Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lizzie Flying Solo” as Want to Read:
Lizzie Flying Solo
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lizzie Flying Solo

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  55 ratings  ·  19 reviews
A lyrical, poignant middle grade novel about embracing change, accepting help from others, and finding a place to call home. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale.

Lizzie St. Claire wants to be invisible. Forced to move out of her home, she and her mom now live in a transitional housing shelter, Good Hope, until they can get back on their feet.

Lizzie just wants to keep her
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published April 16th 2019 by HarperCollins
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lizzie Flying Solo, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lizzie Flying Solo

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  55 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Laurie
Apr 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Interest Level: 3-6; Reading Level: 6.0

Have you ever just wanted to be invisible? Do you have something in your life that you want to hide from everyone? Lizzie St. Clair is trying to do just that. After her dad was put in jail for a white collar crime, Lizzie and her mom are forced to leave their home and move into Good Hope, a hope to help people get back on their feet. After losing her friends due to her dad's crime, Lizzie just wants to be invisible with the people in their new home and her
...more
Melanie
I really enjoyed this book. I found in it my hunt for "horse" books for my 9 year old. I do think I'm going to have her read this, but there are definitely some heavy topics parents will want to be aware of so they can talk about them with their kids.

Lizzie's Dad abandoned her and her mom. He embezzled from his company and is facing jail time, and doesn't seem to care about the impact it has on his family. Because of this, their assets are frozen and they have to live in a half-way house for fa
...more
Virginie
Jul 18, 2019 rated it liked it
A cute story, but I didn't feel as enthralled as with Steveson previous two books. I know I'm going to contradict other readers who said you don't need to be a horse-lover to appreciate this book, but I'm sure I would have liked it better if I were one. Can't wait for Steveson's next book to be published! Maybe it'll get me the feeling I had while reading Georgia Rules, that I strongly recommand.

5*: Sad to finish it, this book was amazing
4*: Really liked it!
3*: Liked it
2*: Fell asleep a couple o
...more
Katie Reilley
May 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
After hearing all my nerdy friends rave about this one, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it!

Lizzie and her mom are in a transitional time in their lives. Lizzie’s dad has been arrested for a financial crime, and Lizzie & her mom suddenly find themselves homeless. They move into Good Hope, a place for families in transition.

Lizzie wants to be invisible. She doesn’t want kids at her new school to learn that her dad’s in jail or about where she lives. One day walking through the woods she ha
...more
Bunni
Aug 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this book! I felt it was very realistic. I also appreciated Lizzie's mom - when Lizzie lied to her, she didn't blow it out of proportion or ground her. She let Lizzie explain and backed her up. She then gave her gentle advice. I hope to see more of this trend in middle grade books!

Side note: a quick google search will tell you that kids' jeans from Gucci cost about $600 retail...the toddler shoes alone are $300.

Side side note: A YA book I just finished had a secondary character
...more
Darla
Apr 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars. The 11-year-old in me fell in love with this cover from the beginning. Lizzie and her mother are in a shelter while they "get back on their feet" and there is a horse barn nearby. Lizzie already collects plastic horses and was just hours away from getting her first riding lesson when her father was arrested. Lizzie is drawn to that barn like a bee to honey. We follow Lizzie and her mother through a year of growth and change. Readers will learn and grow with Lizzie as she learns to ope ...more
Mari Allan
Jun 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I thought I was enjoying this book because of the horses. Because I could imagine myself as twelve-year-old Lizzie hiding in the woods to watch the horses and riders at Birchwood barn, longing to belong there. When I finished the book, and emerged from the joy and tears of the horse story line, I realized how much I loved the rest of it. The triumph of Lizzie and her mother over hard times. The new found friendships and belonging. The celebration of English class and poetry. Another terrific and ...more
Melissa
Oct 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Lizzie and her mom find themselves suddenly homeless when Lizzie’s dad is arrested for a white-collar crime. Moving into Good Hope, a shelter for people in transition, Lizzie is lonely, devastated, and angry at her father’s betrayal. When she discovers a nearby horse farm and a spirited horse she names Fire, Lizzie finds singular focus in making him her own. Fans of gentle story of family, friendships and finding the freedom to be yourself. Hand to fans of Sharon Creech and Barbara O’Connor.

I wa
...more
Michele Knott
What is normal? Who decides what normal is? Big questions for a middle school audience but that is exactly what our character, Lizzie, has to figure out when her life is turned upside down. With a father in jail for something that Lizzie herself doesn't quite understand and having to move and live in a temporary shelter, Lizzie slowly figures out the importance of family and friends and what "normal" means. With therapy coming in the way of hard work in a stable and getting comfort from animals, ...more
Julie Kirchner
Jul 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: middle-grade
4.5 stars! I truly loved this book by Nanci Turner Steveson! Thank you for sharing it with #BookVoyage. I felt like Lizzie and her mother’s story is one that needs to be shared. Through no fault of their own, they are left homeless and forced to live in transitional housing when Lizzie’s father is caught committing white collar crime. It’s a story of friendship, resiliency, forgiveness, and the power in having people we can call family. This will be a big hit with horse loving readers, too. I wa ...more
Cassie Thomas
Sep 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Nanci writes heart print stories. All stories that can be related to by anybody in middle grades. Lizzie and her mom have found themselves in a transition period where they are at a shelter after her father was arrested for embezzling. During this time Lizzie learns to trust again, she finds out the true meaning of home, and understands what family should be all about. I can not wait to share with my students. For readers needing courage, love horses, want a happy ending story with lessons woven ...more
Leah Pileggi
May 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Young readers don't have to know anything about horses to still enjoy this story. Beautifully told in an authentic young girl's voice, this is a story of inner strength and hard work and being willing to recognize different types of friendship.
Courtney
Feb 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I'm working to build a diverse library for my 5th grade students. This book would be a great addition!
Emily Myhren
Apr 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
You don’t have to be a horse girl to adore this book.
Lisa Sassi
May 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely amazing.
Elizabeth Appenheimer
Dec 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Touches on a lot of topics that aren't really talked about, but will always be relevant. Well worth the read.
PWRL
Jul 31, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019-new
O
Stephanie Tevebaugh
Aug 18, 2019 rated it liked it
This book was just a little too horsey for my taste, but it was a good story and perfect for a girl into horses. Well written and a good message.
Shirley Freeman
After Lizzie's dad is accused of a white collar crime, Lizzie and her mom have to move to transitional housing in a new town. Lizzie is embarrassed and works hard to keep her living circumstances and her father's crime a secret. She is determined to "fly solo" at her new school. Things start to change when Lizzie discovers a horse barn and training center near her new place. In spite of herself, Lizzie finds a new life and new friends. I liked the grit and resilience demonstrated by Lizzie's cha ...more
Katlin
rated it really liked it
May 16, 2019
Dawn Newton
rated it it was amazing
Jul 25, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2019
Wendy Lavenda-Carroll
rated it it was amazing
Jul 07, 2019
Allison Volz
rated it really liked it
Aug 12, 2019
Jenny
rated it really liked it
May 31, 2019
Cassidy
rated it liked it
Aug 16, 2019
Sharon Messec
rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2019
Jasontes5th
rated it it was amazing
Nov 30, 2018
Angela
rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2019
Khadija Mamdouh
rated it liked it
May 21, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Over the Moon
  • Maybe a Mermaid
  • Shouting at the Rain
  • August Isle
  • The Unsung Hero of Birdsong, USA
  • The Three Rules of Everyday Magic
  • Step Up to the Plate, Maria Singh
  • A Sprinkle of Spirits (Love Sugar Magic, #2)
  • Middle School Misadventures
  • Vilonia Beebe Takes Charge
  • Grey Winter (The Tournament, #2)
  • Wonderland
  • Princess Juniper of the Hourglass (Princess Juniper #1)
  • Just Like Jackie
  • Naomis Too (Two Naomis, #2)
  • New Kid
  • The Spider Ring
  • Storm Warning (Dog Whisperer, #2)
See similar books…
Nanci grew up in Connecticut, England and Texas, always with a book in one hand, the reins of a pony in the other. She wrote her first “novel” at the age of nine, which she uses to teach young writing students never to give up, no matter the odds. After raising her two sons in Maryland, Nanci made her dream come true by moving to a historic cabin in a meadow in Jackson Hole, WY. Aside from writing ...more