Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Aina's Breath (The Agartes Epilogues, #2)” as Want to Read:
Aina's Breath (The Agartes Epilogues, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Aina's Breath (The Agartes Epilogues #2)

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  24 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
Enosh, apprentice to one of the richest merchants in the Kag, is secretly heir to a broken line of mages. Because of The Empire of Dageis’ quest for sources of the agan–the life-source that mages use for power–his people have been reduced to scavengers, his culture diminished to a speck in the wind. For more than ten years, he has helped raise a conjured beast to use as a ...more
Published April 5th 2017 by Liam's Vigil Publishing Co. (first published April 1st 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Aina's Breath, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Aina's Breath

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-52)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Wol
Sep 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Robin Hobb, Complex Narratives
What an interesting second book. I'm giving this 4.5/5, rounding up.

When I reviewed Jaeth's Eye, I noted that there was a drip-feed narrative that requires the reader to surrender to it and accept that for a time, they won't fully grasp what's going on. This for me became a feature of the novel rather than an issue, but YMMV depending on how much control you feel you need as a reader. With Aina's Breath, Villoso has veered away from that style somewhat - while it's still a rich and complex narra
...more
Esmerelda Weatherwax
full review coming soon
Quenby Olson
Jun 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well written, with a cast of characters and interweaving plots and motivations that make up an intricate tapestry. I feel like I can't say much more than that without giving away something vital to the story, but suffice it to say I've already loaded the third - and final - book onto my Kindle and am ready to tie this whole thing up.
Dawn
Feb 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The author kindly sent me a free ARC in exchange for an honest review.

For me, the second book in a series is scary. Will it live up to the expectations given to me by book 1? Will the characters grow and develop? Will I like it as much?
In my review of book 1 ("Jaeth's Eye") I said: "K.S Villoso is a new voice in fantasy that any fan of the genre should be taking note of right now." I was so right!
If anything, "Aina's Breath" is even better. The story blossoms beautifully, and a lot of question
...more
~Dani~ LazyTurtle's Books
This review will cover the entire 3 book series. The author was kind enough to send us a free copy of this series in exchange for an honest review.

Don’t miss this week’s Book Geeks podcast episode covering this series as well!


I’m a little surprised that this series is not at least a little more well known. There is a lot to enjoy with this story.

Probably my favorite things were the interactions between the characters and how expansive and complex the world is. I don’t think this series really di
...more
Aneta
What pride, little Kaggawa, daughter of a hero and a lady with such royal blood? You are just like the rest of them, maggoty human, and when the rest of you is gone, the only thing that will remain is how low you crawled to get by…


A.K.A.: I called the author evil once and I can't believe I only did it once.

The second installment in the series takes things further, and oh boy does it go into places. It really takes its job seriously in building up on everything that was introduced in Jaeth's Ey
...more
Majanka
Book Review originally published here: http://www.iheartreading.net/book-tou...

Aina’s Breath takes off where the first book in the series, Jaeth’s Eye, left off. Enosh is the secret heir to a broken line of mages. His culture has been diminished, and only a handful of mages have been left. He’s helped raise a conjured beast to use as a weapon against the Dageians who are desperate to find the source of the agan – the life source mages uses for their power. But his plans fall apart when a powerfu
...more
Jack
Jan 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
7/10

Yay, another book down in the series! I hear great things about book three, so bring it on!

So another instalment of character driven drama and intrigue. And it truly is the characters that make these books. It's quite hard to think up a concise summary, so much happens in the book. You've got Kefier and Sume kinda starting a family, you've got Enosh getting into trouble, and then you have all these other major players pottering along in the background plotting and causing trouble. It was a
...more
Rollingspace
rated it really liked it
May 15, 2018
Raffael
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2017
Keisuke
rated it liked it
Dec 26, 2017
Karolina C
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2018
Hemanth
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2017
Amanda
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2018
Weezing
rated it liked it
Sep 28, 2017
wanderer
rated it liked it
Sep 12, 2017
Siobhan
rated it liked it
Nov 09, 2017
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2018
Chloe Smith
rated it really liked it
Mar 31, 2017
Alice
rated it liked it
Jan 19, 2018
Jennifer
rated it it was ok
Jun 21, 2017
Justin
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2018
Mike
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2017
Dave
rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2017
Keegan
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2017
Trevor Sherman
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2017
Darrell Drake
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2017
Lezli
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2017
Mimi
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2017
Chriselle
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2017
Magda Kossakowska
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2017
Stefan Bach
marked it as to-read
May 05, 2017
T
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2017
Paul Joy
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2017
Emanuel
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2017
Amerita Elf
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2017
Kimberlie
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2017
Jennifer Bradshaw
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2017
Tim
is currently reading it
Aug 14, 2017
Guerric Haché
marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2017
Chris Huntley
marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2017
Mitch
marked it as to-read
Aug 24, 2017
Kien Le Trung
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2017
Natalie
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2017
Brenda Knight
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2017
RJ Hackley
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2017
Shahrouz
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2017
Leona
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2017
Leo .
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2017
Nathan
marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2017
Andrew
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
127 followers
I write character-driven epic fantasy with huge doses of horror, angst, and frustratingly tangled character relationships. You can read more about my work at my website:

http://www.ksvilloso.com

__

K.S. Villoso was born in a dank hospital on an afternoon in Albay, Philippines, and things have generally been okay since then. After spending most of her childhood in a slum area in Taguig (where she dodg
...more
More about K.S. Villoso

Other books in the series

The Agartes Epilogues (3 books)
  • Jaeth's Eye (The Agartes Epilogues, #1)
  • Sapphire's Flight (The Agartes Epilogues, #3)
“By all the gods,” she eventually murmured, turning to him. “I can hear the echoes of time roaring in the space between your ears.” 0 likes
“Sent word, did you?” Narani murmured, pushing past him and shuffling her hips. “It better be warm. This weather is detestable. And this stench…! Worse than my son’s quarters, and it’s not even mid-day. Why is your mouth open like that? Are you trying to attract flies?”

“I’m just surprised you referred to him as ‘your son’.”

“Well, you birth a head that size once, you don’t forget it. Now walk a little faster before my hip decides to pop out on you.”
0 likes
More quotes…