Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Boys Don't Cry” as Want to Read:
Boys Don't Cry
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Boys Don't Cry

by
3.89  ·  Rating details ·  247 ratings  ·  62 reviews
Mackenzie Pratt is having the worst luck of his life. His apartment building is being torn down, and since he’s jobless and just weeks away from graduating college, he can’t find anywhere else he can afford to live that isn’t a critter-infested dump. As he’s lamenting the very real possibility of job hunting while couch-surfing, he gets an offer from the coworker of his be ...more
Kindle Edition, 230 pages
Published May 25th 2017 by Euphoria Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Boys Don't Cry, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Boys Don't Cry

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  247 ratings  ·  62 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Boys Don't Cry
~✡~Dαni(ela) ♥ ♂♂ love & semi-colons~✡~
Even though one of the MCs is a brilliant, wealthy recluse and the other a high-strung college boy, this book isn't high on the angst.

There is some relationship conflict, as Mackenzie comes to terms with his sexuality and feelings for Laurie, and Laurie struggles with feeling like he doesn't belong, but Boys Don't Cry is mostly a feel-good read.

Laurie is a bit predatory when he first meets Mackenzie; I didn't like that. I also didn't love how Mackenzie essentially strung Laurie along. Granted,
...more
Nazanin
Jun 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2017, m-m
4 Stars

Mackenzie is a twenty-three-year-old college student. When his father died, his brother took care of him so he didn’t go into system. Mackenzie did his best to focus on his school because he didn’t want to be a burden on his brother. But now, his landlord needed all the resident to clear out as soon as possible. So two months before his college graduation, he has become homeless. He has no job and he can’t afford for another apartment.

Laurent is a thirty-five- year-old mobile app develope
...more
Jan
May 29, 2017 marked it as did-not-finish-dnf
Shelves: ku



Giving up at 45%

The blurb states one of the MC as an eccentric billionaire. For me, the eccentric Laurent was a weirdo and his weirdness was bordering creepy.

The other MC, ...never taken the time to explore love and relationships, much less sexuality... ok, so the blurb does state that, but I didn't think it would be so incredible unrealistic. A a 23 years old virgin guy? Mackenzie was too much. Out of this world in his naivety.

I thought I would love this combo when I read the blurb but it faile
...more
Jenni Lea
May 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
Adorable book that embraces all of the manga/anime tropes perfectly. If you like BL manga or anime you don't want to miss out on this. I laughed out loud several times throughout and squealed when I caught the subtle references to my favorite anime series', like Yuri on Ice and Junjou Romantica. This was a delightful read that I'm sure will be revisited in the near future.

PS: That cover? It's a scene in the book! *waggles eyebrows*
Susan
May 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mm
3.5 stars

An enjoyable read, but sometimes Laurie was just a little too weird for me.

Mackenzie is on the verge of being homeless since he is being evicted from his affordable apartment. But since he has no job, he has trouble finding a new place. He just needs a place to stay until he graduates from college in a few weeks.

Through a friend he meets the eccentric genius, Laurent, who lives alone in his mansion. Laurent offers Mackenzie a place to stay, in exchange for some housework. Laurent could
...more
Bookishcat
I looooooved this!!!It has a hero who is totally devoted from the start and just enough possessive to make me happy!! The other hero is super sweet and hardworking without being annoying! I want more books for this couple!!
Katerina
May 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc
Another winner. And as for me, JK Hogan is always a safe bet and recently a new auto-buy author for me.
The story is fresh and told with speed, the MCs are awesome and I was really curious to get to know them better. Once opened, the book is so fascinating that I couldn't put it down.



It's a love story that touches my heart. And I can't say it often enough. The heroes in JK Hogan's books feel so real and so damn normal. They could be people from my real life. How they talk and how they feel. This
...more
Bev
4.5 feel good stars from me. Loved this story of opposites attracting, Laurie and Mackenzie.

Laurie, who'd been on his own pretty much since he was a teenager due to the death of his Canadian parents, and who was more or less forced to live with his Uncle, the disgustingly lecherous Theo [ugh!!]. As his parents were super wealthy, Laurie had control of their money, and Theo took care of the business side of things and felt it was a good idea to move them down to the US, but Laurie was left mostl
...more
Kai
Jun 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars

I loved almost everything about this book: The writing, the characters, the plot, the low angst, the HOT parts… It was just so good!

I loved Laurie so much! He was really weird and grumpy sometimes and to everybody who didn’t actually know him, he was just a cold bastard. But how a cold person can be the one who offers to a practically strange (Mackenzie) a place to live, just because the guy would be ejected from his place? Can you relate it to a cold person? No, he wasn’t cold. And soo
...more
Candice
Jun 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
4.5 Stars

I started this book at 11pm and finished it at 3:30AM. Then I stayed up til 5AM thinking about it. (view spoiler)

Did I like this book? Yes. I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed Mackenzie discovering himself. I enjoyed Laurie's personality come out into play. I enjoyed how Laurie wanted to do things w
...more
Maria
Aug 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
This was an easy, relatively low angst romance reminiscent of Harlequin. It delivered on the formula.

One odd thing. Laurie proclaimed his feelings fairly early on which didn't fit the dynamic at the moment. It was pretty far out there.

Mackenzie couldn't figure out his feelings or desires. The constant denial was beginning to get on my nerves. This in the midst of some very erotic sex scenes. He had no trouble identifying then!

These two manage to work things out and it's done in true romantic s
...more
Katrina Passick Lumsden
Oct 24, 2017 rated it did not like it
Bkah

Just kind of all around bad writing. A lot of nonsensical prose like, "she was reading a newspaper - do people even read those anymore?" Or when Mackenzie is talking about his new job as a teaching assistant for a 3 and 4s class (preschool) and mentions that, since he's new, none of the students know him. I'm fairly certain none of the students know any of the teachers since, you know, it's their first day of school ever. Stuff like that irritates me because it showcases a general lack of at
...more
Tamika♥RBF MOOD♥
I had mixed feelings for this throughout my reading journey. I mean it gave me the FSOG vibes at times. Sure that made me want to gag really hard. Other times, it was a fast paced insta-love story. I mean Mackenzie is a little over the place the entire story. Laurie is kinda boring.

Let me explain, we don't get to see much of Laurie's eccentricities. He's suppose to be this broody billionaire, but besides the billionaire. He does not do much. I wanted to see his quirks or a little of his past. Ye
...more
ReadingAllNite
Jul 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
3.5 rounded up because...

I was torn between parts I really liked and other parts, not so much. This review may sound really negative but it’s still a good story that I enjoyed overall. Mackenzie and Laurie/Laurent/Beau both seemed a bit incomplete as characters, Laurie more than Mackenzie, since it’s first person narrative in Mackenzie’s POV. He’s written as just too clueless, despite the explanation given for his naïveté. I couldn’t understand why he’d be so freaked out about telling anyone he
...more
Lost in a Book
3.5 Stars

Well, that was an oddly enjoyable book about nothing. I couldn't help but think of Seinfeld while reading. They made millions while literally having a show about nothing. Outside of the synopsis description, very little happened. Seriously. there aren’t any surprises, plot twists, etc… in this book.

Mackenzie is graduating in a few weeks and unfortunately is being evicted from his apartment. Luckily, his friend Taylor is co-workers with a rich guy who graciously offers a wing of his mans
...more
Tracy~Bayou Book Junkie

Mackenzie and Laurent/Laurie share mutual friends and during a visit to Laurie's mansion, Mackenzie mentions that he's being evicted from his apartment, because the owners have sold it and it's being demolished. Newly graduated from college and still looking for a teaching job, Mackenzie doesn't have a lot of options for apartments he can afford, that don't come with pet rodents. Laurie offers Mackenzie one of his spare rooms in exchange for some cleaning and light cooking. Mackenzie has never d
...more
Leaundra
Jun 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I loved this one! Loved Laurie and Mackenzie together. I thought this was a sweet love story.
Amanda
3.75 stars

This book is quirky, funny and oddly satisfying. I don't even mind that MacKenzie is an emotionally sensitive bloke that tends to cry and Laurent is not all that interesting despite label as eccentric. He is basically a rich workaholic who live off take out and when he finally sleep, he is dead to the world. This story isn't the least conventional, but I find it weirdly engaging and flipping through the pages in a short amount of time.

MacKenzie is a young graduate who is looking for a
...more
Claude
Jul 21, 2017 rated it liked it
A really simple GFY. This book was sweet but i didn't really feel it 😬. An instalove and some things were so rushed...but it's good 😊. Mack is really touching man!:)
Joyfully Jay
Jun 14, 2017 rated it liked it
A Joyfully Jay review.

3.5 stars


I’ll admit, I am a big fan of the eccentric recluse trope. It appeals to me in the same way that the Beauty and the Beast trope does; I like the idea that someone who seems beyond love or companionship finds someone who can draw him out and really see him for the prize that he is. So I was really intrigued by this story and the set up here seemed right up my alley. But unfortunately, the plot didn’t quite hit the high points of this trope for me as Laurie isn’t al
...more
Suzy
May 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved Laurie and Mackenzie so much.

Highly recommended <3
...more
Mercedes
Jun 02, 2017 rated it it was ok
Ok, so it's like this. If you like tropey stories you will enjoy this book. If you like the creepy MC who declares his insta love out of nowhere. If you like the dubious consent sex or the weepy, blushing, bite his lip often MC, you will enjoy this book.

If you are just moving into the MM romance and come from mostly reading MF romance books you will probably feel right at home because Mackenzie is mostly a chick with a dick. Coincidence that his name is unisex? I think not. I think this is a ma
...more
AussieMum
4.5 stars. This was great.

Yep. Laurie comes off as a bit bonkers, but he's honestly become one of my top 5 most awesome MC ever (and we don't even get his POV). He's almost a hermit, a bit off, a bit rude and very forward, but he's also honest and doesn't lie. I absolutely freakIng love him. Kudos to JK Hogan for creating such an original character.

Mackenzie is younger and he's cute and sweet. He is just perfect to bring Laurie out into the world but he was also a little frustrating. This woul
...more
Rennie
May 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars. Well, this was adorable, even with the Insta-love.
Carole Ann
Jun 27, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: gfy, billionaire, m-m
2.5 Stars
Laura ~Passion flower
May 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc, mm-romance
Boys Don't Cry (ARC) was graciously provided to me by IndiGo Marketing & Design for an honest review.



"Batman's Love For Robin..."


I absolutely loved this book. I love, love, loved it.. I can also honestly say, that, I don't think I've come across a book, in a long time, if not ever, that could be compared to Boys Don't Cry. I adored Mackenzie and Laurant. And, quite frankly, still do..*blushing* I've been struggling for days to try to come up with the most perfect way to accurately describe
...more
Alicia
-4 stars-
I think, maybe, I liked this one? Even if Mackenzie drove me a bit nuts, and Laurie was a complete and utter weirdo. I couldn't stop reading, needing to know what would happen, so theirs that. I know some are put off by the 'I love you' at 28%, but I honestly think it fits in with who Laurie's character is, and didn't feel Insta lovey, just Laurie being his usual weird self. Anyway go forth and read and judge for yourself.
Christina Wade - BFD Book Blog
May 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
So, Ms. Hogan became an auto-read/buy for me with her Coming About series, which I love (and I now know is getting another book and I cannot wait!). I just love her writing! While this book isn’t the 5-star reads that those books are, I liked this one very much.

This book could have been super heavy and angsty, but it wasn’t. While I think I would have probably given this book 5 stars if it had been the deeper, angsty story, I kind of liked that it was lighter than I expected. Once I picked it u
...more
K
May 25, 2017 rated it really liked it
I absolutely adored this book!— and caught myself with a smile plastered across my face through most of it while reading. The writing is funny, engaging, the sexual chemistry will have goosebumps fighting for a place on your body, and it kept my attention from start to finish.

Mackenzie has two months left before graduating college when he learns he is being evicted from his apartment and he's going to be homeless. Fortunately, his best friend's co-worker, Laurent Beaudry, has a mansion with lots
...more
Veronica of V's Reads
Mackenzie Pratt is closing in on his college graduation and he's weeks from homelessness. His cut-rate slum of an apartment building is being razed, and he doesn't have a job, or enough money, to find something else. Plus, he needs to have a stable living situation in order to find a teaching position for the fall term. While hanging out with his childhood best friend, Taylor, Mackenzie meets Laurent Baudry, a reclusive, but brilliant and wealthy, mobile app developer.

Laurent is a personal mess
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Virgin Flyer
  • The Guy in the Window
  • Just a Bit Dirty (Straight Guys, #10)
  • Fake Out (Fake Boyfriend, #1)
  • A Temporary Situation (Temporary #1)
  • Kill Game (Seven of Spades, #1)
  • Gemini Keeps Capricorn (Signs of Love, #3)
  • Lace (A Material World #1)
  • Beauty and His Beast
  • 3 Dates
  • Helping Hand (Housemates, #1)
  • Trust with a Chaser (Rainbow Cove, #1)
  • Sex Ed
  • Textual Relations
  • Summer Heat
  • Sinfully Mine
  • Curses, Foiled Again
  • Best Man (Close Proximity, #1)
See similar books…
276 followers
J.K. Hogan has been telling stories for as long as she can remember, beginning with writing cast lists and storylines for her toys growing up. When she finally decided to put pen to paper, magic happened. She is greatly inspired by all kinds of music and often creates a “soundtrack” for her stories as she writes them. J.K. is hoping to one day have a little something for everyone, so she’s branche ...more

Related Articles

Emma Straub was all set to spend May on tour promoting her new novel, All Adults Here. Instead, due to the global pandemic, the Brooklyn-based auth...
14 likes · 4 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »