Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Crossing Values (Crossing #1)” as Want to Read:
Crossing Values (Crossing #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Crossing Values

(Crossing #1)

by
4.33  ·  Rating details ·  126 ratings  ·  51 reviews
For years, Amber traipsed around the Northwest avoiding the skeletons in her closet. Job-hopping every few weeks, she refused to let anyone get close to her. As winter plants itself firmly across the Rockies, she decides to take a chance on a job at a logging company with a family different from any she's ever known before.

Watching the family interact creates more
...more
Kindle Edition, 171 pages
Published November 22nd 2016 by Immeasurable Works (first published December 20th 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Crossing Values, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Crossing Values

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.33  · 
Rating details
 ·  126 ratings  ·  51 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Crossing Values (Crossing #1)
Kassi
Jul 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am SO glad I won this book in a giveaway recently!! I really enjoyed the story of Amber and Peter. I love that it's a Christian based book without being so completely in your face, this is how it is, like some tend to be. The basic premise of everyone doing their best to love others, even strangers, is a great message! As is the message of being open to what our Heavenly Father has to tell you. A good reminder for everyday life that I myself need to work on. Highly recommended!!! Especially if ...more
Tuanna Kelly Carpo
Mar 19, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: christian
I can't say enough about how wonderful this book is, I knew in jut the first chapter I was going to enjoy this book. I felt so much comfort, love and understanding of God. I felt a part of the family and was happy when they were happy and sad when they were. I've lived in most of the places in the book so it was wonderful to read a book and know just where Carrie was talking about. I came from a family of loggers and felt like it was old home week reading about it. I can't wait to get into the ...more
Sherry
Jul 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Admittedly, I don't spend a lot of time reading fiction but was so glad I gave Crossing Values a read. It was the perfect book to keep me company while on vacation. The characters were 'real' but not weighed down by too many details. The story was engaging and moved along at the perfect pace. I enjoyed the twists and turns and loved the message conveyed. Very glad I picked it up!
Jasmine
Jan 03, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Crossing Values by Carrie Daws

-From The Back Cover-

For years, Amber traipsed around the Northwest avoiding the skeletons in her closet. Job-hopping every few weeks, she refused to let anyone get close to her as she slowly made her way east. As winter firmly plants itself across the Rockies, she decides to take a chance on a job at a logging company with a family different than any she's ever known before.

Watching the family interact creates more questions than answers for Amber. Feeling like
...more
Heather
Aug 20, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Crossing Values is a quick but powerful read. I love the fact that I could easily give this book to my daughter (age 13) to read and not be uncomfortable with anything in the book. I felt that the family who took in Amber had a genuine faith that they lived out in their lives which make the faith base for the book feel natural. The family bantering reminded me of fun family gatherings. Amber’s past taints the way that she views the world, and she struggles with some difficult questions about ...more
Tracey M.
Dec 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I had the privilege of reading “Crossing Values” by Carrie Daws. It is a short read with only one hundred and sixty pages with some chapters only being one page (which I have never seen before). The book is a Christian romantic fiction that focuses on emotional and family healing; I would recommend this book to anyone that likes to read romantic fiction but keeps you in some expense. It is about a young girl Amber who is avoiding the skeletons in her closet by running around the Northwest and ...more
Sara Hickman
Sep 19, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really think this is the first Christian Romance that I have ever read. Let me just say this, can I get my hands on some more? This book was so right up my alley. I was needing a quick fiction read. I was needing a story that was encouraging but maybe stretched my faith some.

This book did just that.

It's a love story. Jesus taught us to love God and to love others as we love ourselves. The Yager family does just that. Faye and Frank take in Amber, a girl on the run. Amber refused to let
...more
Anne Marie
Jan 01, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book from the author and I have never heard of Carrie Daws before BUT she is now one of my favorite Christian fiction authors!!!! I could have read Crossing Values (157 pages) in one day but I read at night before bed so it took me two nights but oh how I couldn't wait to go to bed at night to read!

I fell in love with Peter and his family and I do believe there is people out in the world that will treat a stranger like family because I am one of them. I wanted to know what Amber
...more
Sue Odenwelder
Nov 10, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition


Wow! I read this book, like any other I would read, and not factor in that the author is related to me. I was caught up in the book from the beginning to the end! That is sheer honesty. I have know Carrie since she was born, and watched her grow into a gracious caring woman who loves The Lord. I had no idea she had this talent concealed. The book was so open & honest. It constantly reminded me of how God really is in control of our lives & how blessed we are when we choose to follow
...more
Joanie Bruce
Oct 01, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The book "Crossing Values" by Carrie Daws was excellent! It was an easy read with characters that came to life. I loved the way the Yager family took Amber in without knowing a thing about her. They truly lived their Christian beliefs, as we all should, and trusted God for all things.

The plot flowed smoothly, and the characters were believable. I loved the way the Yager family teased each other and interacted in a believable way. This book gave the example of the love Christians should have for
...more
Betti
Jan 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: inspirational
It is so wonderful to read a good, clean book that makes you look at your own life, and consider how you stand on the issue or issues written about. Amber has trouble with trust, in God, in people and in life. Where do you stand with the trust issue? This very well written story uses some suspense, lots of learning and a little romance to bring trust about in Amber's life. It certainly reminded me of how important it is to trust the Lord in everything.
Terri
Mar 05, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Sweet heartwarming mystery story I enjoyed it.
Paula Lynn
Mar 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Carries Daws’ book, Crossing Values, grabbed my attention from the first page, and I was drawn into the story and invited to stay as if I belonged. I appreciated her ability to weave the small town setting of Crossing, Oregon located in the Cascade Mountains into her story. She did a remarkable job with the characters and highlighting their pain and struggles in a way that is genuine and real.

Drawn in by Peter’s family in the same way they welcomed Amber, I felt like part of their home
...more
Lisa Johnson
Apr 10, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Title: Crossing Values
Author: Carrie Daws
Pages: 160
Year: 2012
Publisher: Ambassador International
Absolutely entertaining and enjoyable! Those are the first words that crossed my mind when I finished the novel. There are many themes in this short book, but the one that really spoke to me is how God desires us to know we are His treasured possession. After that element, the way God takes broken people then makes them whole by His love spoke to me too.
Here we read about Amber who has been on her
...more
Patricia Kemp Blackmon
Amber has been running from her past for years. She never stays in one place. It is as if something or someone is chasing.

When she hits the Rockies right in the middle of winter she decides to find a job and wait out old man winter. She is offered not only job but room and board working for a logging company. She will be helping out the owner wife in the office. It was much more than she had ever expected. This family was a merry bunch and it was very evident that God was the center of their
...more
Michelle Stanley
Reviewed by Michelle Stanley for Readers' Favorite

Crossing Values is a Christian fiction by Carrie Daws. Amber Griffiths had no idea that her life would change when she travels to Crossing, Oregon. She accepts a temporary job, accommodation from Frank and Faye Yager who tries to make her feel at home, but Amber is distrustful and reluctant to talk about the troubled past she ran from. She cannot believe how kind and caring this family is, and thinks it is too good to be true. How can the Yagers
...more
Cheri Swalwell
Jun 17, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I just finished reading Crossing Values by Carrie Daws. This is a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed her work. What a great read. It was the first in a two-book series and it made me want to read on to find out what happened in the next book. It was definitely a romance, but there were some elements of mystery and intrigue as I was curious about what had happened in Amber’s past to make her so distrustful?

I fell instantly in love with Peter’s family and even though they seemed a little
...more
Alisha
Apr 04, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
A good story about a lost woman trying to find her way in the world, and a place to belong. Amber has had a tough life, running away from a tragic family at 16. A family finds her, and gives her a place in their family and helps her find Jesus and God.
Overall I liked the book, but the relationship felt very rushed. I didn't see much bonding going on with the characters, only with God. I liked that Amber was bonding with Faye and God so well, but I wish a little more emphasis could have been
...more
Lorrie Sims
Feb 11, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Carrie Daws writes with a freedom that can only come from the Lord. Her ability to expose her characters and their emotions makes “Crossing Values” a book, which once you start reading it; you really won’t want to put down!

Amber’s pain and anger resonates loudly, until one day she finds it is too painful to hide the emptiness that has kept her moving from one place to another for years.

It wasn’t a coincidence she landed in Crossing, Oregon. God, with His infinite wisdom, had a plan not just
...more
Jackie
Apr 01, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed this book. Review to follow.


Review of CROSSING Values, by Carrie Daws.

Amber Griffin, 26 and alone, had been on the run for more than a decade. She left home after her sister died, and her parents fell apart. Not being able to handle the neglect that followed, she ran away when she was sixteen.

Fast forward ten years, to a small mountain town of Crossing, Oregon.

Tired of running and bitterly cold, Amber Griffin, now 26, sat on a park bench, pondering her options. From her vantage point
...more
Margaret


Crossing Values is the story of a lost soul who is saved by a very special family. Amber has spent the last ten years running from place to place as she tries to escape her past. She is offered a job and a place to live with Frank Yager and his wife and son. Although she intends this to be temporary, she soon realizes that she has found a home and a family. With the help of the Yagers, Amber is able to confront her past and look forward to a promising future. I enjoyed Amber's story. In fact,
...more
Mari
Dec 19, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Crossing Values is probably not a book I would have immediately selected to read. However, the author sent me a copy of this and I decided it would be one of my January reads. It's about a young woman, Amber, who is running from a troubled past and lands in a small Oregon logging community. Her path crosses the Yager family's and the Yager's take her in as one of their own--giving her shelter, food, employment and love. This is basically a story of a young woman who is lost--doesn't have ...more
Sharon
Dec 05, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this book when a first reads book giveaway arrived by the same author. The book I won was the 2nd in a series, so the first one was included. I just finished this one and although it was a short, easy read, I enjoyed it a lot. It is not your typical Christian fiction book. It is about life as Christian living everyday life in struggles, prayer, family and such. It is full of real Christian life and not just a story with some Bible verses thrown in and some prayers uttered.

That being
...more
Joan Bergeron Troche
In reading this book, you cannot help but fall in love with the Yager family as they take in a stranger named Amber. It is obvious that Amber is very cautious and has a painful past. God uses the family to show Amber His love and open her heart towards Him.

If anything could be changed about this book, it is that I would encourage the author to slow the pace of the book down and give us more. The pace seemed too fast in both the way the setting was created in the first chapter and in how the
...more
Sandra
Mar 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone
Crossing Values brought me right in & never let go. I loved the characters, they felt like friends, going through tough times & joys with some twists, turns & uncertainty. A story of learning to trust & forgive written wonderfully & believably. I was sad to come to the end until realizing I the second book in the series, Ryan's Crossing, was waiting for me to continue with these lovable characters. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I'm so ...more
Laura
Feb 23, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Anyone who likes Christian Romance
Recommended to Laura by: Goodreads
Shelves: first-reads
If you are looking for a Christian fiction romance, this is a book for you. It was a quick in read in that it kept you wanting to read the next page/chapter to see where it was going next. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and their relationship to each other. The book reminds me that when I am asking God for answers that I need to stop and actually listen as opposed to just doing what I want.

I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads.
Susan Emery-O'Malley
I received this book from the author and I will admit that I had never heard of Carrie Daws before but she is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. Her story line held my interest from beginning to end. Her characters were very real and I could relate well. I loved Peter and his family. I loved how they lived their faith throughout the story and how they were able to point Amber towards God and her need of Him.
Amy
Mar 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really liked the hometown feel of this book. Loved the family and how they took in Amber and just loved on her. I liked that it was not an insta love connection but a slow build up with issues that needed to be resolved. I also really enjoyed that the author included a little bit of "help" from a really cool resource. Looking forward to reading Ryan's Crossing next. I received this book from the author for my honest review.
Michelle Ehrich
Jan 20, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
I received a copy of this book for free through the Goodreads first reads program.

I generally avoid Christian lit because inevitably it be becomes so overly preachy that the story gets lost. That is not the case with this book. Yes, it does sometimes get to be a bit much, and, overall, it's extremely sappy and unbelievable, but, for some reason, it still works. I felt a real connection to the characters and I really cared how their story turned out.
LAWonder10
Apr 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Yes, this was quite predictable. Yes, this was almost too good to be true.
Yet, this was so totally uplifting and well-written, it would benefit all to read
and enjoy this booklet. I am, personally, looking forward to many more of the
author's incredible stories and talented writing. There was never a lull in the
story and incidents kept quickly moving on, holding the reader's interest.
Great for Book Club discussions and clean enough for any age.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Rose and The Thorn (MacPherson Brides #1)
  • The Wonder of His Love: A Christian Romance (Fostered by Love, #1)
  • Ready or Not (Aggie's Inheritance, #1)
  • Corner Booth
  • The Sweetness of Her Love: A Christian Romance (Fostered by Love, #2)
  • Here We Come (Aggie's Inheritance, #3)
  • The Tenderness of His Love: A Christian Romance (Fostered by Love, #3)
  • Cold Summer
  • The Undercover Bridesmaid
  • An Introduction to Bibliology: What Every Christian Should Know About the Origins, Composition, Inspiration, Interpretation, Canonicity, and the Transmission of the Bible
  • Beatrice The Mail Order Bride: A collection of Mail Order Bride & Amish Romance
  • At First Sight (New Beginnings #0.5)
  • Her Crazy Rich Fake Fiancé (Christmas Romance Series)
  • Christmas by the Sea (Surf's Up)
  • Practically Married
  • Millionaire Soldier: Her Marine Hero: A Love Worth Waiting For (A Christian Romance Series Book 1)
  • Summer with the Marine (Blue Bay Beach Reads Romance Book 1)
  • Volition
See similar books…
127 followers
Over the years, God rewrote Carrie’s dreams to include being a stay-at-home mom and a writer. She started by writing weekly devotions online before a mentor at the Christian Writer’s Guild encouraged her to try fiction.

After almost ten years in the military, Carrie’s husband medically retired and they now live in North Carolina with their three children. Besides writing fiction novels, she stays
...more

Other books in the series

Crossing (4 books)
  • Ryan's Crossing (Crossing #2)
  • Romancing Melody (Crossing #3)
  • Crossing's Redemption (Crossing #4)
“Truth has little to do with belief. The sky is blue whether I believe it or not.” 1 likes
“People can be tough to love. Despite our best efforts, sometimes they choose to walk away from those that can most help. But even when people make the worst possible decisions, God still considers the worth the effort to love.” 0 likes
More quotes…