Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Recreance (The Aeternum Chronicles, #1)” as Want to Read:
Recreance (The Aeternum Chronicles, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Recreance

(The Aeternum Chronicles #1)

by
4.23  ·  Rating details ·  87 ratings  ·  42 reviews
Huddled in the last bastion of civilization, the battered remnants of humanity rebuild after centuries of conflict known as the Aeternum Wars. Ruled by the all-powerful Patriarch, what is left of humankind now live out their lives under the ever watchful eye of the Ministry.

When his parents are murdered by Ministry Breakers, seventeen-year-old Oren is forced to flee into t
...more
Paperback, 406 pages
Published May 16th 2017 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform (first published May 14th 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Recreance, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Recreance

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Chris Pridmore
Jun 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recreance is a thoroughly enjoyable read. The story draws you in with the first pages and very rarely lets you go. This is the kind of book I would take on holiday with me and would have been finished before I got off the plane. The story flows along at a fast rate, with an expert mix of action scenes, plot development and character development.
The story is set in a well thought out world and displays an interesting mix of genres; a dystopian future setting mixed with epic fantasy; a mixture of
...more
Happy Booker
Jun 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recreance is the first fantasy novel of its series, written about a 17-year-old boy named Oren. His parents are killed by the Ministry Breakers. He flees his home and says goodbye to his best friend, Clementine. Oren’s life is never the same again. Oren befriends a mentor named, Khalil, and learns the truth about the Ministry. He is seeking revenge but above all, his destiny is now in his own hands. As he learns his path, Clementine catches up with them. She has turned into a thief and has taken ...more
Karen
18/12/17 a re read to an awesome series! I have now the sequel in my hands and I'm excited to know what adventures awaits for Oren and Clem :D

05/09/17 This was a fantastic start to a series. I loved the characters, the action, the setting, the fictional dystopian world, it was everything I love to read in a book.
The plot is very interesting, I learnt so much in this new world, it fascinated me and kept me reading on.

It's starts off with the friendship of Clem and Oren. The characters are perf
...more
Bill Tillman
Exciting tale, keeps you glued to the edge of your seat. Beginning to End! Oren and Clem go from the life of carefree seventeen year olds to the life and death struggle of a world ending. Each going a different way until two years pass, finding each other again only leads to conflict.

Don't miss this adventure.

Ioana
Jun 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A fascinating mix of classic fantasy with more high tech components, Recreance combines a gripping fast paced plot with relatable young characters. Quite the cliff-hanger ending, can't wait for the next entry in this series from this new author.
Angela Kay
Jun 06, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
After his parents are murdered by the Ministry Breakers, Oren flees New Arcadia to the dangerous Miralaja desert, leaving behind his once comfortable life and his best friend, Clementine. With his mentor, Khalil, he begins to learn the truth of his path and unfolds the devious plans of the Ministry. Meanwhile, Clementine has to survive on her own by thievery. When she performs her latest job infiltrating the Ministry Defense building, she barely manages to escape. Soon, she catches up with Oren ...more
Kaye
Mar 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
WATCH YOUR BACK!!!
A wonderfully written, easy to follow, smooth flowing read that captivated me from the start. With all the twists, turns and unpredictable surprises kept me frozen to my seat and eyes on the pages. Definitely a page turner with danger on the main characters head. The characters and scenes are so realistic I got so engrossed that I hated it to end. Ok, I might or might not have yell at some of the characters. Hey, I get into my reading. What good is it if you can't sink into a g
...more
Maria
Aug 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Really enjoyed this book, it's main characters may be teens but the story will appeal to all ages, and is a wonderful mix of genres, action, adventure. fantasy, high tech skillfully blended and addictive... it was very hard to put down... even when it was the wee hours of the morning! looking forward to more of this story.
Stephen
Aug 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was a pleasant suprise! I got it free from the author and read it through in one day. Don't let that fool you it is not a short book by any means. I just love to read, 8 monthe into this year and this book was my 200th. I totally believe that most of you who love this genre will totally enjoy this book, the beginning to the series. Can't wait for the next!!!
M Tuckerbeck
Jun 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a great book! I loved it so much I read it twice and am now eagerly awaiting the next book. For starters the character writing is excellent. Clem in particular is a take no prisoners whiz-kid mechanic and nothing short of bad ass. You will likely be sad the book ends because you miss hanging out with both her and Oren, the other lead character. Loved the post-apocalyptic world; hoverbikes, portals into other worlds, and very cool geotech made for an interesting setting. Did I mention the ci ...more
Teresa
Sep 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Title: Recreance
Author: H. G. Chambers
Publisher: H. G. Chambers
ISBN: B071HTHPXD
Buy Link: https://hgchambers.com/recreance-book...
Reviewer: Teresa Fallen Angel
Blurb:
The Aeternum Chronicles 1
Huddled in the last bastion of civilization, the battered remnants of humanity rebuild after centuries of conflict known as the Aeternum Wars. Ruled by the all-powerful Patriarch, what is left of humankind now live out their lives under the ever watchful eye of the Ministry.

When his parents are murdered by Mi
...more
Volpot
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
2 stars. DNF. I've rarely read a book so full of repeated "Deus ex machina" plot devices. It frankly was so bad I finally quit at 80%.

So, there are probably spoilers here.

Our male MC is rescued, for no reason, from death in the sole remaining advanced city in the world by the leader of the wilderness-based resistance. Said male MC promptly becomes a master swordsman within two years under this "sensei"! Meanwhile, our female MC becomes a master thief in the previously mentioned city while also i
...more
Jaffa Kintigh
More than a few fantasy series can be described as: a future dystopian society on the verge of social apocalypse with 1 or 2 teenagers stepping up to overcome terrible odds for the sake of all. It's in the differences between this epic and others that makes it special and in the parts that it does particularly well. As the opening installment of a series, the potential is also worth. But the series also owes some explanations left unanswered in this volume.

Humankind long ago overcame aging and n
...more
Kanyon
Recreance is the first book in the Aeternum Chronicles. This story is such a wonderfully written and excellent read. It takes place in a futuristic dystopian world filled with magic and technological advancements. The characters are young, in their teenage years, but the depth and story behind each of them make a compelling story on its own. The world building is another part of the story I love. When an author can pore so much detail into a story without it being overwhelming and not taking ove ...more
Brendan Cooney
Sep 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a spoiler-free review
Read on In The Sheets

Recreance, released earlier this year, is the first book in The Aeternum Chronicles and follows Oren as he escapes his home city with a quirky mystery-man after his parents are murdered. - Stay with me.

Together, after reuniting with his best friend after many years in the desert, they have to work to save not only themselves but also the citizens of New Arcadia. - Really, stay with me.

I know what you're thinking. Probably what I was thinking. "Tr
...more
Laurel
Nov 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
A friend of mine let me know about this book a while back. Searching for something to read a few days ago, I decided to pick Recreance up.

The two main characters, Clem and Oren, are teenagers. As one learns, they live in a closed city that is sheltered from the damaged world. The Ministry runs the city, and life is pleasant. Or is it? At the beginning of the story, they inadvertently come across a Breaker - a type of deadly interrogator the general population have no knowledge of. When Oren's gr
...more
WillowRaven
Review: Recreance by H.G. Chambers

I *just* finished reading this book and my first thought is "What? Wait! It can't end there!" (and that's the only spoiler you will see from me in this review as I don't like giving out spoilers, as a general rule) This fantasy chronicles the lives of two good friends - Oren and Clem (short for Clementine) and their lives in and around New Arcadia. The story is well written and quite detailed. I could fully envision both the characters and the world in which the
...more
Norma
"In an insane world, only the insane are truly sane."
Two teenage friends, Oren and Clementine, both desperately and for different reasons forced to flee from the City of New Arcadia into the fearsome desert,, and the unknown, beyond.
Despite the development of Vita Aeternum (Life Eternal) the world's population is small, almost all living within the confines of the city. And government rulings are heavily applied, including the enforced Ascention when someone reaches the age of 150. Beyond city w
...more
Charity at OnMyKindleBR
I loved everything about this book! The history and the society are incredibly detailed, intriguing, and well-articulated. The dialogue, while not futuristic, seems to fit the age group of the audience it was intended for and the ages of the protagonists. The setting is outstanding! It has a futuristic, post-apocalyptic-yet-enlightened feel to it and the features are Earth-like but still unique. The characters, particularly Clementine, have depth and rich backstories. The fighting style outlined ...more
Lana
Dec 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow what an exhilarating read this was, a post apocalyptic dystopic world ruled by the patriarch and his ministry with an iron fist. This book is of the sci-fi genre full of futuristic technology even though the land outside arcadia was like the Sahara desert. In one way the world is futuristic and in another it is very primitive and over run by massive monsters from an early age and in all this we get to meet the great characters, of Oren and Clem the young teenagers, and Khalid and Magdalene, ...more
Jenny
Oct 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Brilliant cross between scifi and fantasy.
I really enjoyed this book. There are elements of scifi, particularly a rather dystopian world, but as the book progresses there are more elements of fantasy. It is a great crossover.
Another thing that I enjoyed was that the story is told from various perspectives - a teenage girl, and a similar boy, who we see become young adults, and plenty of other well-developed characters. As the story develops, more people come into play, with the story being told
...more
Davianna
Dec 12, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When Oren's family is murdered by the ministry he leaves behind his best friend and the only home he's ever known.
Clem, seemingly abandoned by her best friend becomes a fierce, awesome thief and learns to thrive on her own.
I don't want to spoil anything because there is a lot of mystery about New Arcadia and the ministry but the world building is excellent. I loved H.G.'s writing though the pacing was a little slow (it picks up halfway through). I especially loved seeing Oren's and Clem's differ
...more
Leanna
Oct 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Addictive and intriguing read mixing elements from different genres and subgenres into one fabulous unit. Advanced technology and dystopian setup intervowen with fantasy elements are a siren's call to my reader soul, attaching my eyes and my heart to the pages and glueing my bottom to the chair. Once I started reading, I could not put it down. The story flew fast, never boring, never distracting, never confusing. Brilliant writing combined with enticing dialogues and characters that were easy to ...more
Brad
Sep 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Exciting Tale of Growth, Awareness, and Action

The book follows the growth and development of Oren and Clementine (Clem) as their life and world are exposed to a great menace. The story spends time developing their characters as well as leading us through their growth and training. There is plenty of action and more than enough loss of everything that was meaningful.

The descriptions of the world around them and the creatures they encounter are sufficient to paint a vivid picture in your mind.

Dis
...more
E Janssen
Sep 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The beginning of a new YA character building adventure

Two youth from a controlled society learn the world history is not what they were taught in school. When getting conflicting facts they learn to think for themselves and face the consequences of their actions. While running for their lives they developed “magical” powers and learn control under pressure.
Solid world building and consistent plot line
Anaya MacLeod
Aug 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: anaya-macleod
A gripping plot and a brilliant read. Enjoyed the characters and the world came to life as I was taken on a great adventure. Had my imagination going. Loved the story. Congratulations to the author. I highly recommend this book.
Myla Aguilar
Sep 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A post apocoltic read that keeps you mesmerized and takes you on a non-stop journey of friendships, action and adventure. Once you start reading you cannot put this book down. Has well written characters set in a new world.
Paula
Sep 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: free-first-reads
Totally enjoyed this fantasy adventure-thriller. Couldn't put it down.
Oren and Clementine bring in a little bit of romance even.
emarel
Oct 05, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An invitation to a new world of discovery, as if you are there, sharing the heights and the depths of experience along with the characters.
Diana
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Een waanzinnig goed geschreven boek.
Ik heb er van genoten.
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Please add cover + help combining 7 17 May 29, 2017 08:21PM  
Sci-Fi, fantasy a...: Recreance - The Aeternum Chronicles 99¢ Sale 1 4 May 29, 2017 02:54PM  
51 followers
Harold George Chambers is an award winning fantasy science fiction author. He’s also a dad, helicopter pilot, web designer, musician, and a huge board game nerd. Inspired by the great fantasy sci-fi authors of the past and present, Harold published Recreance, the first book of The Aeternum Chronicles, in 2017. The story continues with Vigilance, released early 2018. Harold makes his home in a smal ...more

Other books in the series

The Aeternum Chronicles (3 books)
  • Vigilance (The Aeternum Chronicles #2)
  • Defiance (The Aeternum Chronicles, #3)