Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Izzy Gizmo” as Want to Read:
Izzy Gizmo
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Izzy Gizmo

by
4.15  ·  Rating details ·  346 ratings  ·  91 reviews
Izabelle Gizmo just loves to invent, but her inventions never seem to work the way she wants them to. And that makes her really CROSS! When she finds a crow with a broken wing she just has to help. But will she be able to put her frustrations to one side and help her new friend to fly again?
ebook, 32 pages
Published August 10th 2017 by Simon Schuster Children's UK
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Izzy Gizmo, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Izzy Gizmo

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.15  · 
Rating details
 ·  346 ratings  ·  91 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Izzy Gizmo
Schizanthus
Oct 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing
- Girl inventor.

- Inventions with cool names like Tea-Mendous and Swirly-Spagsonic that look like something Doc Brown would make. Remember that wonderful contraption he made to feed Einstein?

- Lovely Grandpa who is so encouraging and adorable, and who doesn't believe in giving up.

- Crow with heaps of character who helps teach our girl inventor perseverance, empathy and teamwork.

- Beautiful story told in rhymes and quirky, fun illustrations that make you smile.
...more
Carla Johnson-Hicks
Izzy is a young inventor whose inventions don't always work. When they break, chaos and messes often occur. She decides that she has had enough and puts her toolbag away. When she finds a crow that has hurt itself after falling, the vet tells her it will never fly again. She tries to teach the crow how to live and have fun without flying, but he is extremely unhappy. Along comes grandpa. He is kind and encourages her to come up with something to help the crow fly. Even though her inventions ...more
Colleen
Izzy is living my dream with her pet crow.
Kristin Martinak
Feb 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 1st-grade
Izzy Gizmo is a wonderful text for students who struggle with the current demand of 21st century skills like: flexibility, growth mindset, perseverance, resilience and creativity. Students empathize and connect with Izzy when she gets frustrated because she can’t solve a problem on the first (or second, or third) try. The true power of the book is the underlying theme of perseverance and digging your heels in when the problem is tough.

This book lends itself to a vast variety of skills. The fun,
...more
Meredith
Oct 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children-fiction
Izzy is a young inventor and creates messes (and sometimes chaos) with her inventions. One day a bird falls from the sky with injured wings, and Izzy struggles to invent something that will help the bird to fly again. She wants to give up, but her father encourages her to continue trying new things until she comes up with the perfect plan.

It's great seeing girls empowered and tackling tech topics in children's literature, especially girls of color. I love the relationship Izzy has with her
...more
Laura
This is a really a story of not giving up. Oh, yes, it is also about a little girl that likes to invent things, but keeps failing at her inventions, and so she abandons them for the next thing.

Until she finds a wounded crow, and she tries to invent new wings for him. She keeps wanting to give up, the the crow and her dad encourage her to try again, until, she ha the crow flying again.

Fun, bright pictures. I love that the girl has problems not because she is a girl, but because what she is doing
...more
Darcie Caswell
Izzy Gizmo loves to invent and create, but she often fails. When she comes across a bird with a broken wing she is inspired to try helping, but fails over and over again. Sticking with it finally leads to success. Great vocabulary throughout, for the tools and mechanical things she employs. There are other books out there with similar messages, compare if looking for the best, but this is a solid read with a solid message.

grades 1-3
Erin H
Jul 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kids
Sparking imagination and telling kids to not give up when frustrated and it doesn't work the first time ...more
Eva
Feb 08, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: picturebooks
I would have loved to love this book. I've read this book in the Dutch translation and I'm sorry to say that the translation ruined an otherwise perfectly nice book. The metre is at times so awful it blocks the reading flow. What a shame!
Jennifer Strong
Oct 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children-s, 2018
Similar to Rosie Revere, Engineer etc. Very cute rhymes. I love that she has to work through frustration and failure.
Michael Perez
Aug 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-book
Best STEM inventor picture book I've read in a really long time.
Black Carrie
This was 2 of 6 books my son knocked off the shelf at the library (lol so I got all of them).
So cute Izzy was a creative girl with a good heart trying to fix what's broken and make her life better with izzy giizmo's (her gadgets). With the assurance for her grandpa and the bird she didn't give up I want my kids to learn from this book mistakes don't make you who you are it's your determination.
...more
Erin Buhr
Dec 14, 2017 rated it really liked it
Izzy Gizmo loves to tinker but she tends to give up when things don't work out the way she planned. One day she meets a broken bird that gives her the motivation to try until she succeeds. A great story with rhyming language, a colorful feisty heroine, and a lesson in persisting even when things are hard.
Elizabeth
Aug 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: pb-rhyming-read
If you need a rhymer, this is it! Izzy Gizmo - is a creative girl who takes things apart and a problem is presented. I just read with second graders today and they loved it! I checked it out of the library but if I met the author, I would buy it from them.

Raina
This book is perfect at showing what it looks like to try, try again! I love seeing a little girl of color being the focus of a book on inventing, science and engineering.
Cassaundra
May 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
A good message for all of us - try again and again!
DenXXX
Sep 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: children, 2017
I loved this book about this feisty girl who loves inventing things but often wants to give up when things go wrong but is persuaded to try, try and try again.
Mollie
Apr 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A great read-alike for "Rosie Revere, Engineer" and "Ada Twist, Scientist," though I didn't enjoy it quite as much as its predecessors. Still, it was really fun and sweet.
Karen
Feb 03, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: includes-review, 2018
Izzy Gizmo is a girl inventor who loves nothing more than fixing things or inventing gadgets to solve everyday problems. however, sometimes her inventions don't quite work as intended. With the help of her supportive grandpa, and an injured crow she rescues, Izzy learns to how to persist and stay upbeat - "try again and again" - until she finally succeeds.

Izzy is a likeable heroine who acts as a great model for girls in STEM, similar to Rosie Revere, Engineer and Ada Twist, Scientist. A bonus is
...more
Lindsey
Apr 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great rhymes, message and illustrations!
Edie
Dec 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
In a rhyme that surprises and delights you, (n=mended/splendid) we learn of Izzy's determination to invent and invent and invent. She is not deterred and ultimately helps a friend in need. The encouragement of grandpa helps. Wonderful illustrations focus on Izzy's eyes.....bit and curious and she is often in mid stride. Ogilvie's illustrations are bright, child and activity focuses, Izzy is always busy and her gizmos are intriguing. A delightful book to encourage invention, to encourage ...more
Edward Sullivan
Izzy's persistence in inventing pays off.
Amanda
Mar 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
Hooray for girl power and not giving up! Hooray for consequences at the end of the book! (So many times in children's books, the MC does something and never realizes the natural consequences of their choices. This bugs the fire out of me as it sets up an unrealistic expectation.) Hooray for the Grandpa and his support and his setting the right example! Hooray for the illustrations! Hooray for rhymes that did not annoy!
Ryan
Mar 27, 2018 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
This is a fun story. If you like Iggy Peck, Ada Twist, and Rosie Revere, then you need to add this book to your shelf. Izzy likes to tinker, but like any kid she gets frustrated when the things she invents do not work out as planned. But she is going to have to keep trying to make sure her new friend Raven can fly once again.
Dawn
Mar 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone with young children
This was a very cute book with a very important message for kids -- never give up. My 5-year old loved it and it's a book I won't mind having to read over and over again.
Sarah
Perfect for those who love Rosie Revere or Ada Twist.
Danielle
Dec 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-books
Super charming with a message of persevering through setbacks.
Cecelia
May 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
For almost a decade I’ve been talking a big game about how when my friends and family have kids I fully intend to be “crazy Aunt Celia.” A defining characteristic of Aunt Celia is that she brings a new picture book with her whenever she visits. Well, the dream is now reality (and I’ll stop talking about myself in the 3rd person!). My friends have coached their little ones (parent: “What does Aunt Celia like to do?” child: “READ!!!”), picture books have become my #1 book buying category, and I ...more
Mehsi
Read this book in Dutch but will be writing a review in English.

I know I have seen this book before, on Twitter, and I was planning on reading it (mostly because of the illustrator). But then I forgot all about it (arghh). Thankfully my library had this one in Dutch, so I took it with me.

This was such a fun book. We need more books with girl inventors! Especially ones not afraid to show that being an inventor isn't easy. Yes, this may sound weird, but I have seen many books that show a bit of
...more
Storywraps
Mar 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Izzy Gizmo is an unshakable young female character that never , ever gives up. She has 'exploring and inventing' embedded her very DNA. She loves to take things apart, tinker with random objects, imagine, dream and create cool gadgets like the Tea-Mendous and the Swirly-Spagsonic, just to name a few.

She lives with her Grandpa who delights in her experiments and is a huge fan of her ever-probing mind. It"s a mind-set to design something super spectacular. Unfortunately, sometimes those
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Perfect
  • What If...
  • Misunderstood Shark
  • I Walk with Vanessa: A Story about a Simple Act of Kindness
  • Teddy's Favorite Toy
  • The Koala Who Could
  • The Dinosaur Expert
  • The Day You Begin
  • The Little Red Fort
  • The Very Impatient Caterpillar
  • Harriet Gets Carried Away
  • Hello Hello
  • We Don't Eat Our Classmates
  • Love, Z
  • Mixed: A Colorful Story
  • How To Be A Lion
  • How to Code a Sandcastle (How to Code with Pearl & Pascal, #1)
  • Good Rosie
See similar books…
28 followers
Pip was born in Cheltenham, UK, where she spent her childhood gobbling up books and dreaming about being an author herself. At the age of 19, she began a career in journalism, writing and editing for local and national newspapers and magazines. After the births of her daughters, Pip began writing for parenting magazines and websites. In 2012, she won the inaugural Greenhouse Funny Prize, with a ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »