Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Making Love” as Want to Read:
Making Love
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Making Love

by
3.73  ·  Rating details ·  134 ratings  ·  45 reviews
Carla the cupid is an excellent shot, but her chemistry is so bad that most of her matches don’t last. Her dream is to shoot a True Love pair, but until her scores improve, she’s relegated to the Puppy Love division of Aphrodite Agency.

Leeta, a succubus, is looking for a True Love match. Which is highly unusual, as most succubi are aromantic. But Aphrodite Agency—her only
...more
ebook, 92 pages
Published January 30th 2017 by Riptide Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Making Love, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Making Love

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.73  · 
Rating details
 ·  134 ratings  ·  45 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Making Love
mishi
This was an absolutely delightful read. The romance was heartwarming and made me smile.
Lex Kent
Jan 11, 2017 rated it liked it
This is a cute, sweet romance. A light fluffy novella, that would be a good read for Valentines Day. While this is not necessarily to my tastes, for what this is, it worked.

This short is about Carla, a cupid, who has been having trouble in her job. While she is a great shot, she has a hard time reading chemistry to find good matches. When Leeta, a succubus, enters Carla's job in search of a true love match, Carla is shocked she is turned away. Succubus are discriminated against for belief they j
...more
Danni Mladenovic
Dec 26, 2016 rated it liked it
*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

This is a cute story, although I expected somewhat more. For me fell short of surprises, of thick, palpable chemistry, sexual intensity... But it is a sweet story, it has its romantic moments and it's very easy to read.
Ami
Sep 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
I genuinely loved this! In fact, I think it's my favorite Aidan Wayne's so far.

In the beginning I picked up as my entry for the upcoming reading challenge week at Joyfully Jay (pick a book based on its cover)! I was also curious since I enjoyed Wayne's other books, and this is the only one I haven't read. PLUS it is categorized as ace-spectrum story by the publisher. So, triple reasons.

Well, it was, in my opinion ADORABLE!! And creative too!! The explanation of divisions (and how they work) in
...more
abi
Jan 18, 2017 rated it liked it
This story follows Carla, a cupid determined on excelling at work and proving herself, and Letta, a succubus looking for true love. Needless to say, they both find what they're looking for/wanting in each other.

This was an incredibly sweet read and was certainly an easy book to get through, with very few obstacles for the characters getting together.

It was great to see demisexual and pansexual representation on page here, especially when this relates to the two main characters, even if those ex
...more
Rahnuma Khan
Dec 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
Making love by aidan wanye it's sweet little love story of succubus and cupid (angle or devil )in simple word I love it... How it's sweet love story begins by succubus want to find true love and they fell in love...
One plus star for the power of consent...
Lexxi Kitty
*I received this book from NetGalley and Riptide in return for a fair review.*

mini-review
Point the first: Sometime after midnight I turned my phone on yesterday and noticed that my request to read this short story had been accepted. I wanted a little something to read for a few moments before turning in for the night, so figured I’d read at least (most?) the first chapter. Needless to say, I read the entire thing in one ‘sitting’ (what, I was actually reclining on my bed, but whatever, ‘one recl
...more
Jaylee
Feb 10, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: f-f-books
3.5 stars. It was hard picking between 3 or 4.

This was a short, sweet story that could take less than two hours to read. It was fun, and silly, and a nice little happy piece. There wasn't a lot of substance here. While the two characters had good chemistry, I didn't find their relationship super compelling. Carla's personality bothered me... she comes across like a My Little Pony instead of a person. As in, you can basically read everything she says in Pinky Pie's voice.

I have mixed feelings a
...more
Penelope
Dec 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
An honest review thanks to NetGalley. I was pleasantly surprised by this book, not liking short novellas I wasn't sure how I was going to receive this. Though it was a cute spin on love being found in abnormal places. I do wish the book went into more of a backstory into these creatures, especially as it seems as if they are interacting with the human world. There is almost nothing said about this, just the job of a cupid and a succubus. I would have loved this book even more so if I was able to ...more
Elke
Aug 05, 2018 added it
Shelves: diverse, lgbtqiap
i don't really know what to think of this one. it was sweet and queer and had a happy ever after, which is great because we all need books like that. but it almost felt as if everything was too easy? maybe it was too romance-y for my taste? i also don't know what i think of this idea where a species is aromantic as a rule but we then focus on the few people who are alloromantic? i am not an ownvoices reviewer here! it just felt like something was off and i couldn't put my finger on what exactly. ...more
Wolgan
This was just pure adorableness. Felt myself grinning through most of the book. It just made me happy to read, I really couldn't ask for more than that.
Miss Susan
Nov 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: lgbtqia
when i read the summary for this i thought to myself 'a cupid and a succubus falling in love? that sounds cute as hell'

guess what?

i was RIGHT

4 stars
Gwen
Dec 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: asexual
Goodness, this was pure fluff. But sometimes, you need that.

It had well done ace rep too, or rather, demisexual rep as I read Carla. Plus, healthy, communicative couples? Those are the best kind.
Megan
Feb 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
I received a free ebook copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

4.5 stars

This was a light-hearted and very sweet read. Safe to say, I really enjoyed it, and thought it was adorable. The characters were great, although Tristen could have been a little less 2 dimensional, and while it was short, it was a good book.
Barry Raifsnider
This was super cute! I think there could have been more hints to the characters romantic feelings for each other; it seemed to go quickly between friendship to romance. I really liked the demisexual and pansexual representation. I really enjoyed reading about Carla's feelings to sex; that she hadn't thought or really cared about it but now that she was in love and with someone she cared about, she wanted to try it. And I was glad the sex scene wasn't explicit; the past few books I've read have h ...more
Ruthie Taylor
Jan 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~

This is a really quick and cute read. It is lighthearted, amusing and witty.

Carla is an ambitious cupid, who is better at the shooting of arrows than the reading of chemistry. We get to see this in action, as she agrees to work freelance to help an unusually romantic succubus Leeta find her soulmate.

Leeta, and the reader soon get the chemistry vibe, but the naive Carla, just thinks she is failing again. As things are r
...more
Annie Deo
Mar 03, 2017 rated it liked it
I'm not a fan of novellas and I didn't realize that's what this was when I requested it...but this story is so treacly sweet and works best in a small dose, so that ended up being a positive!

Carla's a cupid who is struggling because she can't identify good chemistry between people who would make great matches - a bit of a disadvantage in her line of work! Practically every statement of hers drips in positivity and excitement and ends in an exclamation point - this would've usually annoyed me, bu
...more
Kathryn
Jul 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This was not what I expected in completely the best way!

I was expecting something far more paranormal/urban fantasy - the gritty, dark kind of stuff you tend to see a lot of nowadays - and instead got a sugary-sweet, well-characterized, and absolutely adorable story of Matchmaking with all its important capital letters. (I perhaps should have figured this out from the cover, but alas, I did not.) Carla was an adorable and extremely likable protagonist and heroine, whom I immediately fell for as
...more
Laura
Ahhh, that was such a cute ending~

I really liked the premise of the story and the characters were really precious~ There’s good aromantic validation because Carla talks about how she once tried making someone love someone who was aromantic, a lot of incubi and succubi tend to be aromantic (tho kinda worrisome how it’s almost explained as because of their lustful natures??), and lots of clarifiers that romantic love should happen for those who want it and how other types of love other than romant
...more
Emmanuella Reid
Mar 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Five stars!

The book was a sweet and short read, but managed not to convey a hurried pace. What I enjoyed most about the novel was that it focussed more on the emotional love, that it didn't cloud the storyline with too many or detailed sexy scenes. Despite the characters being a succubus (sex demon) and cupid (extreme matchmaker), the plot was well thought out, and the lack of physical intimacy in the narrative actually improved the story for me, as I was better able to read about the deeper ro
...more
Nore
Mar 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: actual-books
A more accurate review would be 3.5 stars, but I'm erring on the side of 4 because I'd been waiting for this book since I saw it in the upcoming releases email from Riptide, and it didn't disappoint me.

What caught my eye about this one was the interesting concept - a supernatural matchmaking agency, which promised a world full of casual magic and everyday monsters? yes, please - and I'd kept an eye on it in hope that the romance would be as cute as it sounded from the blurb. This book mostly del
...more
Angel Hatfield
Jul 18, 2017 rated it it was ok
Carla is a cupid and having trouble with her job. She has problems reading people’s chemistry and needed to be able to this to make good matches Then Leeta- a succubus- is in search of true love. But Leeta is turned away as it is believed Leeta just wants an easy meal. If Carla can help Leeta find true love maybe things will go better at the job.
This story really wasn’t for me. Carla seems to immature especially in the beginning. This was a novella and a quick read. There was not enough surpris
...more
Marty Preslar
Jul 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cuteness personified

This adorable story is so sweet it would make Carla happy. The fantasy world of Cupids and Succubi makes for such a fun canvas to paint the story. The chemistry between the two main characters.... well, that's kinda the point of the story, eh? It's wonderful from start to finish.
Shan( Shans_Shelves) 💜
This was the sweetest f/f fantasy novella that made my day. I loved how oblivious one of the MCs was and the developed romance was adorable.

Highly recommend, especially is you like fantasy and mystical creatures.
Alex
Jun 13, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I'm in love. Great book, lovely MC
feux d'artifice
Nov 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
SO CUTE!!!!
But wayyyy too short, I wanted more!!! and not enough leeta!!!!!!!!!
Tory
Dec 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
A very cute sweet read. A lovely bit of happiness to brighten the mood.
Julia
Dec 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
Cute story about a succubus looking for love with the help of a cupid. Short but good.
Ashley Kempkes
Aug 08, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: romance
2.5

Mainly because this book was advertised to me as a book about asexual love but it is more of an allegory to aromatic love. Still a cute read!
Amber
May 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This author is REALLY good at adorable. Like, really REALLY good.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Alone
  • Turbulence
  • The Woman Upstairs
  • Big Girl Pill
  • Trapped
  • Werecockroach
  • Thaw (Seasons of Love, #2)
  • Irregular Heartbeat
  • Help Wanted (Ashveil Academy, #1)
  • The Do-Over
  • Snow Falls
  • Sea Foam and Silence (Fairytale Verses, #1)
  • Liminal Hearts (Rules of Chaos, #1)
  • Heartwood
  • An Infatuation
  • Stones To Abbigale
  • This Is Why I Hate You
  • Reaper's Creek
See similar books…
68 followers
Aidan Wayne has been publishing LGBTQ+ fiction since 2016. While they usually stick with contemporary romance (both adult and YA), some soft sci-fi/fantasy has been known to sneak in as well. They primarily write character-driven stories with happy endings, because, dammit, queer people deserve happy endings too.

Stay in the know and never miss a book by joining Aidan's mailing list.
...more

Related Articles

Dedicated fans of authors Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan might know the duo better by the affectionate moniker “The Fug Girls,” after their l...
5 likes · 2 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »