Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “What I Wish I Had Known (And Other Lessons You Learned in Your 20s)” as Want to Read:
What I Wish I Had Known (And Other Lessons You Learned in Your 20s)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

What I Wish I Had Known (And Other Lessons You Learned in Your 20s)

by
3.88  ·  Rating details ·  100 ratings  ·  32 reviews
I’ve lived my whole life following people and taking their choices as mine. I will dream a new dream, a dream that’s totally my own, and I will work hard to get it.

Ever since her acceptance letter to study abroad arrived at her inbox, nothing in Marcella Purnama’s life has gone according to plan. Instead of choosing Science, like her two older sisters did before her, she s
...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published June 5th 2017 by POP (Imprint KPG)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about What I Wish I Had Known, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about What I Wish I Had Known

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.88  · 
Rating details
 ·  100 ratings  ·  32 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of What I Wish I Had Known (And Other Lessons You Learned in Your 20s)
Haniva Az Zahra
Jul 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
Pertama-tama, menurut saya Marcella Purnama memang berbakat untuk menulis karena tulisan yang ia buat ringan tetapi menyenangkan untuk dibaca. Kedua, tidak bisa ditampik bahwa halaman muka dari buku ini sangat menarik dan membuat saya mudah saja untuk memiliki buku ini. Ketiga, saya suka sekali ukuran buku ini yang tidak seperti biasanya. Berbentuk segi empat yang lebih mendekati bujur sangkar sebenarnya. Handy. Buku ini sangat sangat sesuai dengan anak muda zaman sekarang.

Buku ini memang ditul
...more
Sulis Peri Hutan
Jul 13, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: buntelan, koleksiku
Review bisa juga dibaca di http://www.kubikelromance.com/2017/07...


Usia 20an adalah usia di mana kita bertansformasi atau memasuki fase dewasa muda, banyak hal yang di mulai ketika kita memasuki usia ini. What I Wish I Had Known bisa dibilang sebuah memoir bagi Marcella Purnama karena berisi catatan perjalanan hidupnya ketika memasuki usia 20an, bisa juga menjadi survival guide bagi kita yang mengalami permasalahan yang sama, mengalami quarter-life crisis.

Di bagian pertama, Marcella memulai cer
...more
afin
Jul 15, 2017 rated it liked it
Rated 3/5 stars

Review:
In Marcella Purnama's debut book, What I Wish I Had Known (And Other Lessons You Learned in Your 20s), she talked about her experiences studying abroad, finding herself and breaking free out of people's expectations. The first parts of the book revolved around choosing where to study and what to study, her life living and studying in another country. Then the book moved on to when she had earned her degree and is entering the workforce as a "fresh graduate." These parts ran
...more
Hestia Istiviani
Jun 15, 2017 rated it liked it
Quarter life crisis. Itulah istilah yang seringkali dibicarakan oleh orang-orang yang barus masuk ke dalam usia 20an dan menuju seperempat abad. Pemicunya pun beragam, dari lulus kuliah, pilihan hidup setelahnya, bekerja, menikah, dan masih banyak lagi. Quarter life crisis juga menjadi awalan mengapa ada banyak sekali bahan bacaan yang mengangkat tema, "Andaikan saya tahu hal-hal ini di usia 20an", baik dari penulis lokal maupun internasional.

Tidak terkecuali dengan buku terbaru dari Marcella P
...more
Jules
Jul 31, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Are you a part of the 20-Something Club like I am? A high school senior who are looking forward to college? Or do you simply crave a nostalgic trip to that fast life in your 20’s? Then "What I Wish I Had Known" is the one non-fiction book you should pick up by debut author Marcella Purnama, who happens to be a friend of mine and fellow writer.

With a raw, simplistic style of writing that’s easily digestible like delicious croissants in the morning, Marcella offers a glimpse into her life as a Uni
...more
Sylvia
Jul 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I stumbled upon Marcella's writing for the first time on 2011. Her writing piece "How Important Are Grades For You?" was very related to me (personally) since I was still studying overseas during that time and had this question about grades as well.

Then the year after that, I started following her blog regularly and discover more of her writings about life and everything in between which are truly inspiring.

And now her book is truly inspiring (in many ways). For everyone who plan to study over
...more
Tri Cardo
Feb 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
HIGH RECOMMENDED

Begin from cover, It is really eye catching. And behind the cover you can read "I’ve lived my whole life following people and taking their choices as mine. I will dream a new dream, a dream that’s totally my own, and I will work hard to get it." From that, can you guess what things are told here?

Marcella Purnama described the transformation from teeneger to adult, that's 20 ages. Because this is non-fiction, so this book served Marcella's experiences began from high school to th
...more
Meylia Azurah
Feb 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
it's so meeeeeee
quarter life crisis
...more
Marcella Purnama
May 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I really liked this book. But probably you should refer to other reviews for better judgment...
Fitri Norma w
Nov 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
The best for who want to change your mind to be better in your life hihihi..
Steven S
Jul 17, 2017 rated it liked it
nice book about life, work, and youth life.
Melania Anindya
Jun 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
Sesuai judulnya, buku ini cukup relatable untuk dibaca di usia dewasa muda atau 20-an. Marcella membagikan pengalaman hidupnya dan berbagai pelajaran hidup yang ia dapatkan di usia ini dalam bukunya. Tentang kuliah, kerja, cinta, keluarga, dan mimpi.

Ada beberapa hal favoritku yg ada di buku ini seperti bagian nasihat dari ayahnya ke pacar Marcella atau bagian Marcella harus menghadapi tekanan dari atasan di dunia kerja.

Buku ini mampu menghibur sekaligus menemaniku melewati usia ini. Terlebih ba
...more
Readingwithnee
Sep 26, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ipusnas
This was the first english book I read on ipusnas. It's actually such a great book, well-written, easily understood, but I was bored after reading half of it. Probably because this book covered about what we would encounter in our 20s, while I had heard and experienced most of them in my own life, so they weren't new to me. I would probably give it five stars if I read it at age 18 or 19 where I was at a stage of super curious about what's actually going on in the real world/adult life.

Overall,
...more
Jane
May 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
I knew Marcella from her blog and when I found out she finally published a book, I was beyond thrilled!

I always admire how she tells her story. Gaya penulisan Marcella sama sekali nggak awkward, it feels like talking with an old friend. Dan itu juga yang aku rasakan waktu baca buku perdananya ini.

Sebagai ex mahasiswa yang pernah kuliah di luar negeri, beberapa pengalaman Marcella sangat dekat dengan pengalaman aku pribadi. Setiap kali membalik halaman buku, sambil ngomong dalam hati, "iya nih,
...more
Bella
Jun 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I did the whole read back then when I was in my early 20s. I used to look for my first self-help book, magically found it in the bookstore... that's where I think this book really meant to be. I read this all along and I found out this book helps alot of early 20s insecurity, quarter life crisis, and calm down my nerves... when I found out I'm not the only person who are scared of future in this way. Marcella wrote this in a easy yet enjoy to read, gave a whole new advice and perspective what do ...more
Rista Shafwati Nadhila
Apr 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
"One of the first lessons I learned in working life was that you don't need to like every one of your colleagues, and they don't need to like you either. You just have to respect them, and getting their respect in return." (page 101)

Talking about quarter life crisis bcs you're into 20 and something?
Looking for the answer or the tips how to deal with it? So this book isn't the one that u're looking for. And no book will answers.
But looking for another perspectives? This book might be.
...more
Stefanny Natalia
Jun 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Buku yang gak sengaja dibeli supaya dapet diskon lebih waktu beli buku di kampung ilmu, dan gak nyangka buku ini baguss~~ menginspirasi dan beberapa pandangan yang menurut definisi authornya sependapat denganku. 4,5 stars for this book
Kartikawardhani H
Jul 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
A good one to add other point of view since Marcella told us her uncommon experience as abroad student who can't called as brilliant one, who can't said has the easy way, but she did it wisely, supported by right people around her. ...more
Priska Pavita
Sep 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I actually enjoyed and like this book so much. It reminded me of when I started studying abroad with all the ups and downs. It reminded me of those overthinking days (which isn't over yet, honestly). And mostly, it reminded me of the warm feeling of having endless supports from a loving family. ...more
Adelaylight
May 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
I can understand this book and barely open the dictionary. Oh, this is really inspire to pursue my dream more harder and became succes.
M. Andre
Mar 17, 2018 rated it liked it
Love the way she shares her thought about life
Elisyah Matshuri
Sep 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I love this book so much.. Give me more knowledge about life and how to be good twenties
Hvk
Jul 23, 2020 marked it as to-read
PENASARAN
Nur Akhmad Tri Aji
Jan 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
nice book
Jeremy Yohanes
Apr 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Need more real photos not just illustration
Annissa Nur Hidayati
Mar 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
I follow her blog and I read her stories on it. It's a good memoar but kinda unfulfilled my expectations. ...more
Putri Setyaningrum
Feb 21, 2021 rated it really liked it
Buku bergenre nonfiksi yang seperti fiksi, karena enak di baca.

Menceritakan tentang seorang Remaja Lulus sekolah terus kuliah di Melbourne, Australia.
seperti buku autobiography dirinya sendiri sih ini. Dia menceritakan kehidupan dia selama kuliah, nyari kerja dan lain sebagainya.
Ohiya ini tuh settingnya kaum kelas menengah, ga relate sama kaum menuju kelas menengah macem ane gini 🤧 wkwkwk

Tapi bagus ko ini buku, ini buku English pertama yang putri tamatkan 👏 Bahasa English nya juga mudah, ga suli
...more
Restu Amelia
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I love the whole book! the cover, the prolog, the epilog, everything! The story is inspiring and wonderful! the author is also nice, I love her and the book xx
Indri Malika
Oct 29, 2018 rated it really liked it
I am delighted and grateful to have the book with me (I really am).

Marcella expresses it really well, she tells the story step by step through some chapters.

She also put a story about her parents and some advice from them, whenever Marcella tells a story about her family, I look up to her parents so much for being such a good mom and dad.

Marcella also expresses her inner-struggle to find out the best way in life, a life she should live in, trials and tribulations, carrier path and any other dec
...more
Dea
Jun 04, 2018 rated it liked it
It was a nice story, I got few life lessons to be remembered of but then the words she chose to express her story tend to go around the circle and not very effective. Not to mention, the english structure she uses is Indonesian-english so I figure it would be hard for an actual native speaker to read and understand the jokes and I literally struggled a bit through the language because I'm so used to the proper English written books. I was a bit frustated when I read this one. ...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • #Dear Tomorrow: Notes to My Future Self
  • Laut Bercerita
  • Katarsis
  • Ways to Live Forever
  • Stories for Rainy Days Volume II
  • Resign!
  • Jakarta Sebelum Pagi
  • Summer in Seoul
  • Filosofi Teras
  • The Alpha Girl's Guide
  • Di Tanah Lada
  • Laskar Pelangi (Tetralogi Laskar Pelangi, #1)
  • Gadis Kretek
  • Beauty Is a Wound
  • Semua Ikan di Langit
  • Hujan
  • Autumn in Paris
  • The Miracles of the Namiya General Store
See similar books…
17 followers
Originally from Jakarta, Marcella is a fourth generation Chinese Indonesian who can’t function without her morning coffee.

Despite excelling in all things science, she went to study Arts and stumbled into writing. After graduating from her Bachelor’s degree, Marcella worked as a content writer at both nonprofit and corporate settings before throwing in the towel to get a Master’s in Publishing and
...more

Related Articles

What will you do when it's your turn to pick your book club's next read? Well, this is what you won't do: panic. Why not? Because we've dug...
76 likes · 15 comments
“Luck, I believe, is where preparation meets opportunity.” 3 likes
“There’s a quote that has been said too many times by too many people: I must have done something right to deserve you in my life.

Perhaps despite all our wrong doings and mistakes, despite all our failures and imperfections, we have done something right, for something good still happens in life.”
2 likes
More quotes…