Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fyrebyrne Island (Rachaya #1)” as Want to Read:
Fyrebyrne Island (Rachaya #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fyrebyrne Island

(Rachaya #1)

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  14 ratings  ·  8 reviews
-With a thunderous roar it fell from the sky, all gleaming yellow scales, talons the size of broad swords with fanged teeth to match, wings held out from its sides like sails, magnificent and glorious.-

The time has come for thirteen-year-old Rachaya to embrace her dragon heritage. Not everyone is pleased by her arrival on the dragon sanctuary, Fyrebyrne Island, however, an
...more
Paperback
Published March 9th 2017 by Ashleigh Oldfield
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fyrebyrne Island, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Fyrebyrne Island

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-31
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  14 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Fyrebyrne Island (Rachaya #1)
Kylie
May 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is the perfect book for a thirteen year old girl - and if I was thirteen year old me again I would have adored this book, drawn pictures of the characters, and become lost in the magnificent world that Ash Oldfield has created.
The story is about thirteen year old Rachaya who - very quickly discovers that she is of dragon heritage and this knowledge sweeps her into an incredible new world of dragons and wizards - learning their ways and laws, but also the perils that await one of royal birt
...more
Shayla Morgansen
May 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I was fortunate enough to meet Ash Oldfield in person some time ago at a convention in Melbourne, where I bought Fyrebyrne Island, her first book. I found this a delightful and wholesome read of magic, intrigue, friendship and families. The story is steady in pace and playful in its approach, never overburdening itself in detail, angst or drama at the expense of moving the tale along. Rachaya's friendships are sweet and their scenes together at Wyvold's were among my favourite in the book. A fun ...more
Luke Courtney
Nov 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
Something very different from what I usually read, but an entertaining story involving shape-shifting dragons (Which is forefront in my mind at the moment!). The opening drops you in the action from the word, go and Rachaya's journey to come to terms with her newfound abilities, heritage and responsibilities is a thoroughly gripping one. The characters are truly engaging (I thoroughly enjoy Mikel, and Lady Anjela and Hektor are so odious and obnoxious, I eagerly look forward to them getting thei ...more
Jenna
This was really not a great book 😅

The plot (when there actually was a plot) was nothing but a giant cliche with very little originality thrown in. The characters were also incredibly cliched and none of them experienced any sort of growth over the course of the story. Our main character Rachaya is a complete Mary-Sue who should have died multiple times but doesn’t because of convenience that pretty much has nothing to do with her.

The writing is also quite juvenile but at the same time I am so un
...more
Felicity
May 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Fun in the vein of Harry Potter

This was a hugely enjoyable, light hearted read. I look forward to reading more of this series, or as anything else by this author.
Luciana Carvalho
Such a great book! I loved to be able to scape to this new amazing world with dragons and wizards!
Emily
Jun 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
What a really cool book. I have not read many dragon books but after reading this I want to read more. I love how the characters change from human to dragon form - I want to be a dragon. I met Ash Oldfield at Melbourne Supanova where I found out that I was a fire dragon.

There are elements of this book that remind me of others I have read - it reminds me of Harry Potter as the majority of the book is set a magical school. The school that Rachaya attends, Wyvolds the Fierce School for Dragons, has
...more
Jane Finnsson
rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2019
Quinnie Trinh
rated it really liked it
May 05, 2018
Cheryl Hofman
rated it liked it
Aug 28, 2017
Miriam
rated it really liked it
Apr 27, 2018
Sarah
May 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
What a fantastic book. Can not wait for the second book to find out more.
Steve
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2017
Rhys Oldfield
rated it it was amazing
May 16, 2021
Ashleigh Oldfield
is currently reading it
Apr 26, 2017
Laura
is currently reading it
Apr 30, 2017
Jessie
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2017
Kate
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2017
Alexandra Reads
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2017
Jill Smith
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2017
Belle
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2017
Aubrey Law
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2017
Cymia Moss
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2017
Brittany
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2018
Shada
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2018
Asami
marked it as to-read
Jun 02, 2018
Elyse
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2018
Jordyn
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2019
Ragni
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2019
Samantha Rooney
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2021
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Galaxy in Flames (The Horus Heresy #3)
  • Sons of the Selenar (The Siege of Terra)
  • Fabius Bile: Manflayer (Fabius Bile #3)
  • The Maven Knight (The Maven Knight, #1)
  • Covens of Blood (Warhammer Age of Sigmar)
  • Bonereapers (The Black Library Novella Series 3 #4)
  • The End of Everything (The Connection Series, #1)
  • Cain's Last Stand (Ciaphas Cain #6)
  • Guardians of the Forest (High Elf Novels #3)
  • Duty Calls (Ciaphas Cain #5)
  • The Last Ditch (Ciaphas Cain #8)
  • Wardens of the Everqueen (The Realmgate Wars #5)
  • Death Vigil, Vol. 1
  • Tenebrasco (The Pearl Wielder Trilogy, #1)
  • The Lightning Bride (The Kingdom Isles, #1)
  • Princess Ugg Vol. 1
  • Sloths!
  • Walks in the Wild: A Guide Through the Forest
See similar books…
15 followers
Ash Oldfield is a fantasy fiction and children’s writer from Melbourne, Australia. She is the author of The Rachaya Series and has several short works of fiction in various publications.
When she is not working on her latest piece of fiction, Ash enjoys drinking good coffee, taking her dog for walks on the beach and hanging out with her two cats.

Other books in the series

Rachaya (3 books)
  • The Lost City (Rachaya #2)
  • Heart of Dragons (Rachaya #3)

News & Interviews

  It's been a great summer for book clubs on Goodreads. There's nothing better than talking about books—members have been devouring...
27 likes · 12 comments