Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Inyoni Rocks (Amanzimtoti, #2)” as Want to Read:
Inyoni Rocks (Amanzimtoti, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Inyoni Rocks

(Amanzimtoti #2)

by
4.37  ·  Rating details ·  38 ratings  ·  22 reviews
After a bleak winter break alternately spent between the snowy mountaintops of the Drakensberg and a self-imposed exile upon his return to Amanzimtoti, Wayne du Preez finds himself commencing his third term at Toti High with something akin to dread as the tangled web of secrets and lies he’s been spinning since the start of matric steadily begin to unravel.

With Kyle still
...more
ebook, 330 pages
Published April 11th 2017 by Paper Wolf Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Inyoni Rocks, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Inyoni Rocks

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.37  · 
Rating details
 ·  38 ratings  ·  22 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Inyoni Rocks (Amanzimtoti, #2)
Nelou Keramati
Mar 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Carmen sure knows how to pull at your heart-strings!

So I had the pleasure of reading the second novel in the Amanzimtoti series weeks ago, and I'm finally getting around to writing my review.

What I love about Carmen-Shea Hepburn's writing is how her attention to detail is so multifaceted. When you read her words, you're not just spectating. You become the characters. And she does such a stellar job at capturing the inner turmoil of her characters that their thoughts and feelings truly become you
...more
Chesca (thecrownedpages)
The Ridge (Amanzimtoti,
#1)
| Read my review on The Ridge

WE HAVE A COVER!

Release Date: April 11, 2017
An ARC was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

OKAY, SO OMG. I NEED MORE!

Inyoni Rocks is the heart-shattering but hopeful sequel to The Ridge. It will stir your emotions into a chaotic vortex.

This is so much better than its predecessor because of how intense everything that happened was, like a dam bursting, unable to contain what it was keeping in. HOW CAN ONE BE SO CALM
...more
Sandra (LadyGrey Reads)
description

"How could God hate you? He loves all his children, Wayne. God can't hate you for the way he made you."

I received a copy of this book from the author. This has in no way impacted on my review.

This. Book. Broke. Me.

Considering the first book, I knew it would. This book deals with equally dark and heavy topics as the first one - and they feel just as real. Even though the text is captivating and rich, you sometimes have to put the book down just to remind yourself that you are just reading wor
...more
Jade Diamond
Mar 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of Inyoni Rocks from the Author for review consideration. This has in no way influenced my opinion of this book.

Inyoni Rocks is the Sequel to The Ridge, a brilliant début set in South Africa. It takes up not long after the last book. The story is told in the third-person POV of Wayne Du Preez. I’ve been waiting for this sequel for a while now. I adored the first book, so I was pretty hyped up to read this sequel. I was hooked on finding out what happened to the characters and t
...more
Bárbara
Mar 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
*Review of an ARC provided by the author*

4.5 stars!

I'd been waiting to get my hands on this book since the very second I hit the end of book 1. I knew the sky-high expectations could make this experience go very right, or very wrong.

Thank god, it was the former. I'm currently sitting in front of my computer, making time with some context and shit while I wait for my brain to get it together so I can write a proper review. Keep in mind I don't work with the RTC system; what works for me is to wr
...more
Andreja
“And you— you need to sort your head out, Wayne. You need to— this isn’t healthy. What you’ve been doing to yourself.”
------
“I know you’re tired, Wayne,” Kyle started, seemingly unbothered by his proximity to Wayne. “But I need you to get out of bed today. You can’t sleep your life away. You can’t give up.”


description

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Oh wow that was a wild ride. This book was the reason my Kindle slipped out of my hands and fell on the floor because I was
...more
Megan (ReadingRover)
This book is so heartbreaking. The social issues it tackles are extremely intense and it is done really well. No one should have to go through things that Wayne went through. No one should have to feel that alone and alienated from their own family. As hard as this book was to read I think that it's also a really important book because it shows some very realistic though horrible outcomes of what can happen to people who are different in unaccepting families and societies.
I"m glad that the book
...more
Tiffany
Apr 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: first-reads
He'd been drowning so long now Wayne wasn't sure he could be trusted to save anyone, let alone himself.

Book 2 picks up right where book 1 left off, in the aftermath of an unconscious decision buried deep within Wayne's being. It was heartbreaking to watch as Wayne struggled even in the face of those who so deeply love him. It was just as heartbreaking to see those who love him struggle with not knowing what to do to help Wayne either.

"I can't trust you, Kyle," Wayne whispered, driving his
...more
Keihi
Apr 04, 2017 rated it liked it
I feel like this is a perfect example of "right book, wrong reader". I can definitely see the value of this story, but unfortunately, it was not one for me. I have it on good authority though, that if you're a fan of Adam Silvera's books, you are gonna love this. :)

First of all, it's very trigger-heavy, to name a few: homophobia, suicide attempts, abuse, hate crimes, implied past rape.

Secondly, the author is very good at making the reader feel things. Those were, unfortunately, not the things I
...more
Hulttio
Mar 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
(I received an ARC copy of this book. This is an honest review.)

Where can I start… Kyle and Wayne’s journey in the Amanzimtoti has seen me at low points, and somehow each and every time I’ve read the books, I manage to tie my feelings into the stories that the author weaves and make them something personal to me. If you’ve seen my review of the first book, you know that I had some issues with characterization and that, while the book was incredibly moving, it was far from perfect. I felt that In
...more
Jhavon
Jun 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Inyoni Rocks picks up right after the end of The Ridge and covers the fallout and aftermath of Wayne having to finally reveal his secret to Jessica. In many ways Inyoni Rocks was even better than the first book and I was glad to see that this series lost no momentum from the first book to the second.

This book was an absolute roller coaster of emotions for me, and on more than one occasion I had to put it down for a second to collect myself simply because of the anger or frustration I felt at a
...more
Sandra Del Rio
Jun 29, 2017 rated it really liked it

I was given a free ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.


I don't know where to even start when reviewing this book. Frankly, I was left a bit speechless after finishing it. Well, I'll start with the plot. Inyoni Rocks immediately picks up where the first book left off, which follows a gay teen struggling to find himself in a homophobic community within South Africa. It doesn't help that he has suffered from various forms of abuse from his family.

Last year, I read The Ridge (Ama
...more
Júlia Freitas
Mar 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kindle
I got sent an ARC copy of this book to review by the author. Nevertheless, this is my honest opinion.

The first part of this series had me crying, literally, the love, the action, THE FRIENDSHIP. Just anything related to it makes me want to jump in excitement, so as soon as I received Carmen's mail saying that if I wanted a copy of the sequel I was like:

HEEEEEEEEEEEEELL YES

And as soon as she sent me the eBook, I started reading it and, oh dear Lord. I have some things to talk about.

The character
...more
Jennifer Oliveira
*ARC received from the author*

First, I need to talk about character development. It's rare to see this much change in the space of two books, and I love it. The opinions I had of certain characters have now changed to the opposite, a full 180º turn. It's very unusual and it's all improvement. Kyle is the most obvious in terms of development for me. I had a lot of bad feelings towards him because of his actions in the first book and while I still have some reserves...well, let's just say I now wa
...more
Kaitlin Warwick
Mar 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Keira
rated it it was amazing
Jun 10, 2017
Cleo
rated it did not like it
Mar 10, 2020
Fujoster
rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2017
Lex
Mar 31, 2017 rated it really liked it
*I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

I wasn't at all sure about reading this book but when the chance arose to read it before publication I couldn't not accept it. Months passed since I read the first book, and this was enough time for me to not feel that annoyed because of Wayne's behaviour and to gather enough strength to read the second book. Still it was an emotionally exhausting novel. Actually, I became a little bit depressed but it was worth it.

'Inyoni Rock
...more
SpeedX
rated it it was amazing
Mar 31, 2018
Vincent Dalton
rated it really liked it
Aug 12, 2019
Holly
Apr 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I read this one as quick as the last and it was just as good..

4.5 stars ✨

Full review to come.
Titus
rated it it was amazing
Apr 06, 2018
Hannes Jooste
rated it really liked it
May 04, 2017
Charlotte
Apr 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to Charlotte by: ARC
Reviewed from free ARC copy sent by the author in return for an impartial review.

The second in a series, the sequel, the follow-up album - there is a stereotype of these all being troublesome, of not living up to their predecessors. I'm glad to say that this is not a problem for 'Inyoni Rocks', the middle child of Carmen-Shea Hepburn's Amanzimtoti trilogy. If anything, this novel supercedes 'The Ridge', her debut. It delves deeper, pushes harder, moves more painfully. Although told completely fr
...more
David
rated it liked it
Apr 23, 2017
Becky
rated it it was amazing
Apr 20, 2017
Pari
Rating: 4.5

Recommendation: To all those who have read The Ridge, of course, and to all those who think problems during the teenage years are "just a phase".

Last year, I had reviewed Amanzimtoti 1: The Ridge. Where I thought the first book was a huge tsunami, I did not expect Inyoni Rocks to crash down upon me like it did.

I had been waiting for the sequel since the day I finished reading the Ridge, and when Ms. Hepburn emailed me, I was so, so excited. My exams were about to start the next week b
...more
Hadley
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2017
Sarah
rated it really liked it
May 10, 2017
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Lightning-Struck Heart (Tales From Verania, #1)
  • Heartstopper: Volume Two (Heartstopper, #2)
  • Undue Influence: A Persuasion Retelling
  • True
  • Crossing the Line  (A Taboo Love, #3)
  • Heteroflexible (Spruce Texas #3)
  • Axios: A Spartan Tale
  • Tarragon Academy (Tarragon #1)
  • Tarragon Dreams (Tarragon #2)
  • Liberty
  • The Bravest Thing
  • Tarragon War (Tarragon #3)
  • Behind These Doors (Radical Proposals #1)
  • Sword Dance
  • A Taste of Sin (Secrets in Edgewood, #1)
  • Sacrati
  • Tournament of Losers
  • Tarragon Shadows (Tarragon # 4)
See similar books…
Carmen-Shea is a half-South African, half-Scottish hybrid with the confused accent to go with it.

A child of two countries, she’s never quite been able to settle in one place for very long and has only just returned to the UK after spending the past two-and-a-half years backpacking her way around Australia, and the gorgeous Middle Earth (that’s New Zealand for the uninitiated!).

She’s been a writer
...more

Other books in the series

Amanzimtoti (2 books)
  • The Ridge (Amanzimtoti, #1)

Related Articles

This June, as we observe LGBTQ Pride—the annual celebration of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning communities—we wa...
170 likes · 71 comments