Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Safe House” as Want to Read:
Safe House
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Safe House

by
4.10  ·  Rating details ·  90 ratings  ·  40 reviews
True, home was their prison, but it was also their sanctuary.

In a small town on the Oregon Coast, Amber and Kelly know the deadliest people sleep down the hall. Why don't they just leave? Why don't they fight back? Amber knows, but she's not telling.

Grace James, an advocate, works with handsome Officer Joe Hart to help them find their way safely out of intimate partner vi
...more
Paperback, 292 pages
Published July 11th 2017 by Bonneville
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Safe House, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Safe House

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  90 ratings  ·  40 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Safe House
Lisa  (Bookworm Lisa)
Aug 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
When this book was presented to me for review, I hesitated. I like the fluffy stuff. A good story that doesn't make me think too hard, that doesn't have uncomfortable subjects.

Safe House deals with domestic violence. Not even close to fluffy. I had to think about reading this one. I am glad that I picked it up. Shannon Symonds has taken on a tough issue and presented a story with intelligence and compassion. It is a good thing for me to read uncomfortable things to learn a little empathy and un
...more
Mindy
Oct 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
3 1/2 stars. The author does a great job of portraying the horrors of abuse. This is definitely a book that I would not normally pick up because of the subject matter, but the author wrote it well. Grace was a fantastic character, who truly wanted to help people. I felt there was too much jumping around between so many characters. That being said, it was interesting to see the POV of the abusers and the different types of abuse caused from drinking and viewing pornographic images but again, too ...more
Sydney
Author Shannon Symonds brings to life the bitter and devastating truths of domestic violence in her novel Safe House. Her story is heart throbbing and gut wrenching. It hurts so much to read these truths, but powerful at the same time. It teaches readers of the hardships of the people in these situations and about how hard it can be to get out, but that it is possible. The story is a little hard to follow at first due to the way it switches between characters and their stories, but once that is ...more
Aimee (Getting Your Read On)
I first have to say that I think the information and overall message of this book is so important. I haven't had a lot of experience with domestic violence and knowing there are so many women and children (and men) in the world suffering through this is heartbreaking. The author of this book works as a victim's advocate so her personal, first hand knowledge and experience go a long way in making this novel valid and real. And honestly? Thank goodness for Shannon and people like her to help, supp ...more
Renee Bowlay
Jul 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Safe House paints a poignant portrait of domestic violence centered in a close, coastal community. Multiple stories and perspectives weave together to showcase the ways abuse affects a victim along with their children, parents, other family members, neighbors, and the abusers themselves. The author's vivid, detailed writing style uses multi-sensory descriptions to transport the reader inside a character's physical and emotional experiences; for example, a climatic confrontation between victim an ...more
Becca
Aug 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
I have to admit that reading books about abuse of any kind is very hard for me. I like to read books to escape reality and not read about it. Having said that, this book ended up being such a great book to read.

I loved this story. I am saying this will all love behind it. My sisters and I love these kinds of books. We call them "Mormon Smut Books"....hehe. I really do mean that as the best compliment. I love to read books that have to do with my religion and love. Or any religion for that matter
...more
Cathy
Oct 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Wow, I'm not quite sure what I expected from this book, but I didn't expect to be drawn in as fast as I was. This book is intense from the very first page until the very last page. I loved every minute I spent reading it!

I like the way this book has so many different view points. You get such a great picture of exactly what is happening. You even get viewpoints from the bad guys in this one. That really made the picture of everything going on so clear.

I'm not sure I can tell you just who the ma
...more
NaDell
Feb 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Met her at a book signing last November at the store I work in and had my copy of her book autographed. Excited to finally have a chance to read it.

INTENSE! Oh man, this whole book was just intense from the first chapter! I had a semi-difficult time keeping characters straight because it kept shifting gears to what was happening in about four different places, but it was SO well written and easy to read (and a little hard to read because of the abuse and heartache in the book). I appreciated the
...more
Lori
Dec 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The book was ok except for the switching of characters back and forth. It made it a little hard to read.
It was also a hard read because of the topic of the book but here again the author has done a wonderful job in writing this.
It's truly an emotional book and especially when children are involved it really makes me want to kick the man's pants and give him a taste of his own medicine!!! It's NOT ok to abuse people of any sort because they are different or maybe women. Each one of us has feeling
...more
Rebecca
Aug 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Normally I struggle with getting absorbed in a book. But as busy as I was, I kept looking forward to picking this book up again. I truly cared about the characters and wanted to know if they were going to be okay. We don't talk about this topic enough. So glad I read this book!
Jennie
Aug 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
I really wanted to rate this book five stars, but the ending was a little weak.
Teresa Silva
Dec 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-read, giveaways
I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway and was asked in return for an honest review...
When I first read the synopsis for this book online I liked it, so I entered the giveaway. It didn't say anything about it being about people who are of the Mormon faith, so when I started reading it I was a little surprised by how much it talked about the faith and the church. I'm a Catholic so I know nothing about Mormons or their faith, but the book seemed interesting... And both religions believe in God ri
...more
Kim
Sep 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: giveaways
*I received this book from Goodreads giveaways* This is a really great book that dives into domestic abuse and everything that happens after. The story moves at a fast pace and kept me turning the page. I couldn't stop reading until I knew the abusers had lost. You really feel for the characters and it's sad to think how many people this story is reality for. The first half of the book was a bit choppy and jumped a round but by the end I could see how everyone was tied together. The message abou ...more
Beverly Sappenfield
Jul 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Great! Fast moving and I could visualize it like a movie. I loved it. The first chapter grabbed me and it was hard to put it down and have , since reading it in its entirety, begun reading it out loud on a road trip. Besides being a great read, it is informative for women who need help in an abusive relationship. The storm was so real I felt cold in 97 degree weather. Am enjoying reading it second time.
Robyn Echols
Sep 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: lds-fiction
This book was a mystery/thriller suitable for teens and adults. The author has worked as an advocate for victims of abuse and/or assault. She has taken her first-hand knowledge of what she had learned in real life to write fiction that is believable and reflects some the actual difficulties with which people can find themselves dealing.

At first I experienced anger directed not only at the abusers, but in the ineffectual response on the part of the victims. The author gently leads a reader to und
...more
Renee
Aug 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
I won this book through a GoodReads Giveaway and it was a great book regarding a topic I've never read before. I just wonder what happened to one of the fathers; that side of the story seemed unresolved and the description of the storm was a little bit overkill but I loved the characters and the story flowed nicely. I would definitely read this author again.
Suzanne
Nov 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Thanks to Goodreads for another great win!
I loved this book, couldn't put it down!
The story of violences, domestic and sexual, that tear families apart and turn strangers into friends.
Grace James is an advocate serving domestic and sexual assault survivors. In a small coastal Oregon town, comprised mostly of Mormons, one would think her job would be pretty easy. Not so. In the midst of a middle-class, religious population there are below the surface abusers. And it is her job to bring them to ju
...more
Shauna
Jan 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
Grace works with Domestic Sexual Assault Team in Necanicum, Oregon where she is helping Kelly with a controlling husband Sam, and Emily with her drinking and abusive husband Berk. Both men have started to go beyond being safe, but neither wife wants to, or has the means to leave their husband. Grace offers emotional shelter and means to find a way to leave.
Jana
Jan 29, 2018 rated it really liked it
I normally don’t read books that are based on such a heavy topic. The characters in this book dealt with domestic abuse and the effects of alcohol. At first I had a hard time keeping track of all the perspectives as it jumps around a lot, but eventually I figured it all out and really enjoyed that. The characters felt real and the storyline was believable.
Trent Caudle
Aug 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book had mystery and suspense and took me into what a survivors life is like through abuse. Not only could I see through the women's eyes but the children as well. My heart was lifted and I am excited to read another book by Shannon someday.
Carlos Rodriquez
Sep 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Quite the interesting read. It brought back sad childhood memories of encountered physical and mental abuse by controlling men (and women in my adulthood). It happens more often than people are aware of or want to believe. I'm truly glad there are people and organizations willing to help.
Shauna
Apr 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
So well written and on a sensitive subject this book is extremely intriguing. Each page captured me and held my attention from the story of the abused to the story of those trying to rescue them. I have better understanding now and am so grateful the author shared this book.
Lynette
May 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
I stayed up WAY too late the past two nights reading this book. I had to know what happened with the families! My only issue is that Berk’s story is unfinished. I can assume what happened, but I want to know for sure. Other than that, it was a great book!
Amy K
Sep 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I randomly found this book on Amazon’s Kindle listings, and absolutely loved it! There were parts where I laughed, sighed with relief, held my breath, and cried. I hope this author continues with these characters, I grew attached to them. There was a religious thread that ran throughout, but I learned a lot and found it reassuring and comforting at all the right times.
Nicole
Aug 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
I connected with this book. It reeled me in and kept me there with an intense and fast-moving plot. The emotional intensity was a unique aspect of this book for me. I had never read a book addressing domestic violence and abuse, and I found myself incapable of putting it down because I just couldn't leave these characters in the unjust and demoralizing circumstances.

In addition to the captivating and entertaining plot, Safe House was an educational experience. Part of what was both enthralling
...more
Sara Eskelson
Jul 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I just finished her book, and hope the story will continue. Grace, the main character, was inspiring and strong. The visualization of the writing made me picture each character, and the area where everything took place. This was a great read, and hope she writes another real life adventure.
Kristi Johnson-James
Jun 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I read this book in one evening. Domestic abuse is a topic that was tackled with empathy. No longer will you say,"Why doesn't she just LEAVE?"
Rachel
Jul 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Safe House is a great book that gives you a better understanding of domestic abuse. I laughed, cried, felt anger and joy while reading this book! I couldn't put it down, and I can't wait for more!
Erin
Jan 16, 2019 rated it liked it
Women living with abuse
Steph
Jun 29, 2018 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
  • Emmeline (The Blue Orchid Society #0.5)
  • The Wife Upstairs
  • Blind Curve
  • Hamilton's Choice
  • Payback
  • The FBI Bride (Undercover Bridesmaid Romance #1)
  • Don't Look for Me
  • Blackout
  • Eddie's Boy: A Butcher's Boy Novel
  • Yesterday's Promise (Hearthfire Scottish Historical, #1)
  • The Heart of a Vicar (The Jonquil Brothers #6)
  • Wager for a Wife
  • The Post Office (Thaddeus Murfee Legal Thrillers #14)
  • A Familiar Fear
  • Last Day
  • Say Nothing
  • Suitcase Girl (Abby Kane FBI Thriller #7; Suitcase Girl Trilogy #1)
See similar books…
50 followers
Shannon Symonds newest novel, "Finding Hope," is a stand-alone containing the same beloved characters as her first book, “Safe House,” a fiction and Whitney Award Nominee was released by Bonneville/Cedar Fort Publishing and Media.

About the Author

Shannon worked for 15-years as an Advocate serving survivors of abuse alongside law enforcement. Shannon lives in a small coastal town in Oregon where she
...more

News & Interviews

While books about anti-racism are trending on Goodreads and dominating the bestseller lists right now, some of our favorite Black authors are a...
165 likes · 32 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »