Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Behind and Beyond the Badge: Stories from the Village of First Responders with Cops, Firefighters, Dispatchers, Forensics, and Victim Advocates” as Want to Read:
Behind and Beyond the Badge: Stories from the Village of First Responders with Cops, Firefighters, Dispatchers, Forensics, and Victim Advocates
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Behind and Beyond the Badge: Stories from the Village of First Responders with Cops, Firefighters, Dispatchers, Forensics, and Victim Advocates

by
4.64  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  6 reviews
There is so much more to a police officer's badge, to any badge that all first responders wear. But that's what the world sees--a badge. What's behind and beyond that badge is what people need to know--the person.

In BEHIND AND BEYOND THE BADGE, Volume 1, award-winning author Donna Brown takes you to those places that few see. First responders have opened their hearts and
...more
ebook, 275 pages
Published June 1st 2017 by Donna Brown
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Behind and Beyond the Badge, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Behind and Beyond the Badge

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
Average rating 4.64  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Behind and Beyond the Badge: Stories from the Village of First Responders with Cops, Firefighters, Dispatchers, Forensics, and Victim Advocates
Amanda
Nov 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Behind and Beyond the Badge is a book for everyone –civilians, those looking to go into law enforcement, mature young adults, retirees, and more. Brown writes in a no-nonsense, straightforward tone as she relates the stories of first responders in our community. The book’s structure allows the reader to read one of its six-to-seven-paged vignettes, set it down for a time and then pick it up again to read another or to find a comfy spot and read the book through in one sitting. Each story gives a ...more
Jessyca Garcia
Sep 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Donna Brown’s book “Behind and Beyond the Badge” was an interesting and inspiring read. Brown has honored 21 first responders by telling their stories. She asked each one what their career defining moment was. This book tells readers why these first responders do the job that they do.

I chose to read “Behind and Beyond the Badge” because I have always found police work and their stories fascinating. Brown has earned my respect as an officer and I would love to hear more of her personal stories in
...more
Chas Rankin
May 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
As the daughter, grand-daughter, sister and friend of a First Responder I can tell you this book was an important read for me. I knew there were often times when they were in dangerous situations, but most times I am sure they kept it to themselves to try and help save us from worry, though it didn’t always help. This book allowed me to get inside First Responder’s mind and more truly appreciate what they go through and how much we as civilians really need to understand just how much they sacrif ...more
Pat Stanford
Sep 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
There IS life after being a first responder

I wanted this book because my brother has been both a cop and a fireman/paramedic and my husband's brother and his wife both were cops. All retired now, and all in what this author calls Phase 2. Hoping to encourage ANY of them to write about their experiences, I have a signed copy to give them so they can see just what such a thing could look like.

Ok that was the motivation, but I also read it and appreciate the author's attention to not only each pers
...more
A.E. Howe
Sep 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is a fascinating look into the real-life experiences of law enforcement officers and the staff and family that support them. Highly recommended!
Myles
Apr 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is a great book, it does a great job of showing the true people behind the badge.
James Mcentire
rated it really liked it
Oct 30, 2017
Jill Murphy
rated it really liked it
Nov 09, 2019
Sheryl Johnson
rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2020
Julie Kerr
rated it it was amazing
Jul 01, 2017
Bob Badham
rated it it was amazing
Sep 19, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Ms. Reader
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Carla
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Wanda C
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Chelsea Wade
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
V
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Lorraine Altschuler
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Melly Mel
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Tammie
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Kendra Epperson
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Vickie
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
amy
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Brooke
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Celeste
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Tammy Hornbeck
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Brooke
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Shannon Wise
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Debee Sue
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
MIPat
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Sarah Taylor-Cruz
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Sedona Kolchinsky
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Pam
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Gordon Bingham
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Linda Johnson
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Vinita
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
Robert
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Night Fire (Harry Bosch, #22; Renée Ballard, #3; Harry Bosch Universe, #32)
  • The Giver of Stars
  • The Guardians
  • Shangri-La (Sam Reilly #21)
  • Through My Eyes: CSI Memoirs That Haunt the Soul
  • Olive Kitteridge (Olive Kitteridge, #1)
  • Nantucket Neighbors (Nantucket Beach Plum Cove, #2)
  • Amy and Isabelle
  • October's Fear (Larry Macklin Mysteries, #12)
  • UNTIL THE ROAD ENDS: CYCLING THE AMERICAS (A World Tour by Bicycle Book 1)
  • Injustice For All (Joe Dillard #3)
  • An Innocent Client (Joe Dillard, #1)
  • Conflict of Interest (Joe Dillard #5)
  • Reasonable Fear (Joe Dillard #4)
  • Amid the Shadows
  • The Unexpected Hero (Evan, #2)
  • Judgment Cometh: And That Right Soon (Joe Dillard, #8)
  • Through the Fog (Evan, #1)
See similar books…
16 followers
Donna Brown began her twenty- six-year career in law enforcement when women were still relatively new to the profession. Like most new police officers, Donna began her career working the streets answering calls for service. She then started training new recruits and turned that passion into teaching department wide, at the academy, and to community groups.
When she was promoted to sergeant, she re
...more

News & Interviews

Ashley Poston made her name with Once Upon a Con, a contemporary series set in the world of fandom, and her two-part space opera, Heart of...
38 likes · 6 comments
“What most people see is a badge, behind and beyond the badge is what they need to know...the person.” 1 likes
More quotes…