Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Academy: Making of a Ruler (The Eagle King's Academy, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Academy: Making of a Ruler (The Eagle King's Academy, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

The Academy: Making of a Ruler

(The Eagle King's Academy #1)

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  91 ratings  ·  52 reviews
“I want you to remember something, Mr Hallman,” she whispered. “At the Academy you’re always evaluated. Even when you least expect it.”

Very little is known about the Eagle King’s Academy, but when 22 year-old Axel is admitted, he’s catapulted into a world filled with luxury, gruelling trainings, and dark secrets. In this world built on lies, ambition and pride, he’s prim
...more
Paperback, 369 pages
Published April 7th 2017 by Black Chair Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Academy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Academy

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  91 ratings  ·  52 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Academy: Making of a Ruler (The Eagle King's Academy, #1)
Helen
Jul 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: tbc
I absolutely devoured this book... it's like Harry Potter for grown ups - although the only magic is in the writing!

A sumptuous academy with fabulously rich facilities, open only to the chosen few, but with a sinister secret, and emerging internal power struggles. This is the first book in The Eagle King's Academy and C.C. Mono has laid the foundations for a truly brilliant series.

The characters are really well drawn and the author has a the knack for making you love, loathe and empathise as ne
...more
Kat
Aug 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Wonderful...I just loved it and urge everyone to read it you won't regret it. Thank you to this wonderful author for writing such a compulsive read I can't wait for the next book .... 5 stars ...more
Mark
May 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

The Academy: Making of a Ruler ( The Eagle Kings Academy Book1 ) by C C Mono published by Black Chair and out NOW

Hey, so ‘The Academy’....not a psychological thriller, not a mystery or crime book BUT it has elements of all 3 in it plus adventure, suspense and intrigue in abundance, I am struggling to find a genre to put to it as it ticks so many boxes!....and thats where the ticking stops as its unlike any book I have read
Basically EVERY 20-25 year old dreams of being one of the 12 chosen every
...more
Tracy Fenton
Aug 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
My Review: “A brilliant start to what should be the next “BIG THING” – think Harry Potter for grown-ups without the magic but lots of gadgets!”

This book was brought to my attention by some readers on THE Book Club who all gave it a glowing review and said I needed to read it. However with a TBR pile currently at 501 books, I still agreed and popped it straight to the top, because if the members of TBC said it was great that’s all the encouragement I needed.

The reviews have compared it to a grow
...more
Anne
Aug 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
If you are looking for a story that is a bit different, then The Academy will provide that. This first in the series has already left me wanting more! Fast paced, intriguing and with a definite sense of humour, I kepwas transported into the world of The Academy (then couldn’t get Thunderstruck out of my head for days! ).

The characters are very well written and the author has very cleverly interwoven the stories of Axel, one of the current students at The Academy, and Sarah who was a student the
...more
Greta Halliday
Jun 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is an absolutely fascinating book that is so easy to read but so unpredictable that you never know what is coming next. This is a compelling read that will appeal to all ages and a huge 5* awarded for a brilliant debut novel.
Mark
Oct 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars

The author has one of the most engaging writing styles I’ve run into in a while, and a real facility for dialogue. Those two things together made it very easy to get sucked into the novel. The expose on leadership was equally affecting and struck me as all-too-real. The dark sense of humor also scored points.
Susan Hampson
Jun 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: author-reads
So imagine a place that only takes in 12 students to teach them even more once they have reached their potential at university. The best of the best and cream of academic greatness. Well the Eagle King’s Academy is such a place, it is unique, it is where leaders are moulded to rule the world. It felt like I had entered an adult version of Harry Porter but it had lost its magic element of wands and wonder and instead these chosen few had cutting edge technology for their bidding every day. Only t ...more
Mel
Sep 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A very good, unique idea that was a quick read (I started and finished during a 3 and a half hour flight). Well written with a good main plot and some intriguing goings on in the background.

I will definitely read the rest of the series.
Claire Sinclair
Sep 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book grabbed me from the start to the end. It is filled with mystery which keeps you wondering. I am really looking forward to see where the next books take you.
Karen
Jun 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Axel is our reluctant 'hero' in this intriguing story that is based around the Eagle Kings Academy and their mission to train the next world leaders. It gives off a bit of a 'Kingsman' vibe in that the chosen few get whatever they need at their fingertips to achieve theirs, and the E.K.A's goal of becoming some of the most powerful leaders of their time. But there is a dark undercurrent that only Axel seems to be picking up on. What is their aim? What are they going to be expected to do? And to ...more
Madeleine
Mar 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Was lucky enough to get my hands on a pre-print copy of this book. I had no idea what to expect but positively surprised! This book is set in an international environment. It's fast-paced and exciting, set in a unique environment. Definitely worth reading! ...more
Sue Purbrick
Jun 20, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Academy gripped me from the start. There’s mystery, ominous undertones, fabulosity (is there even such a word? I feel there should be) and romance in this quick read, all of which left me wanting a lot more. Luckily there’s a book two (The Box) which I cannot wait to start! Only the finest 12 people in the world are selected for this top-secret leadership academy. Seriously? What a fascinating premise. And when they get there, they find total luxury. The students get everything they could ev ...more
Andy Thorn
Jun 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow, really loved the immersive and intriguing world of The Academy. Exquisite story-telling follows a complex and nuanced main character as he negotiates his way through a beautifully drawn and well-crafted world amongst a bevy of interesting and diverse characters. He faces many challenges and internal dilemmas as the story progresses and the author brilliantly reveals different aspects of his psyche and personality.

There is a sub-plot surrounding events ten years previously, chapters reveali
...more
Fiona
Jun 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The style of writing is this book is very engaging, with short chapters and a number of flashbacks which makes it an easy read.
The reader enters the world of The Eagle King’s Academy, an elite training school for the next world leaders in different fields of expertise. Only 12 students are accepted every three years and competition is fierce.
Axel is one of the chosen, only problem, he didn’t want a place and went out of his way to fail the selection process. This is explained by him being a ‘w
...more
Joel Hames
Apr 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A wonderful read, this: a plot that builds bit by bit, delivering information just when we need it, filling in the gaps at just the right pace so that there's never a slack moment, but neither is there so much coming in that the reader is overwhelmed; characters we sympathise with and characters we're terrified of, all fully realised; and writing with that quality I always so admire: so good you don't notice it unless you want to, always subservient to the action on the page, unobtrusively excel ...more
Susan Schuurmans
This book is an astonishingly accomplished read for a debut novel. The author weaves a story about a secret school with a strong ethic of competition at all costs with a wildcard student Alex, a disbelieving rebel who is drawn into the school against his better beliefs and then battles the pull to fit in with help that comes to him in a mysterious way. I was intrigued how the author spun a tale that kept me reading all the way through in one sitting whilst weaving in a powerful commentary on pow ...more
Deborah Dobrin
Aug 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
What a fantastic book and what an incredible film it would make. I couldn't put it down. I can see why there have been comparisons to Harry Potter but there isn't any magic just top of the range technology a bit like James Bond and Q. It can be read in two levels a great adventure story for young adult but some of the questions asked by the young protagonist makes you question leadership, politics and big business in a different way. Truly a book that can be recommended to anyone and indeed I wi ...more
Chelle
Oct 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Original and fascinating idea.

It's quite easy to read and it will make you think about the concept of leadership. I loved the concept and found the back and forth timeline perfectly suited this story. Great characters.

There are points in the book that have a magical feel to them, yet it's all politics and intrigue

Definitely recommended
...more
Margrethe
Apr 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Overall, I liked it. I’m a sucker for complex stories that take place in unusual settings, so this fitted me well. Look forward to reading book 2.
Morgan Ehnert
Oct 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: giveaways
Loved this book. Will recommend it to everyone.
Ellen
Aug 16, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A mix of Harry Potter and The Kingsman - elite students are hand picked after rigorous testing and trained to become world leaders; the problem is one of them isn't actually that keen on fulfilling his training and has doubts about The Eagle King's Academy. I enjoyed this book and would read more. ...more
Simon
Jun 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've had this languishing in my kindle for almost a year and have no idea why I haven't read it till now.
What a really engaging, well paced, intelligent story.
I'm against the Harry Potter allusions, the only connection is school which hundreds of books have been about over the decades. To me it's more like a James Bond's megalomaniac training school, think Dr. No for dummies, full of gadgets (oh you card, mysterious Greg!), intrigue, politics and shenanigans, amd some darkish humour.
It's well w
...more
MetLineReader
Jul 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved this book - it's a combination of Harry Potter, Malory Towers and Harvard Business School on steroids!!

A little magical, very intriguing and a good insight into people's behaviours. Lots of unanswered questions that hint at more to come.

I particularly liked the main character Axel and looking forward to understanding more about his motivations and challenges ahead.

Really enjoyed it and can't believe I have to wait til next Spring for the second book in the series.

Highly recommended!!!
...more
Louise
Aug 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Really great start to what will hopefully be a fantastic series
Left on a knife edge
Has been described as a Harry Potter for adults and this is a good comparison. What would happen if you ended up somewhere where you were not really sure you wanted to be? Why can't questions be asked?
Axel is one of the 12 recruits to the Academy from which all leaders are recruited, but what is leadership without humanity, what happened to Sarah and who is watching him?
...more
Selina Trafford
I really enjoyed this book that could also be for YA.

If conspiracy theory is your thing than this is definitely for you.
this book introduces you to Axl, and his class mates and leads you nicely into the follow up book the box.

C.C. Monö
Apr 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Well, I thought it was good, but then again, I'm not sure you can call my opinion "reliable".
:o)
...more
Hannah May Book Reviews
The Academy Making of a Ruler
Author: C.C Mono
Pages: 338

Synopsis:

Against his reluctance and reservations, Axel is accepted into the prestigious Eagle King's Academy. Along with eleven other students he embarks on a quest to become the most influential and powerful leaders in the world. The academy however isn't as grand as it seems and behind the facade there are secrets, lies and deceit to be discovered. Axel is wise of this and asks too many questions resulting in him becoming caught up in a ga
...more
Priya
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2018
This is a brilliant start to a new series. Written in a very engaging but simple manner, it has the right amount of story and suspense to keep the reader interested.
The sumptuous descriptions of the academy, along with the technology it has and what it aims to accomplish, set the stage for the story. This leadership academy is so exclusive that no one knows who has been selected for it's leadership course or even where it is situated.
Axel is a reluctant student of this place. While the luxury pr
...more
Fiona Hanrahan
Jun 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Academy
This is an unusual book. The Eagles King's Academy selects 12 young people every year to groom them for world leadership. Only the best of the best can enter the Academy. Failure is not only frowned upon but can be fatal! Enter Axel, the first Swede to succeed in gaining entry to the Academy, but all is not as it seems. Alex is being monitored and manipulated by forces external to the Academy. With a back story relating to a former student, Sara, sprinkled throughout the book, the st
...more
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book Bloggers of ...: The Academy: Making of a Ruler 1 4 May 04, 2017 11:12AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • My Sweet Revenge
  • Whispers at Moonrise (Shadow Falls, #4)
  • Tell Me a Secret
  • Soundless
  • Post Grad: Five Women and Their First Year Out of College
  • Brooklyn Girls (Brooklyn Girls, #1)
  • Jemima J
  • Almost Love
  • It Ain't Me, Babe (Hades Hangmen, #1)
  • Queen Heir (NYC Mecca, #1)
  • Into the Darkness
  • Beg For Mercy (Detective Solomon Gray #3)
  • No One Will Hear (Sam Williams #2)
  • Before Her Eyes
  • How Do You Like Me Now?
  • Revealing Serenity (Divided World Book 3)
  • The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck: How to Stop Spending Time You Don't Have with People You Don't Like Doing Things You Don't Want to Do
  • The Coordinates of Loss
See similar books…
24 followers
C.C. Monö (Carl Christian Monö) is the author of the Eagle King’s Academy Series. He was born in Stockholm, Sweden in June 1977. As the son of two development aid workers, he spent nearly 10 years in Africa between 1977 and 1994). He has also lived in Brussels and Serbia.

In 2007, mostly out of curiosity, Chris began exploring the world of followership. In 2013 he published a non-fiction book: Bey
...more

Other books in the series

The Eagle King's Academy (2 books)
  • The Box: Puppets and Puppeteers

Related Articles

Sometimes the monster in your life looks a lot like you. Or exactly like you, but better.   This is the case of Evelyn Caldwell. An...
41 likes · 5 comments