Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sons of the Rapture” as Want to Read:
Sons of the Rapture
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sons of the Rapture

by
3.79  ·  Rating details ·  43 ratings  ·  7 reviews
Billy Jones and his dad have a score to settle. Up in Chicago, Billy drowns his past in booze. In South Carolina, his father saddles up for a drive to reclaim him. Caught in this perfect storm is a ragged assortment of savants: shape-shifting doctor, despairingly bisexual bombshell, tiara-crowned trumpeter, zombie senator.
Paperback, 192 pages
Published September 1st 2006 by Featherproof Books (first published January 1st 2006)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sons of the Rapture, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sons of the Rapture

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.79  · 
Rating details
 ·  43 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sons of the Rapture
Shauna
Aug 20, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: you
READ. THIS. BOOK. Good grief. It's incredible. In parts Todd rivals Pynchon for audacity and madness, yet the organization and pace of the story are controlled, symphonic, clear. I'm not kidding. I'm going to need for you to read it and report back to me.

This isn't a ploy to help a nice guy sell copies, either -- drop me a line if you're flat broke, and I'll send you mine. I want you to read this book.
Melanie Page
Aug 20, 2017 rated it did not like it
Shelves: dnf
If you try to read this book out loud, you'll realize you find like you're trying to read for the first time. Sentences are confusingly worded in a way that doesn't add rhythm or meaning that I can see. Abandoned.
featherproof
Dec 07, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: we-published-it
Told from various points of view—each unique, beautiful and strange—with his debut novel Dills has tapped into a zeitgeist unique to America. He explores the surly restlessness of youth, the repressed anger of a still-divided country, and the confused joy of perpetual drunkenness. Fans of Barry Hannah and Walter Kirn will recognize a similar investigation of America's jagged psychology.

"TOP 5 LOCAL BOOKS OF 2006"
- Newcity | full article



"Sons of the Rapture is a gloriously ambitious achievement."
-The Ele/>-The/>"Sonsarticle

/>"TOP
...more
Zweegas
Feb 17, 2010 marked it as abandoned

I read all of Part 1 which is over half but less than two-thirds.

I'm so confused. Why did this get published? How did it make it into my public library system? It's so bad. If the point of this book is to immortalize the Two-Way Lounge (an actual real-life dive bar close to where I live) in literature, then at least this novel has some reason to exist.

That being said, one of the characters is named Artichoke Heart (or A.H. for short) and my favorite part of the whole thin
...more
Doug
Jan 29, 2008 rated it really liked it
First novel by Dills, editor of THE2NDHAND (http://the2ndhand.com); fine, fine work of new Southern fiction. The music of it. Dills deftly uses Southern idiom without turning it into a series of palatable cliches for Yankees. And the humor is great. Et tu, hipster?

Cate
Aug 05, 2012 added it
I had to force myself to finish this book.
It's so disjointed that it was hard to really become invested in it.
The second half of the book was much more enjoyable than the first half, to me.
Kody
rated it it was ok
Dec 30, 2007
Tobias
rated it it was amazing
May 22, 2007
Ian Hagan
rated it liked it
Apr 15, 2011
Peter
rated it liked it
Jul 16, 2013
Jamie Iredell
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2009
Pete
rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2007
Gabe Durham
rated it really liked it
Jun 01, 2011
Katie
rated it it was ok
Aug 05, 2007
L.
rated it did not like it
Nov 02, 2008
B-alt Library
rated it it was amazing
Nov 30, 2013
Nick
rated it liked it
Feb 13, 2008
Amy
rated it liked it
Apr 28, 2008
Jason Jordan
rated it really liked it
Mar 10, 2008
kim McRad
rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2010
Kyle
rated it really liked it
Sep 22, 2008
Jonathan
rated it it was amazing
Sep 06, 2007
Susannah
rated it it was amazing
Dec 12, 2007
Matt
rated it liked it
Nov 04, 2012
Macy Mccomb
rated it really liked it
Apr 28, 2019
Molly Tolsky
rated it really liked it
Aug 09, 2007
Mark
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2008
Nick
rated it really liked it
Nov 01, 2007
Evan
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2012
Zachary
rated it it was amazing
Mar 15, 2007
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
11 followers
Todd Dills is the author of a novel (Sons of the Rapture, Featherproof 2006) and the 2013 Triumph of the Ape short-story collection. He's also the editor, publisher and founder of Nashville-based occasional book and online lit publisher THE2NDHAND (http://www.the2ndhand.com), for which he edited too book-length collections of short fiction, "All Hands On," published in 2004 and 2011, resp(Sons ...more