Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “From Light to Dark and Back Again” as Want to Read:
From Light to Dark and Back Again
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

From Light to Dark and Back Again

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  6 ratings  ·  6 reviews
A collection of very short stories to suit every mood
Paperback
Published January 23rd 2017 by Chapeltown
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about From Light to Dark and Back Again, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about From Light to Dark and Back Again

Community Reviews

Showing 1-10
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  6 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of From Light to Dark and Back Again
Loree
Jul 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
As the title suggests, this collection of flash fiction is a veritable chiaroscuro of stories, ranging in tone from the gently humorous to the out-and-out sinister. Many of the stories are retellings of old favourites, offering new perspectives or alternative outcomes: ‘My Life’ and ‘Changing My Mind’ are told from the viewpoints of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy, respectively; ‘The Outcome’ gives the fairy godmother’s account of the Cinderella story; and ‘Calling the Doctor’ sees an ailing pat ...more
Val Penny
Mar 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
I must immediately make clear the Allison Symes, the author of From Light to Dark and Back Again is a good friend of mine. However, she as well as anybody knows I am nothing if not blunt! So when she sent me a copy of her book in exchange for an honest review, I did tell her that is what she would get!

Allison writes in various forms: fairytales with bite, novels, short stories, poems and plays. She is based in Eastleigh and is a member of the Association of Christian authors and the Society of A
...more
Jim Bates
Oct 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My first thought when I finished this wonderful collection was that this author truly has a creative mind. The forty-nice flash fiction stories are succinctly told with an eye to detail and not a wasted word. Historical fiction makes it's appearance under the guise of Pride and Prejudice and Frankenstein. Some stories rework known fairytales to a good effect and some are fairytales made up by the author herself. Domestic violence is dealt with as is life after death. The author has a unique way ...more
Rosemary
Apr 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Thoroughly enjoyed this little book of short stories and flash, which I picked up at a bookstall. Fairytales with a twist and ghost stories. My favourite ghost story was 'Why Stop Now'.
Allison also writes with humour, as in 'Job Vacancy'. Not reasonable that any wizard should have to wait for his castle to dry out because his previous assistant used magic to clean it.
Paula R. C. Readman
Mar 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
A wonderful collection of flash fiction. Ideal for reading in airports, on trains or while traveling.
Alyson Rhodes
Feb 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Fifty flashes of fable,fantasy and felony with a dash of humour -
This is Allison Symes’ début Flash Fiction collection from indie publisher Chapeltown Books. It is the type of book which you could either dip in and read as you please or sit down and enjoy a marathon of micro stories with a coffee. Writing so briefly and so well as Allison does, is no mean feat. She traverses the familiar terrains of fairy stories and turns them upside down, giving a new slant to the fables. There are gritty sto
...more
Sally Bucknole
marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2017
ErrBookErrDay
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2018
Rebecca Garnett Haris
is currently reading it
May 29, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Massacre Pond (Mike Bowditch, #4)
  • Everything You Want Me to Be
  • Deception of the Damned
  • The Garden of Small Beginnings
  • We Live In The Dead End
  • Leave No Trace
  • Bloody Genius (Virgil Flowers, #12)
  • The Great War: One Hundred Stories, Of One Hundred Words, Honouring Those Who Lived and Died One Hundred Years Ago.
  • Love and Other Consolation Prizes
  • Hello from Another Time: A fun, yet poignant story about a modern girl adapting to life in a completely different era.
See similar books…
10 followers
I write non-fiction articles for Chandler's Ford Today, an online community magazine.

I focus on reviewing local theatre productions, writing items of interest to the writers' community, and articles such as Creativity is Good For You, How to Spot a Real Writing Competition and so on.

Fiction wise, I have been published online and in print by Cafelit, Bridge House Publishing, and Chapeltown Books.
...more

News & Interviews

You know the saying: There's no time like the present...unless you're looking for a distraction from the current moment. In that case, we can't...
54 likes · 24 comments