Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Threads of Magic” as Want to Read:
The Threads of Magic
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Threads of Magic

by
3.91  ·  Rating details ·  33 ratings  ·  13 reviews
An atmospheric and riveting fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Cornelia Funke.

Pip lives on his wits in the city of Clarel. When he pickpockets the wrong man, he finds himself in possession of a strange object a heart in a silver casket. Whats more, the heart seems to be trying to communicate with Pip, and the royal officials who lost it will stop
...more
Kindle Edition, 384 pages
Published March 5th 2020 by Walker Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Threads of Magic, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Threads of Magic

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.91  · 
Rating details
 ·  33 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Threads of Magic
Celine
Aug 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Yes! Dear lord, yes!

Thank you, Alison Croggon. You've written the kind of kid's novel I've always hoped to read.

A dark, rich, complex setting and plot, just teeming with the kind of prickly, hardened, sly ( yet somehow utterly sympathetic) characters more usual in a Dickens or Susanna Clarke novel than children's fantasy. I usually hate switches in POV, but every unexpected twist and turn brought a new delight or a new terror that dragged me - grinning and fearful - through this excellent,
...more
Leron
Nov 28, 2019 rated it did not like it
An advanced reading copy of this book arrived at my work and I picked it up because the blurb sounded cool and it was recommended for fans of Francis Hardinge, of which I am one (because her stuff is great). After reading about 50 pages I realised that it was actually a kids book recommended for ages 9+, but I kept reading it because whatever it'd be a quick, nice read in between my masses of epic fantasy series that I normally read.
The general plot is that (view spoiler)
...more
Mary Judy
Jan 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Alison Croggon (author of the phenomenal Books of Pellinor series) has woven a mesmerising story, the like of which I have been longing to read. With flowing, lyrical writing and complex world-building, you are thrown into a world of sinister schemes, impossible possibilities and ancient enchantments come to life. Fantasy? Oh yes; but every word is completely believable and fully real as it tells a story of loyalty, sacrifice and bravery. The setting of the story is so expertly described that ...more
Karina
Jan 25, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An exciting fantasy for middle grade readers - combines witches, friendship, loyalty & resistance in a heartstopping adventure.
Angela
This book is a good-vs-evil fantasy involving soul-eating, witches and the torture of witches, shape-shifting, spiritual possession, and murder (lots of murder) by spiritual/witchcraft methods.

It is about (view spoiler)
...more
watermelonreads
Jan 15, 2020 rated it liked it
'The Threads of Magic' is a book filled with soft chimes of terror threatening to engulf you whole. It is a fantasy adventure based on forbidden magic that also tackles the themes of friendship and courage.

Reading this made me feel lost but not totally lost. I had a sense of direction of where the plot was going. At the same time, I wasn't sure where I was. This story spans 384 pages and is quite substantial for younger readers. You thought that there would be a destination the story was going
...more
legenbooksdary
Jan 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
The Threads Of Magic is the story of the people of Clarel who goes through hardship and tackle down a villain together for an overall better life for everyone. Croggon has brought to life a story that is dark, complex and absolutely wonderful. I wish that everyone will get the chance to read this enchanting book that is full of adventure, evil and the greatness of friendship and loyalty.

There really was never a dull and boring moment as I spent my time reading this book. This book is complex
...more
Leanne
Mar 27, 2020 rated it liked it
There was quite a lot of struggle reading this, which is odd because individually I really enjoyed the characters, plot, world...the witches. I think the headhopping held me back from becoming deeply invested in any, as my cold dead heart requires some coddling and a lot of page space to really FEEL.

I would have loved to read this story tethered to one or two characters, but if that were the case I don't know how all the information would find its way to the reader.

I nearly DNF'ed it at about
...more
Lyn
Mar 31, 2020 rated it really liked it
As this is pitched at younger readers, it is easy to read quite quickly. I love the depth and imagination of Alison Groggons magical worlds. There are themes of friendships, bravery , ruling systems and womens roles here. The witches had been forced underground, but they still were formidable enough, with the help of Clovis to defeat the Spectres. The children in this are special in some ways, but also retain childish traits. If you are prepared to step into this world, buckle your seat belts ...more
Ranjani
Mar 18, 2020 rated it liked it
Very underwhelming, a little dark for a children's novel. Really liked the themes of kindness and friendship.

(Can anyone tell me how old these kids are? I started off by thinking they're 12-ish and then I got confused. It seemed Oni was older than Pip and roughly the same age as Georgie, but then I am made to believe El is older than Pip for like one chapter, than I'm back to thinking she's 8-10 years old. Is writing children realistically a problem Croggon faces?)
Tricia
Mar 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020
Part of my recent historical fiction reading session - enjoyable.
Gill
Mar 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
All the stars. I adored this book.
Full review here
Sharon Bolton
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2019
Chandrika NM
rated it it was amazing
Apr 01, 2020
Melissa Tantchev
rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2020
Mariah Wamby
rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2020
Claire Rycraft
rated it really liked it
Oct 23, 2019
Deborah McMahon
rated it it was amazing
Mar 26, 2020
Danni Jervis
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2020
ellie
rated it really liked it
Dec 11, 2019
Leonie
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2020
Renee Mihulka
rated it really liked it
Mar 16, 2020
Samantha
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2020
Margaret Pemberton
rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2020
Kathleen
rated it really liked it
May 31, 2019
Sarah
rated it liked it
Mar 11, 2020
Karien Stenson
rated it really liked it
Mar 01, 2020
Bron
rated it it was amazing
Mar 04, 2020
Sarah Robinson-Hatch
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Highland Falcon Thief
  • Break the Fall
  • Orla and the Serpent's Curse
  • Evernight
  • The Good Hawk
  • Date Me, Bryson Keller
  • The Last Paper Crane
  • Boot: The Rusty Rescue (Boot#2)
  • Tiger Heart
  • Burn
  • Havenfall (Havenfall, #1)
  • The Good Thieves
  • Thorn
  • Are You Watching?
  • The City We Became (Great Cities #1)
  • Yes No Maybe So
  • The Accidental
  • Gargantis (Malamander, #2)
See similar books…
1,468 followers
Alison Croggon is the award winning author of the acclaimed fantasy series The Books of Pellinor. You can sign up to her monthly newsletter and receive a free Pellinor story at alisoncroggon.com

Her most recent book is Fleshers, the first in a dazzling new SF series co-written with her husband, acclaimed playwright Daniel Keene. Her latest Pellinor book, The Bone Queen, was a 2016 Aurealis Awards
...more

Related Articles

Veronica Roth's newest book, Chosen Ones, arrives in U.S. stores on April 7. Known for the Divergent trilogy and the Carve the Mark duology, the ...
13 likes · 0 comments