Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Beacon” as Want to Read:
Beacon
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Beacon

(Jo Benally #1)

by
3.96  ·  Rating details ·  56 ratings  ·  18 reviews
This is an alternate cover edition for 9781523435395

Action-packed, romantic, and thought provoking, Beacon explores the possibility that vampirism is both scientifically possible and part of God’s plan.

Pastor Joanna Benally leads a double life. On the outside, she’s dedicated to the work of turning around troubled churches. But inside, she is lonely and unfulfilled, keepi
...more
Paperback, 390 pages
Published May 2017 by Createspace
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Beacon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Beacon

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  56 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Beacon
Brittany
Mar 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
I won this book through goodreads giveaways. All opinions are my own.

To start I should mention that this would not be a book that I would normally pick up at the store to read. That's what's so great about giveaways. You get a chance to read something that you might normally overlook.

I was a little unsure how I would feel about this book since 1) I am not into religious books and 2) Vampires are a little played out. Let me address issue 1 first, this is NOT a religious book, the main character i
...more
Ellie Midwood
Apr 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“Beacon” is definitely the story you don’t want to miss. Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever read fiction of this kind before, and I have read a lot of books. I don’t even know what I liked most, the biblical theme that deals with a lot of topics, starting with love, forgiveness, revenge, redemption and true faith, which was anything but preachy; or the main protagonist, Jo, who is the coolest pastor I’ve ever encountered in the world of fiction. I absolutely loved this character, who didn’t even ...more
Ann Green
May 03, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
While I appreciate the autographed copy and the "win" from Goodreads, I could not appreciate this book. Although I tried to keep an open mind since I have not read a vampire book since "Twilight" with my daughter, I just could not make the stretch. Overall, I am an old fashioned reader and was just unhappy with the first part of the story which gave it a rough start for me. I also did not like the biblical verse with each chapter as we got to know the characters and their secret lives as vampire ...more
Linda
Oct 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
WOW, I have never read a book that puts good versus evil in this way before, and I was captivated from the very first page!! For non-believers this book is not for you although it should be as I was so moved by the story of Pastor Jo Benally that I HAVE to read the next!!
Meredith
Jun 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: won-giveaway
I can not express how much I enjoyed this book! I could not put it down, and basically put my life on hold to finish it once I started. I would not normally pick out a book described like this, a vampire novel, but won this book in the Goodreads giveaways.

This is not a typical vampire novel, but a book about what makes us human. A book about love, life, and illumination.

Jo is a pastor (and a badass) who meets a vampire she is not supposed to see, and her curiosity as to why this happens leads
...more
Cassandra
Nov 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I won this book in a giveaway on Goodreads. Beacon is great. It has the right amount of christian, supernatural, science, romance, suspense and so much more. The characters are well thought out and brilliantly executed. And the way how everyone and everything interacted with each other was wonderful. The christian influences of the book are throughout the entire book, but it is well balanced and very well done. There is cussing, sex and very dark themes in this book though. However that is not b ...more
kim
Apr 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent! Makes one think.


Excellent! Makes one think. Very different take on the vampire myth. I cannot wait for the next one, Vern good.
Michael Yoder
Aug 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I normally do not enjoy vampire books, but I enjoyed this one.
Brystan
Wow this book was...a lot! Initially I thought this book was in the Christian horror genre but due to the violence, swearing, and sexy times - I wouldn’t classify it as such. The main character is a pastor and many of the characters are church leadership and it takes place in a church, so a lot of the themes are there and there is talk of God and some praying but it doesn’t feel preachy at all.

I didn’t think the violence or the sexy parts were gratuitous (although I always skim through sexy par
...more
Tiara
Nov 04, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
First thing- Who is buying the movie rights to this?!?!?! It is a hit!!!! I would consider this an R rated action/suspense/mystery story that is not afraid to come off strongly.

And I actually wish goodreads would let me give it 4.5 stars because that is what I want to rate it.

The book has a fantastic story of layers, comical quips, and great personality. Even characters who were in the story for brief moments were clear and interesting.

I was also hesitant at first in regards to any religous p
...more
C. A.
Oct 31, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Though first half of book was good. It was deceptive to pull you in. All the graphic sex was unneeded to establish attraction of main characters. Graphic torture was treated as though all criminals look forward to such. I think purpose of book was to establish a honestly christian character then make people believe all sincere Christians are looking for an excuse to become violent or perverse. If book had stayed sincere & not devolved into porn & perversity trying hard to justify it. I would hav ...more
Pat
Aug 26, 2017 rated it liked it


I received a free copy of "Beacon" by November Ellison, through the Good Reads First Reads Giveaway. This may be an interesting book for fans of "Vampires" and "Science Fiction." I found the mix of religion and fantasy bizarre, despite the author's insights and talent. Also, some erotic scenes are thrown in for good measure.

This is one unusual book!
...more
Sarah
Nov 01, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A different take on the vampire genre but a little too much religious preaching and romance for my liking. It also takes rather a long time to reach the point of the story, and there are certain scenes that I found very distressing and difficult to read.
alice Tileston
Aug 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recieved free for review:
I had a hard time at the start of the book. It seemed disconnected.
But I kept reading and i got pulled into the story.
It's kind of different but I enjoyed it!
...more
Reader Views
Feb 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Reviewed by Maria Juliana Leal For Readers Views (02/17)

“Beacon” by November Ellison is an interesting book, which combines religion and spirituality with the dark fantasy world of vampires and evil in many forms. It is a mix of genres filled with romance, betrayal, conspiracy theories, and science thrown in for good reading. The story takes place in Newark, Ohio. Joanna Benally is a pastor that has a double life. On one side working with troubled churches and on the other, a person that feels l
...more
Keri
Apr 30, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you are into a romantic mythology, this book is for you. Upon receiving and reading the back of the book I have to admit I wasn't so sure about it. There was just something about mentioning the Bible and vampires in the same paragraph that didn't sound the least bit appealing to me. After reading quite a bit of it, I realized it was more into mentioning Christian ethics and not necessarily telling the Biblical stories, even though a love between a pastor and vampire doesn't sound very Christi ...more
Andrea Mcbride
I'm so conflicted with this book I was absolutely loving it until half way. I can tell you exactly where the book started to go down hill. It was when she was having a panic attack and she called Ethan over to hold her. I'm thinking, Jo would never do that. Anyway you learn why as you keep reading. But I can tell you I did not like Jo at the end. I don't know, but the book definitely kept me turning the pages. ...more
Gina Gebauer
Jan 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book, I honestly couldn't put it down. The character that portrayed Jo mentally was so well written. The book just gets better and better as you read on.

I would recommend this book to everyone, especially to all of you vampire lover s out there. Just relax and enjoy.
...more
Laura Henderson
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2016
Rochelle
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2017
Candace Nicole
rated it liked it
Mar 04, 2017
Silvia
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2016
Melissa Valdez
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2017
Tiffany Jackson
rated it did not like it
Apr 13, 2017
Sela (Skullinda)
rated it liked it
May 14, 2017
November Ellison
Mar 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Gary David Smith
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2016
MELISSA
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2019
Julia Andreoli
rated it liked it
Jan 28, 2017
Lashanne
rated it did not like it
Feb 21, 2017
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Please add cover 3 12 Jun 02, 2017 09:25AM  
Goodreads Librari...: New covers for Kindle and print 2 16 May 29, 2017 02:14AM  
Goodreads Librari...: Please add cover 2 17 Jun 28, 2016 06:51PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Pretty Monsters: Stories
  • Wanted (Delight #1)
  • A Bridge Through Time (Thistle & Hive, #1)
  • Monstress, Vol. 1: Awakening
  • Never-Ending Nightmare (AIR Book 5)
  • Separated By Time (Thistle & Hive, #3)
  • A Matter of Time (Thistle & Hive, #4)
  • Odin's Shadow (Sons of Odin #1)
  • A Thistle Beyond Time (Thistle & Hive, #2)
  • Pink: Omnibus Edition
  • The Volunteer (Lens Book 2)
  • A Flame Put Out (Sons of Odin #2)
  • Oath Breaker (Sons of Odin #3)
  • Tree of Ages (Tree of Ages, #1)
  • The Immortal Knight Chronicles Box Set (The Immortal Knight Chronicles #1-3)
  • The Immortal Knight Chronicles Box Set 2: Books 4 - 6
  • Wildfire Griffin (Fire & Rescue Shifters: Wildfire Crew #1)
  • The Melted Sea (Tree of Ages, #2)
See similar books…
35 followers
November Ellison has been a troublemaker since she was born.

Prior to the publication of her breakout novel, Beacon, and its sequel, Catalyst, her last published work of fiction was a play. Although released in 1994, it is still in production in numerous colleges and universities. Her works always center on love, honor, redemption, and morality.

BEACON is the first in the Jo Benally series, creatin
...more

Other books in the series

Jo Benally (2 books)
  • Catalyst (Jo Benally Series, #2)

Related Articles

Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020 will be long remembered as a Dumpster fire of a year. But the nice thing about time is that it...
497 likes · 237 comments