Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “HUSH GIRL : It's Only a Dream” as Want to Read:
HUSH GIRL : It's Only a Dream
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

HUSH GIRL : It's Only a Dream

by
4.26  ·  Rating details ·  42 ratings  ·  24 reviews
While Nicki Reed is desperate to find the answers to her past, someone is desperate for her to never remember.
Shortly after her father died, Nicki’s nightmares started. They were soon followed by panic attacks. Suspecting her haunting dreams were related to her childhood, Nicki sought professional help, but Nicki was unable to verbalize any memories she had as a child. Ba
...more
Paperback, 376 pages
Published April 11th 2017
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about HUSH GIRL , please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about HUSH GIRL

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.26  · 
Rating details
 ·  42 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of HUSH GIRL : It's Only a Dream
Gloria Zachgo
Apr 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I am the author of this book. I am anxious to find out what others think of it.
Rita K McCall
Apr 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Mesmerizing

The Book had me caught up in it from the very beginning. The characters felt familiar and like family. Was not satisfied until I was able to finish the book.
gj indieBRAG
Sep 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
We are proud to announce that HUSH GIRL: IT'S ONLY A DREAM by Gloria Zachgo is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!
Chris
A psychological journey that that takes the tortured dreams and memories of a child and turns them into a resolution that makes life possible again. Nicki suffers a break with the death of her father and is unable to share her problems. Her family is suffering as she becomes more and more dysfunctional. She eventually seeks help at her husband’s request and is able to discover the evil that has kept her captive for so long.
A well-written and thoughtful story that draws you in and doesn’t let y
...more
Terry
Oct 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Gloria Zachgo's novels are always a pleasure to read and this book is no different. The writing, (and the story itself), flows smoothly and easily, with a life of it's own. Ms. Zachgo breathes life into her characters and they are well fleshed out. Her characters make you care about them and what happens to them.

This was a difficult story to read, but only because of the traumas and abuses the protagonist suffered, not due to any fault of the author. Difficult because it was so real and relatabl
...more
Carla
Jul 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Briefly, this book is about a woman who now has a stable home life with a husband and 2 children she loves but suffers from debilitating nightmares due a traumatizing childhood some of which she has trouble remembering. Through the help of a therapist she works on remembering and telling some of the secrets locked in her mind. At the same time, she feels like someone is following or stalking her. This doesn't sound like much but the book is very suspenseful and keeps you on edge. It makes you wa ...more
Nancy
Jun 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
Gloria Zachgo third novel can be categorized as both mystery and women's fiction. Delving into the problems Nicki Reed has with panic attacks and nightmares, Zachgo explores the use of therapy and a loving, understanding husband to bring Nicki some relief. The therapist helps her find answers to questions she's struggled with ever since her mother left the family when Nicki was only 5. The woman who moved into their home afterward is key to much of the story. She tormented Nicki as a child and c ...more
Robert Coburn
Jun 29, 2017 is currently reading it
Hush Girl: It's Only A Dream, is the story of a mother in her late twenties, hounded by a heartbreaking past. Abandoned by her own mother at the tender age of five, Nicole Reed was further traumatized when her mom was replaced by a woman who would make Cinderella's step-mother look friendly by comparison.
Our author, Gloria Zachgo, paints a compelling psychological odyssey as Nicole battles her way to remembrance of a past too painful to recall, eventually culminating in live action car chases,
...more
Susan Weintrob
Sep 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
“Don’t remember secrets. Don’t tell any secrets.” These words have been drummed into Nicki Reed from her childhood.

As a retired principal, I encountered abused children. Through fear, threats and pain, they were forbidden to speak. Their abusers had engrained a culture of silence in them.

Hush Girl by Gloria Zachgo is a well-written novel so intimate it reads like a memoir. This novel is a psychological journey of an abused woman searching for yet fearing to find her childhood reality in order
...more
Teri
Apr 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
This story definitely kept me wondering how it would turn out. I liked how the author used journal entries as a way to create the history and backstory of why Nikki is the way she is. It was powerful to see Nikki want to overcome her issues. Even though she had lots of pitfalls, overall, she wanted to do better for her family and try to figure out how to live a normal life. There was just enough suspense and wonderment to keep this book going, and it wasn't until the near end of the book that I ...more
Roy Beckemeyer
Dec 31, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A thoroughly engrossing read.
Loren Harder
Sep 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
Gloria Zachgo deftly weaves suspense with human emotion.

This psychological thriller has an intensely immediate feel to it. Zachgo writes in the voice of her troubled protagonist, Nichol. Nichol keeps no secrets from the reader. We are with her, beside her, inside her mind--even, as she gradually unravels the mysteries of who she is and why. She is by turns, bewildered, confused, dispirited, encouraged, triumphant, elated. Though her past includes the most horrific of abuse and her discoveries br
...more
Peg
May 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
Hush Girl is a book about Nicki, a mother of two, whose life became unbearable because of unrelenting panic attacks and nightmares. When she finally sought professional help, the therapist suggested to Nicki, for her to start writing down whatever she could remember from her childhood. Nicki found that through her writing, repressed memories were coming back to her in bits and pieces. She just wasn’t sure if they were real or not. Nicki’s sister, Cindy, thought that Nicki was insane. Nicki began ...more
Gloria Zak
May 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
First, I would like to thank Gloria Zachgo for the opportunity to read this book through the Goodreads giveaway.

This is my intro to a new author for me. It was a great read. Memories suppressed for so many years suddenly begin to emerge for Nicki. The author writes about the wonderful relationship Nicki has with her husband and how supportive he is throughout the ordeal. Nicki learns to trust her therapist who was able to find a way for Nicki to communicate about her nightmare, memories and her
...more
Monise
Jun 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway*

This story was full of twists, turns, betrayals and surprises. The start was a little slow, but once the storyline picked-up, I was hooked! Glad I kept reading.
G.A. Hurst
Jul 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Hush Girl, It’s Only a Dream by Gloria Zachgo
Review by Georgianna Simpson

Hush Girl, It’s Only a Dream is a new mystery thriller by author Gloria Zachgo. It’s a psychological thriller detailing the issue of overcoming abuse as a child and dealing with the mystery of murder(s).
This dark, but thrilling, tale relates the issues of Nichole Reed (Nicki), who is beginning to see a therapist about panic attacks, insomnia, and weeping bouts. She didn’t seem to be able to verbalize with anyone about the i
...more
Steph Warren
Apr 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
*I received a free copy of this book. The decision to review and my opinions are my own.*

I have now read three of Gloria Zachgo’s books, and Hush Girl is definitely my favourite.

It is suspenseful and engrossing; mystery piled upon mystery. What happened to seal Nicki’s memory and steal her voice? What happened to her mother all those many years ago? Was her brother’s death really an accident? Who is the strange woman haunting her, and is she real, or just another bad dream?

I love that the focus
...more
Yukiru Kannazuki
Sep 19, 2017 rated it liked it
Received a free copy of "HUSH GIRL: It's Only a Dream" from the author.

The appeal of Gloria Zachgo's work is the flow of her writing. One hundred pages goes by in no time at all. Perhaps it's because she leaves the actions of the characters to describe the characters in your head, because her settings are minimalistic, driven by characters, or perhaps it is because of the ease which dialogue comes to her.
However, I can't say I had an especially good time reading it. The thing this story struggl
...more
April
Nov 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow! This book was a Goodreads Win for me, BOy am I glad I won. This book had me sucked in from the beginning. I could not put this book down. Found my self-reading every chance I could to find out what would happen next. If you are looking for a heart-pounding thriller this is it. Its filled with all kinds of twist turns and betrayal.
InD'tale Magazine
4.5/5.0

"Hush Girl: It's Only a Dream" is a heart-pounding thriller, sure to raise readers' blood pressure!

Read full review in the 2017 December issue of InD'tale Magazine.
...more
Dawn
May 25, 2018 rated it liked it
Nicki grows up wondering why her mother left and dealing with an evil step-mother. As an adult she has a hard time speaking to anyone about the nightmares she’s having and the feeling that she’s being followed. The plot is good, but the book doesn’t flow well for me.
Emily Blank
Apr 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great read

Wow, wow, wow! What a story! I am so glad Hush Girl was mentioned and chosen for our book club, only took 24 hours from start to finish!
Kay Smith
Apr 29, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great read!
Teri
rated it it was amazing
Jan 29, 2018
Jill Cook
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2018
Carol
rated it really liked it
Jun 23, 2018
Melissa A.
rated it really liked it
May 31, 2018
Susan Weintrob
rated it it was amazing
Sep 04, 2019
Erin Hussey
rated it liked it
Aug 20, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Death by Times New Roman (Book 1)
  • Flying Without Wings
  • Pasta Pinot & Murder (Willa Friday Food & Wine Mystery #1)
  • Memoirs of a Time Traveler: Time Amazon - Book 1
  • The Letter (Comfort Crossing #3)
  • The Irish Cottage: Finding Elizabeth (The Irish Heart, #1)
  • Pasta, Pirates and Poison (Beachside Books #1)
  • Orphan Train Trials (Hearts on the Rails, #2)
  • Plain Roots
  • The Secret Plan for a Lady's Liberation
  • Scraps of Paper (Spookie Town Murder Mystery, #1)
  • The Darkest Thread (The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #1)
  • The First Time I Said Goodbye
  • Ginkgo Glen
  • The Girls Across The Bay (Knox and Sheppard, #1)
  • Gathering Water (Gathering Water, #1)
  • Secrets Revealed: Book Two in the I Am Proud To Be A Jew series
  • To the end of the world: The quest for a lost son in Tibet and Bhutan
See similar books…
52 followers
It’s a natural for Gloria Zachgo to write stories with Kansas settings. She grew up on a farm in Lincoln County, where she attended one of the last one-room schoolhouses in the country. After graduating from Brown Mackie Business School, she married her high school sweetheart.
Living out of state for several years, Gloria and her husband moved back to their Kansas roots. While their children were
...more

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
25 likes · 30 comments