Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Darwin Protocol” as Want to Read:
The Darwin Protocol
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Darwin Protocol

by
4.67  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  5 reviews
In the wake of war and natural disaster, Lily Dimka boarded the colony ship Pax Britanica bound for a new world.
But she never arrived.
Lily, a mute man, a mentally deranged elderly woman, a paralyzed girl, and a young man with only one arm make up the entirety of the survivors of a crash landing after theyre unceremoniously launched back to Earth with only six haunting
...more
Kindle Edition, 72 pages
Published December 18th 2016
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Darwin Protocol, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Darwin Protocol

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-16
Average rating 4.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  9 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Darwin Protocol
Kayla Krantz
Such a thrilling and action-packed read albeit it was very short. I loved the premise of the idea, survivors of a ship being expelled from a ship and coming face to face with a monstrous evolution of mankind. After learning the truth of her and the other survivors situations, Lily must figure out how to survive on an Earth no longer habitable for normal humans.

The book was especially interesting to me because all the main characters had some personal issues that they had to overcome like Lilys
...more
Clifton Kenny
Feb 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The Darwin Protocol by Daniel M. Quilter is a great read! After a long work week, plus riding on a bumpy freeway to LA, This scifi fan still could not put it down! This 40 page short story takes us centuries into the future to a failed attempt at fleeing Earth for greener pastures. The author creates an intriguing setting where our heroes, Lily and Ajmal are cast out with a group of disabled misfits to survive on their own in a dangerous jungle. I enjoyed the diversity of all the characters, the ...more
John Williamson
Feb 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Not what i was expecting.

By the time I was a quarter of the way in I smuggling declared that I knew exactly what was going to happen. I was so wrong!
The plot moves fast as you might expect of a shorter work, but within the unfolding of the storyline the plot twists more than once. The main character is far from perfect as human being, having a selfish streak and demonstrating unbelievable gullibility. This actually made a refreshing change, and with another character taking on the heroic hero
...more
Denise Weldon-siviy
Mar 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Outstanding

This is a great story. Parts reminded me of the Practical Darwinists in Anne MacGaffrey's brain ship series, but with a bit of apocalyptic zombie-like background thrown in for atmosphere. Well worth the read.
Daniel Quilter
Dec 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Drew Cordell
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2017
Adrienne Lewis
Apr 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
I recently read the short story, The Darwin Protocol, by Daniel M. Quilter, and it was a fun read with an interesting idea about the future. Lily wakes up aboard the Pax Britannica with the alarms blaring and a computer voice telling her The Darwin Protocol has been activated.

The story that follows is one of discovery as Lily and the others who survived the landing must find out why they were chosen and if their ship is still intact with the other survivors.
We soon discover Lily has a unique
...more
Drew Cordell
rated it it was amazing
Jan 17, 2017
Mary Ellen Dryden
rated it really liked it
Aug 16, 2017
Shelia
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2017
Andy
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2017
Stacy
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2017
Kent
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2017
Kim
marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2018
Taylor
marked it as to-read
Aug 11, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
16 followers
Daniel M Quilter grew up in Orem, Utah right at the foot of the Rocky Mountains. He spent his time hiking, camping, rock climbing, and anything else outdoors. He currently lives in Utah with his wife, Lauryn. He attended Utah Valley University and spent two years in Portugal as a missionary for the LDS chruch. He published his first book, A Soul Divided, in 2014.

Related Articles

Veronica Roth's newest book, Chosen Ones, arrives in U.S. stores on April 7. Known for the Divergent trilogy and the Carve the Mark duology, the ...
5 likes · 0 comments