Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cassandra” as Want to Read:
Cassandra
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cassandra

by
4.44  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  16 reviews
Is the future set like concrete or a piece of clay we can mould and change?

On a remote farm in Queensland Cassie Shultz feels useless. Her perfect brother Alex has an uncanny ability to predict the weather, and the fortunes of the entire family hinge upon his forecasts. However, her own gift for prophecy remains frustratingly obscure. Attempts to help her family usually re
...more
Paperback, 262 pages
Published February 6th 2017 by Odyssey Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cassandra, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cassandra

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.44  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Cassandra
Isobel Blackthorn
Mar 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Kathryn Gossow is a masterful story teller who displays great insight and sensitivity in her handling of difficult themes. The result, her debut novel Cassandra, is an extraordinary and engaging read.

There is much to love in this novel. The reader is enchanted from the opening scenes, of a very young Cassie playing where she isn’t meant to, under the house; of her encounter with a snake and the nightmare that follows; of her innocent curiosity. “A crackle of excitement pops in her belly. Like Co
...more
Tracy
Jul 08, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Cassandra by Kathryn Gossow is a modern take on the myth of Cassandra of Troy, a woman who had the gift of prophecy but was cursed so that no one would believe her.

Cassie Shultz lives on a farm in remote Queensland. She is plagued by, in waking dreams and momentary visions, flashes of the future. Cassie struggles to understand these visions. Her gift and any attempts to explain it to others or to warn them result in her ridicule, and her being labelled as a “freak” amongst her peers - even her p
...more
Rachel
Nov 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sometimes a rare book comes along that draws you in to the lives of its characters so fully that you feel, at the end, as though you have walked alongside them in reality. Cassandra is one such book. Exquisitely written with excellent characterisation, it highlights Odyssey Books' expertise in discovering hidden gems that breakdown genre expectations. Though classified as young adult, it is literary and spiritual in nature, with a compelling story.
Set in rural Australia in the 1980s, it beautif
...more
Kylie
Feb 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a fantastic book. Based on the Greek myth of Casandra - the main character, Cassandra (like her namesake), can see the future, but no-one believes her. In addition, without a context for her visions, she sometimes has difficulty interpreting them. There are multiple layers to the story, there is the obvious call back to the Greek myth, what happens to people who seem different, gender issues, manipulation, and the question of whether the fates control our lives, or I we can determine our ...more
Michelle Saftich
I found this book intriguing, gritty and absorbing. Cassandra has a lot going on; she's dealing with all the normal teenage issues of wanting to be accepted and loved; while also trying to understand her gift of prophecy so that she can stop bad things from happening. There was some beautiful prose and I particularly liked the faster paced rhythms the author created to help us get inside Cassie's head.

The author put us in the setting. I was there and could see the farm, the river, the hill.

I l
...more
Carolyn Denman
May 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Beautiful imagery

Cassandra is an immaculately written coming of age story. Gritty, disturbing and scarily relateable. The author's attention to detail sets a vivid atmosphere for this moving story.
Elizabeth
Feb 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, myth
Cassie Shultz bears on her young shoulders an unusual gift and this story explores its effect on herself and her family in modern times. Gossow's portrayal of Cassie's family and friendships is raw and honest and the picture of life in an isolated community drawn so well I could easily imagine myself in the remote Queensland location. The present moment blurs into the future and portents mount, but Cassie's warnings fall on deaf ears. Questions such as how much of our future is fate and how much ...more
Cathy McLennan
May 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A well written book by new writer, Kathryn Gossow. Easy to read, the prose flowed and the story was hard to put down. I particularly loved the imagery in several vivid scenes where I re-lived the Australia I grew up in, the teenage bush parties, Cassandra under the house as a child and at the show.
Patricia Leslie
Oct 01, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Cassandra by Kathryn Gossow
Published by odyssey books

The magic of childhood imagination comes to life in this story by Kathryn Gossow. Cassandra is a young girl learning about life, truth, and acceptance as she grows up on her family’s insular farm. Cassandra can also predict the future. Not a bad talent to have though visions are often hazy, open to interpretation, and as we find out, shaped by family secrets. Her younger brother, however, can predict the weather and on a Queensland farm where
...more
Shelley Nolan
Jun 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was amazing. I was immediately drawn in to Cassie's world, the vivid imagery and breadth of detail allowing me to see and feel as she did. It was like I was watching it all unfold right in front of me. Not only does Cassie have to cope with all the usual stresses involved in being a teenager, she has obscure visions and dreams of the future. I was particularly enthralled by the way the visions were described, seeing their immediate effect on Cassie, and how they were regarded by those ...more
Nicole
Imagine for a second....the ability to see the future with the inability to convince anyone or do anything about it. A bit how we've all felt as teens I think. (Misunderstood and not heard) Cassandra is a coming of age story blended beautifully with Greek mythology. Gossow has a gift for imagery that has you visiting other worlds.
My one small critique, if you can call it that...I came across some terms I was unfamiliar with. Some of them I could glean the meaning from, a few others left me st
...more
Felicity
Aug 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A waking dream

This book has such a dreamlike sense to it that it's truly enthralling. It makes you wonder about fate and Destiny.
Jo Bailey
Mar 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Cassandra by Kathryn Gossow is set in a harsh Australian country town. Cassandra Shutz, or Cassie as she is affectionately known, is only a child when the story begins. She is struggling to understand her dreams as she waits for the birth of her sibling. This child, Alex, will be the perfect brother who is able to predict the weather and help the family business.
There is constant competition between the siblings, an unemotional mother, plenty of teenage angst all causing confusion as Cassie trie
...more
BLS Swan
Feb 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A gripping read from start to finish. This is a compelling story from an accomplished writer. Highly recommended!
Clare Rhoden
Oct 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is an addictive read - once you start, you really have to keep going. Cassie and her future-seeing make for fascinating reading. I found the child and then teenage perspective totally credible, and in fcat it reminded me of my own early years when adults were very annoying and unpredicatble, and the last person you would turn to.
Cassie is fortunate in having her grandfather and great aunt living with her and her family on the farm, because the generation gap allows for more real commun
...more
Georgina Ballantine
Nov 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I found this book refreshingly original. Although I grew up in the UK and have only lived in Australia since 2001, the portrayal of teen life in 80s rural Australia felt extremely vivid and absorbing.
The interweaving of the themes and ancient myths surrounding prophetic Cassandra and her brother Helenus with the 80s Cassandra and her brother Alex was deftly handled; subtle but clear. Despite the apparent inevitability of Cassandra's dreams and visions coming true, the story contains plenty of te
...more
Tracy
rated it really liked it
Jul 07, 2017
Elyn
rated it it was ok
Oct 25, 2019
Emma
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2018
Miriama Gossow
rated it it was amazing
Nov 16, 2017
Trish Anders
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2018
Cassandra Hyden
rated it liked it
Jun 29, 2018
Lira
rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2020
Louisa John-Krol
rated it it was amazing
Apr 18, 2019
Rachel
rated it it was amazing
Apr 08, 2019
Kathan Shah
rated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2020
Siobhan O'Brien
rated it liked it
Aug 13, 2019
Jessica
rated it really liked it
Nov 17, 2018
Tamlyn
rated it really liked it
May 20, 2018
Amy Much
rated it liked it
Nov 20, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Silver in the Wood (The Greenhollow Duology, #1)
  • The Fall of the House of Cabal (Johannes Cabal, #5)
  • The Deep
  • The Nancys
  • The Good People
  • Record of a Spaceborn Few (Wayfarers #3)
  • Middlegame
  • Esme's Wish (Esme Series #1)
  • Dahlia Black
See similar books…
12 followers
Kathryn Gossow has been writing and publishing short and flash fiction in a variety of genres since 2006. Her debut novel Cassandra was a finalist in the Aurealis Awards for Best Fantasy Novel in 2017. Her second novel, The Dark Poet is a collection of short stories on the dangers of charisma. Her third novel, Taking Baby for a Walk will be published in October 2019.

Kathryn was the winner of an AS
...more

Related Articles

Space operas, magic, destiny, dystopia, aliens: There's a bit of something for everyone in 2020's latest offerings in science fiction and fantasy...
72 likes · 17 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »