Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “All Is Fair” as Want to Read:
All Is Fair
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

All Is Fair

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  11 reviews
When Lady Mina Tretheway receives a telegram at boarding school, she doesn’t want to read it. In 1918, with war raging, she dreads telegrams, knowing they never bring good news.

At first she doesn’t understand the cryptic message. Then she realizes it’s written in code, and the message leads her home to Hallington Manor. When Lord Andrew Graham appears with a dashing young
...more
Expected publication: January 22nd 2019 by Swoon Reads
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about All Is Fair, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about All Is Fair

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Dan Curnutt
Dec 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is an excellent young adult reader novel. It gives a very balanced look at life in England during World War 1 through the eyes of a young teenage girl. Lady Mina Thretheway is at boarding school which should keep her safe from war.

But her father and brother are heavily involved. The brother is declared missing and presumed dead. Mina has grieved over him for months.

One day she receives a telegram from her father. It is written in code, but only she knows that. Her father wants her to come h
...more
Amanda
Oct 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
ALL IS FAIR is an action-packed, face-paced WWI adventure. I had to read it in one setting because there's basically a cliffhanger at the end of every chapter. It was the book equivalent of a roller coaster. Like a roller coaster, you can see some of the twists coming, but there are plenty of surprises. As a bonus, I learned some historical facts I didn't know before.

The appeal of this book is definitely plot over character. The characters were underdeveloped and unremarkable. The romance jumps
...more
Lindsay
Oct 28, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: arcs
I will start with the bad before getting to the good. The first half made me wonder if I had impulsively decided to read this because of a misleading summary before looking at reviews and doing further research. It starts with Mina leaving boarding school upon receiving an urgent and ciphered letter from her father demanding her to return home. She meets a cute American named Lucas on the train that claims they will meet again soon. Mina arrives home to the news that Lucas and her brother's best ...more
Samantha Hastings
Jun 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Love, love, loved it. But I suppose you'd like to know why? I'll tell you:

1. Lady Mina Tretheway is the heroine I've always hoped for. She's smart, funny, and a code breaker. This book is her coming of age, from a privileged boarding school student to a young adult who can make a real difference in World War I.
2. The romance! Mina has always fancied her older brother's friend Lord Andrew Graham, but when a young American, Lucas Mueller, comes to visit, she is drawn to him as well.
3. The twists
...more
Laura
Loved loved loved this!

Perfect for fans of Cindy Anstey and Susan Elia MacNeal's "Maggie Hope" series, All Is Fair is an amazing story of full of mystery, intrigue, secrets, and romance set in World War I, otherwise known as The Great War.

Mina is a wonderful protagonist, who is smart, witty, and brave--even though she has moments of doubting her own bravery and desire for adventures. She has her faults, but is determined to anything and everything for her family and her country.

All Is Fair will
...more
India
Nov 14, 2018 added it
Thoughts to come.
Bailey
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2018
Mel Rygus
rated it really liked it
Dec 02, 2018
ExpatLibrary
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
All is Fair is a well written, intriguing WWI rescue story with a hint of romance. I read the ARC tonight and in just one sitting. I love a good female empowerment book and our heroine in this novel has moxie, brains, and a good sense of humor. While it is possible that some people will sigh about ‘another rescue’ novel (we have had some incredible ones recently), I especially like this novel for upper middle school and lower high school. It has some complexity that will appeal to a slightly old ...more
Iany Mcgrawn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
T.J. Burns
I received a copy of this book from Macmillan Children's Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Kate
rated it really liked it
Nov 19, 2018
Lauren
rated it it was amazing
Jul 26, 2018
Elaine
Aug 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you net galley for an advance reader copy of this novel. This was a historical fiction set during WWI about code bteaking, spying and rescuing a German scientist. I liked the plot of this book and the main female character was clever and willing to step outside of society norms. The book did leave several lingering questions and fe!t rushed from the second half on. For example, Mina rushed off in a car to meet up with mammals character, Lucas, and ends up going in the mission for days-- th ...more
Bozhena Levine
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2018
Thrashboy666
rated it really liked it
Nov 22, 2018
Julie
This was a lot of fun to read, but it feels like two different books. Right around the half way point, there's a sudden turn to the plot that was unexpected and intense. And because the second half of the book was so different from the first half, there were also several loose ends I wish could've been wrapped up, but they just disappeared. I wish that either there was a more gradual movement toward the second half or that the first half was condensed and the second half was fleshed out more sin ...more
Bailey
Nov 25, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was immediately drawn first to this book's gorgeous cover, then to its enticing description. World War I setting? Cryptic messages? Danger? Girls going places they "don't belong"? I was instantly on board.

I want to start with some librarian-related thoughts about this book. I often find myself reading YA novels with bated breath, hoping nothing happens that would make me hesitate to recommend it to middle school and younger YA readers. For me, All Is Fair passed this test! Yay! There is some r
...more
Jane
rated it it was amazing
Oct 04, 2018
Aria
marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2017
Caro
marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2017
SB
added it
Jun 15, 2017
Marty
marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2017
Faida orrie
marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2017
Catherine Tinker
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2017
JoNetta
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2017
Fay
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2017
Sharon Fen
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2017
Peggy Geiger
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2017
Katie
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2017
Zahra Musa
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2017
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2017
Alex
marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2017
Hesione
marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2017
Ramiro
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2017
Samantha Haviland
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2017
John
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2017
Kdmittens
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2017
Mella
added it
Dec 04, 2017
Ebby
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2018
carrietracy
marked it as to-read
Feb 18, 2018
Rosemary Angelique
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2018
Jeanna Massman
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2018
viktoria
marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2018
Natalie Williamson
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »