Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Spark (The Firebrand Chronicles #1)” as Want to Read:
Spark (The Firebrand Chronicles #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Spark (The Firebrand Chronicles #1)

by
4.62  ·  Rating details ·  26 Ratings  ·  16 Reviews

Brenna James wants three things for her sixteenth birthday: to find her history notes before the test, to have her mother return from her business trip, and to stop creating fire with her bare hands.

Yeah, that’s so not happening. Unfortunately.

When Brenna learns her mother is missing in an alternate reality called Linneah, she travels through a portal to find her. Against

...more
Kindle Edition, 288 pages
Published May 16th 2017 by Love2ReadLove2Write Publishing, LLC
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Spark, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Spark

Community Reviews

(showing 1-51)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Kat Heckenbach
May 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is technically YA, but I would recommend this even as a middle grade book. It's clean (nothing that's not appropriate for middle graders), has lots of action right from the first chapter, and has a rich fantasy story world with some cool magical creatures and an interesting magic system. The main character has a good balance of snark and sweetness, and is insecure enough that kids can relate to her but confident enough to take on the adventure. If you enjoy books that take you into another ...more
John Kramer
Jun 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A Splendid and Inspiring YA Tale

“Spark” provides young adult readers just the kind of quest they should seek: one that takes them to another fascinating world filled with adventures and challenges, an exotic land of great beauty, inspiration and instruction. (Maybe I shouldn’t limit this to young adults; we can all use that!) Brenna, the protagonist, is a relatable teenager who discovers it is her obligation to shoulder the weight of an ancient prophecy and carry it through to its fulfillment. T
...more
Alexis Long
Nov 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Amazing wonderful book. Recommend this book. Enjoyed reading this book before bed. Five star book.
Laurie Lucking
May 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This was such a fun read! Brenna had so much humor and heart, I enjoyed discovering Linneah through her eyes and found her easy to relate to as she tried to figure out who to trust and questioned her ability to fulfill an ancient prophecy. And her relationship with Baldwin made me grin :) Hackman's worldbuilding was stellar - the various abilities that manifested in the characters and the unusual threats they faced made the story anything but predictable. Plus, did you hear about the griffins? J ...more
Justin Coogle
Aug 10, 2018 rated it liked it
For anyone reading this review it is key that you read the whole thing to get the full context of my final conclusion and why I scored it the way I did.

"Spark", by J.M. Hackman, is a YA fantasy novel that follows the story Brenna (aka Raven) and her struggle of accepting her role in a prophecy to save the land of Linneah. Brenna is a 16 year old girl from Earth who discovers she has powers (she is a "Firebrand", a wielder of flames and healing) on top of being part of a magical lineage from an a
...more
M.H. Elrich
Jul 01, 2018 rated it liked it
I really wanted to love this book. I wanted to eat it up in one sitting and feel like I’ve enjoyed a sweet treat. Instead, I found myself struggling to connect with Brenna, the main character and narrator. Yet, I liked the setting and plot of Spark, so I kept reading until the end, despite the disconnect between us. So, I couldn’t love this book, but I did like this book because of the action sequences and world building.

Characters:
Brenna-the narrator of the book; her fiery spirit and reckless
...more
Kelly Bridgewater
Jul 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
Being a debut novel by J. M .Hackman, Spark, is definitely a book that fits in the YA fantasy genre. With a character like Brenna James, she is definitely something worth aspiring to for young women. Brenna James is literally forced into this new world through a portal on her sixteenth birthday. She adapts pretty quickly and accepts the world and all its rules without hesitation. The plot moved pretty quickly and reminded me a lot of a number of other titles, such as Unblemished by Sara Ella, Th ...more
Laura
May 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This YA fantasy novel is filled with fun (Can you tell by Brenna’s sarcastic wit in the synopsis?), adventure (Romping around an alternate reality will do that to you!), and suspense (Will she be able to save her mother and return the Veil, or will there be a price to pay?)

Brenna is your average 21st Century teen–her favorite shoes are Chucks, she’s always on the search for waffles, and she tosses around adolescent-attitude like it’s confetti–until she’s drawn into a hidden world she never knew
...more
Kara
Sep 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
From the moment I saw this cover, I knew I had to read Brenna's story and now....I have a new favorite author :) If it wasn't for sleep, I would've finished reading overnight because once I started, I couldn't put it down! I gobbled the pages up as if I found a new favorite candy and I had to see what the ending would be. It was BETTER than I could've imagined and can't stop thinking about the characters and what will happen next for them!

Brenna is in high school (being in high school was never
...more
Jebraun Clifford
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Awesome portal fantasy you will want to savour with great characters, a fantastic quest, and an imaginative world. Where to start with this review? Do I comment on the feisty and fun heroine, Brenna, who has a mind of her own, makes lots of mistakes, picks herself up, and tries again? Because I loved her! She has just enough snark to keep it real with a great sense of humour and some wicked sword skills. Or do I start with the well-imagined and very descriptive fantasy world of Linneah? Because ...more
Kasey Giard
May 17, 2017 rated it really liked it
Spark is a peppy, fun read perfect for fans of Sara Ella’s Unblemished. I enjoyed the cast of characters and found each one really different from others. Anna might have been my favorite, simply because she was so silly. The romance between Baldwin and Brenna is sweet and perfect for readers just beginning to read romance.

The Christian themes in the story are pretty straightforward without being preachy. Brenna faces choices surrounding a prophecy which seems to indicate that she’ll play a major
...more
Shannan Williams
Dec 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is an excellent book! I absolutely loved it! This is a great book for adults and young adults. Brenna is awesome and I loved seeing her come in to her own, even though she still messed up a lot! The book had me hooked from the beginning, lots of action. I kept wondering what was going to happen next. I have found a new favorite author in J.M. Hackman, and I cannot wait to read book 2! I highly recommend this book to fantasy lovers everywhere.
Grace
Jul 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kindle
A fun action-packed read by J.M. Hackman! I can assure you that I was on the edge of my seat throughout this read! You can't help but to connect with the stubborn heroine Brenna and think "I would have done the same thing!" Brenna was so real (and let's not forget lovable)! 

The book's message was so masterfully woven into the tale. Everyone has a God-given gift. I know that sometimes (like in Brenna's case) it takes time for it to show! And if you already know what that is, are you using your gi
...more
Jaymie
May 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this Christian YA fantasy. Nice work on the world building/setting. Good characters in interesting situations. There’s great suspense as the story builds. I found the ending a little flat, though. The final battle didn’t reach the same or higher tension as some of the earlier scenes. I kept waiting for a big reveal or twist or betrayal, thinking the relatively quick resolution was just the calm before the big moment, but it never materialized.

I would still recommend this to fantasy fan
...more
Sondra Hicks
Apr 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
First, can you say AMAZING! I wish high was like this for me. The MC was just loveable from the start and I stayed up all night and am now beat tired but I had to finish this book. How could anyone not try to do that? This book hooks you and keeps you from start to finish. If I could have read in the shower I would have. I have a new author I love now.
Rachel Lopez
Mar 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Spark is a wonderful read filled with action, adventure, and excitment at the turn of every page. I cannot wait to see what J.M. Hackman comes up with next!
Anne
rated it it was amazing
May 27, 2017
Sara James
rated it it was amazing
Jun 18, 2017
Mark
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2017
Laurin
rated it really liked it
Jun 22, 2018
Deanna Fugett
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2018
Tara Deitrich
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2018
DeVorah
rated it really liked it
Nov 11, 2017
Michele Israel Harper
rated it it was amazing
May 16, 2017
Carrie Noble
rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2017
K.A. Cummins
rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2018
Toni Shiloh
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2017
K.L. + Pierce
marked it as to-read
May 16, 2017
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2017
Kim Farwell
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2017
Lee
added it
May 22, 2017
Belinda Ehl
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2017
Laura Grace
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2017
Margaret Rose
marked it as to-read
May 25, 2017
Matthew Cromer
marked it as to-read
May 25, 2017
Carla Barker
is currently reading it
May 28, 2017
Gretchen
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2017
Kim Vandel
marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2017
Rachel Procter
marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2017
J.M. Hackman
Jul 11, 2017 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Ahmed H. Mansour
marked it as to-read
Jul 15, 2017
Rebeka
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2017
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2017
Serethiel
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2017
Tricia Mingerink
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2017
deb
is currently reading it
Jul 22, 2017
Zayra Aqeel
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2017
Lineah
marked it as to-read
Aug 11, 2017
Emily
marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2017
Permacrete
marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
16 followers
J.M. Hackman received a degree in Elementary Education from The Pennsylvania State University. After graduation, she held many positions: assistant librarian, office assistant, office manager, substitute teacher, writer, wife, and mother. She still holds the last three jobs.

In 2017, her YA fantasy Spark (The Firebrand Chronicles, Book One) was published. She has also had her short stories publishe
...more
“Arvandus!" I tried again to reach him. "You can come back now. I'm alone and would love to argue with you again.” 1 likes
“Reality does not change to match one’s belief.” 1 likes
More quotes…