Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Once Upon a Tree” as Want to Read:
Once Upon a Tree
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Once Upon a Tree

by
3.81  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews
This fable of a little leaf looking for his purpose will delight children and their caretakers.
The whirling, swirling adventures of an ordinary little leaf high on a tree, struggling to find its purpose. The leaf watches baby birds break out of their shells and grow until they learn to fly. Caterpillars wrap themselves in silk and emerge as magnificent butterflies. Warm s
...more
Hardcover
Published October 31st 2017 by Plum Blossom
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Once Upon a Tree, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Once Upon a Tree

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
3.81  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Kristy K
Oct 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2017, arc, children, netgalley
This book came as a surprise to me and in a good way. Even though this is for children, I believe the message will be relevant for people of all ages.

Leaf feels lost and like he doesn't have a purpose. He keeps looking at others (a bird, a caterpillar) trying to find what will make him happy, but he doesn't feel the urge to do what they do. Written in a the charming and quaint ways fairy tales and fables are, Once Upon a Tree is a book someone of any age can read time and time again for wisdom o
...more
Deepika Ramesh
Jul 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book is utterly, utterly uplifting. I have gushed more here:

https://worncorners.com/2017/07/20/on...
Serra
Jul 31, 2017 rated it really liked it
A very cute read in which a leaf ponders about what his true aim is in life. I think that the basis of this novel is relatable; everyone in life asks what their aim is and at times can get frustrated when others have found their potential whereas they are left clueless. I loved the details of the words creating the image of the leaf falling down, a very well thought out detail. All in all, if I ever have a child it would be a delight to read this story to them.
Stephanie Cover2CoverBlog
Oct 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: early-review, youth
I received this book for review and was a little sad when I got only the text and no images/ illustration - I hope that when you pick it up the pictures are amazing. *

The text of the book was beautiful. The story is about a leaf trying to find his purpose and learning about birds and caterpillars. The leaf gets so wrapped up in the animals around it, it forgets to appreciate the world around it. When it finally does it learns its purpose. The story is absolutely uplifting and relatable, even tho
...more
Deborah
Jul 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: libraries, school libraries, preschool, homeschool
Once Upon a Tree is full of lovely reflection from the point of view of a leaf whose aim in life is to fly and its conversation with a bird. It is written in prose style, and longs to be a picture book. I was sent a copy with the pictures. It is poetic and philosophical in thought. It is reflective with speaking abilities given not only to a bird, but to the main character a leaf as well. The leaf knows it needs to fly, but expresses its fears and misgivings, unable, unwilling to let go of a tre ...more
Stephanie - Adventures Thru Wonderland
*I received an eARC through NetGalley for review. This in no way effects my review*

A fun story about a leaf finding it's purpose in life, and learning what it means to be yourself. The leaf worries that it's missing out, and ends up angry that everyone else seems to have things figured out. It's important for children to realize that they will discover themselves when the time is right, and while it may seem everyone else has it all figured out, we all go through seasons of changes and rediscove
...more
Vivian
Jan 08, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: picture-books
In which a perfectly happy leaf becomes filled with self-doubt and frustration, and even fury when he compares himself (herself? itself?) to a bird who flies, a caterpillar who makes a cocoon, who seem to know what they want by what "feels right". All the while the seasons have been advancing and the leaf, who has failed to notice anything but what it lacks, suddenly realizes that "the sunlight and the air and I have a job to do right here together." A few pages later the leaf "just lets go" and ...more
Paul Franco
Jul 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
A small story, no doubt meant to be read out loud, about a leaf who’s happy at the top of a tree until birds and caterpillars and the like make him question the true meaning of his life.
This is by far the most emotional leaf I’ve ever known, prone to fits of drama and jealousy and most of all self-doubt. He finds himself at the end, but he’s gonna be in for a big surprise when a shoe crunches him. . . and no, that’s not a spoiler.
3.5 pushed up to 4/5
Emyrose8
Jun 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
3.5- I love the illustrations! The leaf’s facial expressions are perfect. The story was good too, but sometimes seemed a little too sappy. ;) It has a lot of subtle science in it, so you’re seeing science in action but it doesn’t go overboard explaining it. Could lead to good discussions with younger kids.
Christine
Aug 08, 2017 rated it really liked it
A beautiful story about a leaf discovering it's role in the whole. I loved the idea of this story. It was so beautifully written you could easily picture the ever-changing trees. I can't wait to see the illustrations that will accompany it. It was such a soothing, relaxing book. Great for bedtime reading with the little one.
Lori
Jul 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: childrens-ya
I was given a draft for review. This creatively written story is about a leafs journey as he goes about finding his purpose. I appreciate the concept as it educates children about nature. My draft did not include any illustrations.
Richelle Zirkle
Jul 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is a sweet story about a leaf trying to find what it is meant to do as it watches those around it follow the feelings in their hearts. The illustrations in this title are beautiful. They have this soft quality that draws the reader in. What I love most about them and enjoyed discussing with our three year old was the array of emotions that the illustrations capture from joy to concern and so many others in between.

I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review.
Annalie Plaetz
rated it it was amazing
Jul 09, 2018
Nicole
Nov 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Once Upon a Tree by Dawn Jarocki, and Soren Kisiel is a encouraging tale about a leaf who struggles to accept and express himself. The leaf is happy being a leaf at the top of a tree until one day when he begins to question his purpose. A bird living in the tree learns to fly, and the leaf wonders if he should also fly. Soon a caterpillar arrives and cocoons itself, later turning into a beautiful butterfly. Again the leaf wonders if he should fly. The bird and butterfly encourage the leaf to loo ...more
Munai
rated it it was amazing
Jan 06, 2018
Jeslyn Zhou
rated it really liked it
Apr 24, 2018
Amy
rated it liked it
Aug 30, 2018
EricaEreads
rated it really liked it
Nov 28, 2017
Soren Kisiel
Nov 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Annese
rated it liked it
Dec 03, 2017
Christie
rated it it was ok
Sep 22, 2018
Bookworm Blogger
Feb 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A wonderful and informative story. This is educational but fun for children to read. I love forward to seeing the illustrations that go with it.
paula
rated it liked it
Feb 14, 2018
Nicole
rated it did not like it
Nov 01, 2017
Emily
rated it liked it
Apr 12, 2018
Amy
rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2017
Andréa
Note: I received a digital review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
Alyssa
rated it it was ok
Feb 21, 2018
Ramya Jeyaraman
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2017
T.J. Burns
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2017
Moses
marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2017
Kim
added it
Dec 08, 2017
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2017
Ashlee
added it
Dec 30, 2017
Alyssa
added it
Jan 10, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
1 follower
Soren Kisiel lives in Brooklyn, where in addition to children's books he co-authors the stage material for his wife, comedian Katie Goodman, and their internationally touring all-women comedy troupe Broad Comedy—none of which you should share with your kids! Soren is also ordained in the Buddhist tradition of Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh, and has a second degree blackbelt in taekwondo. Which means h ...more