Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories” as Want to Read:
The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories

by
4.88  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  10 reviews
SILVER MEDAL WINNER READERS' FAVORITE 2018 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS
SILVER MEDAL WINNER 2018 FEATHERED QUILL BOOK AWARDS
2018 B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree

SHORT STORIES OF STRONG WOMEN, EXILE, GHOSTS...AND A MURDER.

An unexpected treasure handed over from an ex-spouse via the divorce lawyer; a classic mother-son bonding experience on a roller coaster ride; tragic tales of
...more
Kindle Edition, 1st Edition, 119 pages
Published December 27th 2016 by Self
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Fish Tank, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Fish Tank

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
Average rating 4.88  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories
Gisela Hausmann
Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra's short stories collection "The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories" is a jewel.
Of the four sections, "For the Fun of Writing (Just Because), Soul Songs (Stories from the Cuban Diaspora), Prologues (prequel stories from upcoming novels), and The End," Soul Songs impressed me the most. Having lived in the Florida Keys, home to many Cuban refugees, Alonso-Sierra's stories reminded me of stories I have heard before.
Alonso-Sierra's gift for writing allows the readers to
...more
Karen Mossman
I adored these stories because they were so compelling, so different, and I was gripped by everyone. In fact it is difficult to say which one was my favourite. I could name them all for different reasons.

The author had first hand experience of what it was like in Cuba under Castro and was able to turn these into works of fiction. They glued me to the page. Some were incredible. Things you and I take for granted in our every day lives, these people would be thrown into jail or worse for owning
...more
Paul White
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Two things.
One, I am a hard person to please when it comes to reading.
You see, I don't much care for populist stories, they are all a bit same-old, same-old. They tend to pander to the lowest common denominator in a sad and futile race which only serves to brace the writer's ego.
I look for more, much more. I want stories written from an interesting perspective, ones which touch the soul, stimulate the mind and provoke thought. Elements so often overlooked in favour of the mindless banality
...more
Emily-Jane Orford
May 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: short-stories
An unexpected treasure handed over from an ex-spouse via the divorce lawyer; a classic mother-son bonding experience on a roller coaster ride; tragic tales of survival of ordinary Cuban citizens in the 1960s; a paranormal happening in the Museum of the Weird, the Sad, and the Wretched; and a complex murder mystery – all of these stories in one volume, “The Fish Tank and Other Short Stories” by Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra, reveal life stories in the raw with a compassion for reality and ...more
Julie Stafford
Oct 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing


Heart and Soul in Short Stories

This is the first book I have read by Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra, but definitely not the last. You can easily see that she has put her heart and soul into every story. All are written in a different genre showing the versatility of this author. Maria Elena could have easily turned every one into a full blown novel. I can’t pick a favorite because they are all so well written. Each story comes alive on the first page. All have completely fleshed out characters and
...more
Melenia
Mar 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: signing
I do not usually enjoy short stories, but I did really enjoy this book and look forward to reading more by this author.
Mary Beth
Dec 24, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2018
Thank you for the copy of this short story collection. I particularly liked the detective story and would like to read more about that character.
Alaina Maxam
Jan 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
THIS IS A BOOK WITH SEVERAL SHORT STORIES. ALTHOUGH THEY ARE SHORT THEY ARE WELL WRITTEN. THEY CAN DEFINITELY BE MADE INTO A LONGER STORY
gj indieBRAG
Jun 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
We are proud to announce that FISH TANK: and Other Short Stories by Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells readers that this book is well worth their time and money!
Fred Fanning
Apr 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: review
Great book filled with interesting and enjoyable stories. I enjoyed them all.
Billano Kawaii
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2020
Karina Kantas
rated it it was amazing
Nov 06, 2017
Maria Alonso-Sierra
Oct 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Victoria Saccenti
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2017
Margarita Torres
rated it it was amazing
Nov 13, 2017
Glen Hepker
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2017
Lise Baldorsdottir
rated it really liked it
Aug 23, 2019
Debo
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2017
April (TwilightTINK)
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2017
Sandra Knapp
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2017
Pam James
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2017
P. Gallatin
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2017
Johanna
marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2017
Wendy Moises
is currently reading it
Feb 19, 2018
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2018
Ilie
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2018
Maria Alonso-Sierra
Apr 03, 2018 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Jeanna Massman
marked it as to-read
Jun 03, 2018
Linda
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2018
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2018
Brenda
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2018
Joy
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2018
Jason
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2018
A.M. Leibowitz
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2018
Eduardo Perez
marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2019
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Fresh New Books f...: Fish Tank & other short stories 1 5 May 04, 2018 04:00AM  
Hi, everyone. My name is Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra (yes, I know...it is a mouthful). I am originally from Cuba, lived in many places/countries throughout my life, and am now living in beautiful North Carolina.
It is so difficult, sometimes, to say things about yourself, but let me try. I love all things medieval. I love history. As a matter of fact, I have a masters in medieval literature--12th
...more