Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Finding God in the Body: A Spiritual Path for the Modern West” as Want to Read:
Finding God in the Body: A Spiritual Path for the Modern West
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Finding God in the Body: A Spiritual Path for the Modern West

by
3.76  ·  Rating details ·  45 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Finding God in the Body turns inward to examine the human condition, meeting personal suffering with heartfelt insight and transformative practice. It steers clear of the wishful thinking, unfounded beliefs, and cynicism that define much of the spirituality genre.
Ben Riggs leaves no stone unturned, addressing each stage of the journey as he explores the space between fund
...more
Paperback, first, 216 pages
Published January 2nd 2017 by Creatspace
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Finding God in the Body, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Finding God in the Body

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.76  · 
Rating details
 ·  45 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Finding God in the Body: A Spiritual Path for the Modern West
Andrew Furst
Dec 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Finding God in the Body recasts the teachings of Jesus in a contemplative light, outlining a path for Western Buddhists to do the work that Thich Nhat Hanh has implored us to do; that of reconciling with our root tradition. Drawing lines between bodhicitta and prayer, meditation and contemplation, Mr. Riggs reminds us that Christian spirituality does indeed provide a practice-based approach to the God within each of us. He does us all a great service in showing us that there is no place like hom ...more
Julius
Apr 08, 2017 rated it it was ok
Benjamin Riggs' Finding God in the Body: A Spiritual Path for the Modern West offers those who are "spiritual, not religious" a fresh look at the Christian spiritual tradition for those who also have
affinity toward the practices of Buddhism or other Eastern religions.



Riggs writes: "The spiritual path is the mind’s return to the naked awareness of the body ... It is about dropping the narrative, relaxing the tension, and taking refuge in our True Life". Readers will find here the voices of Josep
...more
Davyd Gosselin
May 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Ditched, walked away from, bored to tears of...Christianity? Fed up with religion? Welcome to the Western world's dilemma: hungry for meaning, but wary of pseudo-science and sales pitches about the hereafter.

"Spirituality in the West is at a crossroads... We are looking for a down to earth approach -- a practical path that embraces our humanity, rather than trying to transform us into other-worldly creatures." ~Riggs

Imagine finding something you would trade everything to keep? Finding God in the
...more
Jon
Feb 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Fans of Thomas Merton, Richard Rohr, Joseph Campbell, Chogyam Trungpa might like this new book that is a succinct distillation of Eastern and Western spiritual traditions into one cohesive guide. Key word is guide. This isn't an academic text. It is a Westerner's reconciliation of his own Judeo-Christian background with the Buddhist / Eastern philosophy and how both can live side by side in daily spiritual practice.

If Heaven is a state of mind, then spiritual curiosity seekers can skip the rotat
...more
Jason Lyle
May 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Only read this book if you have an open mind, it is a wonderful work!
Becca Chopra
Mar 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Many of my friends and I consider ourselves “spiritual, not religious,” having been turned off by the organized religions we grew up with. But how does one follow a spiritual path with no guidance? Yes, we meditate and do yoga and try to be good people, but what else?

Finding God in the Body by Benjamin Riggs offers “A Spiritual Path for the Modern West.” For those of us with Western sensibilities but an affinity toward the practices of Buddhism or other Eastern religions, Riggs offers a path tha
...more
Patti
Apr 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: spirituality
I liked this book a lot. Riggs is sharp, eloquent, and provided a number of resources for those interested in the subject.

This book is dense - and to be honest I'll probably have to revisit to properly soak it in, but that's ok. I was happily surprised to realize this was a philosophical read (I really had no idea what to expect), although he does include practical excercise as well.

But if nothing else, Finding God In The Body shone in singlehandedly made the case for me to start a daily medita
...more
Dawn
rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2017
Dan Dedels
rated it liked it
Mar 22, 2020
Michael
rated it it was amazing
Jul 31, 2017
Tom Peters
rated it liked it
Apr 04, 2018
Jacqueline Johnston
rated it really liked it
Nov 22, 2017
Jeff Campbell
rated it it was ok
Jan 01, 2020
Jason
rated it liked it
Jul 05, 2019
Bill
rated it liked it
Apr 23, 2017
Abbie
rated it did not like it
Aug 22, 2019
Kris Smiley
rated it liked it
Dec 02, 2018
Gülçin
rated it it was amazing
Nov 20, 2017
Rita
rated it it was amazing
Jun 12, 2018
Jeffrey Nelson
rated it it was ok
Apr 11, 2017
Paul S Jacobs
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2021
Trudy
rated it it was ok
Oct 13, 2018
Charles Blake Corder
rated it really liked it
Nov 08, 2017
Elizabeth
Apr 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Life cannot be earned or accomplished; it is a gift."
"Without space there is no room for growth"
"Literalism is just another word for idolatry."
"In the Gospels heaven is not a celestial abode. It is our inner life."
"It is the Power of Being that saves."
"The realization of wholeness is called salvation."

It is quotes such as these that give moments to pause in Benjamin Rigg's "Finding God in the Body." He writes with clarity and thought- and obviously a great deal of research. But the moments that
...more
Lindsay
rated it liked it
Dec 15, 2017
Benjamin Riggs
Dec 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Sherri
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2017
Karin
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2017
Ethel Robinson
rated it did not like it
Apr 20, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Letters to a Young Poet
  • Seven Brief Lessons on Physics
  • Shambhala: The Sacred Path of the Warrior
  • Buddha's Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love, and Wisdom
  • Moonflower Murders (Susan Ryeland #2)
  • Prayers For Progressive Christians: A New Template
  • Does It Matter?
  • Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
  • Original Self: Living with Paradox and Originality
  • The Renaissance Soul: Life Design for People with Too Many Passions to Pick Just One
  • Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress
  • The Spell Book for New Witches: Essential Spells to Change Your Life
  • A Brief History of Thought: A Philosophical Guide to Living
  • The Great Conversation: Nature and the Care of the Soul
  • This: Becoming Free
  • Spiritual Journaling: Recording Your Journey Toward God
  • Be Here Now
  • Science and Spiritual Practices: Transformative experiences and their effects on our bodies, brains and health
See similar books…
21 followers
Author of Finding God in the Body: A Spiritual Path for the Modern West and director of the Refuge Meditation Group in Shreveport, LA.

Ben also writes extensively about Buddhism, Christianity, and politics for Elephant Journal.

Related Articles

Juneteenth, observed on June 19th each year, is an American holiday commemorating the day in 1865 when the last enslaved people in Galveston,...
139 likes · 19 comments
“Shantideva writes, “All enemies are helpers in my spiritual work and therefore they should be a joy to me.” 3 likes
“Thoughts are only problematic when we mistake them for direct experience.” 2 likes
More quotes…