Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Little Pioneer” as Want to Read:
The Little Pioneer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Little Pioneer

3.81  ·  Rating details ·  59 ratings  ·  17 reviews
Perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House books, this picture book about one little girl's journey westward is engaging and appropriate for younger readers.

Children of all ages will be captivated by one brave girl's adventures come to life as she relates the challenges, excitement, and dangers of the American frontier. Filled with drama and gorgeous, evocativ
...more
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published January 2nd 2018 by Doubleday Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Little Pioneer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Little Pioneer

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.81  · 
Rating details
 ·  59 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Little Pioneer
Cristina Monica
How is this a picture book instead of a middle grade novel?

There is enough substance to satisfy a reader, but the substance is so serious that the content sometimes requires more explanation and description than what we are presented with.

For instance, the heroine quickly dislikes Mr. Reed, the captain of the expedition to California, because she finds him ‘‘uncultivated,’’ but she never defines the term for us, and while I personally know what the word means, I believe it can be a subjective t
...more
Melissa Marra
Apr 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
"The Little Pioneer" by Adam Hancher is a great read for children in first or second grade, possibly even kindergarten. It's about a little girls adventure traveling in America as a Pioneer. "This first-person tale is a testament to the determination, solidarity, and courage of the early pioneers, each chasing their own American Dream." I think this book is a great read for a history lesson. I think children can learn a lot from it, and it's important to talk about America's history, especially ...more
Nicole
This book is as epic as the vast western landscape it describes. Reading it, I was overwhelmed with nostalgia for old John Wayne films. In fact, the protagonist reminded me of another spunky heroine, Mattie, from the film True Grit. This story of her perseverance and survival stands out from a crowd of bubbly and glittery picture books for kids. It captures the romance of the wild west without disguising how truly difficult it was. And somehow, this picture book still seems age appropriate. Succ ...more
Heather
Jan 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: storytime-ideas
A hard-headed little girl doesn't like the changes that a homesteading trip to California bring, especially the rough-around-the-edges guide. Many children will be able to sympathize with her displeasure over having to move, get a long with new people, and changes to the family structure. A tidy adventure tale for lower elementary, and a nifty inclusion of blended families/stepparents. Recommended K-3.
Alyssa Rosanelli
Apr 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Awards the Book Has Received:
N/A

Appropriate Grade Level(s):
K-2

Original Summary:
This book is about a girl who goes on adventures and is trying to live out the American Dream. The story is told from a first person perspective and has great pictures.

Original Review:
The story is cute and has a great message for children. It really teaches them that you can follow your dreams and go after what you want in life!

Possible In-Class Uses:
Leisure reading/read aloud
Debbie Tanner
This is a nice story about a girl who's family sets out on the Emigrant Trail for a new life in California. At first she thinks that the whole thing is really hard and difficult and uncivilized, but eventually comes to find that she likes it and some of the new friends they make along the way. It would be a nice entry point for study about Westward Expansion.
Mikayla Flood
May 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: history, immigration
This book is reading appropriate for primary aged children.
This book is about a little girl who travels by her wagon with her family during their journey westward.
COMMENTS:
This book is helpful in teaching students to be brave.
Hannah Muntean
Apr 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great Children's Book

This book was an enjoyable read. It gave a good overview of life on the trail while being entertaining and having great illustrations.
Robin Raines-Bond
Mar 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
Fun story about trials and friendship on the trail West.
Amanda Cawthon
May 22, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
The illustrations are beautiful and the story is nice, but the fact that there was no mention of Native Americans in a book about pioneers traveling west made it seem like it was lacking something.
Mary Lee
Jul 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
American pioneer story written by a Brit. Besides being a snippet of history, it's also the story of how a journey changes the travelers.
Pam
Feb 19, 2018 rated it it was ok
2.5*
Abigail Arneel
May 13, 2019 rated it liked it
This was boring to me
Jillian Heise
Jan 04, 2019 rated it it was ok
This book is focused on one pioneer girl, but completely erases the Native Americans who lived on the land. This glaring omission serves to perpetuate the systemic erasure of Native peoples in this country.
Valetta Cannon
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2019
Andreabb
rated it it was amazing
Sep 20, 2018
Karen
rated it it was amazing
May 15, 2018
Christine Turner
Children of all ages will be captivated by one brave girl's adventures come to life as she relates the challenges, excitement, and dangers of the American frontier. Filled with drama and gorgeous, evocative illustrations, this first-person tale is a testament to the determination, solidarity, and courage of the early pioneers, each chasing their own American Dream.

Subject: Overland journeys to the Pacific -- Juvenile fiction.
Frontier and pioneer life -- West (U.S.) -- Juvenile fiction.
West (U.S.
...more
paula
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2018
Abbey Stephens
rated it liked it
Mar 08, 2018
Sarah Friedrich
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2018
Louie Lauer
rated it liked it
Oct 07, 2018
Jennifer Strong
rated it really liked it
May 16, 2018
Amy
rated it really liked it
Mar 20, 2018
Jeannie Ecker
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2018
Lindsay
rated it liked it
Aug 16, 2019
Amy
rated it liked it
Jun 14, 2018
Adrienne
rated it liked it
May 27, 2019
Esther May
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2019
Rebekah
rated it it was amazing
Feb 26, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • My Five Senses Big Book (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science, Stage 1)
  • The Bad Seed
  • This Is a Serious Book
  • Don't Touch My Hair!
  • Vlad the Rad
  • Shelter
  • Goldilocks for Dinner: a Funny Book About Manners
  • Ready, Set . . . Baby!
  • Sulwe
  • Hamsters Don't Fight Fires!
  • The Water Princess
  • When Life Gives You Pears: The Healing Power of Family, Faith, and Funny People
  • The Breaking News
  • Billy Bloo is Stuck in Goo
  • I'm a Gnome!
  • The Field
  • Crash! Boom! A Math Tale
  • Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
See similar books…

Related Articles

If you love discovering great stories from new voices, then the past few months have been quite a treat in the world of young adult fiction!...
44 likes · 41 comments