather ...more
Rachael
Aug 02, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was my absolute favourite book in whole world when I was a child; infact, I loved it so much I stole the first copy I read from my school library and my mother had to return it! I highly recommend anyone with children to pick up this book for them/to read to them. I'd still like to read it again now, if I'm honest!
Chris
Dec 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It was a really enjoyable, funny and really easy children's chapter book. It had really well-written illustrations, great characters, really good humor and a really interesting story. I haven't read this book in a very long time. This is going to be one of my favorite Dick King-Smith books I've ever read in my whole life. I highly recommend this book to both kids and adults.
Abby
Dec 07, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was good and it would make a perfect story for kids grades 1-5. It's a touching yet slightly silly story of a kitten who keeps mice as pets. It's an easy book to read and not to long.
Josie
Aug 08, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
[Re-read in August 2017]

We got a new copy of this book at the library where I work, and I was trying to explain to my colleague why I loved it so much. I was slightly hormonal at time, so it mostly consisted of me saying, "He's a cat T_T and he keeps a mouse as a pet T_T" and clutching the book to my heart. I almost didn't want to reread it after that, in case it didn't live up to those perfect childhood memories, but I was relieved to find it's still utterly adorable. The father/son relationshi
...more
Joc
Jan 30, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
I think everyone (young or old) should read it. For a young child, it is a story of how a cat learns how to be a true friend. For an adult, it subtly touches on a lot of important social issues that I feel are important to think about, even discuss. These are deftly woven into such a compelling story that one can, like Martin, be drawn onwards throughout his journey and reach the end before realizing there are a lot of things to reflect upon. For example, Martin's question about the animals huma ...more
Levi
Jul 21, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed reading this book about a cat who didn't like to eat mice and instead kept one as a pet. It shares his experiences from a kitten to a grown cat and the different relationships with the characters in this book, one in particular, Drusilla, who is a mouse. I enjoyed how each chapter was short and jam packed with adventure. I found the story very humourous, not sure my students (year 3 & 4) would pick up on all of the humour in this book but I think they would enjoy the adventure and the ...more
Katya Starling
Feb 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An adorable, utterly sweet, and uplifting book with very cute illustrations! Although I'm not at all certain it should be in the kids' section considering how desperately Drusilla wants Cuthbert and how she persuades Martin to go after him. I also really enjoyed the refreshing relationship between Martin and his previously estranged father. I'll be looking forward to reading more from this author (who also wrote the famous pig book Babe)!
Toryn
Oct 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Martin isn't your ordinary farm-cat. Yes, he loves mice, but not the same way as other cats. When Martin catches his first mouse, he decides not to eat her, but instead keep her for a pet. The mouse named Drusilla, is pregnant, and when she has her children, Martin thinks they are just darling. When something dreadful happens, and Drusilla runs away, Martin is heartbroken. Will he ever find his beloved mouse again?
Michelle
May 19, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: animal
What a sweet book. Martin is a cat who doesn't like to eat mice. He ends up capturing one and keeping her, and her subsequent babies, as pets. The book explores the feelings of being kept in captivity and Martin's acceptance of himself as being a bit different.

Martin's naivety is endearing and sometimes humorous. There's also action, adventure and a wonderful father/son bond.

Sara Snarr
A cute book about talking animals. The charming characters and funny dialogue would make this a good read-aloud book for early elementary students.
Iricat
Apr 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It was funny that a cat defeated the fox and one of the cats didn't eat rats or mice!
Chhavi
Apr 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
So cute!
Simon Lee
Oct 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
One of my favourite ever books!
Cynthia
Dec 29, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Myn students loved it!!
Leneigh
Jun 09, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fun entertaining read aloud and the kids loved it.
Sara
Feb 27, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Maxym
Feb 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: isk-library
"The main Idea of this book was that it is not nice to have a pet becaus a pet won't have freedom to wonder around"
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Missing picture 8 22 Aug 20, 2016 06:50AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Secret School
  • Super Cats: True Stories of Felines That Made History
  • Amelia Earhart: The Legend of the Lost Aviator
  • Tiny Paw Prints Touching Tails: Stories of Devotion, Tenderness & Healing for Those Who Love Cats
  • The 101 Dalmatians (The Hundred and One Dalmatians, #1)
  • The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie
  • The Body: A Guide for Occupants
  • Charlie the Kitten Who Saved A Life
  • 1001 Cranes
  • The Worst Witch (Worst Witch, #1)
  • Not Just a Witch
  • The Catch
  • My Mum Is A Loser
  • The Magic Money Tree
  • Ooops! (I Shrunk My Best Friend! #1)
  • Jane Seymour
  • The Last Cherry Blossom
See similar books…
236 followers
Dick King-Smith was born and raised in Gloucestershire, England, surrounded by pet animals. After twenty years as a farmer, he turned to teaching and then to writing children's books.

Dick writes mostly about animals: farmyard fantasy, as he likes to call it, often about pigs, his special favorites. He enjoys writing for children, meeting the children who read his books, and knowing that they get
...more

Related Articles

Karen M. McManus, the bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying, Two Can Keep a Secret, and One of Us Is Next, doesn’t shy away from secrets and...
48 likes · 0 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »