Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom” as Want to Read:
33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom

by
4.28  ·  Rating details ·  18 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Scott has played over 500 concerts at hundreds of venues spanning almost two decades. From performing to the bar staff at strip mall dive bars, to a sold-out show with members of The Misfits and the Ramones, 33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom is about the love of music and life as a struggling musician. It is the true story of what happe ...more
Paperback, 202 pages
Published April 19th 2019 by No Bueno! Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about 33 Percent Rockstar, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about 33 Percent Rockstar

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.28  · 
Rating details
 ·  18 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of 33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom
Roxanne
Apr 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I won this book from Goodreads for a fair review. I loved this book. It takes me back to my teenage years in the 1960,s when I went to almost band that was performing at that time. Even at my age now I am still rocking until I am dropping. So this subject involving music is great. Scott played over 500 concerts over two decades. He shares a familiar story with some famous bands that when they are doing their music they have bad cars, play at dive places, malls or wherever they could get a gig. T ...more
JM
May 22, 2019 rated it liked it
Received ARC from NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.

I've read a bunch of biographies by all manner of famous rock musicians before. You usually get two kinds: a look into a person with surprising depth despite their public persona, or a self-indulgent tour of the many excesses that public persona has managed to survive.

I have to admit that I'm not familiar with the author's work as a musician, but it was fascinating to read about his many trials and tribulations while tryin
...more
Cory
Oct 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book provides an insight into life as non famous musician that other music biographies don't. I also have to give love to a Denver author. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Alan M
Jul 05, 2019 rated it liked it
As the antidote to the many music bios which describe the twists and turns on the road to stardom, 33% Percent Rockstar chronicles author SC Sterling’s attempt to hit the heights.

Sterling admits he wasn’t a natural musician, and in many respects his story is one of how his dogged determination did at least get him on stage, on tour and into the recording studio. However, glamourous it wasn’t. Whilst bands form and then split, an enduring constant is the sleep deprived tours, the gall
...more
Perry
Jun 20, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley
This book gave what seemed like an accurate (and sort of hellish) portrayal of life in a good but not great rock band: practice, drink, perform, break up, repeat. The writing was not particularly strong and there were a lot of abrupt transitions.
Greg
rated it liked it
May 31, 2019
Mary A Brandt
rated it it was amazing
May 22, 2019
Raven
rated it it was amazing
Apr 27, 2019
Christen
rated it it was amazing
Oct 16, 2019
Richard D Kuharik
rated it it was amazing
Jun 27, 2019
Jack Hall
rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
Jun 07, 2019
Easton King
rated it liked it
Sep 21, 2019
Taylor (TaysInfiniteThougts)
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2019
Chuck
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2019
Rubayet  Nusrat
rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2019
Maura Badji
rated it liked it
Aug 16, 2019
Connie Chu
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2017
Jennifer Walker
marked it as to-read
Nov 24, 2017
Allison
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2018
Peter
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2018
Darlene
marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2018
Brie
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Angie Taylor
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Lydia Wallace
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Liesje
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Sam
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Dannon Hewitt
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Janet
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Melissa ahmed
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
amy
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Deborah Gerhart
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Pam
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Debbie Schiedel
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Jean  Felty
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Raymond Stone
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Rhiannon
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Pat
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
F
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Aaron Rockwood
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Kathleen
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Dark Between Stars
  • Gone, Baby, Gone (Kenzie & Gennaro, #4)
  • The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star
  • Life
  • It's a Long Story: My Life
  • Love Her Wild
  • The Nickel Boys
  • Scar Tissue
  • A Dream About Lightning Bugs: A Life of Music and Cheap Lessons
  • Uncrowned (Cradle, #7)
  • this is how you know i want you.
  • The Beautiful and the Broken
  • Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion
  • The Last Pirate of New York: A Ghost Ship, a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation
  • Mad Woman
  • The Two Lila Bennetts
  • Last Summer
  • Big Secret of Songwriting: How To Write One Song a Day
See similar books…
58 followers
Scott C. Sterling is originally from Portland, OR and moved to Denver, CO at the age of thirteen. He is the author of Teenage Degenerate , a memoir about drug addiction and growing up. His second book, 33 Percent Rockstar: Music, Heartbreak and the Pursuit of Rock Stardom , a memoir about life as a struggling musician was released in 2019.

Ways to connect with Scott:
Email: sc@scsterling.com
Books: scsterling.com/
Blog: teenagedegenerate.com
Blog: 33percentrockstar.com
Twitte
...more