Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Spider-Man: One More Day” as Want to Read:
Spider-Man: One More Day
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Spider-Man: One More Day

(Amazing Spider-Man (1999) (Collected Editions) #18)

3.31  ·  Rating details ·  2,344 ratings  ·  126 reviews
The stakes have never been higher for Peter Parker. At his darkest hours - and he's had plenty - Peter has always had one shoulder to lean on, one person who'd remind him who he is, who he was, and who he can be. Now he's about to lose that person. What would he do...what would you do, if you only had "One More Day?" The most-talked about - and controversial - comic event ...more
Paperback, 136 pages
Published August 27th 2008 by Marvel (first published January 1st 2008)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Spider-Man, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Spider-Man

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.31  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,344 ratings  ·  126 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Spider-Man: One More Day
Sud666
Dec 31, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: comics
This was a very interesting tale. After Parker's identity has been revealed, Aunt May is shot by an assassin's bullet. Peter needs to try to save her, but no one can help. Only Mephisto. When one makes a bargain with the devil, one always waits for the deal to come due.

I rather liked this story, but the ending was rather nebulous. Peter and MJ's bargain with Mephisto seemed to be left hanging. Now I don't know if this was the basis for an entire run (perhaps Straczynsji's run?) but it must be -o
...more
A.L.
May 29, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I can no longer read new Spider-Man comics. Over 10 years of my reading, and 20 years of continuity - not just in the Spidey world, but with ramifications throughout the Marvel universe - were wiped away in a badly written four part series.

Every character acted completely OUT OF CHARACTER culminating in with Mary Jane and Peter Parker, quite literally, selling their souls to the Devil.

This is without doubt the worst comic book series I've ever read. This is how you kill a hero, and lose readers
...more
Jason
Jan 23, 2011 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: comics
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Nicolo
J. Michael Straczynski (JMS) final story of his acclaimed and often times polarizing but overall commercially successfully run on Amazing Spider-Man ended with his most controversial storyline: the dissolution of Peter and Mary Jane’s marriage. This was an editorial mandate from Joe Quesada , so JMS’s final story was not entirely his own. Quesada wanted to make Spider-Man more accessible to new and younger readers with an unmarried hero and a streamlined continuity. Quesada’s fingerprints were a ...more
Hal Johnson
This is the one where Spider-Man sells his marriage to the literal devil to save the life of a woman who was 98 years old in 1963. Very possibly the worst comic ever published.
Subham
Dec 19, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
After reading this story I have mixed thoughts, first I can understand from a story POV and then is Why do this but then again if you think from POV of Peter and how he wants to save his aunt and all, and everything in the larger context that makes sense why this Mephisto deal happened. The story is cut and dry starting with Peter having to arrange money and has an interesting confrontation with Iron Man and their rumblings happen, but despite it he helps Peter. After that you can see him going ...more
Mitchell
Huh. Pretty much have to separate out what I think of this book from what I think of what it does to the Marvel Universe. The book itself is great - it feels real and the art captures the emotion of the story. The alternate paths of Peter Parker are better than I would have expected or hoped for. The rationale, the process Peter goes through and Peter and MJ go through ...

As for the Universe - the editors and publishers who came up with this just plain suck. You write a continuity, it'd be nice
...more
Aaron
Oct 06, 2010 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Well, here it is. The infamous end to JMS’s 6-year stranglehold on Spider-Man. I read this back when it was being released in single issues, and remember just being confused by it, as I wasn’t totally caught up on Spider-Man at the time. But now I’m 100% caught up, and all that’s done is make this goofball story seem even sillier.

About halfway through the book, I thought about giving up. Knowing this was his final Spider-Man story must’ve put JMS in Existentialism Explosion Mode, because every w
...more
Gary D.
Jan 24, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Norman
Feb 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-comics
Sad. Sad sad sad.

I dunno what all the negative hubbub and hooah's about, but I thunk it to be a nice ending without actually "ending" the character. Who wants to read a story that goes on forever? I love that there's variation - like Ultimate Spider-Man was a much-needed fresh take. I know I've already lost interest in Slott's run and feel like I need a reboot. I'm probably in the minority in that regard.

Then again, I'm pretty bummed out. Married and older Peter is sort of a parallel to my cur
...more
Виктор
Sep 06, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Stupidest shit I ever read.
Lauren
Oct 23, 2018 rated it did not like it
Shelves: comics
Weirdest episode of Supernatural ever
Wing Kee
It's not as bad as I thought it would be.

World: The art is fine, the quality of this series' has been consistent and the emotions for this arc called for wonderful characters and it delivered here, at least the last 2 issues. The world building here is a reboot and a reset so I don't know how much of it I liked. I think Marvel painted themselves into a corner with Peter with Civil War and this was the only way that they were able to undo the unmasking. That being said, I found the world presente
...more
Ανδρέας Μιχαηλίδης
This is a strange comic. Were it a standalone story, the execution would be near-perfect, with a truly diabolic Mephisto and not the caricature of decades past. The whole Faustian tone, the human dilemma, the devilish mockery, all excellent.

However, the background and premise are among what I consider one of the most ridiculous ideas in Marvel Comics: the Civil War, unmasking, etc. etc. Then, there is the even more ridiculous approach of having so many god-powered individuals and not one being a
...more
Sylvester
Jun 24, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, comics
I don't know whether to cry or to shriek. One More Day takes place straight after the Civil War, May accidentally took the bullet for Peter after Kingpin made an assasination attempt. Now Peter found a way to save May, but for a price.

A very dear price indeed. The drawings were nice but it was too enraging to make me thoroughly enjoy this story arc, considering what the consequence of the deal created. I know it's polarized but I can't seem to figure out what to make of this volume.
...more
Richard Radgoski
Nov 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
I didnt know the ending... tough to take
Juan Pablo Bueno Siqueiros
No. It's shit. Why ...more
Mike
The deal with a devil is so heavily telegraphed in the first issue of this book, it's hard not to see this like some teen drama on the CW, and have just as hard a time taking any of it seriously. There's not one moment of the setup that feels like a genuinely human, quiet, I don't know what to do moment. The most redeeming thing about this book is the art boost compared to the previous book - Queseda is so much more interesting an artist than Garney (at least for what he turned in on Back In Bla ...more
Michael
Dec 22, 2008 rated it liked it
Collecting the "One Day More" arc of stories from the Spider-Man publishing canon. It sees the end of J. Michael Stracynski's epic, six-year run on the flagship title for Spider-Man.

Going into the story, I was already aware of how some elements would play out. Peter must make the choice to save Aunt May for a gun shot wound and death--but at the price of giving up his marriage to Mary Jane. In a lot of ways, this is a huge reset button for the Spider-Man universe, especially in the huge coming o
...more
Luke
Jul 30, 2011 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I came to comics a little later than most, so I started reading Amazing Spiderman when JMS started his run.

I loved it. I read all through the whole mystical aspect of Spiderman, the Ezekiel stuff, Evolve or Die and Civil War.

I loved it all. The chemistry between MJ and Peter always seemed perfect, sure it might've given teenage boys unrealistic expectations of marriage, but it was great. Thier marriage seemed so happy.

Then I read this.........

Firstly I feel sorry for JMS. I hear he was told to
...more
Ryan Loveless
Sep 15, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
J.
I hated everything about the actual setup--I hate retcons in general, and making a deal with the devil is a particularly cheesy way to do it. BUT, having said that, I really enjoyed the emotion between Peter and MJ in the last two chapters, including some really slow, loving moments which you rarely get in superhero comics. So I'm going to give the book some credit for that.

But in terms of ramifications (both in comics universe, and amongst readers), and making us take Spider-Man comic books ser
...more
Lincoln
Jan 15, 2008 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone who needs something to wipe their ass on
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
George
Apr 09, 2008 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: graphic-novels
Editorially mandated Spider Man reboot (the writer wanted his name removed from the credits) in which Peter Parker sells his marriage to The Devil. Pretty awful, but as I haven't liked the direction Spider Man has been going in for a long time I'm glad they did something.

BTW, Brand New Day is very good.
...more
Carlton
Apr 24, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: graphic-novels
I didn't think I would enjoy reading this, having been spoiled by Wikipedia; but I was thoroughly surprised to find myself completely agreeing with the decisions that JMS and Joe Q. made for this arc. Well done! ...more
Jim Ef
May 06, 2015 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Come on Marvel, you can do better. I find it kind of stupid to be honest. Again and again the same thing. Peter is feeling guilty and he will do anything to make things right, but it never that easy blah blah blah.
Paul
Jul 18, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Fizzgig76
Reprints Amazing Spider-Man (2) #544-545, Sensational Spider-Man (2) #41, and Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (1) #24 (November 2007-January 2008). Aunt May is dying after being shot by a bullet meant for Peter Parker. Now, Peter is out to save May’s life at any cost…and it literally could cost him everything. The task of saving Aunt May could be monumental and the most precious thing in Peter’s life could be the price!

Written by J. Michael Straczynski and Joe Quesada, Spider-Man: One More Day
...more
Marcio Schreiber
May 23, 2020 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
when do I start whith this piece of s**t this was the comic that put the final nail in my deslike for spiderman or irresponsable man is I like to call it now, one more day is everything I dont like about peter parker now, the guy who speaks about responsability but blames everyone about his shortcomings, the guy whos a 40 years old man but still acts and speaks like a edgy teenager, the guy who is not capable of growing or change, the guy whos maturity is the same of a 14 years old douchebag, th ...more
Judah Radd
Aug 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: marvel-comics
So, here’s the deal.

This is a bizarre story, it’s unsatisfying, and it made me uncomfortable. I don’t “agree” with it, if you will. I don’t think it was the best narrative choice, and that’s without getting into the exhaustive the logical implications.

That being said, the character driven writing was inarguably compelling. J. Michael Straczynski clearly had a deep affection for these characters, and it shows with how they express themselves. The fore-mentioned discomfort is due to the fact that
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Amazing Spider-Man: Brand New Day, Vol. 2
  • Spider-Man: Big Time
  • Spider-Man: The Other
  • Amazing Spider-Man: Brand New Day, Vol. 1
  • The Amazing Spider-Man: Kraven's Last Hunt
  • Amazing Spider-Man: Brand New Day, Vol. 3
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier, Volume 2
  • Secret Invasion
  • Spider-Man: Election Day
  • Spider-Man: American Son
  • The Invincible Iron Man, Volume 1: The Five Nightmares
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier, Volume 1
  • The New Avengers, Volume 3: Secrets and Lies
  • The New Avengers, Volume 2: Sentry
  • The New Avengers, Volume 7: The Trust
  • Civil War: Captain America
  • The New Avengers, Volume 5: Civil War
  • Fallen Son: The Death of Captain America
See similar books…
Joseph Michael Straczynski (born July 17, 1954), known professionally as J. Michael Straczynski and informally as Joe Straczynski or JMS, is an American writer and television producer. He works in films, television series, novels, short stories, comic books, and radio dramas. He is a playwright, a former journalist, and author of The Complete Book of Scriptwriting. He was the creator and showrunne ...more

Other books in the series

Amazing Spider-Man (1999) (Collected Editions) (1 - 10 of 50 books)
  • Spider-Man: The Next Chapter Vol. 1
  • Spider-Man: The Next Chapter Vol. 2
  • Spider-Man: The Next Chapter Vol. 3
  • Spider-Man: Revenge of the Green Goblin
  • The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 1: Coming Home
  • The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 2: Revelations
  • The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 3: Until the Stars Turn Cold
  • The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 4: The Life and Death of Spiders
  • The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 5: Unintended Consequences
  • The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 6: Happy Birthday

News & Interviews

Sally Thorne, author of The Hating Game and 99 Percent Mine, explores what it means to take risks for love, and for yourself, in her newest...
105 likes · 11 comments
“You can't just pick up a gun and become a gunfighter, or go off and explore for a new world, or pull a sword out of a stone, or rescue a damsel in distress, or-- so we play games and we read books because the world isn't the world we thought we were supposed to get, the world we thought we'd been promised by somebody. Because things didn't turn out the way they were supposed to. So we go someplace else.” 5 likes
More quotes…