Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lily's Mountain” as Want to Read:
Lily's Mountain
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lily's Mountain

3.79  ·  Rating details ·  175 ratings  ·  47 reviews
Lily refuses to believe what everyone else accepts to be true: that her father has died while climbing Denali, the highest mountain in North America. Lily has grown up hiking in the Alaskan wilderness with her dad. He's an expert climber. There's no way he would let something like this happen. So instead of grieving, Lily decides to rescue him. Her plan takes her to Denali ...more
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published November 14th 2017 by HMH Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lily's Mountain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lily's Mountain

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.79  · 
Rating details
 ·  175 ratings  ·  47 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Lily's Mountain
Ms. Yingling
Jul 18, 2017 rated it liked it
E ARC from Edelweiss Above the Treeline

Lily's father has climbed Denali mountain peak six times, but his last trip ended in a freak accident. A glacier shifted unexpectedly, opening a crevasse underneath him and pulling him to his death. Lily, her mother, and older sister Sophie are dazed by the news, but Lily remains convinced that he is not dead and needs her to rescue him. She manages to talk her mother into letting her and Sophie go to Denali as long as they abide by her rules and check in w
...more
Melanie Crowder
Mar 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I read an early version of this book. Heart-full and stunning!
Garrett Gaudin
Lily's dad loved to go hiking and she loved to go with him. But when her dad goes to hike Denali for the last time nothing seems like it could go wrong until they get the call. Her dad may be gone forever and thats what most people seem to think, besides Lily. She sets out on an journey to find her father through the rough Alaskan wilderness. Will she find her father or is he really gone.
I think that this is a great book and I can see why it was awarded the Maine Student book award for 2017 201
...more
Scottsdale Public Library
Lily and her family live in Alaska, and with Mount Denali practically in their backyard, climbing and hiking is just a way of life. Especially for Lily's dad, who taught her everything she knows about outdoor survival. So when her family receives word he encountered a fatal accident on his last hike, she simply cannot believe it. This man, who is extremely knowledgeable of the outdoors, wouldn't make such a rookie mistake. Thus begins Lily's journey to re-trace his steps and, hopefully, bring hi ...more
Helena B
Nov 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I do not fully understand why some people assume that this book is unrealistic. Lily’s mother did not actually send her and Sophie to go looking for their father, Lily just desperately wanted to find him. This heart-wrenching adventure, in my opinion, deserves much more than simply three stars. Hannah Moderow’s story is quite plausible, and I, for one, loved this book and still treasure it now. It deserves to be appreciated, because it seriously isn’t easy to write a book, and for her first book ...more
Chris
Feb 01, 2018 rated it liked it
“Climbing mountains is the surest way to kiss the sky and sleep close to the stars,” so says Lily’s father in “Lily’s Mountain,” by Hannah Moderow. It’s the exciting story of a 12-year-old girl who goes searching for her dad after he disappears while climbing Denali.
The peak is the highest in North America, and Lily’s dad has reached the summit six times – but it’s feared his seventh attempt may have ended in disaster – that the experienced climber has fallen into a crevasse. But why wasn’t he r
...more
Fats
Jan 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
Let us probe the silent places,
let us seek what luck betides us;
Let us journey to a lonely land I know.
There's a whisper on the night-wind,
there's a star agleam to guide us,
And the Wild is calling, calling . . . let us go.

- Excerpt from "The Call of the Wild" by Robert Service

It took me but a few lines from the first page to know that this was going to be a quick read. Lily's Mountain is the story of a twelve-year-old girl named Lily who embarked on a journey to Denali National Park with her ol
...more
Laura Gardner
Dec 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5 for this super quick #mglit book by @hannah.moderow
_*_*_*_*_*
Lily’s dad loves hiking Denali in Alaska. He left over three weeks ago to hike it with a buddy, but this time he didn’t come back. Lily doesn’t believe it, though, and insists on going to Denali herself with her older sister Sophie. They promise to stay in the base camp, but Lily has a plan to go rescue her father herself...
_*_*_*_*_*
Someone in my IG feed mentioned this as a readalike to THE HONEST TRUTH by @dangemeinhart
...more
Diana
I'm a huge sucker for adventure stories and my favorite adventure stories are hands down about mountaineering. Lily's Mountain checks off all these boxes for me in a quick, easy middle grade format. Lily and her family are Alaska natives and their conversations and subsequent adventures nicely highlight the Alaskan tundra and Denali park. This can serve as a introduction to wildlife and mountaineering if it's your first book on the topic and also reads as a good stand-alone adventure book for ki ...more
Alison
Sep 21, 2018 rated it liked it
It was okay, I think one and a half thumbs up. (thumbs ups?) The story was good and I liked how Lily's normally moody sister was nice for once. Seems like a good sister. I should probably say what the story was about... So there's this girl Lily and she lives in Alaska. She loves hiking and climbing mountains with her dad, and her dad's climbed Denali like 6 times. One of the hikes though, he falls into a crevasse which is like a giant crack in the ice. Everyone believes he's dead but Lily decid ...more
Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*
Moderow, Hannah Lily’s Mountain, 182 pages. Houghton Mifflin, 2018. $17. Content: G (1 swear).

Lily, 12, Sophie, 18, and their mother have received the worst news – their father has disappeared into a suddenly appearing crevasse while descending from his favorite mountain, Denali, in Alaska. Lily refuses to believe that her capable father would allow such a thing to happen, so she convinces Sophie to go with her to Denali to look for him themselves, since no one else will. While they have some sk
...more
CaliNativeBalboa
Nov 29, 2018 rated it really liked it
I'm rating "Lily's Mountain" higher than I would an adult or YA novel mainly due to the subject matter. I'll give a boost to any novel aimed at teens/tweens that may lure them to the outdoors from their small screens.
When Lily's mountaineer father disappears on North America's highest peak, Denali, she refuses to accept his death and embarks upon a rescue attempt with her older sister Sophie. I love any teen/tween book that broadens their horizons and "Lily's Mountain" not only introduces the re
...more
Leah
Nov 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A Denali Adventure

Written in the voice of a 12 year old, Lily's Mountain brings us an unexpected adventure filled with expectation, sorrow, and finally comfort. Alaska's Denali, the highest mountain in North America and such a wilderness icon, was Lily's dad's major passion and obsession; he unexpectedly died as he hiked in his favorite place. I kept hoping Lily and her older sister Sophie would find their dad alive after they set out to retrace his possible route, but that didn't happen. Howeve
...more
Andee
Feb 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
I gave this read 4 stars for it's intended audience - which is not a 48 year old woman. I love the adventure story where girls are the main characters. They show strength and determination - qualities I think will attract middle grade readers to this book. The news of Lily's dad's death comes right away so we know this is the main plot point of the story.

I appreciate Moderow's love of Denali and her quest to take readers on an adventure there. If I looked at my own life, I'd never think there wa
...more
Becky
Jun 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: grief
Mountaineers often put their lives on the line, but Charley, Lily's dad, takes every precaution possible, so when news comes of his death on his beloved Denali, Lily just can't believe it. This spurs Lily to take a journey to Denali to rescue her father for she is sure that the rescuers gave up too soon.

This novel follows Lily and more subtly, her sister Sophie, on their journeys of grief after their strong, adventurous, sure-footed father falls to his death so unexpectedly. While the novel read
...more
Courtenay
Jul 05, 2019 rated it liked it
As an adult climber reading this book as a possible comparable to my own manuscript, I found myself having to suspend disbelief a number of times which bumped me out of the story. But in the end, overlooking the faults, I found it was an enjoyable children's book about a girl's journey to try to find out what happened to her father. I really liked the relationship Lily had with her older sister Sophie, but found it hard to believe their grieving mother would just let the girls head off in the Al ...more
Linda V
Jun 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 7-16-12-17
Thank you Net Galley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Lily's family lives in Alaska and climbing mountains is an important part of their lives. Although Lily's father is an experienced climber he falls into a crevasse when climbing Denali. After an extensive search he is not found and declared dead. In the absence of his body Lily continues to hope that he is alive and is driven to go to Denali and find him. She and her sister Sophie set off on a journey driven by their devotion to t
...more
Violet
Nov 06, 2017 rated it liked it
I won a ARC of this book through a GR giveaway (which was VERY exciting).

This is the story of a girl whose father dies while climbing a mountain. She refuses to believe he died and so she goes to find him.

The story progresses pretty quickly and a lot of dramatic things happen on her journey.
If everything that happens to Lily, happened to you while you were pretty much eating only candy for food (like Lily was), you would die for sure.

That's one thing I noticed about this story. Lily has SUCH an
...more
Engel Dreizehn
Jun 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
ARC copy for review....it's very much a coming and age story set int he Alaskan wilderness. For I found the protagonist...she may be young but she is determined, skilled to the point of attempting to climb the mountain herself to find her dad and nothing is going to stop her. However she has her venerable moments like pondering about the fate of her dad's climb on the mountain, and the possible outcome he died on the mountain. The imagery of the Alaskan wilderness very shines and is very much on ...more
Bekka
Thanks to HMH Books for Young Readers and Netgalley for early access to this title.
3 1/2 stars -
This was quite a touching novel about dealing with one of the worst things that can happen to a child. I thought the author handled it quite well. The writing was good, and the characters well done. I question the actualities a bit - can real kids in our real world do what the sisters did and survive? However, its a thought provoking read. There's not a lot of books done on this subject in a realistic
...more
Lisa
Nov 01, 2017 rated it liked it
Lily's family gets the news that her dad has died while returning from a climb up Mt. Denali. Lily holds onto the hope that her father is alive even though everyone around her knows that it's impossible. Lily thinks she can find him so she convinces her mother to let her go with her sister to the mountain. Lily's journey captures the beauty and danger of hiking through the Alaskan wilderness. Lily is determined and resilient and although she doesn't find what she wants she gets the closure she n ...more
Sharon
Nov 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
5th&up, 3.5 stars

In this gentle, bittersweet story, when a young girl is told that her adventurous father has died while climbing Mount Denali, she is certain that everyone is wrong and that he is just lost, waiting to be rescued. In her quest to go after him, she embarks on a dangerous journey with her older sister- one that will provide healing and hope for the future if they manage to survive.

This arc was provided by HMH Books for Young Readers/ Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in exchange for an ho
...more
Sarah
Nov 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
Lily's father was an expert and lifelong mountain climber. However, he recently fell into a mountain crevasse and is presumed dead. Lily refuses to believe this. She and her older sister sneak off to Mount Denali to search for their father. The sisters face some unexpected challenges and difficult emotions, while racing against time to save their father.

I thought it was interesting and an age appropriate presentation of grief. The Alaskan landscape made this book more interesting and unique.
Rebecca
Dec 13, 2017 rated it liked it
I wanted to like this but kept finding things that put me off. Nothing specific but Lily seemed not consistently believable to me. And while I don’t believe all bad actions need to have consequences in children’s books, this trek was not presented as the incredibly dangerous undertaking that it was. The dangers pass quickly and they don’t talk about hypothermia nearly enough. No warm food, one sleeping bag, wet clothes: recipe for disaster. I never felt the fear they should have had given their ...more
Becky
Jan 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Lily and Sophie's journey to find their father after he disappears on Denali is a beautiful, heart-wrenching coming-of-age story. It hit me especially close to home because so many of the mountains, campgrounds, and trails are places on which I grew up, too. A truly Alaskan story featuring a heroine with whom anyone can experience sorrow, joy, and hope. Absolutely suitable for late elementary grades and middle school.
Elaine Fultz
Lily refuses to believe that her father died on his latest climb/descent of Denali. She plans to go to the base of the mountain and rescue him. This is mostly an MG adventure/survival novel with grief themes expertly woven in. The AK wilderness (Lily being spiked by a porcupine, attacked by a grizzly, and nearly drowned in glacial river) is practically another character in this story likely to rivet most readers.
Merrilyn Tucker
Dec 23, 2017 rated it liked it
When Lily's experienced mountain-climber father falls into a crevasse and dies, her whole family goes into shock and mourning. What could possibly have happened to cause Father not to rope up to his fellow climbers? Believing that her father is still alive, Lily, 12-years-old, and her 18-year-old sister, Sophie, go out looking for him without their mother's explicit permission. As far as Mother is concerned, the girls are going to camp at the base of Denali, not hike up to seek Father near the g ...more
Alycia
Aug 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A great book to introduce Alaska and Denali to young readers while also tackling grief, acceptance, and what to do with your overloaded backpack when you fall while crossing the McKinley River (take it off!). This book is fast, with short chapters, and might make you think there is a mosquito on your leg but it is beautifully written.
Rachel Rooney
A 2019-2020 Missouri Mark Twain Readers Award preliminary nominee (grades 4-6).

Lily has been hiking with her dad all her life, so when news comes that her dad has died while climbing Denali, the highest mountain in North America, she refuses to accept it. She convinces her sister to take her to the park, and they go looking for their dad.

This is a good book about grief, but not great.
DaBossReader
Aug 13, 2019 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Max and the Midknights
  • Varjak Paw  (Varjak Paw #1)
  • The Children of Green Knowe (Green Knowe, #1)
  • Playing the Matrix: A Program for Living Deliberately and Creating Consciously
  • The Outlaw Varjak Paw
  • Spy for the Queen of Scots
  • Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc
  • The Vegan Instant Pot Cookbook: Wholesome, Indulgent Plant-Based Recipes
  • Meadowlark
  • The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise
  • The Last Letter from Juliet
  • Sweeping Up the Heart
  • The Ghosts of Heaven
  • Shouting at the Rain
  • Blended
  • Mothers Who Can't Love: A Healing Guide for Daughters
  • Planet Earth Is Blue
  • Best Friends (Real Friends, #2)
See similar books…

News & Interviews

As dedicated readers already know, some of the best and most innovative stories on the shelves come from the constantly evolving realm of young ...
19 likes · 4 comments