Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dragonhunters” as Want to Read:
Dragonhunters
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dragonhunters

by
4.30  ·  Rating details ·  44 ratings  ·  10 reviews
You don't become a hero for the money. The money's nice, sure, but you become a hero because something inside compels you, drives you to it. Defending people from monsters simply doesn't pay well enough to make it a good career move.

As for hunting dragons... well, the money is usually good, but the job really bites.

A group of five professional heroes goes into the lair o
...more
Kindle Edition, 140 pages
Published April 30th 2017
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dragonhunters, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dragonhunters

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  44 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Douglas Meeks
May 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
What to say? This was a story that started off WAY different than I expected and THAT led to the rest of the story. These 5 adventurers (skills for each pulled out of every D & D type game you ever played) set off for a dragon slaying and things do not go exactly as planned, actually they don't even come close to the plan.

It was an engaging tale and the length of 215 pages seemed way underestimated for the story contained in them but I really enjoyed it and was wishing I had not grabbed this
...more
Sadie Forsythe
Jun 19, 2017 rated it it was ok
Man, what an interesting set-up that failed almost completely for me. Look, there are a ton of really fun ideas in this book. But the writing is so flat, the dialogue so formal and fantasy-quest-like (you know what I mean) that it distances the reader so far that I didn't connect with anyone. I finished the book feeling like I hadn't gotten to know anyone, nor did I care about any of them or their endeavor to kill a random dragon. No one had a believable emotion. No one seemed to react at all to ...more
Jessica Bronder
Jul 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
Five heroes are sent on a quest to kill a dragon in typical role playing fashion. We don’t really learn much about then and they find themselves in trouble from the start. But they keep going intent on reaching their goal.

This story reads just like following along with a role playing game. Someone dies, they are resurrected, and they all keep going. There is not a lot of character development and the dialog is rough. Overall I admit that I didn’t expect the direction that it went but it was a d
...more
Julie  Whitley
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Dragon hunters, ghosts and mayhem, I thoroughly enjoyed this story and the wry humour of the characters in their interactions. The dragon is on a rampage to gather as much tribute and sacrifice as the land and terrified people can stand. The intrepid team of dragonhunters battle against tremendous adversity to complete their goal. Can they defeat the canny fierceness of the dragon?

The story kept me turning the pages and at times even chuckling out loud. The slips of grammar and word usage did no
...more
Curtis
Jul 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Delightful

A beautifully designed and dialogued story, full of humor, intelligence, courtesy, action, greed, drama, and a dragon. It also contains a catalystic cameo of a a beloved character to get things moving. The editing is good, and again - the dialogue is a joy. I may read it again just for all the snappy banter. If you could combine the movie “Topper” with a good solid RPG group, you might get something like this. Cheerfully and definitely recommended.
Kevin Grieve
Mar 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I find my self wanting more!!

I enjoyed his night lord books so I gave this one a shot, it didn't disappoint! I find my self wanting to find out more about the world about the magic. It's a good read and it holds it's own as a standalone book, but I hope it gets more.
Daniel Shead
May 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
A great read.

A great read. Witty dialogue, an exciting plot, and interesting characters. An adventure novel with a refreshing twist. Particularly recommended for fans of The Dungeoneers, Tinker, or
Jason Carpenter
May 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Another great read

Fun story with good characters, a good plot. Another great read! If you've liked Nightlord you'll like this. Read it.
Kathleen Duffy
May 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A Bit Of Hitchhiker Guide To The Galaxy Style

Very entertaining & enjoyable read. Slow starting getting the reader ready to jump right into the details of the story.
Juha
rated it really liked it
Oct 04, 2018
Paula
Jun 10, 2017 marked it as unfinished
Shelves: fantasy
The writing didn't appeal to me.
M. S. Blake
rated it it was ok
Apr 25, 2019
Mhinternational88
rated it really liked it
Nov 14, 2018
Anthony
rated it really liked it
Dec 16, 2018
Mathmanx
rated it it was amazing
May 08, 2017
BlotterMonkey
rated it it was amazing
Jun 01, 2017
Garon Whited
May 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: mine
Terry
rated it it was amazing
Jan 31, 2018
Ian Turkstra
rated it liked it
Sep 02, 2018
Leslie Gartin
rated it liked it
May 08, 2019
Grant
rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2019
jelle
rated it it was amazing
Sep 16, 2018
Katharina
rated it really liked it
May 08, 2017
Eric Boylan
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2017
Sveine
rated it really liked it
Aug 06, 2017
Isabel
rated it liked it
Jul 18, 2018
Anirban
rated it really liked it
Jun 29, 2017
Catia
rated it liked it
May 14, 2018
Jo-ann
rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2018
Michael Dupre
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Piketty Problem: or The Robots Are Coming, The Robots Are Coming
  • The Reaping: Arctic Wolves Novella
  • Saint Athanasius The Father of Orthodoxy
  • Raising a Modern-Day Joseph: A Timeless Strategy for Growing Great Kids
  • Understanding Scripture: An Overview of the Bible's Origin, Reliability, and Meaning
  • Noah: Man of Destiny (The Remnant Trilogy #1)
  • True Courage: Emboldened by God in a Disheartening World
  • If God Is Good Why Do We Hurt?
  • Health, Wealth & Happiness: Has the Prosperity Gospel Overshadowed the Gospel of Christ?
  • Urban Preppers with Kids, Pets &Parents
  • The Holy Spirit (The Gospel Coalition Booklets)
  • A Confession
  • A Spontaneous Order: The Capitalist Case for a Stateless Society
  • Knowing the Truth About Jesus the Messiah (Defenders Series)
  • MacArthur's Quick Reference Guide to the Bible
  • The Life and Words of G.K. Chesterton
  • Taking Hold of God
  • The Names of Jesus
See similar books…
459 followers
Garon Whited was supposedly born in 1970, but the original birth certificate is suspiciously unavailable and other records do not agree. After spending some years in college playing role-playing games, he finally settled down into a steady job working with computers—and still plays role-playing games. He finally joined a radicalized group of jellyfish-herding nomads. Having fought zombie dolphins, ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »