Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Force” as Want to Read:
The Force
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Force

4.10  ·  Rating details ·  13,438 ratings  ·  1,776 reviews
We're all corrupt ... Just each in our own ways. The acclaimed, award-winning, bestselling author of The Cartel and The Power of the Dog delivers a cinematic epic as explosive, powerful, and unforgettable as Mystic River and The Wire

Our ends know our beginnings, but the reverse isn't true ...

All Denny Malone wants is to be a good cop.

He is 'the King of Manhattan North', a
...more
Paperback, 496 pages
Published June 19th 2017 by HarperCollins - AU (first published June 13th 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  13,438 ratings  ·  1,776 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Will Byrnes
…he started out with his eyes firmly on the guiding star, his feet planted on the path, but that’s the thing about the life you walk—you start out pointed true North, but you vary one degree off, it doesn’t matter for maybe one year, five years, but as the years stack up you’re just walking farther and farther away from where you started out to go, you don’t even know you’re lost until you’re so far from your original destination you can’t even see it anymore - Don Winslow
Uneasy lies the head
...more
Larry H
Jul 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I have been a fan of Don Winslow's for more than 20 years, starting when I found his series featuring Neal Carey, one of the more unlikely private investigators I had seen back then. (This was a time when there wasn't such a glut of books featuring unlikely PIs.) Through the years I've read pretty much everything he has written, and I kept hoping there would be a book that would finally catapult him to the level of fame his talent so deserves.

Simply put, his latest book, The Force , is nothing
...more
Kemper
Why bother calling 9-1-1 to report a crime when the cops are the biggest criminals on the streets and everyone knows it?

Denny Malone isn’t just your average police detective. He’s also one of the best cops the NYPD has who runs an elite unit nicknamed Da Force that takes on the worst cases involving gang and drug crimes, and he rules his Manhattan North turf along with the partners he loves like brothers. The thing is that Malone is also as crooked as a dog’s back leg because he beats suspects,
...more
Diane S ☔
Jul 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The mean streets of New York, Denny Malone, leader of a special unit of cops, respected and feared, the city is his territory and his group know as Da Force. He is telling his story from a cell, but how did this king of the streets, at the top of his game, descend so low?

When I first started reading this I thought or I hoped this wouldn't be a cliched viewpoint of every had cop story we hear about. The writing though was addictive, and I kept telling myself that this was the top pick in book pag
...more
Julie
The Force by Don Winslow is a 2017 William Morrow publication.

Denny Malone- a cop- NYPD, the member of an elite group. He’s seen it all in his eighteen years of service. But his badge is tarnished, and his dirty deeds are coming home to roost. Stealing drugs and skimming copious amounts of cash from a major drug bust, Denny is now under the watchful eye of the Feds, while the racial atmosphere in his city is threatening to boil over at any moment. To complicate matters further, Denny is separat
...more
Carol
You tell me. Who are the bad guys, who are the good?

Denny Malone, NYPD Detective Sergeant, head of The Manhattan North Special Task Force; all he ever wanted was to be a good cop.

Have you ever dug a hole? That’s the only way I can describe The Force. You dig. The hole gets bigger. The bigger the hole gets it's hard to keep the dirt from seeping back in. If you’re not careful you’ll find yourself becoming part of that fill.

June 20, 2017 – Let the countdown begin!
The Force by Don Winslow

8,899,200
...more
James Thane
This is another brilliant novel from Don Winslow, author of The Power of the Dog and The Winter of Frankie Machine. At the heart of the story is Detective Sergeant Denny Malone of the N.Y.P.D, a deeply flawed character in a corrupt and brutally flawed system.

Malone runs a small elite task force charged with chasing down drug dealers, gun runners, gang members and other such scum. He thinks of himself as the "King of Manhattan North," and to Malone's way of thinking, the ends almost always justif
...more
Malia
Jul 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read this book in three days, and at just shy of 500 pages, that tells you how gripping it was. Winslow is a really talented writer, who weaves together a clever, intriguing plot with a strange but successful blend of machismo, humanity and shocking reality. His language is almost musical in its rhythm, which makes this book and his others stand out from most thrillers. I have so much to say about this book, but I have to mull it over a little before I write a longer review. Definitely recomme ...more
Orsodimondo
CHE DA FORCE SIA CON TE
Ho iniziato a leggere questo libro per alternarlo a un’altra lettura di tipo ben diverso (McEwan). È successo che l’altra lettura è passata in coda, e finché non ho finito questo, non sono riuscito a chiuderlo e posarlo.

description
Serpico è citato più volte nel romanzo di Winslow.

Ancora una volta Winslow mi colpisce per il suo accurato lavoro di ricerca e documentazione che si capisce è stato lungo e minuzioso: una quantità pazzesca di dati, notizie, fatti di cronaca, rapporti di p
...more
Darwin8u
Jun 21, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017
"The Fire THIS time."

description

This would have probaly just been another very good cop thriller without Don Winslow's race nuance (sometimes clunky, sometimes heavy-handed) and the novel's final act. Overall, 'The Force' is not as good as his Cartel series (The Power of the Dog, The Cartel), but in my opinion better than Savages. Winslow doesn't pull many punches when dealing with drug dealers, dirty cops, dirty politicos, etc. He really does deserve some major props from jumping right into the Black Live
...more
Matt
Apr 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
How did you get here?
Like anyplace else.
A step at a time.

- Don Winslow, The Force

I’m a commuter now. I’ve switched cities and I’ve switched jobs and now I ride the train to work in the morning and the train back home at night. It’s a far cry from my former life, when it was a ten-minute trip, door-to-door, to get to my old office. Nine minutes if I hit the lights just so.

I read on the train, and that requires a certain kind of book. It can’t be a throwaway title, a so-called “beach read” or “gui
...more
Perry
Dirty Cops Instant Classic of Shakespearean Proportions
Revised/Complete Review--8/6/17


He who "fights monsters," Nietzsche warned, "should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster." As the novel opens, NYPD Detective Sergeant Denny Malone is being held in a federal lockup, accused of being a "dirty cop" into whom the abyss now gazes.

Malone is the de facto leader of NYPD's most elite crime-fighting unit, the Manhattan North Special Task Force, whose mission is to rid Washington H
...more
Lyn
Apr 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Relentless.

It’s like watching Good Fellas except the wise guys are cops.

It’s also like watching The Gangs of New York – our gang is bigger than your gang. The NYPD is the biggest gang on the streets and it’s a turf war. But like in Scorsese’s film, the Feds are the biggest gang of all.

Winslow describes a New York police department task force team, assigned a section of North Manhattan, who patrols for guns, drugs, and every sort of crime. The leader of the task force team, Dennis Malone, is an o
...more
Richard
Feb 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of The Shield, The Wire, or any other forms of goodness.
This is the the type of great book you don't see everyday; that you might go all year without reading. A book where you simultaneously want to see what the hell happens on the next page but also want to slow down your reading because you don't want it to end. A book that on one hand is crazily entertaining but also makes you hit Google and read articles to learn more about its timely issues.
Hell isn't having no choice. It's having to make a choice between horrific things.
At the risk of this
...more
Roxane
Aug 13, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I love Don Winslow's writing (The Cartel is a favorite) but this book missed the mark. The overall story, of police corruption, from the POV of a corrupt cop, is compelling but the writing just didn't work for me. There were all kinds of style tics and flourishes that kept pulling me out of the story. The use of the N word so much, got under my skin though I understand the context within which it was used and that it was being used for authenticity's sake. Oh there was this thing with rap lyrics ...more
Panagiotis
Sep 15, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ψάχνοντας για αυτό το βιβλίο κανείς θα συναντήσει τον όρο Αστυνομική λογοτεχνία καθώς επίσης και συγκρίσεις με τον Νονό. Το βιβλίο είναι μια υπόσχεση επιών διαστάσεων, όπου ηρωικοί μπάτσοι, στην αφρόκρεμα της αστυνομίας, άγουν και φέρονται σαν αρχιμαφιόζοι. Είναι τελικά ένα τέτοιο έπος, ένα Νονός της "άλλης πλευράς";

Θεωρώ πως είναι άδικο για ένα καλό βιβλίο να προσπαθούμε να το πουλήσουμε με βαρύγδουπους, πιασάρικους τίτλους, αλλά τούτο το βιβλίο είναι ακριβώς ό,τι πουλάει: ένα εξαιρετικό καλογρ
...more
Sarah
Jul 11, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, mystery, thriller
More detailed review to come but I highly recommend this book. The characters were well developed and it was a lot more than just a novel about "bad cops"
I loved the details about New York. One of the cities I have always wanted to visit.
This book was full of surprises and kept me interested to the very last page. I will read more from this author. Interesting and suspenseful read
Char
THE FORCE is a brutal look at what all too often happens to policemen on the job.

It made me laugh, almost made me cry, it made me angry and it also kept me listening.

Don Winslow knows how to tell a brutal and real tale and even though hardly anyone is likable? You can't stop reading his books until you're done. You just can't.

*Thanks to my local library for the free audiobook download. Libraries RULE!*
Robin
Aug 04, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Robin by: Perry
Shelves: 2017, thriller, american
The ultimate corrupt cop saga

This is the story of a special group within the NYPD (called "The Force") whose aim is to clean up Manhattan North of the threat of drugs and weapons. A group that takes bribes and payouts, steals what should have been confiscated from busts, runs prostitutes, uses uppers and downers to get through the day, and more. This group also takes pride in their work, considers each other to be closer than blood, trusts each other with their lives, and truly wants good to t
...more
Sandy
I’m late to the party with this one & there are already a ton of reviews to help you decide whether or not to add it to your TBR pile. I doubt I have anything new to add so I’ll just toss out a few thoughts.

First of all, this came with an incredible amount of buzz…always dangerous. But I picked it up after hearing it compared to Ken Bruen, an author I’ve long admired.

I’ll be honest…by the time I reached about 150 pages it was firmly in 3 star territory. Denny Malone is the MC & we spend
...more
Michael Robotham
It is always such a pleasure to pick up anything that Don Winslow writes. THE FORCE is a magnificent, roller-coaster of a novel set in a New York police precinct, where there is honour, bravery, corruption, intrigue and death.
Paul Falk
Don Winslow presented a hard-boiled crime drama that grabbed me by the collar with both hands and never let go. It was an exciting trip through the Big Apple with New York City's finest. It came fully enriched with profane police lingo and gangbanger street slang. Languages unto themselves. Action-packed scenes followed this character-driven storyline through the streets and alleyways of upper Manhattan. This superbly-written storyline did not fail to deliver a stunning, dramatic ending.

Detectiv
...more
Chris Berko
Jul 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Absolutely stunning and every bit as good as Power of the Dog and the Cartel. Don Winslow used to write tight little murder mysteries that were super cool to read and full of pop culture references, he now masters the huge, sprawling, multi-layered, ambitious, expansive, intricately-plotted behemoths that seem so real it's almost like you are reading a case file or listening to actual cops tell their stories. This is not a good guys vs. bad guys kind of book and don't go into this if you are exp ...more
João Carlos

Manhattan, New York

”Corrupção” (2017), com o título original ”The Force” é um policial – um verdadeiro policial – ambientado na área de Manhattan Norte, New York, com um polícia herói, filho de um polícia herói, um sargento veterano da melhor unidade de elite do NYPD (New York Police Department), a Força Especial de Manhattan Norte, a «Da Força», uma equipa liderada por Denny Malone – ”(…) um tipo que sabe onde todos os esqueletos estão escondidos, uma vez que ele próprio enfiou lá metade dele
...more
Ammar
Amazing novel... reads like a corrupted police movie.. packed with action, guilt, blood, a sea of guns and drugs.. the dens and clubs of the underworld.. the deep pockets of corrupted politicians, city hall, Feds, other cops, Cartels, drug lords. Narco-esque and Godfather-ishy at the same time.

Denny Malone .. the king of Da Force.. the god of the special task force... the hero and the fallen angel from grace...

One of the most enjoyable action packed novels that I read this year. Totally deserv
...more
Brandon
Denny Malone leads the men of the Manhattan North Special Task Force, an elite group of NYPD detectives otherwise known as “Da Force”. Malone and company “hold the line” separating the drugs and violence of the gangs from the “good people” of Manhattan - a task easier said than done. As Da Force often trudges through the mud, they’re bound to get dirty so when Malone gets caught by the Feds during one of his unsavory dealings, the resulting damage threatens to destroy Da Force and the fragile pe ...more
Renee (itsbooktalk.com)
You can find all my reviews at www.itsbooktalk.com

Is it possible that July has brought me my top read of 2017? It's very likely unless something else truly phenomenal comes along between now and Dec 31 to knock this blockbuster off it's perch on the tippy top of my top reads shelf. There's definitely a reason this was published in June because this is the perfect summer read to take to the beach, pool or patio. A crime thriller is the perfect summer read you may be asking? Oh yes, just ask Time,
...more
Andrew
Jul 05, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I was excited to read this because 1) I'm a big fan of Winslow's "Savages" and the "Cartel" series, and 2) I live in a town with its share of police brutality and corruption, and I was curious to see Winslow's take on the issues.

Unfortunately for me, I kinda hated this book.

The problems start right from the first page, as Winslow writes in a grating tone that's both hyper-masculine and painfully melodramatic. Winslow is doing the third-person limited POV thing, where he adopts to perspective o
...more
Terri Wino
Jul 27, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: year-2017
Gritty, dark, and ugly -- words that describe both the plot of this book and the city it takes place in. There are no good guys to root for in this story, only not-as-bad-as-the-other guys.

This story of corruption and backstabbing grabbed me from page one, and I can't remember the last time I found a character as fascinating as Malone. From chapter to chapter I found myself admiring him, shocked and disgusted by his actions, then back to sympathizing with some of the decisions he has to make. It
...more
Adam Howe
Jul 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Exactly the kinda Shield-style dirty cop story I was hoping for!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Out There Bad
  • Shaker
  • Six Bad Things (Hank Thompson #2)
  • Fun & Games (Charlie Hardie #1)
  • The Deputy
  • Green Sun (Hanson #3)
  • Every Night I Dream of Hell
  • The Far Empty
  • The Second Life of Nick Mason (Nick Mason, #1)
  • The Coldest Mile (Cold, #2)
  • Frank Sinatra in a Blender
  • The Cut
  • Bloody January
  • Righteous (IQ, #2)
  • The Rules of Wolfe (Wolfe Family Series #2)
  • The Wake-Up
  • Rumrunners
2,833 followers
Don Winslow was born in New York City but raised in South Kingstown, Rhode Island. At various times an actor, director, movie theater manager, safari guide and private investigator, Don has done many things on his way to being a novelist.

His first novel, A Cool Breeze On The Underground, was nominated for an Edgar, and a later book, California Fire and Life, received the Shamus Award. The Death An
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Truth, justice and the American way. The American way is: truth and justice maybe say hello in the hallway, send each other a Christmas card, but that’s about the extent of their relationship.” 13 likes
“Hell isn't having no choice.
It's having to make a choice between horrific things.”
4 likes
More quotes…