Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sleepers” as Want to Read:
Sleepers
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sleepers

(Blue Planets World #1)

by
3.98  ·  Rating details ·  107 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Sleepers is the first book of an exciting science fiction trilogy that forces a dying world to beg for refuge on Earth. A test-tube baby, fifteen-year-old Jake Rose is half human and half alien. After living with his mother on Rison for most of his life, he finally comes to Earth to live with his human father's grandparents on Bainbridge Island in Puget Sound. His mother, ...more
Hardcover
Published July 11th 2017 by Mims House
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sleepers, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sleepers

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.98  · 
Rating details
 ·  107 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sleepers
Victoria Lees
As in all good fiction and fantasy, Darcy Pattison builds the alien world of Sleepers on scientific and historical facts, even mythology, knowledge that a YA readership would be learning in school. She also touches on many themes in this adventure; the compassion needed to make immigration work, races hating and distrusting each other, the possible extinction of earth creatures due to inactivity, the difference between politics and statesmanship, and military intrigue.

The protagonist Jake Rose,
...more
Donna Boock
Jul 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow – what a journey author Darcy Pattison takes us on in the first installment of her new middle grade SCI-FI adventure, Sleepers! It isn’t a stretch to think that teens who enjoy action/adventure would also love this series.

Because of the many scientific experiments with Brown Matter on the planet Rison, the planet's volcanoes have become hyperactive and are damaging the planet’s core. The only hope for Risonian residents is to find a planet that has the right elements for them to live. When t
...more
 Reading Reindeer 2021 On Proxima Centauri
Review: SLEEPERS: THE BLUE PLANETS WORLD Series by Darcy Pattison

The Aliens are not always the Bad Guys. All the near-to-dying populace of the planet Rison wants is a new place to live, and Earth's oceans are ideal. Unfortunately, a minority of Earth supremacists are volatilely determined to repel what they consider to be an imminent alien invasion. Their overpowering xenophobia may be no match for peaceful citizens of either planet. 15-year-old Jake Rose is the test tube offspring of the Rison
...more
Stillgrowing
Apr 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful!

The main character was very likeable and the world he came from was well created. Their life and cultures believable.

The moral and ethical dilemmas discussed from earth’s past correlated with what the Aliens and Earthlings were experiencing in their current timeline. Very interesting discussions within the book could also bring up some interesting discussions with the target reading group.

Although written for a youth audience I loved it. I can’t wait to read the next book!
Don Viecelli
Apr 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
My Book Review Number 165:

This review is on Sleepers, The Blue Planets World, Book 1 by Darcy Pattison. This is the first book I have read by this Sci-Fi author. It is a Sci-Fi Speculative YA suspense story good for any age level.

The story opens up with a Great White shark swimming in the Gulf of Mexico Ocean off the Alabama coast when a young teenager named Jake Ross decides to enter the water and swim with the shark. Normally, this would be a foolish endeavor, but this boy is only fifty percen
...more
Linda Sammaritan
Jul 13, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Truly science fiction, Darcy Pattison offers her readers an entertaining education on volcanology, astronomy, and anatomy. The idea of a person with both gills and lungs is fascinating. Mysteries and suspense abound. Why does Blevins hate the Risonians? Why are seals dying in Puget Sound? Are there other Risonians already on earth—Sleepers? Will brown matter destroy earth in the same way that it destroyed Rison? Will Jake and his biological father be able to stop the saboteurs?
The story is compl
...more
Caroline
The 14-year-old protagonist Jake Rose is a half-human, half-alien. After living with his mother on planet Rison for most of his life, Jake is sent to his father and in this first book of the series, he comes to live with his human grandparents on Earth. Rison is facing annihilation as a result of wrong scientific decisions and his mother, the Risonian ambassador to Earth, is tasked with the near impossible job of persuading the people of Earth to share their planet—or at least their seas—with th ...more
Madeline (The Bookish Mutant)
Aliens and Mermaids and Mediocrity, oh my! Aliens and Mermaids and Mediocrity, oh my!

I initially bought this book on my kindle because of an ad that popped up on the said kindle. The concept sounded pretty interesting, which it was. That was about it for things I liked.
Now, for everything else...
First, the characters...oh God, they were SO LAME. They all had pretty much zero personality at all. Cardboard. Nothing but cardboard. Urgh. The same can also be said for the writing, which was very dull
...more
Cami
Half alien and half human boy Jake comes to Earth to live because his planet is facing catastrophe.

I had fun reading this interesting story about mer-people from space. It definitely made me think about what could happen if Earth was faced with aliens who wanted to move here.

There were a couple of things that bothered me with this story. 1) The term "velcro-legs" was overused. I got it the first time. I didn't need to read it over and over. 2) I really didn't understand why Jake was kept in th
...more
Debra Schwitzer
Dec 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great story!

Although I am way older than the target audience, I really got caught up in this story! Perhaps because I am a retired middle grades teacher or perhaps just because the story line is that good. There is a bit of a cliffhanger at the end to entice you to the next book but the problems faced in this book were completely settled. I will keep be reading the next book and think that after reading this story, you will want to as well.
Carol Caldwell
It got my attention right away with the main character talking to sharks. The plot develops from there to explain why he can do that and what it means for his family. I don't want to give away surprises in the story and to say more might. However, the story is interesting and takes place in the area where I live, so that makes what is happening more important to me.

It sparked my imagination and I intend to read the other two books in the series.

...more
George Sterling
Feb 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sleepers

Just finished reading the first book in the Blue Planet series and could not put it down once I got started. The author keeps you totally engrossed right from the start. If you like action and science with a great story then this is a must to have.
Grady
Feb 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A fine Sci-fi tale – speculating about alien sleeper cells….

Darcy Pattison is an Arkansas children's book author and writing teacher. In 1999, she created the Novel Revision Retreat, which she now teaches across the nation. As a children's book author her books have been translated into ten languages, and have been recognized for excellence by starred reviews, Book of the Year awards, state award lists and more. She is the 2007 recipient of the Arkansas Governor's Arts Award for Individual Artis
...more
Roseanne
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Lauren Mazzio
rated it it was amazing
Mar 04, 2018
lynn crippen
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2018
Justin Johnson
rated it it was amazing
Mar 18, 2018
D. Casey
rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2019
Joshua
rated it liked it
Mar 02, 2020
Patrick Welch
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2018
John Stevenson
rated it it was ok
Mar 09, 2018
Nimia Bradford
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2018
Mary Holbert
rated it it was ok
Apr 09, 2018
Christopher Pietrocarli
rated it really liked it
Feb 25, 2018
candace w
rated it liked it
Aug 11, 2017
Yash
rated it it was amazing
Jul 15, 2018
Liliana Leontica
rated it liked it
Aug 11, 2017
Tiffany Villeda
rated it it was amazing
Nov 08, 2018
Cheryl
rated it it was amazing
Feb 18, 2018
Belinda Self
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Poseidon's Academy (Book 1)
  • Angels Club
  • Demons and Dragons: Dragon Reign Box Set Series Books 1-5
  • Hexing (Magic & Alchemy #1)
  • The Arch of Avooblis (Adventurers' Academy #1)
  • Invisible (Invisible, #1)
  • The Supreme God of Martial Arts 5: Test The Power Of The Human Body (Living Martial Legend: A Cultivaion Novel)
  • Rebirth of the Prime Dragon Master 15: A Golden Opportunity That Everyone Wanted To Get (Fiery Skies: Flying with Dragons)
  • Talented Martial Hero 6: The Seed Of Heavenly Repression (Rise among Struggles: Talent Cultivation)
  • The Supreme God of Martial Arts 29: Austin's Rival For Love (Living Martial Legend: A Cultivaion Novel)
  • Pirates (The Magic Library Book 1)
  • City of Masks (The Bone Mask Cycle #1)
  • SoulWeaver (Chronicles of the Eyes, #1)
  • Rebirth of the Prime Dragon Master 16: Beyond The Anticipation Of The Audience (Fiery Skies: Flying with Dragons)
  • From Cellar to Throne: Zen's Quest for Immortality 36: The Holy Beings' Words (Tempered into a Martial Master: A Cultivation Series)
  • The Wind Mage of Maijev (Legends of Cirena, #1)
  • Magician's Heir (The Dark Mage Series Book 1)
  • The Adventures of Zelda: A Pug Tale
See similar books…
77 followers
DARCY PATTISON (www.darcypattison.com) is published in ten languages.

Children’s book author Darcy Pattison writes award-winning fiction and non-fiction books for children. Her works have received starred PW, Kirkus, and BCCB reviews. Awards include the Irma Black Honor award, five NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books, Eureka! Nonfiction Honor book, Junior Library Guild selections, and NCTE Notabl
...more

Other books in the series

Blue Planets World (4 books)
  • Sirens (The Blue Planets World series Book 2)
  • Pilgrims (The Blue Planets World series Book 3)
  • Envoys: Prequel: The Blue Planets World Series (The Blue Planets World Series Short Stories Book 1)

Related Articles

  Melissa Albert burst onto the YA scene (and catapulted into readers' hearts) with her 2018 debut The Hazel Wood. This darkly fantastical...
35 likes · 0 comments