Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Crucifixion of the Warrior God: Volumes 1 & 2” as Want to Read:
The Crucifixion of the Warrior God: Volumes 1 & 2
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Crucifixion of the Warrior God: Volumes 1 & 2

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  128 ratings  ·  22 reviews
The Crucifixion of the Warrior God, in an epic constructive investigation, takes up the set of dramatic tensions between depictions of divinely sanctioned violence in Scripture and the message and life of peace of Jesus centering the New Testament. Over two volumes, author Gregory A. Boyd argues that we must take seriously the full range of Scripture as inspired, and the c ...more
Paperback, 1492 pages
Published April 17th 2017 by Fortress Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Crucifixion of the Warrior God, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Crucifixion of the Warrior God

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  128 ratings  ·  22 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Andrew Marr
Jun 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
Greg Boyd’s two-volume study on the problem of violence attributed to God vis à vis the pacifist teachings of Jesus is most likely the most ambitious available. (At least I hope so!) For many readers, the study will be too long and too detailed. I found it so many times, but that is mostly because he covered ground I was familiar with. Other readers would have needed to see that ground covered.

Boyd seeks to argue for a strictly consistent cruciform hermeneutic. St. Augustine and Martin Luther (a
...more
Ian Caveny
May 04, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: theology
Overlong and unnecessarily complicated, Greg Boyd presents a reading of the Old Testament through the lens of the crucified Christ resulting in claims that are times compelling and at other times perplexing. From a rhetorical-structural standpoint, the book could have easily been pared down from its too-massive 1500 pages to a more manageable 500 pages just by a few simple rewrites and removing the majority of the first six chapters.

Boyd's proposal, called the Cruciform Hermeneutic, is an intrig
...more
David
Jun 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Recently a few people in the United States government said that the Bible teaches you should obey the laws of the land. It is not uncommon for Christians, and others, to point to a Bible verse here or there to justify some act. The problem is, the Bible says a whole lot of things. As Philip Jenkins showed in his book Laying Down the Sword, Christians have used violent texts in the Bible to justify violence. It is a simple part of American history that Christian pastors used the Bible to argue fo ...more
Joel Wentz
Jun 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
ESSENTIAL THEOLOGICAL READING.

As someone who has followed Boyd for years, I think he has outdone himself with this last outing. Yes, it is extremely long, owing in part to the comprehensive nature of the case Boyd is making, along with his inclusion of pre-emptive responses to possible critiques. But considering the length and the academic nature of the writing, I found it much easier to read than many other works of this scope. Boyd's pastoral heart pulses through every page, and insofar as he
...more
Nick Richtsmeier
Oct 05, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I don't think I've ever spent more than a year reading a book before this one. Now technically it is two books (Goodreads where's the love on my Reading Challenge?) but regardless, it is a project to complete.

But a worthwhile project nonetheless.

For those more familiar with Boyd's mass market books, you will find this one nearly impossibly dense and full of jargon that will be unfamiliar. This is Boyd's self-ascribed magnum opus, the pinnacle, in his mind, of his academic and heremeneutical work
...more
Justin
Oct 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: religion
This is one of the most impressive works I've read in some time. I'm not sure I agree with everything -- that will take more time, thinking, and reading -- but it's an impressive argument. Much of what I initially felt would hinge on rationalizations turned out to be carefully done exegesis.

It is long and there are some repetitious moments (arguably necessary for the sake of completeness), but it's worth the read. There are many big ideas to grapple with here, whether to ultimately embrace or re
...more
Jon Sedlak
Jul 02, 2017 rated it it was ok
This is an important book to engage with, but it’s not for the faint of heart or for children in their faith. It’s overwhelmingly anachronistic in its views about "violence" and "evil." Apparently Boyd welcomes (indeed, invites!) Christians to think of sin, evil, hatred, and violence from a blend of 21st century ideologies.

Boyd puts on a lengthy display of the Bible's "horrendous violence" coupled with his commitment to view the Bible as "inspired" and "infallible,” although he’s pretty slippery
...more
Bryan Neuschwander
Jun 26, 2017 rated it liked it
I found Boyd's principles of redemptive withdrawal, cosmic conflict, semi-autonomous power, and divine accommodation truly helpful. I appreciated his attempt to wrestle through the violent portraits of God in the OT and his insistence that we should see Jesus as the climax of God's self-revelation, and that this must essentially be cross-shaped. I discovered several new dimensions to ancient near eastern culture and worldview, which serve to illuminate in several ways the accounts under discussi ...more
Brandon G. Smith
May 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing
It was truly everything I thought it would be. A brilliant, challenging, work of theology and exegesis that I feel I went to battle with over the course of the summer months of 2017. I can see more clearly that ever before, the beauty of the cross in the Old Testament. While I feel there were far too many typos in the book, they are inconsequential when compared to the enormity of what the book as done for me.
Jeremy
Mar 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Boyd exposits the utter centrality of Christ and the cross to all biblical theology, particularly the problem texts of the OT. This is quite simply the best (and the only good) book I have read about the problem of texts such as the Canaanite genocide.

Not many theologians get to write a book like this in their career -- a 10-year project written in community with many other theologians and Christians and based on an impressively comprehensive corpus. The length of the two-volume work is definite
...more
Zach Korthals
May 14, 2017 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Glenn Crouch
Oct 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: theology
This is not a short book (given the 2 volumes), but I did find it a worthwhile read. As the Author made known his Anabaptist viewpoint, as well as his strong support of Origen, I wondered how I as a Lutheran Pastor would find this work. First, I think the Author does quite a good and fair job in his dealings with Luther (and Augustine), and I have always had a Christ-centred, and as the Author argues, a Cross-centred view of Scripture - and that this must influence my hermeneutics, especially wh ...more
Tristan Sherwin
Aug 28, 2018 rated it really liked it
Greg Boyd’s *Crucifixion Of the Warrior God* is nothing short of a tour de force in understanding how the revelation of God through the cruciform nature of Christ is supposed to revolutionise our understandings of the depictions of “divine/divine endorsed” violence within the Old Testament.

Instead of just moralising these scenes away, or attempting to downplay/dismiss them on basis of historical data, or attempting to synthesise these contrasting portraits of God with what we are shown in Jesus’
...more
Mark Copley
Jul 01, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Boyd's work here is challenging but important. How are we as Christians to interpret the violent passages of the Bible (especially the Old Testament)? How can we maintain the Bible's witness to Christ crucified and also understand the passages where God commands, condones, or participates in violent acts of war and retribution? Boyd seeks to answer these questions not with rational explanations but with an understanding of how God has progressively revealed himself through his people, their sacr ...more
curtis kunselman
Jul 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Love hearing perspectives that match what I am experiencing in my relationship with God and what I see when I look at Christ. I found with books with big words as long as I have my kindle I can just look up the words I don't understand on the spot. Makes it easy. Didn't find it hard to understand and the real person of Holy Spirit is always there to ask questions to. Great book loved it!!
Josh
Apr 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This took me forever to finish because the ideas are so profound, so mind-blowing, and so intricate that I need time to process. But it has challenged my view on God’s relationship with Jesus, with us, and with the Israelites. Not sure I agree with all the theories that Boyd brings forth but it truly is an epic work that makes readers think and question what they know.
Jamin Bradley
Apr 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
While I’ll admit the end of the first book and the start of the second was a bit lengthy to get through and felt a bit repetitive, it was still a spectacular read. By the end everything suddenly became incredibly compelling and I even got goosebumps at one point. An important and challenging read.
Stacey
Dec 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is not an easy read, but Boyd works to answer all of the objections. Thorough and persuasive.
Ietrio
Mar 20, 2018 rated it did not like it
Shelves: junk
More mental gymnastics to justify a chaotic collection of texts. If only the author were more intelligent!
James McAdams
Apr 01, 2017 rated it did not like it
I could ramble on about all of my many and varied grievances with this but honestly, the main one is that Boyd reads the OT completely differently from how Jesus does.

Jesus insists that if you don’t believe the scriptures and see how the scriptures point to him, you’ve not understood them - i.e. understand the scriptures and you can see Jesus.

Boyd insists that we can’t understand the scriptures without first knowing Jesus, and that knowing Jesus helps us to see that the scriptures are inaccurate
...more
Aaron Dickey
Oct 20, 2017 rated it did not like it
These two volumes are inconsistent, intelectually dishonest, and literally deify the idea of pacifism.
Craig Hurst
rated it did not like it
Jan 03, 2019
Seán
rated it really liked it
Jul 20, 2018
Michael Kitay-Moore
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2018
Steve
rated it really liked it
Oct 07, 2017
Joel
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2019
Randy Mccracken
rated it it was amazing
Jun 17, 2017
Helena
rated it it was amazing
Dec 26, 2017
Carmen Lau
rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2017
Jeremy Jernigan
rated it it was amazing
Nov 29, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Salvation by Allegiance Alone: Rethinking Faith, Works, and the Gospel of Jesus the King
  • A Community Called Atonement
  • Justification: God's Plan & Paul's Vision
  • The Crucifixion: Understanding the Death of Jesus Christ
  • The Trinity and the Kingdom
  • Sinai and Zion
  • Jesus and the God of Israel: God Crucified and Other Studies on the New Testament's Christology of Divine Identity
  • Awaiting the King: Reforming Public Theology
  • Paul and the Faithfulness of God (Christian Origins and the Question of God, #4)
  • The Slavery of Death
  • The Lost World of Adam and Eve: Genesis 2–3 and the Human Origins Debate
  • Echoes of Scripture in the Gospels
  • Against Calvinism
  • Exclusion & Embrace: A Theological Exploration of Identity, Otherness, and Reconciliation
  • Mending the Divides: Creative Love in a Conflicted World
  • Christus Victor
  • Four Views on the Historical Adam
  • Sinners in the Hands of a Loving God: The Scandalous Truth of the Very Good News
204 followers
Gregory A. Boyd is the founder and senior pastor of Woodland Hills Church in St. Paul, Minn., and founder and president of ReKnew. He was a professor of theology at Bethel College (St. Paul, Minn.) for sixteen years where he continues to serve as an Adjunct Professor.

Greg is a graduate of the University of Minnesota (BA), Yale Divinity School (M.Div), and Princeton Theological Seminary (PhD). Gre
...more
“God acts toward his people, as much as possible, but since he is a God of persuasion rather than coercion, God also allows his people to act on him and to thereby condition the form his self-revelation takes, as much as this is necessary to remain in solidarity with, and to continue to work through, his fallen and culturally conditioned people.” 0 likes
“The crucified Christ, in short, gives us the “Magic Eye” to discern him in the depths of even the most horrifically violent portraits of God.” 0 likes
More quotes…