Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “All's Faire in Middle School” as Want to Read:
All's Faire in Middle School
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

All's Faire in Middle School

4.14  ·  Rating details ·  4,750 ratings  ·  916 reviews
The author of Roller Girl is back with a graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing family, and the Renaissance Faire.

Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she's eager to begin her own training as a squire. First, though, she'll need to prove her bravery. Luckily Impy has just the qu
...more
Hardcover, 248 pages
Published September 5th 2017 by Dial Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about All's Faire in Middle School, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
This question contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
Isabel
This answer contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
Violet I liked both of the books. Roller girl and this book have a lot in common but they are also different in some ways. Roller Girl was more about a young…moreI liked both of the books. Roller girl and this book have a lot in common but they are also different in some ways. Roller Girl was more about a young girl devoted to a sport that she never tried. This book was more about a homeschooled girl being thrown to the wolves(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  4,750 ratings  ·  916 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Lola
A new graphic novel by the author of ROLLER GIRL! How happy I was to receive this book in the mail. ROLLER GIRL was emotional, realistic and engrossing. I couldn’t put it down.

ALL’S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL is very different. For starters, it’s about a girl whose parents work at a faire. The renaissance faire is quite an important element, so if like me you never think about faires and never really were quite that interested in them, it will not impress you.

To be honest, I think this is a fair bo
...more
Vanessa
Sep 25, 2018 rated it liked it
Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl was one of the best graphic novels I read this year. It's one of the best graphic novels I’ve read ever. So it was natural I'd look for more of her work.

I liked this story, but it's NO Roller Girl.

Imogene has been home-schooled through the 5th grade, but now she's decided to tackle public school. And let's face it--public school is terrifying and, going off of my rusty memory, middle school was a meaner place than high school. Not to mention Imogene has an eccent
...more
Abby Johnson
Okay, I loved ROLLER GIRL, but this one is even better.

Victoria Jamieson presents a story about navigating middle school but with a twist. Imogene's grown up with her Renaissance Faire family. Every summer since she can remember, she's worked at her parents' shoppe and this year she's finally becoming an apprentice in the cast. She's also starting middle school (her choice) after years of being homeschooled. Middle school, it turns out, is trickier than Imogene had anticipated and she finds her
...more
Dov Zeller
Note: Some spoilers in here.

In some ways All's Faire in Middle School closely resembles a lot of other middle school stories:

-The protagonist is new in school, in this case new TO school, and she doesn't have any friends, doesn't know how to "fit in."
-She finds herself taken in by a kind of mean-girls-ish in-crowd.
-The in-crowd-girls aren't the best, as you can imagine, and it doesn't take long for them to show their mean side and to find subtle and not-so-subtle ways of cutting the protagonis
...more
Kiera
May 10, 2018 rated it liked it
Great read, really fast and realistic.
I love how the author described middle school and how imogene tried everything and discovered it is much cooler to be yourself than someone else a valuable lesson for all girls and boys of any age loved it!
3.5 stars
Jenna
I mean, if you (like me) had the initial reaction of, Hey! A colorful and whimsical graphic novel about a middle school girl’s coming of age? while she and her family work at a Renaissance Faire for a living?? That sounds intriguing! - then yes, of course you are correct and you should definitely read this. It is very unique.

Like many, I went for this book based on my love for Roller Girl, which is about the best middle grade baby feminist graphic novel possible, in my view. Everyone will probab
...more
La Coccinelle
Near the end of last year, I read the delightful Roller Girl. It was the best graphic novel I'd read all year (or, ever, at that point, since I was fairly new to the format). So when I saw that the author had a new book out, I was eager to have a look. Maybe it's because my expectations were really high after Roller Girl, but... I wasn't crazy about this one.

One thing I do love about Jamieson's books is that she introduces readers to experiences they might not be that familiar with. In the case
...more
Shenwei
Aug 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
this was a lot of fun to read. it shows the ways peer pressure and the desire to fit in can lead you astray and how to cope with being socially isolated, make up for mistakes/hurting others, and be true to yourself
Amy
Jun 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2018
Another book that I would have loved as a kid but my old lady (36 years old) curmudgeonly brain can't get over the familiar tropes and YA angst. Highly recommend to the middle grade/YA crowd. Tentative recommend to the old lady crowd.
Ms. Yingling
May 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
E ARC from Edelweiss Above the Treeline

Imogene (Impy) lives with her family in a run down apartment, and has been homeschooled for years, because her mother and father both work at the local Renaissance Fair. With middle school approaching, Impy has decided that she wants to go to public school, although she is apprehensive about how the other children will treat her and how she will fit in. She is lucky on the first day when Mika invites her to sit with her at lunch with her friends Sasha and E
...more
Emma
Jan 15, 2018 rated it liked it
It was fun to learn about the niche culture of renaissance fairs, but this is basically a recycled plot just like thousands of other middle school coming of age novels: innocent girl goes to middle school, tries to fit in, joins with the wrong clique/mean girls crowd, bullying and general poor life decisions ensue, eventually the girl rises above by just being herself and puts the mean girl in her place. It's done well and the Faire was fun, but overall this doesn't add anything new to the middl ...more
Xueting
May 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
I LOVED Victoria Jamieson’s previous graphic novel, “Rollergirl,” so I was super excited to read this one. It did not disappoint. It’s more than your standard fare of a new girl who struggles to fit in at middle school. The renaissance faire stuff fit in very naturally and meaningfully with the middle school storyline, making the story unique. I also like that Imogene, our protagonist, doesn’t completely fall prey to the Popular Girls. She’s perceptive; she naturally wants to fit in and be liked ...more
Raina
Nov 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
Life is all about niches. Subcultures. Communities. Living in 2018, I'm struck by how tunnel-visiony everyones lives are on a daily basis.

Imogene is part of the reinactment/RenFaire community. She's also homeschooled, which can be a subcultural experience itself. But this year, she's starting public middle school. And joining this new community forces her to define herself in new ways.

When I first heard of this book, I figured it would be one I strongly identified with. I was homeschooled, I lov
...more
Mary
This is an impossible-to-put down graphic novel about a Renaissance Faire knight-in-training homeschooler, Imogene (Impy), who is starting public school for the first time. Impy's family life is socially and economically tied to the local Renaissance Faire so she has grown up in an unconventional household. She is eager to enter a "normal" environment and make "normal" friends. Impy learns some tough lessons about friendship, family, and that being true to one's self is the real normal. Jamieson ...more
Megan
Jun 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
As a 25-year-old reading this book, I'm like a.) where can I sign up to be Impy's best friend and b.) really surprised by how much I relate to Impy's "I love the Renaissance Faire so much and that's a super nerdy hobby but how do I tell people?" conundrum. 11/10, will definitely read again.
Adam
Sep 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The Renaissance Faire graphic novel you've been waiting for.
Sarah Hannah
I didn't love this as much as Roller Girl in the reading experience, but I do think it's a really brilliantly rendered portrait of middle school. It doesn't shy away from showing how truly mean tweens can be to each other, rather than melodramatic and/or comical meanness you see in a lot of other middle grade. This book also gets points for parents who seem really real. I also really appreciated how it showed the lower middle class, because I feel like we don't see that in books. The Vega family ...more
Sophia
Jan 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is an awesome book!!
Amber
Oct 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: librarybooks
Imogene is training to be a knight at the Florida Renaissance Faire but when she decides to go to middle school, will she be able to survive this new environment? Read on and find out for yourself.

This was a pretty good graphic novel and the art was awesome. Definitely check this book out now in bookstores everywhere.
Brittany
Sep 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
I absolutely adored Imogene. She makes a lot of big mistakes, but she learns from them too. Regardless of whether or not you've ever been homeschooled, I think her middle school experience rings true and every middle schooler is going to identify with at least one aspect of it. The renaissance faire setting adds a unique appeal and helps move the story forward. First in Roller Girl and now with this, Victoria Jamieson has a knack for writing irresistible, underdog-esque characters.
Shauna Yusko
Perfection in a book. Dare I say better than Roller Girl???
Mr. Steve
Oct 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
Victoria Jamieson has another winner! Kids can't get enough of these colorful and thoughtful graphic novels, so keep them coming.
steph
3.5 stars

Cute book. Pretty sub-standard middle school plot line - new girl, having a hard time fitting in, mean girls etc., but with the addition of the Renaissance fair setting (Impy's parents and their fellow actors were so well done). The illustrations were great though, I really liked how the author drew background character's facial expressions. Even if they didn't speak during that particular panel I still understand their opinions/feeling/etc.

I still prefer Awkward or Sunny Side Up for mi
...more
Lauren
Great readalike for Raina Telgemeier, Roller Girl, Dork Diaries, kids who liked Beverly Cleary when they were younger. Realistic story about family, friendship, and the middle school (*shudder*), but has a small doorway for historical fantasy/game nerd kids (and adults) through the Renaissance Faire plot thread. Art is fun and cute but also subtly complex. Story is deceivingly complex as well; one of my favorite aspects is that kids' emotions and motivations (and adults emotions too!) are not si ...more
Ellen
Sep 19, 2017 rated it liked it
Full color graphic novel, friendship, homeschooling, new school, sexuality, growing up, socioeconomic differences, popularity, good vs. evil, racism, mixed race

Will definitely be a hit with Telgemeier/Jamieson fans, but I felt that she tried to tackle too many issues (see above) and never fully fleshed out any of them as a result.
Katy Vance
Sep 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
That was so lovely! Take aways: 1. You’re not the center of the universe. 2. Sometimes when you think you’re the knight, you’re actually the dragon. 3. It’s nice to be nice. To everyone.

Great book.
Mehsi
A girl, always homeschooled, starts with middle school and deals with all the confusing things there. Sadly, this one and I weren't meant to be.

I was very excited to start this one, I loved the author's other graphic novel, Roller Girl, and so I couldn't wait to start this one. Sadly, it had good moments, but it also had many eh moments. Many many of those in the end.

I loved the Ren fair, and that she was eventually working there. Helping out her dad, trying to become a knight, juggling class an
...more
ElphaReads
I first encountered Victoria Jamieson's work with her excellent graphic novel ROLLER GIRL. I swore to myself that I would definitely read anything else that she put out, since I adored that one so much, so when I found out that she had a new graphic novel for kids/tweens/early teens I was stoked. When I found out that it was set partially at a Renaissance Faire, I cackled. You see, I have this thing where I can't stand our local Renaissance Festival, but then forget that I hate it and go back ev ...more
Marathon County Public Library

From the author of Roller Girl comes another tale of middle school and what true friendship looks like. Imogene has been homeschooled her whole life to accommodate her family's involvement in a local Renaissance Faire. Imogene loves the Faire; she helps out in her mother's shop, and aspires to be a knight someday. Imogene decides to give middle school a try instead of homeschooling. It sounds like a great idea at first, but as the first day draws nearer and nearer, Imogene's anxiety about the fi

...more
Stefanie
Sep 17, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars for Victoria Jamieson's latest graphic novel! Imogene has grown up at the Renaissance Faire where her parents work and up until now, she's been home schooled. Imogene's journey begins as she enters Middle School for the first time. No amount of training as a knight can prepare her for the trials and tribulations of....sixth grade! Tests of friendship, bullies, sibling rivalry and a strict teacher all help her along the path to discovering who she is on this bumpy adventure! I love Jami ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Play Book Tag: All's Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson - 4 stars 2 13 Sep 26, 2018 05:24PM  
  • The Cardboard Kingdom
  • Brave (Awkward, #2)
  • Swing it, Sunny
  • All Summer Long
  • Mighty Jack (Mighty Jack, #1)
  • The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo
  • Peter & Ernesto: A Tale of Two Sloths
  • Be Prepared
  • Sanity & Tallulah
  • The Stone Heart (The Nameless City, #2)
  • The Sand Warrior (5 Worlds, #1)
  • Real Friends
  • Written and Drawn by Henrietta
  • Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt (A Narwhal and Jelly Book #2)
  • Star Scouts
  • Tiger vs. Nightmare
  • The Great Big Boom (HiLo, #3)
  • New Shoes
“I think one of the nicest feelings in the world has to be someone scooching over for you.” 0 likes
More quotes…