Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Right Where You Left Me” as Want to Read:
Right Where You Left Me
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Right Where You Left Me

by
3.69  ·  Rating details ·  77 ratings  ·  18 reviews
In search of the perfect story to put a human face on a tragedy for his newspaper, my dad will fly into the eye of the storm. And now he’s heading to Ukraine, straight into the aftermath of a deadly earthquake. I don’t want him to leave. I don’t want to spend the week alone in a silent house with my mother, whose classically Russian reserve has built a wall between us that ...more
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published September 5th 2017 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Right Where You Left Me, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Right Where You Left Me

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.69  · 
Rating details
 ·  77 ratings  ·  18 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Karen • The Book Return
Read this review and more on my blog.The Book Return Blog
'Right Where You Left Me' is the story of Charlotte. Her mother is a Russian immigrate who works in the bakery downstairs from their apartment. Charlotte's father is a larger than life newspaper reporter who loves to be the first on the ground during natural disasters. At the very begging of 'Right Where You Left Me', Charlotte's father leaves for Ukraine to cover an earthquake. Her father soon becomes missing. Charlotte's shared experienc
...more
Christy
Aug 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
Last year, I loved Tell Me Something Real and enjoyed visiting with Calla when she launched here. When I learned she was writing a book set in San Francisco, I knew I had to read it!

“I’ll be here,” I say. “Right where you left me.” He kisses my cheek. I tell him I love him.

Calla Devlin shall hereby be crowned as queen of writing family dynamics. Right Where You Left Me is a stunning follow up after Tell Me Something Real and is a treat for fans of Jeff Zentner and Jandy Nelson.

This is one of tho
...more
Kali VanBaale
Jun 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
*ARC from publisher
Morris Award Finalist Calla Devlin returns with her second novel, Right Where You Left Me, and delivers a story of intrigue, rescue, and redemption. Protagonist Charlotte showcases what Devlin does best: smart, complex, multi-dimensional young women, paired with a smart and complex storyline. Charlotte's tumultuous relationships with her mother and her peers--set against the drama of her missing journalist father--will surely grab YA readers.
MsArdychan
Sep 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Please Note: I received and advance reader's copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not influence the opinions of my review in any way.

About a year ago, I had the great pleasure of reading Calla Devlin's first novel, Tell Me Something Real. It was an emotional roller-coaster of a book! I loved it. So when the publisher offered an advance reader's copy of the author's next book, Right Where You Left Me, I couldn't resist.

Although these books very different, they both explore
...more
Kristen
No matter how much I list the many reasons he's probably safe, my anxiety builds. Something's wrong. I know it.

When disasters happen, reporters go out to document the event. This is an infallible truth for Charlotte Lang, whose father is one of those reporters. Every time he leaves, she worries for him, and struggles with the thought of staying alone with her mother for an extended period of time. Then there is a devastating earthquake in Ukraine, and her father packs up and heads out. Like al
...more
Mina Moreland
Nov 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
Well I finished this book fast...

I’ll also keep this review spoiler free and be very vague for anyone who hasn’t read this book already!

“Right Where You Left Me” was definitely not why I expected. The way the plot was described I thought it would be more of an adventure-thriller type novel. The actual book was more of a drama novel and didn’t have much action at all- though the book was still great!

This book is filled with descriptive and accurate visuals of Charlotte’s life and San Francisco i
...more
Niana Devine
Charlotte is your average teen living in San Francisco with Russian immigrant mother Valentina and adventure-seeker father Jeremiah. Her father goes to the Ukraine to get footage of the devastating earthquake and, as a compassionate truth-seeking journalist, he feels compelled to write a story on it. But lo and behold, he goes missing. This book is about Charlotte's struggle to adjust to life without her father and her persistence in doing everything she can to bring him home, even if it goes ag ...more
Casey (caseydillabooks)
Because I now live in San Francisco, what initially caught my attention about this book was the stunning cover with the Golden Gate Bridge. And, while reading, one of my favorite things about it was the familiar details of the city. But in fact, the setting makes only one layer of the novel's atmospheric richness. Reading through Charlotte's lens, I enjoyed both her observations of the world and her inner reflections, which sometimes melded together. I particularly appreciated her portrait of he ...more
Renee
Sep 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc
Ms. Devlin is a master at writing novels with intricate and challenging family dynamics, overlapping layers of intrigue and suspense, gut wrenching twists and turns that pull the reader in and engage them right up till the very end of the story.

Right Where You Left Me starts out so lovingly that you know that something just has to collapse and it soon does. The trauma of this family crisis becomes more intense as the story progresses. In addition, the author's portrayal of Charlotte and her Mot
...more
Jan Blazanin
Nov 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The narrator of this young adult novel is Charlotte, a teenage photography buff who lives in San Francisco with her parents. Her dad is a journalist who flies around the globe to report the human angle of disasters. Her Russian mom, a baker, is quiet and detached. When Charlotte's dad disappears in Ukraine while covering the aftermath of an devastating earthquake, she's frightened but tries to keep positive. Then the FBI steps in and tells Charlotte that any attempt by her, her friends, or famil ...more
Kerran Olson
Jan 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2018, dymocks-ya-club
3.5/4* I found this to be quite a unique contemporary YA- it covered topics I hadn't really come across much, especially relating to politics of conflict/journalism. I also really liked the family dynamics explored between Charlotte and her mother throughout the book, and the cultural interactions- I loved the Russian folklore included, and the phrases scattered throughout the book. I did find a lot of the other characters and relationships a bit flat- I felt like I was told that Charlottes frie ...more
Melinda
Charlotte's dad is a reporter who likes to travel around the world covering a story. When he is kidnapped by rebels in Ukraine, Charlotte is devastated. She has a hard time connecting with her Russian mother and feels guilty that she survived childhood while her sister died. As Charlotte falls in love with one of the guys on the school newspaper, they work together to find a way to force the FBI to bring her dad home. After years of misunderstandings with her mother, they realize they have to le ...more
Kezia
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was ok
I felt disconnected emotionally with the characters most of the time, even during moments where I should have been able to empathize. The writing style was not for me, and as for the plot it was too slow for my taste. On top of that the romance just seemed so out of place... I had hoped Right Where You Left Me would be a raw and heart-wrenching read — HECK, I was ready to bawl my eyes out :( — but apparently I was wrong...
Erin
Oct 02, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: audio
On the one hand there's a lot to like--it's a one shot, Devlin does a really great job of making the father's absence its' own character, there's some really great imagery in here. On the other hand, I feel like this wrapped up too quickly and nicely, and it's a very internally driven book. It's not bad! I don't know that I need to revisit this ever, but for a short listen I liked it.
Kieran
Feb 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
I could feel the struggle and the feelings of Charlotte and her family just through the thin pages and the text. The suspense was killing me in the end.
Abby G
Dec 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
I really liked this book. It had fast rising action and a nice climax. I wish we had gotten a good epilogue though, because it would have wrapped up the whole story very nicely.
Kayla
Sep 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
Calla Devlin’s sophomore novel offers a look into what happens to those left behind after disaster.

The story begins with the poignant line, “My father specializes in devastation,” and from that point onward, readers are swept into Charlotte’s devastation. After her father leaves for the Ukraine following a deadly earthquake, Charlotte is forced to face her biggest fear: what if her father doesn’t come back home?

Throughout this story, Devlin expertly crafts a story filled with heartbreak, grief
...more
Irene Salema
rated it liked it
Mar 26, 2018
Casey Bloom
rated it liked it
Apr 04, 2018
Msmith27
rated it really liked it
Oct 07, 2017
Madison Gallagher
rated it it was amazing
Oct 12, 2018
Stephanie
rated it liked it
May 20, 2018
Héctor Castillo
rated it liked it
Sep 10, 2017
Mayberry
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2019
Alyson
rated it liked it
Oct 09, 2017
Nahrin Powell
rated it it was amazing
Oct 02, 2017
Mrs. Murray
rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2019
Kristy
rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2018
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A Song Below Water
  • His Hideous Heart
  • Easy Prey
  • Overturned
  • Let It Snow
  • The Orphaned Anything's: Memoir of a Lesser Known
  • The Principal's Underwear Is Missing
  • Hothouse
  • We Regret to Inform You
  • Confessions from the Principal's Chair
  • You Owe Me a Murder
  • R.I.P. Eliza Hart
  • Camp So-and-So
  • Denton Little's Still Not Dead  (Denton Little, #2)
  • Tales from the Hinterland (The Hazel Wood, #2.5)
  • Your Own Worst Enemy
  • Knights of the Hill Country
  • The Night After I Lost You (The Lynburn Legacy, #1.5)
48 followers
Calla Devlin is the author of Tell Me Something Real, a finalist for the PEN Literary Award, finalist for the William C. Morris Debut Award, and International Literacy Literary Award Honor, and Right Where You Left Me. A Pushcart nominee and winner of the Best of Blood and Thunder Award, her stories have been included in numerous literary journals and anthologies.