Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Speeches of Note: A celebration of the old, new and unspoken” as Want to Read:
Speeches of Note: A celebration of the old, new and unspoken
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Speeches of Note: A celebration of the old, new and unspoken

by
3.41  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  5 reviews
SPEECHES OF NOTE: seventy-five extraordinary ways to step into someone else’s shoes.

From Shaun Usher, the author of the international bestseller Letters of Note, comes an obsessively curated, richly illustrated and sumptuously produced collection of speeches from throughout the ages.

Discover speeches that altered the course of history, like Nelson Mandela’s on the day he b
...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published September 20th 2018 by Hutchinson
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Speeches of Note, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Speeches of Note

Community Reviews

Showing 1-59
3.41  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Katy Noyes
Sep 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
Speeches given and not given, world-changers in many ways.

I adored the two 'Letters of Note' books, and was always going to try this when I saw it released. A seemingly random collection, this time of speeches, from modern times and further back in human history, from all around the world.

Some famous names, some not so well-known. But some absolute gems that leave you speechless (pun intended), some that inspire and uplift, some that help put history into context.

I accessed the text as an audi
...more
Alice
Oct 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
I recently received this book in the mail and I have to say I was super excited! Speeches of Note is a collection of Speeches from different parts of history, from Elizabeth 1 to Malala. It includes untold speeches (for example a speech that Nixon was to use if Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin didn't make it back from the the moon)  as well as some more well known ones, like Nelson Mandela’s speech when he became president of South Africa. There’s something to spark anyone’s interest. Some are lig ...more
Dalombombay
Oct 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
It is sso good. I haven't been in tears since I was about fourteen years old when my parents decided to move across town and leave me with brother and grand uncle. The speeches are amazing. I am now an Irish nationalist (a fan of them!!!!!) after reacding some of the speeches.
Emma Dargue
Interesting look at some of the speeches that have changed the world and cover such subjects as slavery, feminism and racism. Just like any collection of works I liked some better than others but a good audiobook nevertheless.
Ashley Tate
Feb 11, 2019 rated it liked it
Not as good as previous Letters of Note but still some really interesting speeches.
Annie
rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2019
Mrs Asli Arah
rated it did not like it
Sep 29, 2018
George Taylor
rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2019
Lynne Merryweather
rated it really liked it
Jan 05, 2019
Sarah Margaret
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2019
Shrikant
rated it liked it
Dec 29, 2018
M V Venkataseshan
rated it did not like it
Dec 29, 2018
Tom Evans
rated it really liked it
Jan 07, 2019
Guy Barrett
rated it really liked it
Jan 18, 2019
Shauna Rouse
rated it liked it
Jan 18, 2019
KK
rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2019
Emma Arnold
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2019
Dan Nicholls
rated it liked it
Mar 16, 2019
Jon Yeo
rated it liked it
Apr 13, 2019
Simon Mortimore
rated it liked it
Nov 05, 2018
0hwhatshername
rated it liked it
Jan 08, 2019
Emily
rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2019
Dave
rated it liked it
Mar 01, 2019
Annalena Morris
rated it really liked it
Mar 10, 2019
Garrett
rated it liked it
Mar 20, 2019
Kelly
rated it it was ok
Feb 03, 2019
Louise Greaves
rated it liked it
Mar 16, 2019
Pastor Peter
rated it liked it
Mar 06, 2019
Jason RB
rated it it was amazing
Oct 26, 2018
Louise
marked it as to-read
Mar 04, 2017
Joseph Camann
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2017
Emily
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2017
Inés
marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2017
Paige
marked it as to-read
Aug 15, 2017
Scott
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2017
Molly
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2017
Dana
marked it as to-read
Oct 21, 2017
Alana Clarke
marked it as to-read
Oct 25, 2017
Emarakd
marked it as to-read
Oct 30, 2017
Derrick Johnson
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2017
pauespb22
marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2017
Asena Necipoglu
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2017
Laura Yehuda
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2017
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2018
Tammy
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2018
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2018
Kaisa
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2018
Kimberly
marked it as to-read
May 03, 2018
Orchid
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2018
Anja
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2018
Briana
marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2018
Marem
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2018
Nebuchanezer
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2018
Julie-Anne
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2018
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2018
Sonia_Lena
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2018
Lee
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2018
April Han Galdo
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2018
Stuart Elliott
marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
181 followers
Shaun Usher was born in St. Albans in 1978 and currently lives in Wilmslow with his wife and two sons. He is the sole custodian of the popular blog, Letters of Note, a much-anticipated book of which is to be published in October 2013 following lengthy periods of hair-pulling and despair. His obsession with correspondence is particularly interesting given that he regularly receives--and more often ...more