Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Bermuda Privateer” as Want to Read:
The Bermuda Privateer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Bermuda Privateer

4.10  ·  Rating details ·  73 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Hailed as groundbreaking by David Donachie, author of the John Pearce Naval Series and the Privateersman Mysteries— "All sea stories should tell you something new, and The Bermuda Privateer meets that criterion in spades. Fast paced and covering an area new to me; I was enthralled by the author's encyclopedic knowledge of the Caribbean. There are battles and conspiracies g ...more
Hardcover, 328 pages
Published August 15th 2017 by McBooks Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Bermuda Privateer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Bermuda Privateer

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  73 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Peter Jones
Mar 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
ABOUT THIS BOOK: Hailed as groundbreaking by David Donachie, author of the John Pearce Naval Series and the Privateersman Mysteries— "All sea stories should tell you something new, and The Bermuda Privateer meets that criterion in spades. Fast paced and covering an area new to me; I was enthralled by the author's encyclopedic knowledge of the Caribbean. There are battles and conspiracies galore, with engaging characters and thrilling actions." Nicholas Fallon is captain of the schooner Sea Dog, ...more
Sherwood Smith
A thoroughly rousing tall ship tale centered around the Caribbean. Westerbrook thoroughly knows his tall ships, artillery, points of sail, strategy, and tactics. The ship battles are thrilling, the villains despicable, the various captains given personality, motive, and maneuverability of their own.

I also enjoyed the female characters, who are given plenty of agency; I expect that "Beauty", Captain Fallon's first mate and later captain on her own, would not have been given as much respect as she
...more
Andrew
May 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Excellent book by new maritime author. This is the first book in a projected series in the vein of Forester and O'Brian and is a winner--mixing the right amount of nautical detail with drama and politics on land. I will be interested to see how this series develops.
Andrea
Feb 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is a seafaring adventure story, and I'm wondering how hard I should even try not to use the word swashbuckling to describe it. But then, how often do you get to use the word swashbuckling? And it is! Nicholas Fallon captains the Sea Dog, a privateer from Bermuda (!) who works for the Somers Salt Company guarding their cargo ships from French pirates and privateers as they carry loads of salt around the Caribbean islands. We are privy to his thoughts and wry sense of humor as he voyages and ...more
Roopkumar Balachandran
Jun 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: adventure
From the blurb:
1796 Captain of the fast, beautiful, and deadly Bermuda schooner Sea Dog, Nicholas Fallon sails the Caribbean protecting Ezra Somer's lucrative salt business and battling Britain's enemies with his best friend and first mate, Beauty McFarland. Somer's daughter, Elinore, is Fallon's' lover. So when Somers offers Fallon a share of the business for capturing Wicked Jak Clayton the pirate who has been stealing his ships – Fallon is motivated to help. Sea Dog soon faces warships, treas
...more
Patricia Moren
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 14-01-2018
This was a great story of pirates and their enemies in the Caribbean in the late 1770s. Some great characters and a story of non stop action. Enemies becoming friends and help coming from unexpected directions. A very enjoyable read of swashbuckling and daring do on the high seas.
Nicole Sterling
Jul 12, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc, kindle, netgalley
So, I got this as an ARC, but just now finished it about four months after it was published. Oops! I really enjoyed the characters in this book, and the overall story. The author was very knowledgeable about all the nautical lingo, which was neat, but I would have greatly benefited by having a glossary of terms so that I could better familiarize myself with what he meant. Often, I was able to figure it out using the context, but sometimes I just guessed. This sometimes slowed the story down a bi ...more
Chrisana
Aug 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
This was a truly fascinating adventure on the high seas! There is action, epic sea battles, mystery, adventure and betrayal. Fans of Clive Cussler will enjoy this historical romp through the 16th century Caribbean at the height of the golden age of piracy.
The only thing that I struggled with was the abundance of unfamiliar nautical terminology, but if you have an e-reader, the dictionary is just a click away.
Overall I would highly recommend this book!
Kathryn West
Aug 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
ARC from Netgalley. This historical swashbuckling romp around the Caribbean was a delight. A great cast of characters take us through thrills and spills on land and sea.
Bethany Swafford
Jul 15, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: kindle
Nicholas Fallon is captain of the Sea Dog, and he is very good at what he does. When he learns of Wicked Jack Clayton is terrorizing the shipping lines, he throws his lot in to help bring the man down. Sea battles, traitors, cowardly allies, and life or death fights follow.

The story put me in mind of Rafael Sabatini's pirate novels, only with more blood and A LOT more swearing. So, I was left feeling divided by the story. On the one hand, it is a nice start to a series about a character, Fallon,
...more
Jarl Olsen
Feb 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Very entertaining, even if, like me, your experience with boats is fishing for walleyes from them. I don't know if it's historically acurate, but the author filled the story with a good bit of period detail and as someone else had mentioned, you do feel like you are constantly learning new things. Mostly though, The Bermuda Privateer is just a fun ride populated with characters who are more complex than those in Treasure Island, but every bit as colorful. I await the next installment with my swa ...more
Anne Petera
Jan 08, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not my usual fare but I did find it interesting and fairly well written for a "period piece." It was a perfect selection to read while on a tall ship in the French West Indies and I loved the main character, Nico.
Jim Rickard
Good pirate book

A well written book. A lot of blood but it is a book about sea battles. I liked the plot and the surprises.
Stephanie Laitala
A fun read

This had a steady pace and nice character development. Some of the ship terminology was lost on me but the gist was clear enough. A good first book!
MRS L M GIBBS
Aug 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Gripping

One of the best tales of the Caribbean .So many twists of fate blended together to form a gripping tale of adventure.
ROBERT BE NNETT
rated it liked it
Mar 16, 2019
james morris
rated it really liked it
Mar 20, 2019
Jan Bilski
rated it it was ok
Dec 31, 2018
Terrence Hatton
rated it liked it
Dec 08, 2017
Tom
rated it liked it
Oct 09, 2017
Mb Sheppard
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2019
David R Bath
rated it it was amazing
Jun 19, 2018
Jerry
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2019
DonLallier
rated it it was amazing
Sep 22, 2017
George Anding
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2018
Jen Nicholas Taylor
rated it really liked it
Dec 05, 2018
As
rated it really liked it
Nov 11, 2018
Greg Fletcher
rated it liked it
Apr 18, 2019
Oliver Smith
rated it really liked it
May 21, 2019
Jim Corson
rated it liked it
Feb 04, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Rock Bottom
  • No Quarter: A Matty Graves Novel (The Matty Graves Novels)
  • Code White
  • Tahoe Blowup (Owen McKenna #2)
  • Sixty Minutes for St. George (Nicholas Everard Naval Thrillers #2)
  • The Privateer's Revenge (Kydd Sea Adventures, #9)
  • Ramage's Prize (The Lord Ramage Novels, #5)
  • The Covert Captain: Or, A Marriage of Equals
  • Gentleman Captain (The Journals of Matthew Quinton #1)
  • Louis l'Amour's Lost Treasures: Volume 1: Unfinished Manuscripts, Mysterious Stories, and Lost Notes from One of the World's Most Popular Novelists
  • The Great Divide: The Conflict between Washington and Jefferson that Defined a Nation
  • Men-of-War: Life in Nelson's Navy
  • Category Five (Donovan Nash #1)
  • Form Line of Battle (Richard Bolitho, #11)
  • A Fine Retribution (Alan Lewrie #23)
  • Badge of Glory (Blackwood Family, #1)
  • The Age of Conversation
  • Front Runner
See similar books…