Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Toad on the Road: Mama and Me” as Want to Read:
Toad on the Road: Mama and Me
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Toad on the Road: Mama and Me

3.61  ·  Rating details ·  82 ratings  ·  18 reviews
Toad is back in his second read-aloud adventure—this time with Mama! Tender and funny, this mama and me story from author-illustrator Stephen Shaskan is perfect for kids learning to read.

With bold, eye-catching art and a bouncy rhyming text, this is the perfect gift for Mother’s Day and for fans of Llama Llama, Red Pajama!

Fox has a flat. Goat ran out of gas. But help has
...more
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published March 6th 2018 by HarperCollins
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Toad on the Road, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Toad on the Road

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.61  · 
Rating details
 ·  82 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Toad on the Road: Mama and Me
Edward Sullivan
Mar 04, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Toad and his Mama offering roadside assistance.
Angela
In this sequel to "Toad on the Road: A Cautionary Tale," Toad joins his Mama, who is a tow truck driver, for a day of work. The two of them stop to help animals with a variety of car troubles, from a goat who's out of gas to a moose stuck in the mud. Stephen Shaskan continues the call-and-response style text from the previous book, allowing kids to join in on the storytelling. However, they may have a harder time with the guessing game this time around - it may be more challenging for young kids ...more
Mama Bibliosoph
In a strong sequel to "Toad on the Road: A Cautionary Tale," the little toad is back, this time driving around with Mama Toad in her tow truck and helping animals along the road with their various AAA emergencies. The structure is nearly identical to the first book, which makes this extra easy to warm up to when kids already love the first installment.

The entire series is very funny and enormously appealing to kids who like animals and/or vehicles and who also enjoy a lot of action at storytime.
...more
Stephanie
Mar 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Love this it is a cute rhyming text perfect for kids who like vehicles and there mama! Great for a vehicles theme, mamas, getting stuck and rescued! Love the simple rhyming the kids can really interact with this one!
Anthony
Little Toad, and Mama are out on the road helping other drivers in distress. Together they fix a flat tire, give gas to a stranded driver, and pull a car out of the mire. With their help all the drivers can get where their going, and where they're going is going to be fun.
Viviane Elbee
Jun 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
Adorable illustrations and bouncy, rhyming, easy & quick to read text. This book is good for toddlers, preschoolers and beginning readers.

Fans of tow trucks, car repairs, toads & parties will likely enjoy it.
Lisa
May 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great book about helping others. Kids will love the rhyming. Love the story, the simplicity of the words, the repetition of phrases and the fantastic illustrations to go along with, are absolutely amazing! This one is a keeper!
Jennifer
May 16, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: storytime
Not as catchy as the first book but still cute.
Dana
May 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Cute rhyming story with repetitive elements as Toad and Mama in their tow truck help their friends make their deliveries - to a party for Toad and Mama!
Joey Gremillion
Jun 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Lots of good repetition and rhyme! All the time! (heehee)
Mandy
Nov 23, 2019 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: K-2
Shelves: picture-books
(3.5)
Kelly
Apr 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
LOVED it. Very colorful and a great picture book.
Vicki
Apr 18, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture
Toad and his mom come to the rescue of their friends with their tow truck service. Repetitive text and colorful illustrations.
Nina
Apr 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Mama and Toad are out patrolling the road, assisting stranded motorists, and making friends along the way. A great book about helping others!
Elizabeth
Feb 12, 2019 rated it liked it
Best part is guessing what animal needs assistance next. Kind of reminds me of Little Blue Truck and Toad on the Road by another author.
Tracie
Mar 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Mama toad and little toad help several friends as they travel on the road.
Miss Sarah
Jan 29, 2019 rated it liked it
Mama and toad are on their way somewhere when they keep bumping into people who need help. It moves and is fun especially guessing who is in the shadow cutouts. Preschool and up
Heidi-Marie
I liked this MUCH better than the first. Same rhyming with guessing--even though the rhyming abruptly stopped at the end. I liked seeing all the people in trouble being from Bob's--I made a guess about why which I was right on. This would be a better one for me to share in preschool and with my young kids.

6/27/18 Used as opener for T theme. Kids loved guessing the silhouettes of what needed help. And I helped to point out what was on the side of their vehicles so they could see how it all came
...more
Ryan
rated it liked it
May 05, 2019
Katy Punch
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2018
Deatrice
rated it liked it
Dec 18, 2018
Sara Grochowski
rated it liked it
Sep 05, 2017
Tara
rated it it was ok
Sep 04, 2018
Nicole
rated it liked it
May 10, 2019
Cheryl Aaby
rated it it was amazing
Sep 13, 2018
Tara
rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2018
Mary Elenburg
rated it it was amazing
Jul 09, 2018
Barbara DaCosta
rated it it was amazing
Dec 18, 2017
Debbie
rated it liked it
Apr 10, 2019
Jackie
rated it liked it
Aug 05, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Big Bed for Little Snow
  • Snakes on a Train
  • Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story
  • Bloom Boom!
  • The Very Impatient Caterpillar
  • Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas
  • My Heart
  • Llama Destroys the World
  • Hey, Water!
  • Bear Needs Help
  • Dear Girl,
  • Monster and Mouse Go Camping
  • DUCK!
  • Jack B. Ninja
  • Hair Love
  • Bear Came Along
  • A Bear Sat on My Porch Today: (Story Books for Kids, Childrens Books with Animals, Friendship Books, Inclusivity Book)
  • Tomorrow Most Likely
See similar books…