Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Imprint” as Want to Read:
Imprint
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Imprint

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  28 ratings  ·  20 reviews
25% of Monthly Net sales are donated to the Wounded Warrior Project!
https://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/


Doctor. Savior. Prisoner.

Malcolm Silvestra’s Synthetic Organ Replacement technique saved the lives of thousands of people.

Then “The Scald” deformed and killed millions more.

Imprisoned above the Arctic Circle in the Canadian Northwest Territories, Malcolm's only h
...more
Paperback, Republished, 112 pages
Published March 28th 2017 by Independant (first published June 24th 2016)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-55
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  28 ratings  ·  20 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Imprint
James Tivendale
To commence, I would like to thank Nicholas Adams for sending me a copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review.

Award-winning doctor Malcolm Silverstra finds himself exiled after a study of his that led to the creation of artificial organs which although revolutionary, to begin with, had unknown, unpredictable and sinister side-effects. At the initial stages, he was heralded and everything was rosy, until he is blamed for the breakout of the deadly Scald virus which threatens to wipe ou
...more
Lauren Mugar
Aug 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Okay, I'm gonna be honest and say that I hated it! But only because I wanted more. :) I really did enjoy reading it and kept telling myself, "I'll put it down at the end of this chapter to do laundry." But then I didn't because I just wanted to know what happened next! I wish it was longer. I want to get to know the characters even more and I want to know what happens next. And I want more details about what happened before and during the Scald. Maybe someday it'll be a long story instead of a s ...more
Bithi
Oct 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
"I'm not her, you know!" her voice rang with desperation. "And yet, I am her."

- Nicholas Adams, Imprint


Imprint is the first book that I have read by Nicholas Adams.

I have liked the theme of the Artificial Intelligence taking the control over the humankind. I have liked the way the author has presented the theme in this book.

I have liked the unconditional love between Cynthiana and Malcolm. Cynthiana forgives her husband for her present condition and Malcolm does not tire of taking care of his be
...more
Adam
Jul 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Teens and up who love a good thriller.
I really loved this amazing short story by Nicholas Adams. I was asked to Beta Read it by the author.

Imprint is a brilliant story about what it means to mankind if/when we actually make the leap to living vicariously through a synthetic host body.

I'm not going to give away any spoilers, other than I did not see the end coming.
Bill Briscoe
Oct 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Quite the concept here. The story makes me wonder what could really be possible in the future. Very imaginative situation among the characters. If you like future circumstances, you should read this. The last line is my favorite.
Angie Dokos
Nov 23, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Intense! Interesting. Entertaining. Takes you on a different path than you originally think you're headed. Great epilogue!!
Ashley Nicole
Nov 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Elysia Strife
Apr 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Imprint By Nicholas Adams (5 stars)
If you liked Ex Machina, you will like this.
Overview: (spoiler alert)
Imprint follows Malcolm as he tries to find a solution for a debilitating and life-threatening side-effect of the synthetic organs he designed. His wife is the last remaining test subject in a world that destroyed itself thinking “The Scald” was a plague. The Scald is the term for the burns which appear sometime after a synthetic organ transplant has occurred. Good intentions aren’t always eno
...more
Galya Varna
Jan 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
“Imprint” by Nicholas Adams is an excellent Sci-Fi novella, engaging readers in a well-crafted story that makes them think.

Doctor Malcolm Silvestra’s Synthetic Organ Replacement technique saved the lives of thousands of people. But his happiness and glory as a savior were short-lived when “The Scald”, a new and unknown condition, deformed and killed millions more.

Malcolm is threatened with execution unless he finds a cure for the Scald. He is imprisoned above the Arctic Circle in the Canadian
...more
Jade
Mar 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I feel it may be cliche to say that if you like anything by Phillip K. Dick, then you will absolutely love this book. However, there are so many nods in the same direction of genius and forward thinking that it is quite impossible not to make the comparison. While the novella does read quickly, intriguingly, and enticingly, there is so much thought between the lines, that within the reader's mind, it aptly provides a huge amount of texture and introspection on the human condition, which goes wel ...more
J.D. Stonebridge
This book was really amazing. Everything from the setting to the characters were great. The author was very descriptive so it was easy to see the world he created in this book. The characters were very well-fleshed out, especially the main character, Malcolm. I was very caught up in the plot. Malcolm is trying to find the cure for the Scald and cure his paralyzed wife at the same time while he's exiled. The pace was just perfect. This is a well-written book and I just couldn't get enough of it. ...more
Shelby
Jan 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed Imprint, I thought it was a neat take on the mass plague dilemma as well as the sort of AI story. It was a quick read which, I always love the feeling of reading a book in one sitting, was great. And, in the best way possible, I think this novella was the perfect length to tell this story. It was long enough for a sort of mystery and stakes to develop properly, but short enough so that it got to all interesting parts pretty quickly. Honestly, I think if it had been any longer it ...more
Leslie
Aug 15, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaway
This was a Goodreads Giveaway win for me and a quick read. It was a good book but too short! I would've like to have more information about how Malcolm came to create his synthetic organs and what happened during the scald. I'm hoping there will be a follow up novel that delves deeper into the story and I want to know what happens afterwards! The question posed at the end does make for some intriguing thoughts.
Cameron Miller
Disclaimer Won in Goodreads Giveaway. Less than 2 hours invested in reading a book that did not have any initial background development nor explored deep enough character development. However it is short enough to be a guide to authors that have never written a book on what not to do - hence one reason why I did not give it 1 star. The epilogue question posed is the only other reason why not give 1 star.
Suleika Santana -All About Books
I love reading a book that when you finish the first page you are thinking; “ohhh this is good” then finish the first chapter and say; yep, I’m hooked! I really love when a book does that to me because it tells me I’m going to really enjoy the story. This is such an interesting story and although short, it really gets everything done. That ending was really something!
Well written, great story line and will definitely recommend this book if you want an awesome quick read.
Heidi Moffatt
Jun 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I typically don't choose storied under 100 pages, for the same reason I don't ever run less then 3 miles. It seems like a lot of effort to get into something that is going to end so quickly. This story was definitely worth it. Did not disappoint! Very engaging. This book was very well written, interesting, and clever. Thoroughly enjoyed!
David
Oct 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was....different. But an amazing read! I'd like to thank the author for letting me have this book to review. I loved this! Super intense story about the struggles a man goes through to save his wife.
Carlos Colon
Jan 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for a fair review.

In his science fiction novella, “Imprint”, Nicholas P. Adams presents us with a provocative, cautionary tale, which also serves as a poignant love story. The protagonist Malcolm is a visionary scientist whose breakthrough of synthetic organs to treat life-threatening illnesses results in a plague that threatens to wipe out the entire human population. Exiled to the Arctic, Malcolm works desperately save the world, but there are perso
...more
Jinx:The:Poet {the Literary Masochist, Ink Ninja & Word Roamer}
**OBTAINED: Goodreads Giveaway**

Imprint was a fun, well-crafted, thought-provoking read, however short it was. Personally, I find that more often than not, short books are lacking in detail and eloquence. I did not feel that way with this book, however. It was very descriptive, highly imaginative, and overall exceptionally written. I really enjoyed this story and the concept it presented to me as a reader, as well as the author's personal writing style. I would especially enjoy reading other sto
...more
Theresa McEachern
The idea of the book has great promise, I wish you luck in the future.
Alana
rated it liked it
Jun 10, 2020
Maureen
rated it really liked it
Jan 31, 2018
Paul
rated it really liked it
Dec 09, 2016
Nicholas Adams
Jun 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: written
Nicholas Adams
Mar 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: written
Hanna
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2017
Nicholas Adams
Mar 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: written
Connie Nicholes
rated it it was amazing
Feb 23, 2020
Cheryl
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2016
Heather
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2016
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2016
Tawni Lynn
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2016
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Ms. Reader
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Lorra
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Manda
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Amy
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Stacia Chappell
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Sue
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Mary A.
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Emma
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
William Bitner Jr.
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Jackie Morris
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Gwen
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Rebecca Lyons
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Cyn
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Samantha Gunning
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
VeronicaMarie1986
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
Urszula
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Bluest Eye
  • Palm Trees in the Pyrenees (Death in the Pyrenees #1)
  • Death of a Young Lieutenant (The Jake Reynolds Mysteries, #1)
  • Les Misérables
  • The Tell-Tale Heart
  • The Turing Revolt: The War Against Infinity
  • River
  • Beloved
  • The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus, #3)
  • Romeo and Juliet
See similar books…
286 followers
Follow me on Twitter @NicholasAWrites!

Nicholas Adams grew up in the small, rural town of Boring, OR with his six brothers and sisters.

After graduating from High School in Gresham, OR he attended BYU-ID and received his Associates Degree in Pre-Med. From there he returned to Portland, OR and attended Portland State University where he earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Biology/Pre-Med before changing
...more

Related Articles

Dedicated fans of authors Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan might know the duo better by the affectionate moniker “The Fug Girls,” after their l...
8 likes · 2 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »