Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things” as Want to Read:
Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things

by
really liked it 4.0  ·  Rating details ·  65 Ratings  ·  22 Reviews
Award-winning author Simon Van Booy introduces readers to a magical, whimsical world, perfect for fans of Circus Mirandus and Serafina and the Black Cloak.

When twelve-year-old Gertie Milk washes up on the island of Skuldark, she finds that all of her memories are gone. Home to helpful Slug Lamps, delicious moonberries, and a ferocious Guard Worm, the island is full of oddi
...more
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published October 3rd 2017 by Razorbill
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Lucas Hunt
Jun 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Got hold of an ARC and couldn't put it down from page one. Really funny, action-packed, and educational--I learned how a mathematician thousands of years ago figured out the circumference of the earth using shadows and a piece of string. I like Van Booy's other books, and his first middle-grade novel is just as beautifully written, but also humorous and compassionate. Totally unique book.
Harker
Oct 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
A tale of lost memories, time travelling cars, and lots of cake, Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things has all the adventure one could want in a middle grade fantasy in which the heroine must return lost artifacts to historical figures and attempt to recover her memory.

The story opens with 12-year-old Gertie waking up on an island with no clue as to her identity, other than (presumably) her name embroidered on her dress. Stumbling away from an incoming tide and up a cliff, Gertie meets Kolt,
...more
Joel - Descendant of Poseidon Reads
How exciting and wonderful it is to find out that there lies a place where your long lost forgotten precious toy or pen or book or anything has been just laying around. Now I’m certain that lost things deserve realm of their own and be return someday to save human ignorance.

Gertie Milk and Keeper of Lost Things has creatively narrated the adventure ahead of one amnesiac girl transported to a deserted island unknowingly and been forced to adapt her surrounding for the duty she, herself, don’t pic
...more
Mellissa
Oct 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
My Junior High child read this in two days, he really liked it. It kept his attention and that's hard to do.
Angie
Sep 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A young girl washes up on a beach with no idea who she is or where she is. The name Gertie Milk is written on her nightgown so that must be her. The island is a strange one as Gertie soon learns. She is found by Kolt and discovers she is a new Keeper of Lost Things and the island is Skuldark which exists in proximity to Earth but not exactly on it. Skuldark is filled with things lost throughout time with a big book (BDBU) that controls when things are returned. The BDBU tells Keepers when and wh ...more
Leah
Jan 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This story is full of humor, fantasy, and a lot of educational facts. The story is built around a group of people who take care of items that are lost all through history as well as in the future. Occasionally an item is needed to be returned to the owner so they travel back in time to reunite the item with the person. The book is full of some amazing facts that most people would not just readily know. There is enough humor in it to keep someone engaged and the time travel fantasy portion create ...more
Terri Bond
Oct 19, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
i loved it and read it in one day. this book may be written for children but any adult that likes fantasy will enjoy this book as much as i have
Stacy Gabriel
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
There just has to be a sequel... there just has to be a sequel!
Erik
Nov 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I normally wouldn't read a Middle Grade book, but I'm big fan of Van Booy's writing so this was going to happen. I wish I'd read more books like this when I was much younger. It was educational without being overbearing. It was philosophical without being preachy. And it was well-written without coming across as juvenile. These three things in themselves are, in my humble opinion, a great mix for Middle Grade readers. It sparks their interest, gets them thinking outside of the story, and they do ...more
Suzi
Mar 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Thankfully, I discovered a long time ago that there are some amazing books written for young readers, and this is definitely one of them! If you are a reader who expects the world to make sense and stories to reflect real life, this book isn’t for you. It is a marvelous fantasy about a young girl who washes up on an island where lost treasures are collected and saved until the exact moment when they are needed by history’s most famous people to move knowledge forward. There are delightfully deep ...more
Colin Goins
Nov 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Recently I have read a book called Gertie Milk by Simon Van Booy. This book is a book about a normal girl stranded on an island in the middle of nowhere she doesn't know her name or where she is.she has to figure out her name,where she is,what she is doing there,and why she is there. read this book and figure out all of these things and be wowed by the image put in your head!

I loved this book because I love Mysteries and it is such an exciting book! I didn't dislike anything about this book. I w
...more
Teresa Bateman
Dec 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
I received an ARC of this book from the publisher. When Gertie washes up on an island she has no memory of who she is or why she is there--only her name sewn on her gown. She soon discovers that she is a Keeper of Lost Things and becomes the apprentice to the current keeper. Their job is to travel through time and return items that often seem insignificant but have historical impact. The job is not without its dangers, but it also has rewards. Still, Gertie longs to regain her memory, and gather ...more
Erin
Mar 01, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sadie Hillier
Dec 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book is perfect for every kid (or child at heart) with an imagination yearning to explore and create universes. As a kid, my favorite books were A Wrinkle in Time (and it’s series) and The Phantom Tollbooth. Gertie Milk fits perfectly alongside those. I couldn’t put it down, and I know my childhood self would have devoured it and taken this universe to heart.
James Pugh
Jul 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars. A decent start to an obvious series (there are way too many loose ends left wide open and the climax felt like there was a bigger badder boogieman out there). Inventive way to tell a time travel/Dr. Who-type sci-fi trope.
Nicole
May 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
A fun kids book. Lots of terms to learn and an interesting, unique concept. Fun story.
RaygunGothic
Jan 17, 2018 rated it did not like it
Shelves: dnf, middle-grades
Really boring.
Amanda Blau
Nov 26, 2017 rated it liked it
Reminded me of an old school Doctor Who episode. That's not a bad thing in my book - but it wandered and started a bit slowly.
Darrell E
rated it it was amazing
Mar 16, 2018
Kathy Hixon
rated it liked it
Dec 04, 2017
Cosetté
May 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Okay, spoiler alert, let’s just say there is a very unexpected plot twist. But what do I say?


Nothing! Read it. Five stars ✨ all the way.
🙃🙃🙃🙂🙂🙂😀😀
Paul Florez-Taylor
rated it it was amazing
Oct 03, 2017
Ashleigh
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2018
Seema Rao
rated it it was ok
Feb 02, 2018
Genielysse Reyes
rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2017
EJ
rated it it was amazing
Jun 09, 2018
that weird kid Ezra
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2018
Steven
rated it really liked it
Dec 03, 2017
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
504 followers
Simon Van Booy is the best-selling author of seven books of fiction, and three anthologies of philosophy. He has written for the New York Times, the Financial Times, NPR, and the BBC. He enjoys building robots, model airplanes and off-road vehicles—which he likes to crash. He has an impressive umbrella collection, a Bowler hat, and carries a green thermos of tea everywhere. His books have been tra ...more
More about Simon Van Booy

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • Son of the Dawn (Ghosts of the Shadow Market #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Sanctuary (Nomad, #2)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Genome (The Extinction Files #2)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Mechanica (Mechanica, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Wired (Wired, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Bandwidth (An Analog Novel Book 1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Sufficiently Advanced Magic (Arcane Ascension, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Bees
    $12.99 $1.99
  • The Land: Founding (Chaos Seeds, #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, #1)
    $12.99 $2.99
  • Fool's Assassin (The Fitz and The Fool Trilogy, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Gone (Gone, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Friday
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Dhalgren
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1)
    $8.51 $2.99
  • Homeworld (Odyssey One, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Recurve (The Elemental Series, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Deviants (Dust Chronicles #1)
    $4.49 $0.99
  • Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles, #1)
    $6.49 $1.99
  • The Kill Society (Sandman Slim, #9)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Out of the Black (Odyssey One, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Acacia: The War with the Mein (Acacia, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Menagerie
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Infinite (Gates of Thread and Stone #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Black Bird of the Gallows
    $7.99 $0.99
  • Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson, #8)
    $8.99 $2.99