Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bon Appetit (French Twist #2)” as Want to Read:
Bon Appetit (French Twist #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bon Appetit

(French Twist #2)

by
4.01  ·  Rating details ·  1,571 ratings  ·  162 reviews
Pastries, Paris and romance–Lexi’s adventure has just begun!

Lexi Stuart is risking it all. Saying au revoir to the security of home, her job, and could-be boyfriend Dan, Lexi embarks on a culinary adventure in France to fulfill her life dream of becoming a pastry chef.

As she settles into her new home in the village of Presque le Chateau to study and work in a local
...more
Paperback, 289 pages
Published September 16th 2008 by Waterbrook Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bon Appetit, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bon Appetit

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.01  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,571 ratings  ·  162 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bon Appetit (French Twist #2)
Angie Hay
Jun 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2017-books
“…whichever family you were from, it is a vitriol part of your life” –Mario Batali

Listened to this by Audible. Reader was excellent! She portrayed the perfect French accent and language.

The beauty of these reads is that it helps remind me how I was brought up and the Faith that I have but sometimes slip up and life takes over.

Lexi is working for a French Bakery in Seattle and the owner offered a job to her to take in Paris to work for his sister’s bakery and meanwhile they will put her through
...more
Harvee
May 04, 2009 rated it really liked it
Bon Appetit reads like a memoir but is a light and entertaining work of fiction about an aspiring chef from Seattle who travels to France to work in bread and pastry bakeries in the village of Presque le Chateau. Throw in some recipes, descriptions of trips to Paris and Versailles, a budding love affair that could turn into a love triangle, and you have a Bon Appetit of a book!

I copied the recipes for french Onion Soup and Simple Apple Galettes and promised myself to try them. There is also a
...more
Anne  (Booklady) Molinarolo
Sweet story, but a bit too many Bible verses in it for my comfort.
Andrea Cox
Jun 17, 2017 rated it did not like it
by Andrea Renee Cox

This is a difficult review for me to write. The rating is no easier to decide upon. While I enjoyed the journey Lexi went on in this book, there were a few content issues that, sadly, dragged down my level of enjoyment. If I read the third book in this series, it will only be to see what the finale of Lexi's journey will be.

Things I liked:
* The characters were unique and creative. I loved how they played well off each other, whether it be in positive or negative ways.
* The
...more
Nancy
Apr 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Visit France the easy way

Lexi wants to be a pastry chef and is thrilled to be in France working and going to school.
She is lonely though until she makes friends and is surprised by some US visitors.
I felt like I had gone to France myself after reading this book. Enjoy!
Loraine
Lexi Stuart is risking it all. Saying au revoir to the security of home, her job, and could be boyfriend Dan, Lexi embarks on a culinary adventure in France to fulfill her life dream of becoming a pastry chef.

I am the first to admit modern christian romance is not my favorite genre, but Sandra Byrd's second book in the French Twist series captivated me as much as the first. Filled with great characters who feel like they could be good friends, a wonderful faith thread, and a good plot with a
...more
Bluerose's  Heart
Dec 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Lexi gets the opportunity of a lifetime! She's going to France to study cooking and work in Luc's family's bakery. This doesn't come without a price, though! She's leaving her family and friends. It's especially difficult being away from her best friend, as things progress very quickly with her boyfriend. Lexi feels guilty not being there for her. Then there's Dan. Lexi doesn't know if she's leaving something special uncovered or not.

While in France, Lexi meets new people and friends. She even
...more
Jasmine
The first book in this series started a little slow, and didn't grab me as much as book 2. Book 2 focuses heavier on the message of God's guidance, as Lexi tries to decide what her future holds for her in love, in career, and in location. Throughout the story, she has to actively seek God to guide her and also to fulfill her empty places as she feels alone in a big world. The author continued to develop each and every character, but leaves enough intrigue to lead into the next book. I admit ...more
Brenda
Nov 25, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: chick-lit
Bon Appetit is the second book in the French Twist series, and continues the adventures of Lexi. In this book she travels to a city right outside Paris and attends a cooking school there while working in the family bakery of her previous boss from Seattle, Luc. It was nice reading this again after having the background from the first book. It was actually enjoyable and could be read either way, but background info is always nice.

While Lexi is in France she meets Phillipe and his daughter
...more
Renee
Dec 05, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kindle-book
Following on the heels of Let Them Eat Cake, Book 2 in the French Twist series Bon Appetit is just as good--if not better! Picking up almost immediately where Let Them Eat Cake leaves off we once again follow Lexi, this time in France. If you're like me you expect a book set near Paris to be fun and this book definitely is. It still has that chick lit feel so there isn't loads of romance. I could definitely see the change in Lexi which is must in a series that follows a character book to book. I ...more
Mel
Feb 22, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: didn-t-finish
enjoyed the story but it was. so . slow. Not sure if I can h andle reading the next one if it goes that slow.
writer...
This French Twist series intensifies the Parisienne influence for Lexi and for all descriptive patisserie items for this reader! Ms Byrd adds to the influence of France on the world's palate! This story can certainly be read as stand alone, as Ms Byrd does make the connecting links for any mentions or references to book 1, Let Them Eat Cake.
Culinary school struggles, cultural resistance to outsiders, homesickness, just some of the hurdles Lexi must overcome to make the most of her life dreams of
...more
Kat
Feb 22, 2012 rated it it was amazing
this series is epic! I mean, cooking, romance, God....what more is there? Well written and easily likable. This is one of my favorite series!
Katie Burkey
Oct 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Deidrah
I like the series. The descriptions of France were great, having never been there I appreciate the detail she put into them. I like that, despite the fact we are on a different continent in this second book, characters from the first kept popping up.The relationship with Phillipe and Celine was nice as was the complication that Daniel's arrival threw into the mix. I like the recipes but feel they could have been at the beginning or end of the chapter, not in the middle.Now for the things I ...more
Rose Maniscalco
Oct 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
Lexi is living, working and going to school in France. She is working in the bakery owned by her American boss and going to pastry school. The bakery is family owned and she meets Philippe and his daughter, Celine. She immediately bonds with Celine and is attracted to Philippe. She is also still in touch with Dan, the attorney she started to date in America. They have agreed to give each other space to figure out what they want.

Lexi has to decide if she wants to stay in France or return home to
...more
Olivia
Aug 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this book because of its whimsical innocence. I'm not a foodie, but the descriptions of food made my mouth water anyway - even if I had no idea what some of it was. I don't know French, but I was able to follow most of the French words that were thrown in. There is a Christian overtone to it, which I personally liked, though I know it's not for everybody. I hadn't read the first book and somehow missed that this was a sequel...but I didn't feel left in the dark. It can mostly stand ...more
Emily F
Aug 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great Parisian Treat

This was a really fun and sweet read! The protagonist is in Paris and we get to follow her on her adventures with the culture, her school, and her faith. The faith elements were evident throughout the story and key to the progression of the plot. If Christian themes aren't your thing, I would pass on this book, which is unfortunate, as this is a fun book. The romance was still kind of there, the love triangle was okay. I would rate this PG. I was a little disappointed that
...more
Crystal
Aug 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Even better than the first. I love this story for many reasons. One is that it doesn't demonize the antagonists. It would be easy to just hate the antagonists, but I love that their human flaws and struggles are revealed. They are written as human, not monsters. I also love the relatability of trying to find one's correct path in life especially when there are more than one opportunity laid out. It is very realistic, despite not everyone getting a fully paid trip to France to study baking with ...more
Jules Pool
Feb 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was a great read! I loved it! I enjoyed how the story was formed with so many different things happening. I loved that it was clean and was a romance. I also appreciated that Sandra added bible verses a win for her. I can’t wait to finish the series and read her other books!

Jules
Tatiana Lammers
Jun 26, 2018 rated it liked it
It was not a bad book to read - nice and light, with a bit of Christian theme and several cooking recipes.
I thought it could've been better if the recipes were not incorporated into the story but added in the appendix.
Danielle Gonzalez
Cute story
Ruth
Oct 10, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: contemp
No HEA until book 3! I really liked this series. The story is fun if you like food, cakes, French, and want to find God's guidance in your life as well. Lexi has options and has to make decisions. Recipes included.
Laura
Jun 01, 2018 rated it liked it
Sweet, quick read.
Jeffrey
Jul 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Do you like good food? Do you like romance? Are you a Francophile? Bon Appetit, by Sandra Byrd, neatly packages up these three treats into a delightful and revelatory look at the demanding world of surviving a classic French baking/pastry academy.

Our ambitious young heroine, Lexi Stuart, does just that as she leaves the French family owned bakery in her hometown of Seattle for the military-like training of a baking school south of Paris. Being naturally friendly and sociable, she struggles with
...more
Sumeetha Manikandan
Sep 06, 2015 rated it liked it
This one of the readable books I downloaded on Kindle Unlimited. Though it is a second novel in the French Twist series, it was easy to follow the story. Lexi is in France to learn to be a Pastry chef. Her employer enrolls her in a prestigious pastry school and while she goes to school she also works at the village bakery. I loved the food descriptions and the recipes that suddenly popped out of the novel. The ideal place to read this book is at a bakery! You could devour cake after cake as you ...more
Katie
May 23, 2014 added it
This is the 2nd book in Byrd's series, but it's been 2 years since I read the first one and I didn't remember a lot. This is all to say, I don't really think this series HAS to be read in order. But if you are a series fetish-ist, by all means disagree with me.
I liked this book. It's Christian fiction but doesn't necessarily read like it. This is good and bad. If you want to read Christian fiction, you might be a little frustrated with this book. If you don't want to read it, you might not like
...more
Ruth
Aug 21, 2009 rated it liked it
This Christian Chick-lit novel is about what you'd expect from the genre--a quick sweet read, with a splash of romance and some religion thrown in. Lexi is from Seattle and works for a French family-owned bakery. They send her to France for a year to study at a famous culinary school, and to work in their bakery there. She leaves behind Dan, an attorney to whom she is beginning to become attached. While in France she becomes close to Phillipe, one of the owning family, and his young daughter. ...more
Julie
Jul 04, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobooks, audible
This was a sweet audiobook that I enjoyed because it reminded me of my own experiences. I was a little older than this heroine (27/28 instead of 25) and in a different country (Finland), but it very much reminded me of a wondrous time of living and working overseas.

Because I'd lived it, I found the parts rang true as Lexi worked with natives and tried to find a place for herself. She also relied on her faith, especially when she was on her own.

I have not read many Christian inspirational books.
...more
Amy
May 19, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Bon Appétit is the second novel of the French Twist series by Sandra Byrd. Lexi Stuart is working at a French bakery while also attending school. She finds out that she has to graduate with honors to keep working at one of her employer's bakeries. During her school, she completely botches her first cooking assignment, but she doesn't understand how she could have weighed out the ingredients wrong. Along the way, some of the students’ cooking seems to be sabotaged by a fellow student. While ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Demise (Braxton #1)
  • Child Of The Mist (These Highland Hills, #1)
  • With Every Letter (Wings of the Nightingale, #1)
  • Brunch at Bittersweet Café (The Saturday Night Supper Club, #2)
  • Somewhere in Time
  • When Tides Turn (Waves of Freedom, #3)
  • Double Crossed: A Spies and Thieves Story (Gallagher Girls, #5.5; Heist Society, #2.5)
  • The Doctor's Lady
  • The Rose Legacy (Diamond of the Rockies, #1)
  • Deadlock
  • Cross My Heart (Landry, #2)
  • The Amish Cradle
  • French Short Stories for Beginners: 20 Captivating Short Stories to Learn French & Grow Your Vocabulary the Fun Way! (Easy French Stories)
  • The Shopkeeper (Steve Dancy Tales #1)
  • Time on the Wire
  • Vanished
  • Nefertiti's Heart (Artifact Hunters, #1)
  • Lady At Arms (Lady, #1)
See similar books…
710 followers
Bestselling author Sandra Byrd has published fifty books over her editing and writing career. Her traditionally published books include titles by Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster, Tyndale House Publishers, WaterBrook Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House, and Bethany House Publishers.

Sandra’s series of historically sound Gothic romances launched with the best-selling Mist of
...more

Other books in the series

French Twist (3 books)
  • Let Them Eat Cake (French Twist #1)
  • Piece de Resistance (French Twist, #3)
“If your arteries are good, eat more ice cream. If they are bad, drink more red wine. Proceed thusly.” 24 likes
“There are people in the world so hungry that God cannot appear to them except in the form of bread. Mahatma Gandhi I” 1 likes
More quotes…