Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Outsmart Your Anxious Brain: Ten Simple Ways to Beat the Worry Trick” as Want to Read:
Outsmart Your Anxious Brain: Ten Simple Ways to Beat the Worry Trick
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Outsmart Your Anxious Brain: Ten Simple Ways to Beat the Worry Trick

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  68 ratings  ·  17 reviews
It’s time to outsmart your worry and anxiety. Drawing on the same cutting-edge psychology presented in author David Carbonell’s The Worry Trick, this irreverent, on-the-go guide offers ten powerful "counter-intuitive" strategies to help you put worry in its place—anytime, anywhere.

Anxiety is a powerful force. It makes us question our decisions and ourselves, worry about th
...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published February 2nd 2020 by New Harbinger Publications
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Outsmart Your Anxious Brain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Outsmart Your Anxious Brain

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  68 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Outsmart Your Anxious Brain: Ten Simple Ways to Beat the Worry Trick
Antonella
Nov 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc, non-fiction
I enjoyed reading this book!!! It resonates with me. I underlined it and now I need to dive more into it.
Short and on point - just how it should be. Easy to understand and apply exercises.
Definitely recommend it!!!

Thanks to publisher and Netgalley for the copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!
Lynn
Feb 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is new stuff!!! As a therapist, I am always reading about tools like taking a deep breath and practicing mindfulness when I read about overcoming anxious feelings. This book goes out of the box with some really good strategies! I don't mean creative, I mean smart. This book is SMART in outsmarting anxiety. The tools will speak to most people, and the easy to read chapters can be read in an hour. But this is the type of book where you fold over corners, highlight sentences, and then put the ...more
Syrim
Jul 31, 2020 rated it liked it
This author focuses most on chronic worry over specific situations and uses lots of phobia examples, so it's not super helpful for general or social anxiety. There are several tidbits useful for panic disorder though, like pointing out that letting a breath out actually relaxes you body more than fighting to take a big breath in.

The main shortcoming of this book is its lack of nuance. For example, it talks about social anxiety but only in the most stereotypical form: blushing, stuttering and/or
...more
Jen
Mar 27, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley, self-help
There's some helpful advice here I guess if you've never read a self-help book on anxiety, but there wasn't anything new here for me, and I felt like the information could have formed a Buzzfeed style listicle rather than being a full book. ...more
Elisa
Jan 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed reading this book very much. It is very instructional and provides many good strategies for coping with worry, stress and anxiety. I particularly liked learning how to belly-breathe (I’ve never been able to successfully do that before, thank you!).

In my opinion, this book can be useful for everyone. The author has the knack of translating scientific jargon to simple, everyday language, making it really easy to understand. The explanations behind the brain’s responses to worry, stress
...more
Hannelore Cheney
Nov 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Thank you NetGalley and New Harbinger Publications for the eARC.
I have suffered from panic disorder for years, still going through therapy and on medication most of that time.
This was a good manual with excellent tips. The belly breathing is very helpful as is the acceptance of the horrible fear and riding through it. Riding through it is difficult and I do need more practice. That said, it's heartening to know so many others are out there, it makes one feel less alone and every tip to help us
...more
Jazzlin Escovar
Apr 05, 2021 rated it liked it
This was a nice read. It’s written in a very personable tone and offers practical, immediate advice. The first several chapters had some really good methods to put into practice quickly, regardless as to the type of anxiety a person is experiencing.

Towards the middle of the book, I felt like the information was starting to get repetitive. The various examples of peoples’ hypothetical experiences were getting tiresome. Generally, I would rather have references to stats and studies to lay out num
...more
Priya
Apr 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
Some books come to you at the right time. This was one of them.

Anxiety has been a big problem for me. I have been taking medication and therapy but something's always been missing. This book provided that missing link.

I have been greatly impacted by the ideas of the book. I know this is a book that I will come back to again and again.

I will also read the author's first book, The Worry Trick.

When reading this book, the idea that most helped me was that of 'safety behaviours'. I haven't read about
...more
Sharon Naylor Toris
Dec 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Offers plenty of tips and stories for readers chasing relief from anxiety issues. I wouldn't call it a 'worry trick,' but I am glad the author included worry, doubt, insecurity, fear and other life-affecting thought issues. Readers who have lived with the disorder likely have read dozens of books on the subject, each looking for the one elusive key to let them stomp down the disorder and live freely. There's plenty to turn over in your mind from this book, lots to discuss with a worry-minded fri ...more
Anca
Dec 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
I read this book while waiting for some biopsy results. Having very small children, my mind was filled with what-if thoughts. After reading about humoring them, I did just that. And it worked! It helped calm my anxious brain!
The explanations in the book are easy to follow. I enjoyed the metaphors the author used, it made the advice easier to understand and remember. This book is to be read not only by people suffering from chronic anxiety but also by those who have relatives or friends with such
...more
Samantha
Jan 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: self-help
I was given a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Outsmart Your Anxious Brain is a self-help book that gives you 10 tips on how to deal with your anxiety. It is exactly what the title claims it is.

What I really liked about this book was the simplicity of it. It wasn't loaded down with unnecessary jargon that made it boring and hard to read. It was straight to the point; here's the problem, here's wha
...more
Shanna
Mar 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is very helpful in letting me know new ways to deal with my chronic anxiety! Thanks so much for making it easier for me to cope and helping me get some new strategies in this sometimes scary world!
Stefanie Bevins
Jan 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I am grateful to have been provided a copy to read. I thought the author provided a lot of really good strategies and tips for moving past anxiety and anxious thoughts. I would recommend this book to anyone who has even a little bit of anxiety. It was an easy read and easy to understand. ,
Jmp
Mar 30, 2020 rated it liked it
Step by step techniques for facing and working with anxiety. Not recommended for clients with trauma. Exposure Therapy is a parallel.
Anjedah / bookriot_awesomeyou
Dec 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is good for somebody who is suffering from anxiety there is lot of tips and tricks which you can use .
Emily
Dec 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book was wonderful. I have dealt with anxiety for years and Carbonell has many good tip and tricks for dealing with anxiety. I am looking forward to putting them into practice!
Nicole Pinto
Nov 16, 2019 rated it liked it
This was a good, quick read with some good tools to help with anxiety. Thank you to netgalley for the arc.
Heather Oxer
rated it liked it
Dec 06, 2020
Johnlevingster
rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2020
Abou Reeda
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2020
Brittany
rated it really liked it
Feb 28, 2021
Meg
rated it liked it
Mar 19, 2020
Ashley
rated it really liked it
May 10, 2020
Denise
rated it liked it
Jan 14, 2021
Julia
rated it it was amazing
Dec 16, 2020
Christine
rated it liked it
Mar 10, 2020
Micaela Tracy
rated it liked it
Mar 04, 2021
Mike
rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2020
Khuey40
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2020
Heather Harper
rated it it was amazing
Feb 24, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Well Met (Well Met, #1)
  • At the Wolf's Table
  • Just a Boyfriend (End of the Line, #2)
  • The Book of V.
  • A Wanton Woman (Mail Order Bride of Slate Springs #1)
  • A Little Bit of Christmas (Crystal Lake, #3)
  • Baiting Him (How to Catch an Alpha #2)
  • Date Me, Bryson Keller
  • Any Groom Will Do (The Brides of Belgravia, #1)
  • Christmas in the City
  • Tiny Tim and The Ghost of Ebenezer Scrooge: The Sequel to A Christmas Carol
  • Full Circle: From Hollywood to Real Life and Back Again
  • Epic Solitude: A Story of Survival and a Quest for Meaning in the Far North
  • The Bromance Book Club (Bromance Book Club, #1)
  • Joy to the Duke (Love is All Around #3)
  • The Christmas Adventures of Archie
  • Riven (Riven, #1)
  • One Christmas Eve (Cedar Street, #2)
See similar books…
David Carbonell, Ph.D. is a Clinical Psychologist who specializes in treating anxiety. He is the author of four self-help books: Panic Attacks Workbook, The Worry Trick, Fear of Flying Workbook, and Outsmart Your Anxious Brain. He is also the “coach” of the popular self-help site, anxietycoach, and his books are all available for purchase there. In his spare time, he is the founding member of The ...more

Related Articles

“I'm in a weird place because the book is about to come out. So I'm basically just walking around like a raw nerve and I'm not sure that I...
42 likes · 9 comments