Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Tales from a Talking Board” as Want to Read:
Tales from a Talking Board
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Tales from a Talking Board

by
2.82  ·  Rating details ·  247 ratings  ·  68 reviews
Can we speak with the spirits of the dead? Is it possible to know the future? Are our dreams harbingers of things to come? Do auspicious omens and cautionary portents effect our lives?

Edited by Ross E. Lockhart, Tales from a Talking Board examines these questions–and more–with tales of auguries, divination, and fortune telling, through devices like Ouija boards, tarot card
...more
Paperback, 209 pages
Published October 24th 2017 by Word Horde
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Tales from a Talking Board, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Tales from a Talking Board

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 2.82  · 
Rating details
 ·  247 ratings  ·  68 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Tales from a Talking Board
Sadie Hartmann
Nov 15, 2017 rated it liked it
It's hard to rate this collection. I buddy read it with a friend on #bookstagram and I even messaged her to see how she was going to break this collection down. I was sent a copy by the editor of the collection at Word Horde for an honest review. I was 100% sold out on the cover. I *love* the cover.
But this collection has some issues. There are some real gems mixed in with some near misses and some stories that just were good--they were not awful but unfortunately, they weren't very memorable or
...more
Rachel (TheShadesofOrange)
Oct 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: review-copy, horror
4.0 Stars - Ouija Board Anthology
Video Review: https://youtu.be/NQhahAbrZL8

The theme of this anthology collection was absolutely brilliant. Like so many people who grew up in religious homes, I was always warned to stay away from Ouija boads in case I accidentally summoned a demon into my soul. With this fear planted in me from a young age, I knew this collection would be right up my alley.

As is always the case with anthologies, I enjoyed some of the stories more than others. Yet, as a collect
...more
Karl
Oct 16, 2017 marked it as to-read
This copy is inscribed and signed by Ross E. Lockhart.

Contents

001 - Ross E. Lockhart – A Brief History of Talking Boards
007 - Kristi DeMeester – “YesNoGoodbye”
017 - J. M. McDermott – "The Devil and the Bugle Boys"
029 - Anya Martin – "Weegee Weegee, Tell Me Do"
049 - Nathan Carson – "When the Evil Days Come Not"
067 - Tiffany Scandal – "Grief"
079 - David James Keaton – "Spin the Throttle"
095 - S.P. Miskowski – "Pins"
105 - Matthew M. Bartlett – "Deep into the Skin"
121 - Wendy N. Wagner – "The Burnt
...more
Feli
I’ve read many mixed reviews about this anthology and so put it on hold for some time. I got it from December’s Nocturnal Reader’s Box (2017) and also scored a signed copy *yeahh*. I absolutely fell in love with the cover and I love stories about Ouija boards and so I wanted to get a bit of a distance to all those bad reviews before starting to read it myself.

I have to say that some of the reviews I’ve read were DNFs after a few stories and in my opinion the collection gets stronger in the end.

I
...more
Marvin
Jan 01, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: horror
"What do you mean you don't believe in ghosts? You read horror books!"

I get that a lot. It is surprising how many people think that because you love a literary genre titled horror you must believe in all the things between the pages. Ghosts, Demons, anything supernatural. I used to reply. "If you like to read Tolkien. do you believe Hobbits are real?" but I got tired of the blank looks. No, I do not believe in the supernatural. I believe in the preternatural. For me, Horror is not about understa
...more
Gabrielle
I have been a little obsessed with Ouija boards lately: I am not really interested in using one, but I find them to be rather beautiful and fascinating objects. When I saw this little collection, edited by Ross Lockhart, it was impossible to resist getting a copy.

As you might have guessed, the theme of this anthology is spirit boards, but also all and any kinds of divination. Some stories are silly and fun, while other are more dramatic and emotional. But as with most anthology, this one is a bi
...more
Lena
Dec 31, 2017 rated it liked it


The best stories were Deep Into The Skin for flat out horror and Questions & Answers for a cleverness I appreciated. At an average score of 3.57 it’s above average for an anthology.

YesNoGoodbye ★★★☆☆
Sad story about an abused girl, the boy who loves her, and the demon who won’t help them.

The Devil and the Bugle Boys ★★☆☆☆
Marching band mormons question their faith.

Weegee Weegee, Tell Me Do ★★★★☆
A woman’s possessed hands set her free!

When The Evil Days Come Not ★★★☆☆
A ghost comes to an orphanage
...more
Romi || Romi Reads
Mar 21, 2018 rated it liked it
First I just want to say how much I love the cover – it’s such an original way to use the cover!

Now onto the review of the stories. This anthology had some really good ones in it, but unfortunately, not all of them were hits (or even came close) to me. Of the fourteen stories, I only genuinely loved about five. The others I can’t even remember properly by now and one, “Spin the Throttle” by David James Keaton, I just skipped after being confused for about three pages (hate to do that though!).

I
...more
Dez Nemec
Mar 27, 2018 rated it it was ok
I feel like this book had so much potential, but just totally fell flat. Overall the stories were okay, but not great. Most of them weren't even good in my opinion. I thought that "Questions & Answers" was by far the best story in the book. It's about a bunch of dead folks taking a class on how to work the Ouija from the afterlife side of things. Great little story. Otherwise, this was a waste of my time. ...more
Bookteafull (Danny)
Jan 07, 2018 rated it did not like it
Shelves: shit-list, dnf
DNF’ed

Made it to the third short story and it just wasn’t entertaining or even well written tbh. The stories I read were dull, basic, and had no sense of plot. It’s like a group of authors came together and wrote ‘words, words, words, Ouija, words, words, devil, words, goodbye.’

Melissa Chung
Oct 31, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: owned
I started this collection of short stories the very first day of October. I had high hopes. A whole book filled with Ouija Board stories how fun! Out of 14 short stories, I really liked 4. I’m not sure if 4/14 stories is a good thing. I went back and forth with myself if I should keep this book on my shelves. I’m still undecided. For now I’ll keep it. Giving this book a 3.5 stars.

In all of my short story collection reads, I’ll only be discussing my favorites.

Story seven: Pins is about a mom and
...more
Micah Castle
Dec 11, 2018 rated it really liked it
Tales from a Talking Board is a collection of fourteen weird and horror stories on the odd, for-kids-but-not-really board game, the Ouija Board. Each story has a different weird or chilling take on the Ouija Board, and the introduction by Ross Lockhart is very informative on the history of the Ouija/Talking Board, which I really enjoyed.

While all stories found within are good, there are a few that are my favorite: Kristi DeMeester's "YesNoGoodBye", Nathan Caron's "When the Evil Days Come Not", T
...more
Tina
Nov 30, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: dnf-d
Not enjoying this so DNFing st 24%. May come back to it at some point as it is short stories.
Brittany (brittreads)
Giving this a VERY GENEROUS 3 Stars. It would have been 2 but luckily a couple stories towards the end saved it. Most of the stories were forgettable. A couple of them stuck. Out of 14, I liked maybe 3 or 4. I wouldn’t suggest purchasing this book I don’t think it’s worth it, maybe get it from the library if you’re interested
Kimberly
Jan 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
Tales of a Talking Board is a book of 15 short stories written by various authors, such as - Kristi DeMeester, Anya Martin, Mathew M. Butler, David Templeton, just to name a few and edited by Ross E. Lockhart. The stories are mainly based on using a Ouija board.

All the stories are different from one another, never falling into a repetitive pattern with the subject matter, each author spinning a well written and unique tale, stamping their story with their own writing style.

Out of the 15 tales I
...more
Joe Zanetti
Sep 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I found "Tales from a Talking Board" an enjoyable read, from beginning to end. Ross Lockhart did an outstanding job in putting together a beautiful book, and assembling a cadre of writers who weaved some incredible tales for this anthology. In some form or another, these tales revolve around talking boards (mainly) and other forms of spirit communication. The stories cover a large spectrum in terms of themes; exploring revenge, grief, trauma, hope, depression, the divine, and more. I enjoyed the ...more
Susan
Dec 21, 2017 rated it liked it
Short stories related to Ouija boards. Very good. Best story was "Questions and Answers". ...more
Chelsea Gouin
Jun 17, 2019 rated it did not like it
For a book about Ouija Boards, the collected tales really missed the mark. Like the ouija boards were there...but they were just props. I wanted scary stories not whatever this mess was. The stories weren't even poorly written they just weren't scary or relevant. They were well-written and boring. ...more
lee_readsbooks
If only I could give 3.5 stars
Lindsay Scott
I was pretty bored by almost all of these stories. I stopped maybe three before the end. The only one I really enjoyed was "Deep Into the Skin," and maybe "YesNoGoodbye." None of the other stories I read were scary, or even very entertaining. ...more
Jonathan
Dec 17, 2017 rated it it was ok
Pretty bad overall. A few stories had interesting premises and Orrin Grey’s story was decent, but the majority of the book was written poorly and tried too hard to shock.
L. Smashing
Jul 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
I've been wanting to read this since I got it in the Nocturnal Readers Box back in December. This is a book you display. The cover is my favorite part. It's awesome.

YesNoGoodbye - Kristi Demeester ★★★★☆
I read this one twice just to make sure I didn't miss anything. I'm not a fan of Kristi DeMeester, but I enjoyed this short story.

The Devil and the Bugle Boys - J.M. McDermott ★★☆☆☆
I was underwhelmed.

Weegee Weegee, Tell Me Do - Anya Martin ★★★★★
I clearly loved this one.

When The Evil Days Come No
...more
Missy (myweereads)
Feb 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
I’ve just finished reading Tales From The Talking Board edited by Ross E.Lockhart. This book is filled with 14 short stories themed around the Ouija board, spirits, divination and fortune telling.

I really enjoyed reading this book. The first story “Yesnogoodbye” by Kristi DeMeester was short and creepy. The minute it finished I was like ok I’m going to keep reading and before I knew it I had the book finished. A few other stand out stories for me were “Weegee Weegee, Tell Me Do” was awesome!! It
...more
Arda
Jan 09, 2018 rated it did not like it
Let me begin by saying that I do not, for the most part, enjoy short stories. I received this in a Nocturnal Reader's Box, however, and thought I should give it a chance. Not only had I paid for it, but it was about Ouija boards and other spiritual ephemera, about which I am a fan. I went so far as to name one of my cats Ouija!

For the most part, I found these stories to be disappointing. I began reading the book rapidly, but not because it was so good that I couldn't put it down. Instead, I read
...more
Adrienne
Jan 04, 2018 rated it it was ok
I usually don’t read the summaries printed on the back of books because sometimes I feel like they give away too much. Maybe that’s why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. I went into this thinking it would be real-life, true stories about Ouija boards. That was my mistake. Instead the book focuses on fictional short stories, most of which I was like ‘meh’. I do like ‘Questions and Answers’. I thought that was a fun little story but other than that, it wasn’t what I was expect ...more
Jen
Jun 24, 2018 rated it it was ok
Got this as part of a Nocturnal Readers box. Was excited as I spent many a late night as a teen with my best friend using a Ouija board.
Sadly disappointed in this collection overall. A few of the stories had little to nothing to do with the Ouija board. There were a couple of stand outs, though:
“Weegee, Weegee, Tell Me Do” - campy, with an undertone of real, serious issues
“Deep into the Skin” - scariest of the lot
“Questions and Answers” - fun plot line
“Haruspicate or Scry” - interesting Dorian
...more
LauraPora
Jan 20, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2019
Not my favorite collection of horror stories...
I rated each one individually and ended up with a 2.78 so I figured 3 stars was about right. There were a couple of duds, and most were average. Didn't give any five stars, but there were a few that deserve a mention:

"Deep Into The Skin" by Matthew M. Bartlett
"That Burnt Sugar Stench" by Wendy N. Wagner
"Haruspicate or Scry" by Orrin Grey

I felt these used the idea of Ouija and the paranormal in the most unique/interesting way out of the fourteen tale
...more
Elizabeth
Oct 18, 2018 rated it liked it
Tales from a Talking Board compiles stories about various methods of divination and the occult. The introduction details the spiritualism movement, remarkable in both its popularity and lack of unifying text, belief, or rules. The talking board was used as a spiritualist tooll until it became a parlor game. It became creepy when The Exorcist used it as a vehicle for demonic possession. Lockhart also adds a personal touch with a hilarious story of a lying parochial school teacher trying to scare ...more
Jess
Feb 13, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: 2018-reads, unhauled
Tales from a Talking Board is an anthology assembled by Ross E. Lockhart. It is a series of short fiction stories mainly addressing the use of Ouija boards. I received my copy in a book subscription box service last year. I must admit I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had originally hoped…I was thrilled to receive such a unique looking book, but the stories included left something to be desired. I rated Tales from a Talking Board 3 stars and I feel even that may have been slightly too generous.

Alth
...more
KD Grainger
Feb 13, 2018 rated it liked it
I’m a little torn about this anthology. I found the stories in the first half of Tales From a Talking Board felt haphazard and nearly non-sensical. Anthologies can be difficult to form cohesively, and I would argue that this anthology was not a cohesive whole. Many of the stories didn’t have enough depth or logic to read well in a short format. I felt like I was reading some randomly written pieces that didn’t suit the theme well enough to be included.

However, that being said. There were a few
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Sour Candy
  • Seed
  • Haunted Nights
  • Clown in a Cornfield
  • Greener Pastures
  • We Should Have Left Well Enough Alone
  • Night of the Mannequins
  • The Nightmare Room (The Messy Man, #1)
  • Everything That's Underneath
  • Unbury Carol
  • Dear Laura
  • The Treasure of the Sierra Madre
  • We Ride Upon Sticks
  • Wounds: Six Stories from the Border of Hell
  • The Reddening
  • Brother
  • Into the Forest and all the Way Through
  • Twelve Slays of Christmas (A Christmas Tree Farm Mystery, #1)
See similar books…
See top shelves…
186 followers
Ross E. Lockhart is the Publisher/Editor in Chief of Word Horde. A lifelong fan of supernatural, fantastic, speculative, and weird fiction, Lockhart holds degrees in English from Sonoma State University (BA) and SFSU (MA). He is a veteran of small-press publishing, having edited scores of well-regarded novels of horror, fantasy, and science fiction. Lockhart edited the acclaimed Lovecraftian antho ...more

Related Articles

  Here at Goodreads, we've noticed that a funny thing tends to happen when we start talking about audiobooks: The same few titles get...
66 likes · 16 comments
“You can't summon angels with the devil's telephone.” 0 likes
More quotes…