Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Arnhem: The Battle for the Bridges, 1944” as Want to Read:
Arnhem: The Battle for the Bridges, 1944
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Arnhem: The Battle for the Bridges, 1944

4.27  ·  Rating details ·  745 ratings  ·  123 reviews
The great airborne battle for the bridges in 1944 by Britain's Number One bestselling historian

On 17 September 1944, General Kurt Student, the founder of Nazi Germany's parachute forces, heard the growing roar of aeroplane engines. He went out on to his balcony above the flat landscape of southern Holland to watch the air armada of Dakotas and gliders carrying the British
...more
Hardcover, 459 pages
Published May 17th 2018 by Viking
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Arnhem, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Arnhem

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.27  · 
Rating details
 ·  745 ratings  ·  123 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
happy
Mar 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
With Arnhem: The Battle for the Bridges, 1944, Mr. Beevor has once again delivered a well-researched and balanced account of a major World War II event. The author tells the story of “A Bridge Too Far”, to borrow the title of Cornelius Ryan classic on the same battle, from the Dutch, German and Allied perspective. The author tells the tale of the Battle for all levels of command – from Montgomery’s HQ down the paratroopers trying capture and hold the major bridges.

He tells the story of the battl
...more
Bill Kupersmith
Oct 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: nonfiction
It has been asserted that the British are fondest of commemorating the battles they lost, and that explains the fascination with Arnhem, the famous attempt at ‘a bridge to far’. After reading Anthony Beevor’s thorough account, I daresay I differ. Extraordinary gallantry against impossible odds, whether at Thermopylae, Isandlwana, or Arnhem, cannot be regarded as defeat. It is also an encounter that is almost unique. It involved the Parachute Regiment and the Brigade of Guards, each elite but in ...more
Sean Smart
May 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A brilliant new history of one of the epic tragedies of the Second World War. As the author states what tempted him to write another history of this well known battle was access to a lot of new materials.

Fans of Beevor’s previous works on Stalingrad, Berlin and D Day will not be disappointed but will perhaps feel the frustration and disappointment in the Generals and the planning of this disaster in the making.

At one point Beevor writes something like that many of us have pointed out issues and
...more
Ian
Jun 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Although there have been many books written about Operation Market Garden, I hadn’t personally read any before, so when I heard that Anthony Beevor was bringing out a book about the Arnhem battle, I thought “This is bound to be good”, and it is good of course, although best as a narrative.

One thing I would say is that much of the earlier part of the book feels like a follow-on from Beevor’s earlier book about the Normandy battle. I haven’t read that and I was left with the feeling it would have
...more
Tim Mercer
Jun 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Yep 5 stars. Arnhem and Operation Market-Garden has been a passion of mine for years. So when another book came out I actually said that I wondered if new information could be brought to the table. What a mistake.

Beevor has done a brilliant job of covering the campaign from both the operational and tactical level. The book is very readable without having to descent into a sensationalised journalistic piece. Additionally he highlighted the impact on the individuals involved in the fighting regar
...more
Guy
Jun 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: ww2
I have just completed reading Anthony Beevor’s book ‘Arnhem’. Let me say firstly, that this is not a detailed military account of Operation Market Garden; rather it is high level overview of the whole operation, where Beevor dives deep to find examples of the point he is making.

My father loathed Field Marshal Bernard Montgomery. In addition, he would very rarely ever talk about his wartime glider experiences, especially Arnhem. He fought at Arnhem and eventually escaped by swimming the River Rhi
...more
Jerome
Jan 31, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A clear, compelling, and well-researched history of the battle from all sides, thoroughly covering both Market Garden and Arnhem’s liberation in April 1945.

Beevor does a great job ramming home the suffering of Dutch civilians and the atrocities committed by the Wehrmacht, the SS, and their Dutch accomplices. He also covers how the operation (“doomed from the start”) was hampered by bad planning, bad coordination, communications problems, and Montgomery’s ego (and Eisenhower’s willingness to soot
...more
Rudy Parker
May 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed 'Stalingrad' as well as a few of Antony Beevor's other History classics. I had an extra level of fascination for this book, since my mother is Dutch, I was born in Eindhoven, and spent a lot of my childhood in the exact area that 'Operation Market Garden' (couldn't they have come up with a more exciting name for this Paratrooper mission?) happened in; Osterbeek, Arnhem, Nijmegen and EDE.

It's amazing that not so long ago, a huge battle waged in this quiet area. My favourite part
...more
Michael Kotsarinis
It comes as no surprise that Antony Beevor has written a great book again. A highly detailed account of the ill fated Operation Market Garden bringing to life the desperate struggle for the bridges. The author manages to give new insights to the various decisions and stages of the battle. Besides the gripping tale of the military operations the author doesn't fail to look into the human aspect of the battle. The little personal stories of combatants and civilians alike give a whole different dim ...more
Paul
Jun 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
A return to form from Mr Beevor.

Antony Beevor's latest book covers the Arnhem campaign. He starts, as so many others do, at the planning stage, proceeds to the military operations and the eventual unraveling of allied strategy.

The difference between this book and previous books on Arnhem is the slowly shifting focus from the military, with its heroes (Sosobowski, Frost) and its villains (Montgomery, Browning and Thomas) to the civilian. The ultimate heroes and victims of this book, with a narrat
...more
Dimitri
Dec 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
Whoever claims Beevor turns a blind eye to British mistakes hasn't seen him take down the entire script for Arnhem and the slow advance of Horrocks in particular. No plan survives the contact with the enemy Sosabowski, who'd rather have spent that summer in Warsaw, was right when he pointed out that no allowance was made for anything to go wrong, and from the remote designation of LZ's onward it did.

The first 100 pages of so are an enjoyable exposé of the opposing plans; this is where I found m
...more
Francisco
Aunque el asunto, objetivamente, es muy interesante, no se consigue la claridad expositiva necesaria, lo que hace que la lectura sea difícil. No obstante, como en ocasiones anteriores Beevor profundiza en las anécdotas personales que van más allá de la "historia" oficial para mostrarnos más aspectos de lo ocurrido.
Gram
May 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
A highly readable account of the Allied attack on the bridges at Arnhem, in Holland by British 1st Airborne and the American 101st and 82nd Airborne divisions during September 1944.

Operation Market Garden, (it was actually two operations - one named Market and the other Garden) was the plan to end the war quickly by capturing the bridges leading to the Lower Rhine and beyond.

Long after the event, Field Marshal Montgomery's own biographer described the operation "foolhardy" and, prior to the att
...more
Malapata
Feb 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: historia
Historia de la desacertada operación Market Garden. Beevor lo deja claro desde el principio: no hay lugar para los "y si en lugar de...", la operación estaba mal diseñada y basada en expectativas, cuando menos, bastante optimistas. Si fue posible fue gracias la lucha de egos entre las prima donas del estado mayor aliado, con un Montgomery que no podía admitir una posición de segundón frente a los generales norteamericanos.

A partir de aquí Beevor nos regala lo que tan bien sabe hacer: una recrea
...more
Dan Smith
Sep 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
An uncomfortable read for any soldier. This book meticulously analyses the potent mix of incompetence and bad luck which contributed to the ultimate failure of Op Market Garden.

The human element injected so skilfully into this historical account makes for a gripping read. There are a multitude of anecdotes ranging from the humorous to tragic which capture the spirit of a moment like nothing else.

In terms of military appraisal, Mr Beevor does not hold back. His criticism of Monty, as well as to
...more
Mark Adkins
May 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: history
I know what you are thinking, not another book about Operation Market Garden how can there be yet another one. I normally would think the same thing, I look at my book shelves and I can see four books about the operation specifically and then several other books about World War Two in general which of course mention the battle. However, the author, Antony Beevor much like his does with all his books manages to find new information and present it to the reader and the other information which is f ...more
Jonathan
Feb 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: world-war-2
Another masterpiece by Beevor. While the course of the battle is well-known, Beevor rightly places the failure of the allied attack squarely where it belongs: on Montgomery for refusing to take advise from the Dutch about conditions in their own country. Like his book on the Battle of the Bulge, Beevor takes the time and trouble to convey the suffering of the civilians caught up in the battle and its aftermath, especially the forced evacuation of Arnhem by the Germans and the "Hunger Winter" tha ...more
Fernando Jimenez
Beevor sigue desgranando libro a libro la historia de la II Guerra Mundial y siempre sorprende con los mismos ingredientes: el uso de fuentes inéditas, la atención a la historias personales y los detalles, más allá de las grandes estrategias, y un estilo narrativo fluido e intenso que atrapa al lector. Pero a ratos en el pescado lleva la penitencia y la excesiva prolijidad y la minuciosidad de los detalles, a veces simples anécdotas con más o menos interés, hace que una lectura atenta y completa ...more
Philip Brown
Aug 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: war
What a bloody disaster! Market Garden otherwise known as the battle of Arnhem, not the book. The book is an excellent testament to all the Dutch civilians and British, American, Polish and yes German soldiers who died in this brutal bloody fiasco brought on by the vanity of Montgomery ably assisted by the preening General ‘boy’ Browning.

The book starts with the collapse of the German defences after the battle of Falaise Gap and their retreat across Northern France while pursued by the American a
...more
Matti Karjalainen
Antony Beevorin "Kohtalokas silta: Arnhem 1944" (WSOY, 2018) käsittelee Operaatio Kauppapuutarhaa, jossa englantilaisten, amerikkalaisten ja puolalaisten maahanlaskujoukkojen ja XXX armeijakunnan oli tarkoitus vallata joukko hollantilaisia siltoja, motittaa saksalaiset joukot ja koukata sen jälkeen Reinin yli. Suunnitelma olisi toteutuessaan voinut nopeuttaa sodan päättymistä tuntuvasti.

Beevorilta uskalias suunnitelma ei juurikaan saa sympatiaa, eikä hän epäröi todeta Kauppapuutarhan olleen "tod
...more
Singleton Mosby
Oct 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
It has been immensely interesting to read this book and walk the locations at Oosterbeek, Arnhem and Nijmegen. Other locations in the locality of which I had no idea of their importants come to life; the ferry at Pannerden and castle Slangenburg fore one. Walking the dog at the ‘Duiveslberg’ (at Berg and Dal) and reading about it being the frontline that same evening makes the story all the more gripping.

A lot has been said about Anthony Beevor’s ‘Arnhem’ and I have not much to add to the other
...more
John
Aug 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: non-fiction
I have been to Arnhem, seen the landing zones and the main sites of the battle, and visited the museum with its informative displays; but it was this brilliant book that really taught me what happened. There were the fundamental flaws in the idea; the effective sabotage of the scheme by the removal of the element of surprise; the amazing heroism of the airborne troops and so many Dutch civilians; the abject failure of the supposed relieving forces; all brought into sharp perespective by Beevor’s ...more
Bas Crombag
Aug 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
My third Antony Beevor book and the best one so far. In my opinion, the book is a straight five stars; not only due to Beevor’s excellent writing style, but even more so because of the subject. The dramas that unfolded during that September of 1944 will defy your imagination. You’ll be astonished by how a cocktail of absolute vanity and ignorance at the top level and nothing short of pure courage on the battlefield led to so many unnecessary American, British, Dutch (Civilian) and Polish deaths.
Kyle
Jan 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: wwii
Another great read from Beevor. He always writes an engaging narrative that explains the strategic and operational elements very well but still peppers in many individual human anecdotes, which serve to humanize the war and put the reader there with the men doing the fighting. As always with most war histories I’ve read, it could use better maps.
Ranní ptáče
Dec 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Výborně, a hlavně čtivě napsané. Bojové operace jsou popsány velmi detailně, ale technická stránka věci je odlehčena osobními příběhy, často neuvěřitelně znějícími.
David Rawes
Mar 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
Much of this book is a retelling of information that many readers will already have if they are aware of Market Garden. That being said there is enough new information and opinion to diversify it enough from the already extensive literature on the subject, most notably Ryan’s classic, to make it a worth while read.
Jeff Parry
Jan 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great Read

I've read almistbeverything written about the debacle. The whole campaign was a disaster from start to finish. If WW1 had men led by donkeys, then WW2 had men led by an arrogant pig. Montgomery is definitely an over hyped charlatan.

This book tells the story from all sides - Allied, German and Dutch. It is well researched, with great stories from participants and stories of heroism and incompetence. It definitely does not draw punches when dealing with Monty, Horrocks and Browning.

We l
...more
Shawn
Jun 25, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: bookclub
There is no disputing that Anthony Beevor is one of the most skilled raconteur's of episodes from our recent military past. His new treatment of Operation Market Garden and its aftermath demonstrates tremendous research (not necessarily all his own - a point we'll discuss later) as well as a unique ability to weave together disparate narratives into a single engaging narrative. He did this supremely well with Stalingrad, the Spanish Civil War and D-Day to name the more stellar - in my opinion.

Be
...more
judo
Jun 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This book action packed, well written, main character, protagonist driven, villain well developed.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The War in the West: A New History Volume 2, . the Allies Fight Back 1941-43
  • Destiny in the Desert: The Story Behind El Alamein - the Battle That Turned the Tide
  • The Longest Night: The Bombing of London on May 10, 1941
  • Dunkirk - The Men They Left Behind
  • Target Tirpitz: X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - The Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship
  • Stalingrad: How the Red Army Triumphed
  • Alamo in the Ardennes: The Untold Story of the American Soldiers Who Made the Defense of Bastogne Possible
  • Survivors of Stalingrad: Eyewitness Accounts from the 6th Army, 1942-43
  • Manstein: Hitler's Greatest General
  • The Ultimate Battle: Okinawa, 1945: The Last Epic Struggle of World War II
  • Operation Sea Lion
  • Das Reich: The March of the 2nd SS Panzer Division Through France, June 1944
  • To Lose a Battle: France 1940
  • Decision in Normandy
  • Operation Fortitude
  • The German War: A Nation Under Arms
  • It Never Snows in September: The German View of Market-Garden and the Battle of Arnhem, September 1944
  • The Killing of Reinhard Heydrich: The SS Butcher of Prague
1,209 followers
Antony James Beevor is a British historian who was educated at Winchester College and Sandhurst. He studied under the famous historian of World War II, John Keegan. Beevor is a former officer with the 11th Hussars who served in England and Germany for five years before resigning his commission. He has published several popular histories on the Second World War and the 20th century in general.

“Polish paratroopers could not have been more different. They were not like the British who just wanted to make the best of a bad war by joking and referring to any battle as ‘a party’. Nor were they like the Americans who wanted to finish it quickly so that they could go home. The Poles were exiles, fighting for the very survival of their national identity. An American officer who saw them in training described them as ‘killers under the silk’. Polish patriotism was nothing like the rather embarrassed British equivalent: theirs was a burning, spiritual flame.” 0 likes
More quotes…