Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Force of Nature (Aaron Falk, #2)” as Want to Read:
Force of Nature (Aaron Falk, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Force of Nature

(Aaron Falk #2)

by
3.85  ·  Rating details ·  43,389 ratings  ·  5,105 reviews
Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side.

The hike through the rugged Giralang Ranges is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises.

Federal Police Agent Aaro
...more
Paperback, 377 pages
Published September 26th 2017 by Macmillan Australia
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Force of Nature, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Robyn Definitely! Are there really companies like Executive Adventures that would send groups of people out in such dense bushland on their own like this?…moreDefinitely! Are there really companies like Executive Adventures that would send groups of people out in such dense bushland on their own like this? What exactly are they being paid for? In this day and age of insurance and health & safety requirements, surely there would be some kind of contingency plan like a tracking device, satellite phone, walkie talkie or flares. I can suspend disbelief a bit and I really liked the book but I was questioning the premise the whole time.(less)
Lisa Jordan No.
There are a few nods to the past, but nothing that would put you at a disadvantage with the current story.
I would only add that in the first book…more
No.
There are a few nods to the past, but nothing that would put you at a disadvantage with the current story.
I would only add that in the first book you do get to know a lot about the main character's person history, but if that doesn't bother you the story line of this book stands on its own.(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  43,389 ratings  ·  5,105 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Emily May
Jan 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
But now, as he stood in front of that forlorn cabin, he could almost hear an insistent whisper in his own mind. Get away. Run.

4 1/2 stars. Oh, I liked this book a lot. I ended up enjoying it even more than Harper's The Dry because, though both were compelling, this one felt less formulaic. And way more creepy.

Harper is fantastic at creating a strong sense of place and an atmosphere that creeps under your skin. The settings in her two novels are very different, but each is extremely important t
...more
Chelsea Humphrey
Oct 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Recommended to Chelsea by: Lisa Jordan
4.5 STARS

"Later, the four remaining women could fully agree on only two things. One: No-one saw the bushland swallow up Alice Russell. And two: Alice had a mean streak so sharp it could cut you."

It's no secret that I adored Jane Harper's 2017 (US) debut The Dry, but that didn't ensure I would love her sophomore novel (and follow up in the Aaron Falk series) Force Of Nature. So many times I've read a solid entry from a debut author, only to be let down by their subsequent stories and eventual rea
...more
Paromjit
Jane Harper shifts her setting from the devastating drought in The Dry to the equally hostile atmospheric environment of the Giralong Ranges, tough to negotiate, with its menacing history of Martin Kovac, a serial killer that still haunts the area, vivid in peoples memories and nightmares. Five women are on a corporate team building hike run by Executive Adventures, only four return. Federal Agent Aaron Falk of the Melbourne Financial Investigations Unit returns, this time with colleague, Carmen ...more
Diane S ☔
Sep 24, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I loved her thriller, The Dry, for a first novel it was fantastic. Actually would have been fantastic even if it wasn't her first, but even more so since it was. Excited to read this, her second, and I'll just say that the infamous sophomore slump is not in evidence. This time Aaron Falk and his partner Carmen are called to the Giralang Range, where a woman is missing. A team building trip, men go one way, five men go another, all to meet up at the end of three days. According to the outfit mana ...more
Julie
Mar 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Force of Nature by Jane Harper is a 2018 Flatiron Books publication.


A solid, gripping, edgy thriller-

When five women go on a team building expedition out in the unforgiving and dangerous Australian Giralang Ranges, which was also once upon a time, the stomping grounds of a serial killer, whose son may be following in his father’s footsteps, things immediately go awry.

Among the group, is whistleblower Alice Russell, who is attempting to divulge to Aaron Falk and his partner, Carmen, information
...more
Tucker
Feb 06, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Jane Harper’s first novel “The Dry” was one of the best debuts I’ve read in a long time. And her new novel “Force of Nature” is equally as good. Five women depart on a corporate team building exercise in the Australian wilderness and become lost without food, water, or adequate shelter. Eventually four of the women are found, but there is no trace of the fifth. As the story switches between the disastrous team adventure and the background of the five women, the tension and sense of menace contin ...more
Meredith
Dec 03, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
I love the subtle elegance of Harper's writing.

Force of Nature didn't have the magic of The Dry (at least for my reading experience), and I wish there had been more of Aaron Falk. However, this is still a worthy read!


Five women take part in a corporate retreat in the Gralong Ranges. They are supposed to spend three days navigating a trail, camping, and teambuilding. However, only four of them return. How is this connected to Aaron Falk? The one woman who doesn’t make it back, Alice, was Falk’
...more
Debra
Feb 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorite-books
4.5 stars

Five women go on a hike. Only four return.....

Another great one by Jane Harper! Five people go on a corporate retreat - they are going to hike and camp in the wilderness. They are to leave their cell phones behind and rely on themselves and each other. This is going to be team work at its best! Except, It's NOT!. The women argue, quibble and are not very pleasant to each other. When they fail to return on time to the agreed upon rendezvous at the end of the retreat, the guides go lookin
...more
Jen
Mar 25, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've returned back under for this one. But, instead being in the outback, we are now in the wilderness of Australia for the sequel to The Dry. Our favourite agent Falk, who has recovered from his harrowing ordeal in The Dry, is back in the search for a woman who has been lost on a corporate excursion into the bush lands in the Giralang ranges.

It's a mystery of magnitude as Falk has been working with the missing woman in order to prosecute her boss and his company. Her missing in the cold, wet br
...more
Linda
Mar 14, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
We call them Mud Daubers here in Texas.

Solitary wasps not living in colonies. They don't play well with others.

Jane Harper switches things up from her first book, The Dry. (Simply, a masterpiece) Harper brings back her Federal Agent Aaron Falk with sidekick, Carmen, into a new and challenging investigation.

Five professional women of varying degrees on the corporate ladder find themselves on a Titanic of a wilderness retreat. (Being an avid hiker, climber, and camper, I shuddered at how ill-prepa
...more
Larry H
Mar 06, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I'm between 4 and 4.5 stars.

"Later, the four remaining women could fully agree on only two things. One: No one saw the bushland swallow up Alice Russell. And two: Alice had a mean streak so sharp it could cut you."

Nobody likes corporate teambuilding retreats. But employees from the boutique accountancy firm BaileyTennants are off for a three-day hike and camping adventure in Australia's Giralang Ranges. Even the firm's chairwoman and chief executive, brother and sister, are part of the group hea
...more
j e w e l s
FIVE STARS
SHE’S DONE IT AGAIN!


Jane Harper wrote THE best book I read in 2017.

THE DRY deservedly won many prestigious awards and Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk won the hearts of readers around the world.

When a debut work of fiction is nothing less than magnificent, the highly anticipated second novel looms large. Will it live up to the first? Is Harper a one trick pony? Do not fear, Dry fans!!! FORCE OF NATURE does not disappoint and will cement Harper as your go-to mystery/psychological susp
...more
Elyse Walters
Aug 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I think I liked this book even more than “The Dry”. Loved the story itself!!!
.....*Women* hiking in the wilderness grabbed me from the start. Five women - One goes missing.
.....Many side stories - added tenderness, and compelling issues to explore:
bullying, money laundering, an eating disorder, drug abuse, troubled father/son relationship.
.....The journey was completely engrossing!
.....Inspectors Faulk and Carmen were a great team with their own unique personalities. As they worked together to
...more
Rosh
Nov 02, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
2.5
I knew it. I knew it! It was too good to be true. It was too much to ask from the writer who wrote one of the best, gripping mystery thrillers of 2017 without compromising on literary quality to repeat the same magic with her second book. I KNEW IT.

Oh well for what's it worth, Jane Harper is a very good story-teller, and while her debut novel The Dry was a book that helped restored my dying faith on the genre of mystery/thriller, this one wasn't as special as I hoped it to be. From an early
...more
Karen
Oct 09, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you Goodreads! I won this book in a giveaway!

I loved The Dry, this author’s first novel! Couldn’t wait to meet Aaron Falk again. This book is good, Falk and his partner have been working with a whistleblower(Alice) for a company that has been laundering money for a long time.
So Alice and four other women and a group of five men are sent separate ways on a team building company retreat in the Giralang Ranges...very dense forest land...very atmospheric..the women’s group encounters so many p
...more
Liz
May 13, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

Five women go out on a corporate retreat, but only four come back. This story, told in a back and forth manner and from a variety of different viewpoints, tells the tale of how it all went wrong. Of course, the question for both the reader and Aaron Falk, is whom to believe. Alice, the missing woman, wasn’t well liked by the other four women. And she was also involved in some corporate espionage that could have led to her going missing. In fact, she was working for Aaron and he suffers the guilt
...more
Lindsay - Traveling Sister
4 stars! Another gripping and suspenseful page-turner from Jane Harper!

Last year, I read and loved Harper’s debut novel “The Dry” and was really looking forward to Book #2. This second book in the series was impressive - a very entertaining and addictive read. Both novels are very intriguing and well-written atmospheric thrillers, however, I did feel that “The Dry” was slightly more captivating and intense.

Harper has an amazing knack for pulling you deep into the atmosphere of the story without
...more
jessica
Aug 31, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
if five women go out in the woods today, theyre sure for a great surprise. like one of them not returning with the others. yikes!

this was a much needed break amongst my week filled with contemporary fiction and fantasy and my rating definitely reflects that. sometimes you just need a good mystery/thriller to give you life, you know? and this was a solid sequel to the critically acclaimed, ‘the dry.’ i was impressed with harpers debut and had high hopes for this. luckily, it didnt disappoint.

one
...more
Zoeytron
Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.

A corporate retreat meant to exercise team-building skills and personal development goes sideways in a hurry.  Five ladies strap on their backpacks and trudge into the cold and muddy terrain of the Australian outback.  They are a motley crew made up of senior staff members, a data clerk, an office assistant administrative coordinator (Ahem!  Office-speak, gotta get it right!), etc.  Ongoing grudges and underlying resentments roil just beneat
...more
Matt
Feb 22, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Jane Harper, and Flatiron Books for providing me with a copy of this publication, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.

After devouring Jane Harper’s debut novel, I could not wait to get my hands on this sequel, which pulls Aaron Falk back into the mix. A member of the Australian Federal Police’s Finance Division, Aaron Falk is knee-deep in a case that could have many important implications. One of his sources calls him in the
...more
Dorie  - Traveling Sister :)
I really enjoyed “The Dry” by Jane Harper, loving the protagonist Aaron Falk and the great mystery in that book. I was really excited to read “Force of Nature”.

I was glad to see that the author chose to set this book in the bushlands of Giralang Range, I never knew how incredibly dense these areas were. The premise isn’t a new one, however, as I’ve read two books in the last year where women were fighting against the elements, the most recent “The River at Night” by Erica Ferencik.

What I liked
...more
Jilly
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
A corporate team-building trip that goes bad. Who would have expected it? I mean, come on, most corporate environments are already like a caged death-match in the office. What the hell were they thinking - taking it out into the wild?
"Oh, I know. Let's take all of these people who gossip about each other, back-bite each other, and daydream about their co-worker's deaths whenever they see the biohazard that is the breakroom microwave and throw them out into the Australian bush with minimal suppli
...more
Phrynne
Dec 17, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 4000-books
My first thought upon opening this book and reading a few pages was how well this author writes. Her descriptions of the Australian bush are real, her characters are believable and multi faceted and speak to each other like real human beings. I knew at once I was in for an enjoyable read.

I am very glad I have never worked in an office culture where employees who have barely any experience of hiking and camping are expected to go bush for three days with people they don't even like. To me it seem
...more
Brenda
Feb 28, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Five women go into the wilderness of the Giralang Ranges and only four return. I had some difficulty keeping them straight in my mind, but eventually found all five of them insufferable to some degree.

The book is about what happened to Alice, but also about family relationships. There is quite often mention of Aaron’s father, twins Bree and Beth, Lauren's and Alice’s daughters, Jill and her family. The problem is if you don’t care about the characters, you don’t really care about their family is
...more
Carol (Bookaria)
Five women are forced to go into a wilderness corporate retreat to improve performance and morale among employees. What could possibly go wrong? Well, as we later find out: a LOT!

First of all, to force people to go on a company function for an entire weekend with coworkers they do not get along with is just cruel. And yet it happens... this is the setup for this charged and interesting novel.

The novel takes place in the Australian wilderness and is told from different points of view. I liked t
...more
Dianne
Mar 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: best-of-2018
Hello again, Aaron Falk! This is a pretty good follow-up to "The Dry," Harper's electrifying debut thriller featuring Australian Federal Agent Aaron Falk. I agree with reviewers that "Force of Nature" is not quite as gripping as "The Dry," but I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

Harper has a gift for making the natural world come alive. In "The Dry," it was a drought-stricken and scorched rural town on the brink of explosion. In "Force of Nature," it's the dense, rainy, ominous bushland in the Giralan
...more
Tammy
Oct 09, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a plot that has been written and written and written again. Nice follow up to The Dry but not noteworthy.
Malia
Apr 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery-suspense
“It seemed very far away and long ago now. Like it had happened to someone else.”
― Jane Harper, Force of Nature
It is always a challenge, I think, for an author of a huge debut success to write a follow-up. The pressure to please must be intense, and I certainly sympathize and wanted to try not to compare this book to Harper's previous novel, The Dry, which I very much enjoyed. However, it is a difficult task not to compare, especially since this is a series. That being said, Force of Nature is a
...more
Suzanne
Apr 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another great yarn by this talented Aussie author. Harper is great - she develops characters flawlessly. We really get inside the heads. Review to come when I can!

I did not take notes! It is too late for me to review this properly. I didn't love it as much as The Dry, but that's ok, each book needs to be taken on its own merit, and what a hard act to follow anyway!

I loved Faulk returning, and will love to read about him again. It was fun dynamics with the women involved in this team bonding in t
...more
Cheri
” We are gathered together
We are hidden from view—
In a tangle of laurel, we tear at our sorrow
Like bread and we start up anew;
Where a circus stands blazing
And steam engines brake and whine
In a razed hobo jungle your lost and found wonder
Has risen and mixes with mine

“Then, foolish we are, in the presence of God
And what all his grave angels have done—
In love's growling weather, if we're dreaming together
Of a heaven apart from this one…
Apart from our own”

--Grave Angels, lyrics by Joe Henry

”Late
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Hell to Pay
  • And Fire Came Down (Caleb Zelic #2)
  • The Diggers Rest Hotel (Charlie Berlin, #1)
  • Dark Country (Dungirri, #2)
  • The Choke
  • Web of Deceit (Detective Ella Marconi #6)
  • Scrublands
  • The Old School
  • Skylarking
  • The Rules of Backyard Cricket
  • Truth (Broken Shore #2)
  • Moonlight Downs (Emily Tempest, #1)
  • An Isolated Incident
  • The Arsonist: A Mind on Fire
  • After the Darkness
  • Wintering
  • Blood
  • The Way Back
4,263 followers
Jane Harper is the international bestselling author of The Dry, Force of Nature and The Lost Man.
Jane is a New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller, and has won numerous top awards including the Australian Book Industry Awards Book of the Year, the Australian Indie Awards Book of the Year, the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel, and the British Book Awards Crime and Thriller Book of the
...more

Other books in the series

Aaron Falk (2 books)
  • The Dry (Aaron Falk, #1)
“It’s the panic that gets you. Makes it hard to trust what you’re seeing.” 5 likes
“She was smiling in every photo, looked truly happy in none.” 4 likes
More quotes…