Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Always and Forever: An emotional page-turner about love and coming to terms with your past” as Want to Read:
Always and Forever: An emotional page-turner about love and coming to terms with your past
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Always and Forever: An emotional page-turner about love and coming to terms with your past

3.92  ·  Rating details ·  175 ratings  ·  13 reviews

A warm, witty, compelling and emotional novel about love, family and coming to terms with your past. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain.

How can you find yourself again, when you can't face what you've lost?

Joanna Woulfe is looking to get her life back on track after her husband John leaves their family home. Once a high-flying PR Directo

...more
Kindle Edition, 412 pages
Published May 1st 2017 by Aria
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Always and Forever, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Always and Forever

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  175 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Sandra
Jul 15, 2017 rated it liked it
There was just something about this that didn't ring true. Jo and John have been married for years, had to undergo IVF and finally have a 3yo son. One day John comes home and says he's moving out. Sure there was trauma in their history but i just found the situation a bit unreal - sure people deal with grief in their own way - but it all felt a bit too "write by numbers" formula. Jo came across as emotionally constipated. Weird relationship with her mother, unwilling to notice that her husband i ...more
Joan
A warm, witty, compelling and emotional novel about love, family and coming to terms with your past

This isn't 'warm and witty' - it's grim and depressing and quite frankly, sad.

MAJOR spoiler ahead - be warned (view spoiler)
...more
Lynne
Nov 30, 2017 rated it it was ok
I requested this book from Netgalley because it seemed like it was a feel-good, romantic comedy, with a bit of Irish humour thrown in for good measure. I actually hoped it was a bit of a Marian Keyes or Maeve Binchey type of read - hilarious and heartwarming all at once.

It wasn't quite those things.

The story begins with Joanna (Jo) meeting her husband, falling in love, getting married, having a successful career in PR until all she can think about is getting pregnant. After years of trying - th
...more
Ashley Hite
May 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
Set in beautiful Dún Laoghaire, Ireland this heartwarming story is about love family and triumph over heart break. When Joanna gave up her successful PR career to raise her family she thought her life would be perfect. That all comes crashing down when her husband, John, announces he is moving out. She struggles to take care of her three year old son, he mother and herself. She becomes content living in sweat pants and surviving on cookies and bad reality television shows. Her love life is not t ...more
Grace J Reviewerlady
Jun 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is a novel full of wit and warmth - one which I've shed more that a few tears over, both happy and sad along with many tears of laughter!

The story is a very good one, thought-provoking as well as entertaining and true-to-life. The characters are so well drawn. As with all really good authors, it is easy to 'see' them all and this book lived as much in my head as on the page.

With some really heart-wrenching moments alongside some quite hysterically funny ones, I have no hesitation in recomme
...more
Marisa
Jun 12, 2019 rated it liked it
Thanks to Netgalley and the Publisher for this ARC in return of my honest review.

Grief can take different forms in people and when that grief is over a lost child, it can break the very foundation of a marriage. But this book shows you that grief can be survived and marriages mended. It was a nice family coming back to get after a loss.

Some side stories were unnecessary like why would an intelligent woman like Nicole put up with a womanizer husband that manipulated her from the start. Glad she l
...more
Maggie
Jun 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
It took me awhile to get into this one. I found it hard to work out quite what was wrong with Jo & John. It seemed like they were busy making a big fuss about nothing. However as the story progresses you realise that what was wrong was anything but nothing.

This was filled with some fun characters and a number of crises, some funny, some tragic.It was a good undemanding read that I enjoyed although I wouldn't put Sian O'Gorman on a par with Jodi Picoult or Diane Chamberlain, but that's just m
...more
Linn Halton
Oct 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
From a smile to shedding a tear, or two …

A very engaging read that reflects real-life issues with which many will empathise. I experienced everything from a beaming smile, to wiping away a tear and the cast of characters gave a wonderful mix of personalities. Marietta and Nicole get a special mention – affected by age-old dilemmas, life is never straightforward, is it? A great read to get you way from what the weather is doing outside!
Elizabeth
Feb 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
Yes - Emotional - certainly worth a read

I wasn't sure about this story - my first thought was " get over it and move on". However the characters become people whom you want to know how they cope in their different ways with life and living.
A really good story - certainly deep and meaningful in many aspects.
Gillian Oyston
Jul 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Great read

Have thoroughly enjoyed reading this book the loss of a child so very young and a husband walking out on you you begin to feel part of the book its very well written. It's nice to read at the end what happened to all the other characters
Susan Alex
Jul 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Years and laughter

Heartwarming story that has you crying and laughing in equal measures. Very much enjoyed the read. Will look for the author in the future.
DORIS CARR
rated it really liked it
Sep 15, 2017
iSABELLE TEUMA
rated it really liked it
Nov 04, 2017
Sarah Currigan
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2017
Lesley
rated it liked it
Jun 07, 2017
Charlotte Blastock
rated it really liked it
Apr 07, 2018
Hazel Burns
rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2017
Rob Barton
rated it liked it
Jul 04, 2017
Olive Hopper
rated it it was amazing
Jan 17, 2018
Zoe
rated it liked it
Dec 08, 2017
joanna harris
rated it it was amazing
Jun 12, 2017
Michelle Williams
rated it liked it
Aug 20, 2017
Brian McDermott
rated it liked it
Aug 22, 2017
Jackie
rated it really liked it
Jun 22, 2017
Kim Fox-moran
rated it really liked it
Jun 27, 2018
Amanda Whitby
rated it liked it
Jun 13, 2017
Audrey Hossack
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2017
Heather Jimenez
rated it liked it
Feb 01, 2018
Karen
rated it it was ok
Aug 21, 2019
Helen
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2017
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
“You have to wait, with grief, I have found, you have to wait until you are ready to talk. The words find you, you can never find them. Grief is too deep, too visceral, too scarring for ordinary, everyday words.” 0 likes
“Life-lifters •​Cheese and onion crisps •​Plastic bread sandwiches •​Red lemonade” 0 likes
More quotes…