Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sunshine After the Rain” as Want to Read:
Sunshine After the Rain
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sunshine After the Rain

by
4.02  ·  Rating details ·  197 ratings  ·  16 reviews
The new delightfully uplifting beach read from Daisy James. Perfect for fans of Mandy Baggot, Christie Barlow and Zara Stoneley.

A summer that changes everything…

Frazzled workaholic Evie Johnson has finally had enough! When she’s blamed for a publicity disaster at the art gallery she loves, she decides to flee the bright lights of London for the sun-drenched shores of Corfu
...more
Kindle Edition, 384 pages
Published July 5th 2017 by HQ Digital
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sunshine After the Rain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sunshine After the Rain

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  197 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sunshine After the Rain
Carrie
Jun 24, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley
Evie Johnson was in charge of the big showing at the art gallery she works at and wanted it to be a big success but when a last minute painting arrives it throws everyone into a tailspin to be ready in time for the opening. The new piece was absolutely beautiful and nothing like the artists other works so when the artist arrives and it appalled this piece is up at his show it becomes obvious a mistake had been made.

Evie knows the mistake was her fault and decides to head to the sun-drenched sho
...more
Nicola
Jul 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars.

Daisy James transports us to Corfu for Sunshine After the Rain and, in a beautiful setting with endearing characters, it's a story in which there was plenty to appreciate.

"You need some time and space to consider your future and what better place to do that than overlooking the crystal blue calm of the Ionian Sea?

Following a PR disaster at the art gallery she manages, Evie flees to the popular Greek island to try and awaken her dormant artistic flair and soon discovers a familiar f
...more
Elle's Book Blog
Jun 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: chick-lit
Release Date: July 5, 2017
Genre: Chick Lit

Sunshine After the Rain by Daisy James is a fun little book that I really enjoyed reading. There are books out there that are sure to lift your spirits, and readers, this is one of them! One of my favorite things when reading this one is that I was able to be transported into a lovely setting. The author does a wonderful job at essentially drawing us a picture of Corfu, and if I could go there myself I would. This is a magical quality for any book an
...more
Elaine
Awww - I have to say I loved escaping to Corfu in this heartwarming story . . . . mind you, now I quite fancy going to visit there for myself to see some of the sights described so vividly by this talented author, especially the descriptions of the places where Evie and Sam go to paint . Sorry, I digress, back to the story . . .

Evie had been keen on making a career for herself as an artist until a terrible review not only knocked her confidence but also had her running from her home in Cornwall
...more
Rachel Gilbey
Aug 18, 2017 rated it really liked it

Highly entertaining story about rediscovering your passions, and about silver linings to potential disasters.

What struck me most about Sunshine After The Rain were the descriptions of Corfu, which really brought the scenery alive for me. I laughed out loud when I realised I was approaching a scene that included not only a flirty, good looking Greek man, but also boat - although that may just be my love of Shirley Valentine reaching out!

Then there were the descriptions of various ends of the col
...more
Grass monster
Aug 06, 2017 rated it really liked it

The Blurb :
Frazzled workaholic Evie Johnson has finally had enough! When she’s blamed for a publicity disaster at the art gallery she loves, she decides to flee the bright lights of London for the sun-drenched shores of Corfu and turn her life upside-down.
Under the shade of the olive trees, she picks up her dusty paintbrushes and begins to chase the dreams she had put aside for so long. But she never expected to bump into drop-dead-gorgeous Sam Bradbury – and certainly not whilst wrapped only in
...more
Stacey
Jul 13, 2017 rated it liked it
3.5 stars.

I'll be honest, at first I wasn't sure of what to make of this book. I fell in love with the cover and the storyline sounded good so I felt a need to read it! However, I would probably have enjoyed it more if I had a passion for the main subject: Art. A lot of the book was talking about Evie's painting and her art career and although I found the location and her relationship side of the book intriguing, I found the parts about art a little too much.

The book starts up with Evie losing h
...more
Patty
Jun 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This was the first book by Daisy James that I have read and I was not disappointed.  This book was a refreshing sweet romance.  A book about sweet romance and kisses and summer fun.

In this book you have Evie Johnson, art museum manager and Sam Bradbury hot son of her boss James Bradbury.  Evie has a bout of bad luck, when she gets blamed for a painting mishap.  She has to resign from her job in order to save the gallery.  So she resigns and runs away for a two-week stint in Corfu.  While there S
...more
Kim
Jul 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2017, net-galley
When a mistake happens at a show in the art gallery that she manages, Evie feels that she has to resign. Her colleague and friend comes round with the keys to the owners property in Corfu and suggests that she takes a break there.

Corfu is so beautifully depicted within the pages that you can't help but want to join them all. 

Sam is the owners son and he turns up at the villa whilst Evie is there and although she's staying in the art studio and he's in the main building, they do meet up. He encou
...more
Karen Whittard
Jul 14, 2017 rated it really liked it
A lovely easy to read summer special. Wonderfully written with great characters. This book is sure to lift your spirits and leave you smiling from ear to ear.

Workaholic Evie has had enough. After being blamed for a disaster that had nothing to do with her. Evie gives up her job and flees to Cyprus. In the hopes of lying low and restoring her soul. Finding the scenery picture perfect. Evie proves that it is never too late to live your dreams. Amongst painting the beautiful island Evie meets the
...more
Rachel (Rae)
Aug 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
After the events at the beginning of the book I had my fingers crossed that everything would work out for Evie. I loved getting to know her mainly because her character is so endearing. Then add in how accident prone she is and I couldn't help but like her even more. Sunshine After the Rain pretty much had me smiling all the way through with it's fun and giggle inducing plot. Sam is quite an intriguing character and to begin with I wasn't quite sure about him but as time goes on his character de ...more
Alison
Aug 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
Daisy James always manages to produce books with such gorgeous covers that you just have to dip inside to sample the magic. This time we are transported to Corfu, so for those of us who are not destined for scorching hot vacations this year this is the perfect book to help you drift away.

Feel the sun, taste the delicious local fayre, mix with the locals, admire the sea .. have I set the scene!?

Evie has a slight disaster at work, there is a bit of a mix up with a painting at the art gallery .. s
...more
Sally Coles
Jul 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
When Evie is blamed for a disaster at work she decides to take up her boss's offer of his villa in Corfu and have some fun in the sun. She quickly settles in and rediscovers her love for art and painting and what more beautiful setting to paint in than Corfu

Then who appears but Sam her boss's son and gradually she builds up a friendship with him - but what about Andreas as well!

A good light hearted read perfect for the beach - pretty predictable but made up for by the setting in Corfu a lovely i
...more
Isabella May
Nov 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Another belter of a book from the talented Daisy James! I enjoyed this arty, Greek romcom immensely. Once again, Daisy has managed to completely transport me into a storyline which feeds every one of the senses courtesy of her super colourful words, and now I long to go back to Corfu... It can be no coincidence that feta and black olives wended their way into my shopping basket this morning.
CYNTHIA
Sep 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
It was a very romantic novel with a lovely final😅
Sharon
Aug 01, 2018 rated it it was ok
Meh. An ok love story with some nice descriptions of Greece. But a weak plot.
Joanne Willoughby
rated it really liked it
Sep 28, 2018
Stefani Duncan
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2020
W A Forster
rated it did not like it
Jan 20, 2018
Debra Madson
rated it really liked it
Jul 19, 2018
Sue Barnicoat
rated it really liked it
Sep 17, 2017
Kristen
rated it really liked it
Sep 03, 2018
Judith Stiverson
rated it really liked it
Jun 23, 2018
B.J. Dooks
rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2019
Mrs Susan Harris
rated it it was amazing
Mar 28, 2018
Nancy J. Horner
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2017
Michelle Williams
rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2017
Heidi
rated it it was amazing
May 03, 2018
Sara Rosenthal
rated it really liked it
Oct 25, 2020
Ruth Trapmore
rated it liked it
Mar 30, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Sunrise over Sapphire Bay
  • Autumn Skies Over Ruby Falls (Jewel Island, #2)
  • New Beginnings at Seaside Blooms
  • Dreaming of Italy
  • Aria’s Travelling Book Shop
  • Meet Me at Pebble Beach
  • The French Adventure
  • Rosie’s Little Café on the Riviera
  • Dreaming of Rome
  • A Family Holiday
  • A Very French Affair
  • The Little Vineyard in Provence
  • The Little Christmas Teashop of Second Chances (Castle Cove #2)
  • The Secret To Happiness
  • Summer on a Sunny Island
  • The Cottage on Lily Pond Lane - Autumn Leaves: Part Three (Lily Pond Lane, #3)
  • The Summer Island Swap
  • Sunshine Over Bluebell Castle (Bluebell Castle #2)
See similar books…
90 followers
Daisy James loves writing stories with strong heroines and swift-flowing plot-lines. She especially likes to create sunshine-filled settings in exotic locations - the Caribbean, Tuscany, Cornwall, Provence - so she can spend her time envisioning her characters enjoying the fabulous scenery and sampling the local food and drink.

When not scribbling away in her peppermint-and-green summerhouse (garde
...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
11 likes · 1 comments