Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Macbeth (Hogarth Shakespeare)” as Want to Read:
Macbeth (Hogarth Shakespeare)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Macbeth

(Hogarth Shakespeare)

by
3.43  ·  Rating details ·  8,073 ratings  ·  1,555 reviews
He’s the best cop they’ve got.

When a drug bust turns into a bloodbath it’s up to Inspector Macbeth and his team to clean up the mess.

He’s also an ex-drug addict with a troubled past.

He’s rewarded for his success. Power. Money. Respect. They’re all within reach.

But a man like him won’t get to the top.

Plagued by hallucinations and paranoia, Macbeth starts to unravel. He’s
...more
Paperback, 512 pages
Published April 5th 2018 by Hogarth
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Macbeth, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Annamarie I have read all of Nesbo's novels - the Harry Hole series and the independent novels. This is completely different. A total standalone. Dark, well,…moreI have read all of Nesbo's novels - the Harry Hole series and the independent novels. This is completely different. A total standalone. Dark, well, like Shakespeare's Macbeth. In the Harry Hole novels, you get to sink into the character and those around him. I recommend starting with the first Hole novel - The Bat - and go in order. The third book, the Redbreast, really takes the series into the stratosphere, but the first two are necessary for background.
(less)
Can Yapalak No, it is an individual story based on Shakespeare's Macbeth.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.43  · 
Rating details
 ·  8,073 ratings  ·  1,555 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Jeffrey Keeten
Dec 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
”There is only so much a man can take before he gives in, before he breaks every tattooed oath and does everything---absolutely everything---he thought he would never do. For eternal loyalty is inhuman and betrayal is human.”

 photo Sam20Worthington20Victoria20Hill_zps3q0zaijr.jpg
The Sam Worthington and Victoria Hill Scottish Gangster version of Macbeth (2006) is my favorite Macbeth and probably the closest cinematic version to this novel.

Inverness.

1970s.

Setting: Run down industrial town with toxic air and poisoned earth. Crime is high as more and m
...more
Amalia Gavea
‘’A seagull swept in over Fife through the silence and moonlight under a cloud-free night sky. Below, the river shone like silver. On the west of the river- like an immense fortress wall- a steep black mountain rose to the sky.’’

Without any prologue and lengthy introductions, I must tell you that this book is a masterpiece. It has the status of a classic, the making of a novel that will defy time. Nesbø took the masterpiece by William Shakespeare and elevated it to new heights. If you follow m
...more
Debra
Nov 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
"You’re a better man than me, Macbeth."

Jo Nesbo's Macbeth is his contribution to the Hogarth Shakespeare Project. This book started slowly for me. Which is funny because the book opens to action but nevertheless it was S-L-O-W. There is a lot going on all at once and there are a lot of characters with their own agendas. I found I put this book down a lot in the beginning and turned to other books but kept coming back to this one. As I said I struggled in the beginning of this book as it was slow
...more
Glenn Russell



King of Norwegian crime fiction soaked in blood, Jo Nesbø is the perfect choice for a retelling of Shakespeare's Macbeth.

I say this having listened to Jo's adrenaline pumping The Snowman, The Leopard, Phantom, Police and The Son.

I'm in good company. James Shapiro has been teaching Shakespeare at Columbia University for nearly 40 years and his New York Times review of the novel is glowing: "One of the pleasures of reading this book is watching Nesbø meet the formidable challenge of assimilating e
...more
Paromjit
Apr 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
Jo Nesbo, with his Scandi-Noir credentials, reinterprets Shakespeare's Macbeth within the provinces of a police force in the 1970s in a bleak declining town riven with gang warfare, drug addiction, corruption and all other manner of darkest deeds and where little differentiates the cops from the criminals. This novel mostly follows the trajectory of the original play, albeit in a suitably blood drenched and twisted fashion. Nesbo gives us a tale of ruthless political ambition, betrayal, treacher ...more
Matt
Mar 20, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Jo Nesbø, Hogarth, and Crown Publishing for providing me with a copy of this publication, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.

Contributing to the Hogarth Shakespeare collection, Jo Nesbø has created a modern retelling of the Bard’s Macbeth. Set around 1970, the story opens with a police raid on a local gang running narcotics. When the authorities bungle things exquisitely, leaving blood and bodies scattered around the clubhou
...more
Carol
What a cast of ruthless psychotic killers!

Is anyone NOT a cold blooded assassin in Jo Nesbo's reimagined take of Shakespeare's MACBETH? Is there even a hero to root for? Well, you'll have to read it to find out. Having not experienced the classic myself, I have nothing to compare to, but will surely be reading it sooner than later. My interest is now peaked!

DARK and DEADLY from start to finish, I could not believe the betrayals....the backstabbing....the threats....the blackmail....the corrupti

...more
Jaidee
Apr 08, 2018 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: those expecting a beach read thriller and not anything more
Recommended to Jaidee by: I wanted to read this for months
2.5 "hazy, lazy, Tarantino " stars !!!

Second Most Disappointing Read of 2018 Award


Like a Tarantino film this has blood, gore, lots and lots of action, hot babes, strong dudes and kept you entertained from beginning to end. I am not sure that this is what I wanted from a re-telling of Macbeth.

I found this book lazy and hazy. Characters that had no depth, cheap psycho-babble explanations and tons of conveniences that would just pop up to carry the quick plot along.

On a beach this might be great
...more
Barbara
Dec 21, 2017 rated it liked it

3.5 stars

The Hogarth Shakespeare project invites current writers to update Shakespeare’s plays, setting them in modern times with modern characters.

"Macbeth" by Jo Nesbø is a retelling of Shakespeare's play "Macbeth", which was set in the Middle Ages. The original story centers around a high-ranking Scottish military leader named Macbeth who - urged on by his ambitious wife Lady Macbeth - secretly murders the King so he can take the throne. Afterwards, the usurper becomes a murderous tyrant who
...more
Phrynne
Mar 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 5000-books
I always think Macbeth is one of the most memorable of William Shakespeare's plays. It has some of the most quotable quotes and outstanding characters. Who can forget Lady Macbeth washing her hands over and over, and that great scene on the moor with the three witches and the cauldron. Well Jo Nesbø takes all that and the rest and makes it into the best book!

However it is not a light read. There are many long, descriptive passages and the characters frequently dwell at length on their own partic
...more
megs_bookrack
Mar 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arcs-read
A tour de force of brutality & ambition!!!

I was so excited when it was announced that the Hogarth Shakespeare series was adding Macbeth to its line up.



It is my favorite of all Shakespeare's tragedies and I was looking forward to seeing how Nesbo would give it a modern twist. I have never read any of his books before but having heard good things, I went into this with high expectations. He certainly did not disappoint!



The action takes place in a crime-ridden city in the 1970s. Drug dealers
...more
Emma
Nov 21, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is a brutal, blood soaked reimagining of Shakespeare's classic play. And when I say there's some death in it, I seriously mean it, once the book gets going you'd be forgiven for thinking there might not be anyone left by the end. Of course, if you've read Macbeth, you know how at least three of the characters end up (everyone always remembers the main three). Still, that does nothing to negate the constant sense of danger that pervades the book, the who's-next paranoia such as that felt by ...more
Anna
Apr 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
ΠΡΟΣΟΧΗ! Για την κριτική του βιβλίου θεωρώ ότι γνωρίζετε πως ο Μακβεθ είναι μια τραγωδία του Σέξπιρ όπου οι περισσότεροι ήρωες σκοτώνονται με τραγικό τρόπο και πως ο ομώνυμος ήρωας τρελαίνεται. Για τηλεοπτική μεταφορά προτείνω Φασμπέντερ-Κοτιγιάρ (και ξερό ψωμί).

ένα εκπληκτικό re-telling της γνωστής ιστορίας από τον μάστερ του αστυνομικού θρίλερ... ανατριχιαστικές περιγραφές και πολύ πετυχημένα δοσμένη η παράνοια του ομώνυμου ήρωα... εκπληκτικός και ο ρόλος των υπόλοιπων ηρώων σε ένα βιβλίο 600
...more
Kostas Papadatos
Άθελά μου έπεσα σε κριτική γεμάτη σποιλερ. Την επόμενη φορά που θα διαβάσετε ένα βιβλίο και θέλετε να εκφράσετε την αποψή σας, να είστε πιο προσεκτικοί.
Δεν έχω διαβάσει Σαίξπηρ, έίναι ανάγκη να αραδιάζετε ορισμένοι όλη την πλοκή?
Sandy
When I was in high school, I was that weird girl in your english lit class who actually liked Shakespeare. The Hogarth Shakespeare project gave 8 authors a chance to recreate one of the Bard’s classic plays & when I heard Jo Nesbo was taking on MacBeth, I had to read it. And he’s done a remarkable job.

It’s a daunting challenge. After all, we already know who did what & how it ends. But Nesbo has given it a modern facelift by turning it into a dark, violent tale of cops vs criminals set i
...more
Crime by the Book
Nov 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Full review to come! For now, find my top 3 reasons this book belongs on your 2018 TBR here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2017/1...

HOLY COW. This book is freaking brilliant. It’s a dense read to be sure - but that is NOT a flaw. In fact I think that’s necessary in order to capture the moral complexity of Shakespeare’s play. This book has action thriller scenes, political machinations, and Nesbø’s trademark superb character development. I loved it!!!
Skorofido Skorofido
Το ό,τι θα βαριόμουνα τη ζωή μου διαβάζοντας Νέσμπο ούτε στα πιο τρελά μου όνειρα… αλλά ποτέ μην λες ποτέ τελικά… βαρέθηκα τόσο πολύ τη ζωή μου που μέρες λιβάνιζα τις τελευταίες 50 σελίδες γιατί ειλικρινά δεν έβρισκα κανένα λόγο να τις διαβάσω…
Δεν ξέρω αν ήταν αριστουργηματική ιδέα ή απλώς η εύκολη λύση όταν υποφέρεις από το σύνδρομο της λευκής σελίδας, το retelling μιας all time classic σαιξπηρικής τραγωδίας, εν προκειμένω του «Μάκβεθ». Θέλοντας προφανώς να πετάξει από πάνω του για λίγο ή πολύ
...more
Gary
May 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
I am already a fan of Jo Nesbo novels so was probably always going to get round to reading his contribution to the Hogarth Shakespeare project where current writers are invited to update Shakespeare’s plays, setting them in modern times with modern characters. If I am completely honest it did take me a while to get fully submerged in this one. The story is set in the 1970's with the Police force trying to eradicate it's serious drug problem. Macbeth is the head of the SWAT team and he has addict ...more
Joseph
Feb 15, 2018 rated it liked it
I have heard quite a bit of praise for Jo Nesbo in the past and saw this as a chance to evaluate the author. I loved the setting and the descriptions. 1970s gritty is perhaps my favorite setting for fiction. I grew up in the 1960s and 70s in a very gritty city myself. I really like the start of the book but after a while, the Shakespeare seemed forced into the story. It was like the story and the Shakespeare were fighting each other for dominence. I could not fall into the story.
Menia
May 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
γι'αυτό και ο κύριος Νέσμπο είναι ο κυρίαρχος του παιχνιδιού, ακόμα και στο retelling σαρώνει!

buddy-reading με την Geo <3
brace 2018 για την τετράδα με βιβλία με όνομα στον τίτλο
Dave
For several years now, modern authors, acting under the auspices of the Hogarth Shakespeare Project, have reimagined Shakespeare's classic plays some 400 years after he wrote them. Before reading this book I was entirely unfamiliar with either the Hogarth Project or any of Nesbo's books.

Let me be entirely frank when I say that Nesbo hit a grand slam with this amazing noir-filled literary masterpiece. For those who know MacBeth, it's all here from the grimy foggy moors to the haunting dreams to
...more
Brian
Sep 18, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
“They had lost their way, but there had to be a way back, back to where they had come from.”

“Macbeth” is the second book in the Hogarth Shakespeare series that I have read. The Hogarth project sees “Shakespeare’s works retold by bestselling novelists of today.” The premise of “Macbeth” is clever. It takes place in the 1970s in a dingy postindustrial town and Macbeth is a Police Inspector, who rises very quickly to the top Police Commissioner’s spot through the machinations of a drug lord (Hecate
...more
Lyn
Mar 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
“Thou hast it now: king, Cawdor, Glamis, all,
As the weird women promised, and I fear
Thou played’st most foully for ’t. Yet it was said
It should not stand in thy posterity,
But that myself should be the root and father
Of many kings. If there come truth from them—
As upon thee, Macbeth, their speeches shine—
Why, by the verities on thee made good,
May they not be my oracles as well,
And set me up in hope? But hush, no more.”

Banquo’s famous lines shed light on the treachery within treachery within treac
...more
Louise Wilson
Sep 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When a drug bust turns into a bloodbath, it's up to Inspector MacBeth and his team to clean up the mess. He's also an ex-drug addict with a troubled past.

This is quite a brutal and blood soaked remake of Shakespeare's play. If you have read the original book then you already know that there is a lot of blood shed. This book has been given a modern take to it, turning it into a dark and brutal story of cops versus criminals. This book has more blood shed in it. It's all here in this novel; the f
...more
Maria Bikaki
Εξαιρετικό retelling της γνωστής ιστορίας του Σαίξπηρ. Θα μου πείτε πως το λέω έτσι ελαφρά την καρδία δεδομένου ότι δεν έχω διαβάσει τον Μάκβεθ του Σαίξπηρ αλλά γνωρίζω απλά σε γενικές γραμμές την ιστορία. Θεωρώ εν τούτοις ότι ο Νέσμπο έχει κάνει με αρκετή δεξιοτεχνία την προσαρμογή στο σήμερα στήνοντας μια σύγχρονη ιστορία δράσης που διαβάζεται άμεσα και εύκολα δίνοντας έτσι τη δική του πινελιά στην διάσημη σαιξπηρική ιστορία. Δεν είναι εύκολο να πιάσεις μια τόσο κλασσική ιστορία και να τη φωτί ...more
Αλκιβίαδης Βασίλειος
Αιματηρό! 😜 Δυνατό! 😎 Καταιγιστικό! 😎 Και διαβάζεται μονορούφι! 🚔🚔
Ένα βιβλίο με κινηματογραφική δράση, με ιδιαίτερους και καλοδουλεμένους χαρακτήρες, ζωντανούς διαλόγους, και την απολαυστική πινελιά του NESBO! 🚔😎😜🚔

Το συστήνω ανεπιφύλακτα !!! 😎🚔😜
Kyriaki
Αντικειμενική με βιβλίο του Jo Nesbo δεν θα μπορούσα ποτέ να είμαι και αυτό το βιβλίο δεν αποτελεί εξαίρεση. Αν και για να πω την αλήθεια σε μια ακρούλα στο πίσω μέρος του μυαλού μου διατηρούσα μια μικρή αμφιβολία κυρίως γιατί ο Μάκβεθ ανήκει στο Hogarth Shakespeare Project.
Έχοντας διαβάσει άλλα δύο βιβλία από τα εν λόγω project και μη μένοντας ευχαριστημένη με κανένα από τα δύο για τους ίδιους σχεδόν λόγους είχα ορισμένες επιφυλάξεις. Γιατί ναι μεν Nesbo, Hogarth Shakespeare Project δε!

Ευτυχώς
...more
Dennis
Joe Nesbø's Macbeth is a standalone retelling of William Shakespeare's Macbeth with a modern day, Joe Nesbø crime fiction spin that we all love and respect from the Stephen King of police drama novels. The novel starts sets the stage in the 1970s, in a destitute, crime and drug ridden town in rural Norway, where the townsfolk are ruled by addiction. Both drug ring leaders, Sweno and Hecate, are the supreme leaders of the organized crime and drug power in the town. Another ruler of the town is ...more
Γιώτα Παπαδημακοπούλου
Τα τελευταία χρόνια έχουν κυκλοφορήσει αρκετά retellings κλασσικών βιβλίων και παραμυθιών τα οποία, επί του πρακτέου, δεν αποδείχθηκαν ιδιαίτερα πετυχημένα. Σε προσωπικό, τουλάχιστον, επίπεδο, με απογοήτευσαν οικτρά, με το ένα να είναι χειρότερο από το άλλο. Όταν, λοιπόν, έμαθα πως θα κυκλοφορήσει το "Μάκβεθ", η πρώτη μου σκέψη ήταν πως το να πει κάποιος από την αρχή μια ιστορία που έχει γράψει ένας εκ των κορυφαίων συγγραφέων της παγκόσμιας λογοτεχνίας, ο Shakespeare, δεν είναι απλά ρίσκο, αλλά ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Shylock Is My Name
  • Dunbar
  • The Father of All Things: A Marine, His Son, and the Legacy of Vietnam
  • Hamlet Retelling
  • Only to Sleep: A Philip Marlowe Novel
  • Skuggasund (Reykjavik Wartime Mystery #1)
  • A Killing Winter  (Inspector Akyl Borubaev, #1)
  • Helvetesilden (Konrad Sejer, #12)
  • Andköf (Siglufjörður #5)
  • New Boy (Hogarth Shakespeare)
  • Black Lies, Red Blood
  • Synkkä niin kuin sydämeni
  • The Mayfly (Charlie Priest #1)
  • The Gap of Time
  • Lucifer's Tears (Inspector Kari Vaara, #2)
  • Hard Rain
  • The Underground Railroad
  • Shaker
12,618 followers
Jo Nesbø is a bestselling Norwegian author and musician. He was born in Oslo and grew up in Molde. Nesbø graduated from the Norwegian School of Economics with a degree in economics. Nesbø is primarily famous for his crime novels about Detective Harry Hole, but he is also the main vocals and songwriter for the Norwegian rock band Di Derre. In 2007 Nesbø also released his first children's book, Dokt ...more

Other books in the series

Hogarth Shakespeare (8 books)
  • The Gap of Time
  • Shylock Is My Name
  • Vinegar Girl
  • Hag-Seed
  • New Boy (Hogarth Shakespeare)
  • Dunbar
  • Hamlet Retelling
“We humans are practical. If decisions we made once can’t be changed, we do our best to defend them so that our errors won’t haunt and torment us too much.” 2 likes
“There are no simple paths to justice and purity, only the difficult one.” 1 likes
More quotes…